Autopsy Belted by Brisbane

• Thread starter Thread starter Taylor

My dad loves to BBQ. Now he cooks an OK barbie. But one thing he does is cook those sausages to death, I mean they're like black toothpicks by the time he's done. I thought they were the most cooked things I'd seen; but then I saw the Dockers play Brisbane today. They made dad's snags look like they've just come fresh form the butcher.

So we picked Griffin ahead of Darcy because Darcy isn't ready to run out a game yet?

My grandma could run out a game better than Griffin, and she's dead.

Griffin was panting halfway through the 1st quarter. He was absolutely stuffed.

Lyon is very loyal, to his detriment. Griffin has been a servant for the club, extremely unlucky being behind Sandilands in his prime and he seems a good guy. But you just can't be that sentimental as a coach. It's actually pretty ironic considering the public perception of Ross is cold and robotic.

Griffin was panting halfway through the 1st quarter. He was absolutely stuffed.

Lyon is very loyal, to his detriment. Griffin has been a servant for the club, extremely unlucky being behind Sandilands in his prime and he seems a good guy. But you just can't be that sentimental as a coach. It's actually pretty ironic considering the public perception of Ross is cold and robotic.

The problem when your slow, is your sprint is someone else's jog. He was sprinting after Martin, who was just cruising around.

Sandilands has a hurt factor and has to be manned up, Griff is a non event as a hurt factor.
You're right about that, if there was a turnover I'd be instructing the side to find Sandi and kick it to him for a mark immediately and sure up the field position.

But why can't Griff mark the ball?

Terrible game today and I am really disappointed by the result. The open corridor and non-existent forward half from us were really hard to stomach...
The comments to follow, although prompted by today are more related to the last 18 months than just today.
I will also caveat this by saying although I lurk a lot I only really post when in the depths of despair or the heights of ecstasy. I think you can work out where I am today...

In no particular order
Hamling- Very good, probably vying with BHill for recruit of the year and should play chb/fb for us for the next 10 years
Collins- Good depth and wasn't disgraced today but a bit limited and I would prefer APearce when fit
Weller- Still improving and really our only rebounder of any note, needs help but should play hbf for the next 10 years
Sutcliffe- Horrible disposal and is not the answer. Has had nearly 100 games and is not up to it. Trade/Delist at the end of the year
Ryan- Too soon to call but doesn't look hopeless, needs to get 20-30 games in the next 18 months to see what he can do
Johnson- Still has it but is ageing fast and will not be in our next tilt. Can Logue develop into this position over the next 18 months?
Sheridan- See Sutcliffe. Adds nothing to the team and is depth at best. Reminds me of Suban in that he looks likely but will not make it.
BHill- Very good and is our best runner. So happy we got him.
SHill- Looks well off his best atm. Really needs the bye and perhaps even longer to regroup. We know what he brings though.
Fyfe- See SHill, is still building from the broken leg and should be better next year. Still a significant contributor though.
Neale- Had a shocker today but is in our best 5 normally. May benefit from the bye.
Griffin- Cooked and should be delisted at the end of the year. Is not even good depth atm but with Clarke down and Sandi out prob has to play.
Mundy- Coming to the end and is really a burst player now. I doubt he will get past next year. Is really a hff with limited mid mins from now till the end.
Blakely- Our best young mid, needs to keep developing but is on the right track.
Cox- Too soon to tell. Looked a bit lost today but easy to happen in our forward line. Would like to see more. Not sure where though.
Crozier- Look up 'tease' in the dictionary, his picture will be there. Plenty of talent but cant do it up forward. Maybe try down back to finish the year otherwise trade.
McCarthy- Struggling for impact the last 3 weeks. Needs to pull out the finger find his best position because he is capable of more
Kersten- Does not have enough impact. Not sure where he fits atm but we are carrying him and something needs to change or he needs to go back to Peel.
Walters- Thought he was good today and seemed to play forward more. Has genuine spark and burst impact which we lack.
Gray- Disappointing day today but he has been ok. Needs to add some more to his game but we should persevere.
Tucker- He is not doing enough yet but there is something to work with. See how is going in 12 months.
Spurr- Need someone like him down back but he is not playing well atm. I saw him on Zorko a bit and Zorko torched us...

