Beginning of Friday Night Football

Yes remember how bad the delay was not having Foxtel at the time. Do you know if they showed Friday Night Finals live between 2007-2011?

Definitely delayed. I remember cracking in 2010 when it was obvious the Bulldogs weren’t coming back against the Saints and saved myself watching the remaining half by turning on the radio

first afl night final was this cracking game. saturday though ;)

I remember when a night final was announced there was lots of media hysteria about finals being devalued and iirc there was concern that players like Kernahan who wore contacts apparently would be disadvantaged by playing on night; Kernahan was BOG for this game so that was soon forgotten.

That's why I don't get people get all outraged over the prospect of - gasp! - a night GF. Just seems to be whining by those who are generally happy with the corporate commercialisation of the game but just pick one or two issues to pose as 'traditionalists' to show they're real fans of the game.

Does anyone remember when Adelaide first came in to the comp they played a lot of games at 7.30 on Sunday Night? And then moved them back a bit to 6pm on Sundays? What were those games like to go to?

Crow weren't allowed to play Saturday afternoon home games at Football Park until sometime in the 2000s - Saturday arvo was still left for SANFL

So early on Fri night/ Sat night &Sun were the only options for Football Park

... maybe it changed when Port came in? Not sure

I can remember moving to Sydney in 1994 from Perth and trying to find a live game on TV was near on impossible.

When I did, I would go to a pub, bribe the guy behind the bar to switch one of the TV channels to the AFL game.

I then formed a posse of people who liked and supported Aussie Rules so he wouldn't change the channel back.

Love those old ads

pretty good qaulity there from VHS?
I am not sure what it recorded from. Can only assume video tapes at the time as that is all a household could record with at home. You could have Beta Video Tapes or VHS. Beta I think were better quality but less people had those, so VHS dominated the market. Maybe it was a Sanyo Betamax.
I've got 100's of hours of video tape myself in garage from late 80's and early 90's but not looked at my own for years to see what in there and if I did, would assume quality not so great due to magnetic tapes affected over time.

Back in early 80's video tapes were sold that tended to be 2 to 4 hours long in what you could record so if you recorded something for about 2 hours and wanted to keep it, you need to buy more video tapes to record more. Most of us watched what we recorded when we were out and recorded over it with something else many times over rather than only record something once on it.

It looks like this person might have recorder Seven's Big League on that Friday night, recorder some of Saturday's Big League replay at 6-30 pm and ran out of tape.
I noticed another video uploaded to youtube yesterday that has next day's footy and a bit of World of Sport recorded on the Sunday too.
Here it is.

I remember when a night final was announced there was lots of media hysteria about finals being devalued and iirc there was concern that players like Kernahan who wore contacts apparently would be disadvantaged by playing on night; Kernahan was BOG for this game so that was soon forgotten.

That's why I don't get people get all outraged over the prospect of - gasp! - a night GF. Just seems to be whining by those who are generally happy with the corporate commercialisation of the game but just pick one or two issues to pose as 'traditionalists' to show they're real fans of the game.
Yep if BF was around at the time of when they first introduced regular night footy the place would have been full of "Oh, no how awful! Leave the game alone!"

It was a game between the Swans and Geelong late in 1983 which was moved because of a rugby Test match clashing with the Sunday timeslot.

You can see some brief highlights of the game below:

Good find. Was wondering where it was. Next day's game between Carlton and Hawks one of best day's at footy I can remember.
Back before these first Friday games being programmed in fixture we would all very used to seeing night footy live on tv but not in the premiership club season.
Every Tuesday night from 8-30 pm from about early February to late May we had the night championship on channel 7 from Waverley Park. It was a virtual knock out comp that later on in 1990's was not allowed to clash with the real club premiership season and only became a pre-season comp. But it was a full game shown live but like this season it was shortened game, can remember the time of each quarter but this whole 2020 season has the feel of those old Tuesday night games live on tv in middle of winter. Was too late for people to goto them unless you lived around locally so it was primary a tv product like footy in 2020 has been.

first afl night final was this cracking game. saturday though ;)

Yes, 1993 was first night final. I remember going to it. So first final at night was 8 year's after Friday night games started to be programmed in the fixture each season.
This 1985 start with North and Pies in round one was not a game every Friday night. There was about 6 or so in this first season of it being done. Most of it was North home games as they had moved from Arden Street to MCG home games around this time. I remember going to my first Friday game at MCG against North in middle of winter. But it was another 8 year's until a final at night. Which never minded but hate now we have most finals at night. I love it a lot more having a game in Spring sunshine at the MCG. Night footy in quality will always be a little down due to a bit if dew etc. A night game in March when virtually no dew is always good though.

