ben cousins

Well policy can be stupid sometimes,his not just a good player say like Scott Camporeale/Tony Liberatore,he is more like Leigh Matthews/Craig Bradley if they can see that.

The game is about winning,what's the point of going for a team just to get players who can't play when there is guys who can.

Ben will be tested like nobody in the world will be tested like,he would be totally stupid if he thinks he could get away with it and this sponsorship thing is crap,they all come running like Whores when they win games.

He is totally stupid... he was tested and didnt try to give the testers anything to prove he has been clean.

Ben does what Ben wants to do....

Noone has the structure for Cousins.

Its not his age that puts us or anyone else off...

From what I'm reading it looks like in many cases it's the sponsors who are saying no, not the football departments.

Looking like whether or not Ben gets to play AFL football again is as much (if not more) a PR issue than it is a football issue.

Well St Blunda have pulled the pin, so its Brisbane or bust.

Thats pretty much it...

That loud thud you hear Ben is the sound of another door slamming shut on your career...

Shouldnt have showed up for your drugs test shaved and waxed knowing they wanted a 3 cm hair sample from you for testing...

Shows utter contempt for the system you are fighting to get back into and leads to all sorts of contraversy as to whether you are really clean...

Last shot BrisVegas...

Like I said... BrisVegas for schoolies week for toolie Ben

I'm expecting 16 clubs to pass.

Who the hell wants bikers in the room after the games?

Who the hell wants or needs a guy that cant even turn up clean to an AFL hearing on his own career???

By clean i mean able to hand over one hair to prove he has been clean.

In this time of economic uncertainty the guy is a loose cannon and a risk to any club.

He might go away now .. think about his own stipudity and then be fair dinkum about a life change...maybe then GS17 might look at him... but even then i doubt it..

The plain fact is that nobody on this forum will know the state that Ben Cousins is in and where he's at. It's all speculation. I have faith in the clubs judgement to make the appropriate decision.

When it comes down to it none of us know all the details so for people on this forum to be suggesting the bs that they have, especially in this thread, is far off the mark.

People are going off pure information which has been fed to you through the media. Nobody knows all the details and the truth to the rest in the overall situation, so taking such a one sided argument is unfounded from my point of view.

This has been my point all along. At no point did I say draft him if he is not clean, all I said he is a great player and if he is clean he'd be a great pick up.

There also seems to be inuendo re the Shave Down and AFL requesting a hair sample, was it reported that they asked and he was shaved?

I thought I read somewhere that it was not asked for as the AFL didn't have the right until he was readmitted as a registered player, BUT they will if he plays and he will be gone if he wont supply one.
This is a grey area as well, as the AFLPA code previously never allowed this type of testing to my knowledge, so who knows, he might even have grounds to challenge the validity in the future, unless the AFLPA and or Cousins signs it off as a condition of his return.

He WAS a great player. The mere fact people are posting along the lines of "if he was clean" pretty much says it all. They need a sample so he turns up having had a body shave? Either he would have failed the test after the sample OR he was making a statement.

Clubs don't NEED Ben, Ben NEEDS a club, yet he pulls the above stunt. It's not just a drug problem it's a head problem.

As someone said "Ben does what Ben wants.."

We have some real young talent at our club, good young men as well, forget footy skills in that context, its a new era at Carlton, lets keep going forward.

I thought I read somewhere that it was not asked for as the AFL didn't have the right until he was readmitted as a registered player, BUT they will if he plays and he will be gone if he wont supply one.
This is a grey area as well, as the AFLPA code previously never allowed this type of testing to my knowledge, so who knows, he might even have grounds to challenge the validity in the future, unless the AFLPA and or Cousins signs it off as a condition of his return.

Rights vs. interests Swans.

Until he was re-registered by the AFL he had the right to remove any trace of hair from his body, just like anyone else. However, (I believe that one of the points that TheHeatleyStand is making is,) with so much speculation as to whether or not he has cleaned up his act, and clubs and sponsors so wary of his previously admitted drug additiction, and Ben so desperately wanting to be given another chance by an AFL club, it would have been in his best interests to show up for testing with plenty of centimeters of hair available to irrevocably prove to all and sundry that he has been clean for many months already.

For all we know his body wax and buzz cut may have cost him his last chance to play AFL again. It's certainly looking that way now (with St Kilda deciding against him yesterday and Brisbane's sponsor Devine Homes already objecting to the Lions picking him up).

Agree, could be the most expensive hair cut he will ever have.

Was a stupid decision and its like he is guilty by default.

Maybe the AFL should have demanded the Hair sample as part of his re-entry. Again maybe they felt that it wouldn't legally stand up.

Its easy to say WAS a great footballer, when he may well not have the chance to prove he IS a great footballer again.

Was a stupid decision and its like he is guilty by default.

