Bell or Cousins?

Originally posted by larrikin
Turn your blinkers off, open your eyes and watch some bloody footy.

This coming from someone that thinks Darren Glass is as good a mark as Graham Polak, Cousins has it over Pavlich in every way and would prefer Kasey Green to Roger Hayden as a long term prospect ;)

But seriously, Bell has shown many times on and off field why he is regarded as close to the best leader in the AFL. Cousins may be a fair leader but he doesn't strike me as someone that is a great leader, and also off field indiscretions don't help his cause. You would never see Bell involved in any such incidents. He is the president of the AFLPA because of his great leadership qualities, but we certainly don't rate his leadership solely based on that.

Anyway, they are both very good players. Bell has had the better season.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
This coming from someone that thinks Darren Glass is as good a mark as Graham Polak, Cousins has it over Pavlich in every way and would prefer Kasey Green to Roger Hayden as a long term prospect ;)

But seriously, Bell has shown many times on and off field why he is regarded as close to the best leader in the AFL. Cousins may be a fair leader but he doesn't strike me as someone that is a great leader, and also off field indiscretions don't help his cause. You would never see Bell involved in any such incidents. He is the president of the AFLPA because of his great leadership qualities, but we certainly don't rate his leadership solely based on that.

Anyway, they are both very good players. Bell has had the better season.

Bell probably has had a better season. But it takes more than one season to make a champ.

Both players have class and extremely important to their respective sides. I only have cousins ahead due to my allegiance

Originally posted by larrikin
Agreed, Bell does a great job of covering 30m on both feet, and Cousins can't kick on his left. That goal against the Saints from 50 was a fluke.

Bollocks

He lays more tackles, I'll give you that, but the leadership bit is not given just because Bell sits on the AFLPA executive.

Turn your blinkers off, open your eyes and watch some bloody footy.

You're using one goal as an example of Cousins' kicking prowess? I think most Eagles fans would acknowledge that his disposal by foot is not one of his strengths. Bell regularly pin-points purple **** with his left and right boot. The stronger mark bit certainly isn't "bollocks' either. If you've seen Bell play lately, you'd know his contested marking has been exceptional for someone of his stature. Again, not a feature of Cousins' game. And did you ever consider that Bell might have been unanimously elected as president of the AFLPA by his peers exactly because of his leadership qualities?

Originally posted by RogerMellie
And did you ever consider that Bell might have been unanimously elected as president of the AFLPA by his peers exactly because of his leadership qualities?

Damn you've just shattered the illusion that the AFLPA elected it's President the American way, cash for votes.

Democracy, those voters don't have a clue.

Originally posted by jod23

Bell played his best footy at North.

I disagree. His Brownlow votes:

96 (NM)- 0 votes
97 (NM) 2 votes
98 (NM) 2 votes
99 (NM) 11 votes
00 (NM) 8 votes
01 (FR) 11 votes
02 (FR) 14 votes.

And I don't believe the argument that he had players taking votes away from him at the Kangaroos washes.

Anyone want to argue that he will get less than 14 votes in 2003?

Originally posted by RogerMellie
And did you ever consider that Bell might have been unanimously elected as president of the AFLPA by his peers exactly because of his leadership qualities?

Yes, I'm sure they elected him for his onfield leadership abilities. Had nothing to do with his law degree or anything...

Originally posted by jod23
Cousins is by far the more talented player but Bell probably shades him in the leadership role. But Cousins is quite a good captain himself who often lifts the side, which was again on show last weekend. Cousins easily...

:D

Did you see the two go head to head on the weekend?

Bell: 1, Cousins: 0

Now, now Buzzboy... even people on your own forum are asking the question..."how the hell did Cousins finish above Bell??";)

Dunno - the "men" in white clearly see things differently than the rest of us. Shouldn't they concentrate more on umpiring, rather than giving off votes?

Cousins was lucky - his season was down on his usual lofty standards. Maybe because he's more "well-known" than some of the others like Fletcher, Embley even Kerr - he attracted the umpires eye more so than the others?? Don't know - just musings.

Bell - 19 votes was probably around the mark for him, although there were certainly a few games where he would have expected to poll at least one vote and got nothing.

But I reckon the best one of the lot was Adam Goodes - a well deserving winner. Likewise Mark Ricciuto - well deserved. And Buckley was always going to win one eventually.

How will Bucks feel if he doesn't get the third medal - the one he really wants - on Saturday?? Last night's medal win will be pretty hollow if that happens.

This whole thread is just eagles supporters saying ben cousins and dockers supporters saying peter bell. In the umpires opinion cousins had a better season. What does that mean... nothing at all. Who cares i wouldnt trade cousins for nething for bell and i guess most dockers supporters are the same about bell.

Originally posted by eaglechicka
This whole thread is just eagles supporters saying ben cousins and dockers supporters saying peter bell. In the umpires opinion cousins had a better season. What does that mean... nothing at all. Who cares i wouldnt trade cousins for nething for bell and i guess most dockers supporters are the same about bell.

Bloody well said eaglechicka... kudos.

i want all the dockers fans that think their short and slow captain is a better leader than Cousins to watch our 2 pt win against carlton last year.

On the defensive edge of the square Cousins laid 3 tackles, spoiled the ball and then won a free kick, with about 2 minutes left on the clock. And single handedly won us the 4 points..in a crucial away game.

From a young age, all the media said he was a natural leader and he's proved that. I cant recall bell captaining the side when he was 22.
And that extra 2 years of AFL experience/age should not be underestimated as alot can happen in footy in a week...so think about an extra 44+ weeks influence on a young leader.

Mind u i do rate Peter Bell, but he is no were near one of the better captains in the league.
And all those dellusional Docker fans that think he is..haha well maybe u r as stupid as u look in those purple clothes.
Voss, Hird, Crawford, Primus, Buckley are all a cut above.

Originally posted by theorangeapple

Mind u i do rate Peter Bell, but he is no were near one of the better captains in the league.
And all those dellusional Docker fans that think he is..haha well maybe u r as stupid as u look in those purple clothes.
Voss, Hird, Crawford, Primus, Buckley are all a cut above.

:o

On leadership alone, I have no doubt Bell is one of the top 2 or 3 captains in the league.

If Bell isn't a better leader than Crawford, then fair dinkum, we all have no idea. Bell wouldn't winge on national TV after missing out on All Australian selection.

Originally posted by theorangeapple
i want all the dockers fans that think their short and slow captain is a better leader than Cousins to watch our 2 pt win against carlton last year.

On the defensive edge of the square Cousins laid 3 tackles, spoiled the ball and then won a free kick, with about 2 minutes left on the clock. And single handedly won us the 4 points..in a crucial away game.

I'd put that down as a coincidence given it was probably the only time all year he came close to recording a hard ball get.

Both are great captains for their clubs and lead on field by example. In my opinion Bell probably deserves more respect for his off field performance.