Other who did not play but deserve comment

Taberner- Can play but is not consistent yet. We have to persevere because we have no one else in that role atm. Maybe Apeness when fit? Should come in for Kersten.
Logue- Develop in the two's to replace Johnson if possible.
Hughes- See Tucker. Think he needs to play seniors and not sure why he was dropped. Prefer him to Sutcliffe.
Ibbo- Depth from now on. Will not be in our next tilt and is not good enough to hold his position as a leader atm.
Sandi- God help us when he retires. Need to find a way to play him and develop Darcy which maybe leaves Darcy in the two's for now.
Langdon- Strait back in for Sheridan
Suban/DPearce- Depth at best, trade/delist at the end of the year.
Ballantyne/Bennell- Need to show something after the bye or both will be delisted at the end of the year.
Balic/Clarke- Who knows? Can contribute but are not now for different reasons.
Dawson- Cooked, delist

Won't comment on Rookie listers because I have not seen them enough.

I thought Cox looked promising. Very nice below his feet and I hope we persevere with him in the forward line.
Yep. Typical Freo. Recruit the all Australian half back and play him forward. So many of our players are being played out of position. Why can't we just play them where they play best.

As for Cox, he only got the call up after dominating down back for Peel. He played forward to no effect early in the year. Agreed, he looked good and should play every remaining game - hopefully across half back so we never see Sutcliffe again.

You're right about that, if there was a turnover I'd be instructing the side to find Sandi and kick it to him for a mark immediately and sure up the field position.

But why can't Griff mark the ball?
Put simply. He isn't AFL quality. No disrespect, he's just not good enough

Yep. Typical Freo. Recruit the all Australian half back and play him forward. So many of our players are being played out of position. Why can't we just play them where they play best.

As for Cox, and only got the call up after dominating down back for Peel. He played forward to no effect early in the year. Agreed, he looked good and should play every remaining game - hopefully across half back so we never see Sutcliffe again.

Normally I'd agree with the sentiment mate but the cupboard is so empty when it comes to genuine KPF's that I can't blame them for experimenting with Cox up forward.

and no that was not intentional.

Normally I'd agree with the sentiment mate but the cupboard is so empty when it comes to genuine KPF's that I can't blame them for experimenting with Cox up forward.

Every coach and rebuilding team will say "you've gotta fix the defence first". Hopefully we recruited him to play half back, so stick him down there - he can't do any worse than what's down there at the moment. Play Logue too. Get games into our future back 6. Our future KPF probably isn't on our list, unless Apeness or Strnadica come good.

Of course our backline looks worse than it is because our mids are cooked. Anyway, hopefully we play the kids for the remaining 11 games, and looking forward to an honest list assessment and overhaul at seasons end.

Our team balance was off as well. Why replace a tall forward (who btw is our best back up ruck option) and 2 smalls with 2 tall defender and 1 small? Hughes should have played and probably Deluca before Cox/Collins considering the weather (or was that a surprise?) and the need for running power (bye vs 6 days, long flight).

That is a great example of why playing a ruckman too soon is like giving them to the wolves.
That's one rather soft way of looking at it. Here is another way:

Beveridge drops players if they're playing poor footy and rewards the players playing well in the 2s. Hes dropped Roughead, Stringer, Biggs, Boyd, Daniel and Libba. He lets players know that it doesn't matter how good you are, you play poor and you're dropped. That right there is a coach with balls. Those dropped players come back into the side and play good footy. The players in the 2s all believe that if they play well, they'll get a chance, they wont be ignored.

Now we have Ross, the opposite when it comes to team selections and setting double standards. Took him years to drop D. Pearce and Dawson, from memory he never dropped Mayne or Ballas, took his time to drop Sutty and Suban and continually gifts Sheridan games when he doesn't deserve them. We're in a REBUILD, yet Ross makes the decision to play a 30+ Griffin over our next number one ruckman Darcy, who is going well for Peel. It defies all logic to not play Darcy when you're in the middle of a REBUILD, we're not trying to win a flag, we're suppose to be rebuilding, Ross just doesn't get it. Nyhuis and Deluca performed well for Peel last year and so far this year, together they have a total of 0 afl games, while the proven spuds like Sheridan and Sutty continue to get picked ahead of them.

It took til Round 12 for Ross to play Collins, he should of rested Johnson at least once by now, yet he refused to rest a 30+ defender and give Collins a go. Beveridge has balls and it's working, Ross is piss weak at selection and it shows.

English is averaging 5.5 hit outs per game so far. Taberner 5.6. He is not playing as a ruck. If English was playing as our ruck instead of Griffin we we be even worse than we are now.

When English goes back to vfl, I'm sure he'll be a better player because of these few games hes played. It's a good investment and confidence boost for him whilst also sending a clear message to Roughead.

This is not a defence of Griff but seriously, what a stupid comment Taylor. Sandi averages 2.3,marks per game this year and 1.3 contested marks. He's hardly hanging on to everything that comes his way, in fact quite the contrary

Y'know, I've seen teams suck before, but they were the suckiest bunch of sucks that ever sucked!

Did we need a KPF yesterday though? We played our best games this year with just Kerstin and McCarthy down there.