That brought back a lot of memories, gotta love the 80’s.
For some reason. a lot of games from 80's have started to pop up on youtube in the last 12 months. I do not understand why all of a sudden they showing up now but not before. In any case it is a good thing as the tv stations themselves did not seem to keep much of their own copies which is a tragedy they were not forward thinking.
So it is random people that recorded stuff at home, which technically was illegal at time and now uploaded to youtube. that provide these rare gems to re-visit. But most are going to be ruined in quality due to video tapes simply cannot maintain condition over time.

But it is only in last month I actually started to find full replay show recorded showing up too. Previously it seemed most recordings where from people out of Melbourne that got some games shown live on their Saturday arvo in regional areas and a few places interstate too.
One of the things I enjoyed of the Saturday night replay shows of 80's was you got to see a good enough portion of three games from that day to get a feel for how those teams were travelling. Now we actually cannot get a condensed version of best bits of a game. We now gone the other extreme of only full games.

I would love Fox Footy to do a 2 hour show every Saturday night after the live games with 30 to 40 minutes of best part of each Saturday game and then do same thing on Sunday night for Sunday games. Then if you too busy to see games on Saturday if still up late Saturday night after all games completed could catch up with what going on without needing to go through full replay of all games to try to get feel for what going on for the round.

Thanks. That's great info.

Looking on AFL tables, I can sometimes see two 2.10pm games, and sometimes one 2.10pm game and one 3.40pm game (played in perth at 1.40pm local), so I assume they took those perth games from about 4pm through to the 6pm news (as you said live, but with the 1st Q slightly cut off due to overlap).

I've tried finding old TV listings, but can't seem to find any from that 2002-2006 era during footy season in Melbourne.

Some of the start times on AFL tables are not all accurate, particularly some of the Subiaco games from the 90s.
In the early years, the Eagles used to play many home games at 12pm noon local time (bloody early) for the 2pm live feed to the east coast.
Yet some of the entries on AFL tables have these shown incorrectly as 2pm local for the 4pm Eastern live broadcast
The 4pm Eastern game would have been the second game of the LIVE Sunday TV double header.
The Eagles did host games at 4pm Eastern, but not for every Sunday home game.

2002-06

Friday Night - Channel 9

8:30pm - 1 hour delayed broadcast

Saturday - Channel 10
3:30pm - 90 min delayed broadcast from Mebourne/Geelong
6:30pm - Before The Game: Was a comedic footy panel show reviewing the afternoon's games and previewing the night games
7:30pm - Either LIVE or 30min delayed broadcast from Melbourne
10:30pm - The 5th Quarter - Post Game show reviewing all the day's action, hosted by Michael Christian

Sunday - Channel 9
11am - The Sunday Footy Show
1pm - LIVE game
4pm - Usually a highlights package of a Melbourne/Geelong game from 2pm, occasionally a live game joined in progress

Definitely delayed. I remember cracking in 2010 when it was obvious the Bulldogs weren’t coming back against the Saints and saved myself watching the remaining half by turning on the radio

Geelong v Collingwood 2007 Prelim was a sell out and live wasn’t it?

Yes, 1993 was first night final. I remember going to it. So first final at night was 8 year's after Friday night games started to be programmed in the fixture each season.
This 1985 start with North and Pies in round one was not a game every Friday night. There was about 6 or so in this first season of it being done. Most of it was North home games as they had moved from Arden Street to MCG home games around this time. I remember going to my first Friday game at MCG against North in middle of winter. But it was another 8 year's until a final at night. Which never minded but hate now we have most finals at night. I love it a lot more having a game in Spring sunshine at the MCG. Night footy in quality will always be a little down due to a bit if due etc. A night game in March when virtually no dew is always good though.

When the AFL announced that they would expand to a Final 6 for the 1991 Finals Series, this opened the possibility of a night final since it meant 3 finals in Week 1.

I remember there had been heavy uproar and push back from the media/players/fans at the time to the thought of having a night final.
So the AFL instead allowed for the provision of having one Sunday final played outside Victoria during the day if any of the non-Victorian sides earned the right, which would take precedence over a night final.

