Ben Cousins

• Thread starter Thread starter wellst

Interesting comments CHB.

I don't think there is any doubt that (1) he could prove his fitness (2) the Saints need pace and skill.

I wonder what Riewoldt/Hayes/Ball think (and might even prompt Harvs to go on if he has someone like this to give it too)? If they want him, and his $ ask is not too high, maybe we should too.

Oh yeah as well i heard Rossy on radio saying he would be considered if he proved his health/fitness etc. Said he wasn't going to comment any further until then. So he hasn't crossed his name out yet. And there is a rumour floating around he is signing with Sandringham. Look at it anyway you want.

I definatly agree with the poster who said we need a match winner. That he is. Former captain, could really help with the growing of the group. He is serious about AFL, i'm very very confident he will stay away from the drugs and the baggage that comes with it.

From that i doubt Geelong will recruit him, not enough cap space.
Further in the article Richmond assistant coach said they will not be going after him. Bulldogs, nope just read that they have declined. Collingwood are a real chance, Mick Malthouse factor. Neither of these teams commented besides us:

"The most important thing is that Ben gets his health back on track and and any other discussions are premature as far as we're concerned." - football manager Matthew Drain

Ross Lyon said very much the same thing on 3aw. Seems they have been discussing the possibility.

What has given you that confidence? A guy I work with knows someone ( yes i know it now becomes rumour and innuendo ) who saw him trying to score ( not football ) last time he was in Melbourne. And from the sound of it his rehab in the USA consisted mainly of getting laid.

I would say yes if it doesn't cost us a high pick in the National Draft. I think we need to use that for a young gun mid or a KPB... Altho kicking goals seems to be our problem not stopping them.

If it was the Pre-season draft and he was available I'd say go for it, and I'd make sure Robert Harvey plays on. He is the difference between where we are now and where we want to be!

get him down i think.. he is a gun and an inspirational player.. hence the title of "spiritual leader" when he was at westcoast.. obviously his off-field anticts were quite bad, but on field, we need a standout gun like him - someone who works their ass off and shows people like dal santo how to work hard and it would jazz up our midfield which has just been "coasting"..

as for the gardiner/cousins combo, i think it would work out well.. im pretty sure gardiner has now got his head screwed on.. i also think chick was the biggest influence on both cousins and gardiner over in WA..

gardiner knows that if he stuffs up once he is gone as we've got ruckmen supplies now and i'm sure he'd be able to word up cousins about it, and he may be the only guy who could actually get through to cousins as he knows it'll be his last chance and then he is gone...

some people didnt want gardiner down and i know he has had troubles with injuries, but im sure having his experience down there and the fact he has kept such a low profile, it was a gamble that has well and truely paid off..

What has given you that confidence? A guy I work with knows someone ( yes i know it now becomes rumour and innuendo ) who saw him trying to score ( not football ) last time he was in Melbourne. And from the sound of it his rehab in the USA consisted mainly of getting laid.

My mate runs a big club & had him in during his 'dry' spell.

The guy had 2 months off went overseas came back and in his first game back took 40 possesions. We should be making a strong bid for this guy. Cousins + 2 really speedy onballers is exactly what we need. I say get the guy over, get him back on the sauce and let him win us a premiership....
Kidding about the sauce.
But seriously, we dont have much to loose. If he comes over and plays up well you just get rid of him. Its as simple as that. Considering he will never play football again will be enough encouragment for him to stay in line, and if its only us and richmond interested then we will retain our draft picks too.

Also... In reality if he's in Melbourne whether at the Saints or another club he is going to hang out with Gardiner... So can't use that excuse, it is life.

And Gardiner to date has been a great acquisition!

Also... In reality if he's in Melbourne whether at the Saints or another club he is going to hang out with Gardiner... So can't use that excuse, it is life.

& cue the stomach tattoo joke here ...

Take Cousins in a heartbeat. Oh man it would be overkill to see Hayes and Cousins in the middle. A second flag here we come... :)

Bingo! We are in no position to be choosey. The guy is a gun and would be an enormous asset. To be honest I couldn't care less what he does in his free time, as long as on the track and on the field he is fair dinkum. If we get a premiership out of him it will have been worth it no matter what the cost off the field.

I agree.

I don't think we should dismiss Cousins on the basis of his history with Gardiner because whether we like it or not Cousins is moving to Melbourne to train with a VFL club shortly and if he's drafted it will most likely be by a Melbourne based club. He's going to be here and Gardiner is his best mate. They will spend a lot of time together regardless of whether Cousins becomes a Saint or not.

You have to give Gardiner some credit for the way he's conducted himself on and off the field too. You'd think he has earned the respect of his teammates and if Cousins was to join the club he'd not want to jeopardise that, as well as Cousins himself wanting to prove himself to his new teammates.

I don't know if I want Cousins at this stage. He didn't impress me too much on The Footy Show. However we'd be silly to rule it out at this stage. The team that selects him will get themselves an outstanding midfielder. One of the best in the game. The thought of him playing alongside our current crop excites me but he has to be over his off-field problems and we've got a while to go before knowing if he has.

Cousins -> Jud -> Kerr = Premiership
Cousins -> Hayes -> Ball -> Harvey? -> Dal -> Goddard = Premiership

Thats how simple i see it.

When Eagles won the GF they had a week Foward line - strong backline and a killer midfield.
With Cous our team would emulate that kind of structure.

Apart from which teams would want him and why. Does anyone else think there are huge double standards about sportsmen and recreational drugs and other media personalities.

Amy Winehouse still performs at Nelson Mandela's birthday.
Brittney still has a record contract ( even if she was clean I'm not sure why).
What would the results be if they did random drug tests through the onscreen staff of a television studio.
Sportsmen no doubt get exposed to this culture when they become celebrities and start to associate with some of the other celebrities.

get him down i think.. he is a gun and an inspirational player.. hence the title of "spiritual leader" when he was at westcoast.. obviously his off-field anticts were quite bad, but on field, we need a standout gun like him - someone who works their ass off and shows people like dal santo how to work hard and it would jazz up our midfield which has just been "coasting"..

as for the gardiner/cousins combo, i think it would work out well.. im pretty sure gardiner has now got his head screwed on.. i also think chick was the biggest influence on both cousins and gardiner over in WA..

gardiner knows that if he stuffs up once he is gone as we've got ruckmen supplies now and i'm sure he'd be able to word up cousins about it, and he may be the only guy who could actually get through to cousins as he knows it'll be his last chance and then he is gone...

some people didnt want gardiner down and i know he has had troubles with injuries, but im sure having his experience down there and the fact he has kept such a low profile, it was a gamble that has well and truely paid off..
Just because you're always HIGH and trying to get everyone else up there with you does not make you a spiritual leader...