Of course, West Coast dominated the Home and Away season in 1991, so got to host the historic first final outside Melbourne at Subiaco against Hawthorn, and got to host another final against Hawthorn the following year when they finished 4th.

However, in 1993, with 3 finals hosted by Melbourne sides in Week 1, this forced the AFL's hand to bring in the first night final mentioned between Essendon and Carlton.

Crow weren't allowed to play Saturday afternoon home games at Football Park until sometime in the 2000s - Saturday arvo was still left for SANFL

So early on Fri night/ Sat night &Sun were the only options for Football Park

... maybe it changed when Port came in? Not sure

Apart from the maybe the odd game from Canberra, Saturday arvo games being played outside Victoria wasn't a regular fixture until 2002 during the first Foxtel rights, and even then it was only games from Adelaide and Perth.

Saturday arvo games in Sydney and Queensland are more of a recent thing, within the last decade... likely due the flexibility needed with the two new expansion sides arriving.

Me living in SA..... I always enjoyed channel 10s coverage from 2002-6. They had the 2 free to air games on Saturday. On in the arvo, the other at night. I also enjoyed their coverage in the finals too

Agree. Blight, Walls, Quartermain, Hudson was great coverage. Better than the drivel served up nowadays as commentary.

For some reason. a lot of games from 80's have started to pop up on youtube in the last 12 months. I do not understand why all of a sudden they showing up now but not before. In any case it is a good thing as the tv stations themselves did not seem to keep much of their own copies which is a tragedy they were not forward thinking.
So it is random people that recorded stuff at home, which technically was illegal at time and now uploaded to youtube. that provide these rare gems to re-visit. But most are going to be ruined in quality due to video tapes simply cannot maintain condition over time.

But it is only in last month I actually started to find full replay show recorded showing up too. Previously it seemed most recordings where from people out of Melbourne that got some games shown live on their Saturday arvo in regional areas and a few places interstate too.
One of the things I enjoyed of the Saturday night replay shows of 80's was you got to see a good enough portion of three games from that day to get a feel for how those teams were travelling. Now we actually cannot get a condensed version of best bits of a game. We now gone the other extreme of only full games.

I would love Fox Footy to do a 2 hour show every Saturday night after the live games with 30 to 40 minutes of best part of each Saturday game and then do same thing on Sunday night for Sunday games. Then if you too busy to see games on Saturday if still up late Saturday night after all games completed could catch up with what going on without needing to go through full replay of all games to try to get feel for what going on for the round.
Fox did a highlights show of the whole round showing every goal and main highlights from each game every Sunday night. Think it was called the winners. Not sure why they stopped it as it was a good catch up for those that can’t watch many games.

Me living in SA..... I always enjoyed channel 10s coverage from 2002-6. They had the 2 free to air games on Saturday. On in the arvo, the other at night. I also enjoyed their coverage in the finals too

The execs at 9 were not happy when they realized that someone dropped the ball regarding finals.... Channel 10 had exclusive rights to all finals in that period, meaning Ch10 would show games on Friday night and Sunday which they didn't do during H&A.

Does anyone remember when Adelaide first came in to the comp they played a lot of games at 7.30 on Sunday Night? And then moved them back a bit to 6pm on Sundays? What were those games like to go to?

With the Crows being the biggest ticket in town at the time, the local fans would go see the Crows whenever, hence the AFL experimenting with Sunday twilight footy in those years before preference was to try Saturday night instead.

Mate that's awesome, thanks for that.

Didn't realise that Ch9 on Friday and C10 on Saturday arvo were also delayed. Explains why when Ch7 took over Saturdays it was delayed too.

The general reason was always to "protect local footy" and give incentive for fans to actually go to the game.
These days, Saturday arvo are just poor timeslots for TV in general.
Channel 7 couldn't be bothered buying the rights to Saturday arvo timeslot any more and have been yearning for a night GF for years.

Mate that's awesome, thanks for that.

Didn't realise that Ch9 on Friday and C10 on Saturday arvo were also delayed. Explains why when Ch7 took over Saturdays it was delayed too.

Although it was delayed, C10's Saturday coverage was outstanding - arvo game, half hour news (food, drink break), Before The Game, night game then the wrap up with Blight and Christian - great way to spend a cold day watching footy.

Yes I remember it well in the 2007-2011 period, less so 2002-2006.

BTG was a great show