Maybe the AFL should have demanded the Hair sample as part of his re-entry. Again maybe they felt that it wouldn't legally stand up.

Agree, from a PR point of view if he announced he was clean and ready to submit to any form of testing, from the day of his hearing, he would have attracted interest.

But to get shaved down like Bob Geldof in the Wall,
a couple of days before,
only leaves the door open to innuendo.

Simply don't trust him.

We're not going after him because the deal has already been done.

Months ago.

Ben will be a Blue in 09.

JUst got back from a meeting in the CBD and can confirm that this is looking very likely.
Blues are intending to use Pick 80 on Cousins this Saturday, and have a 1 year deal wiith around 250k as renumeration for Ben.

The contract has clauses that stipulate that Ben can be fired and paid a pro-rata figure in case of any indescretions. There are also other behavioural conditions and a 1 year option if Cousins plays at least 12 games during the H&A season.

Blues are keeping a big eye on Ben, and are prepared to sack him if he proves to be a bad influence on any of the younger Blues stars.

JUst got back from a meeting in the CBD and can confirm that this is looking very likely.
Blues are intending to use Pick 80 on Cousins this Saturday, and have a 1 year deal wiith around 250k as renumeration for Ben.

The contract has clauses that stipulate that Ben can be fired and paid a pro-rata figure in case of any indescretions. There are also other behavioural conditions and a 1 year option if Cousins plays at least 12 games during the H&A season.

Blues are keeping a big eye on Ben, and are prepared to sack him if he proves to be a bad influence on any of the younger Blues stars.

I'll wait till Saturday me thinks

FFS... we sacked a couple of druggies years ago who were going to be big talents for us so why are we talking about letting another one with huge question marks over his head about his current addiction status into the club.

Showing up for the drug test with your head shaved and your body waxed knowing that they wanted hair of a certain length to do the test is a pretty clear indicator that things arent 100% in the Cousins corner...

I hope that we dont go for him because it will just be validating in his mind that he can do what ever he wants and he will be rewarded for it...

Also if he is complaining that the AFL conditions are too harsh, then what ever conditions we place on his employment are going to be too harsh for him as well...

Worth a go in my opinion, we know the risks and seem to have them covered.

I know everyone doesn't believe it can happen, but imagine if he is okay, fires on the track and returns to the premier level midfielder he once was.

Hey Guys,

If there is one club that can turn Ben Cousins around its Carlton. I don't think people can be too critical if the blues offer Cousins a second chance. Worse case scenario, we sack him and waste a late pick. We say we tried to help him but failed. Big Deal.

If it works, and Ben plays good football, gets his life back on track, the Blues will go down as genius' and it may be the edge we need for the 17th Flag.

Cousins is one of the best players of our time. He is arrogant, and cocky, but so was Wayne Carey. Gary Ablett was a bad egg, and fevola is not Saint. Daniel Kerr should be in the same position as Cousins also, but he's going to be running around for West Coast on a $700,000 salary.

Buddy Franklin is another one, keep you eyes on him and his off the field antics. I bet clubs will still want him.

I think Ben can play until the age of 35. What makes the Blues different to other clubs is our ability to turn things in our favour when we need to. Like the half time deficit in the 1970 Grand final against the Pies.

Lets stick it up the rest of the AFL clubs and pick Ben up:

Midfield 09:
Judd, Cousins, Stevens, Murphy, Gibbs, Carrazzo, Simpson, Walker, Warnock

Thats one huge call, but i think i will stand beside the cranium on this one and wait till saturday.

Actually i have 1 question, Mr X, Where you in the meeting when this was all said or is it heresay?

Thats one huge call, but i think i will stand beside the cranium on this one and wait till saturday.

Actually i have 1 question, Mr X, Where you in the meeting when this was all said or is it heresay?

I'd say Mr X was in the meeting, he wouldn't make anything up.
Just like he was in the meeting where the S O'Hailpin to Melbourne deal was signed.
Oh hang on... that never happened.. :D

Mr X goes to a lot of meetings in the CBD!

I just got back from a meeting in the CBD and was told that ROK will be at Carlton next year

Carlton are close to doing a deal with Port for Bentick

Blues want Pick 38 and Port are prepared to offer 54.
Negotiations are still happening, and both clubs are keen to come to a compromise

Been some movement this morning regarding Walker

North and Harris has been discussed. Finer points of the deal have not been worked out yet

O'hailpin will definatley be traded and won't be at Carlton next season

There have been a few developments this morning and an announcement should be coming soon
:rolleyes:

I know there are a lot of rumours flying around at this time of year. However, I was speaking to a friend last night who told me a work colleague of his, who is close to a senior Carlton official had informed him that Carlton would be selecting Ben Cousins in this Saturday's draft. I am sceptical, but will only have to wait until Saturday to see if there is any truth to this.

My opinion, for what we would get late in the draft, the risk would be well and truly worth it - as long as it is not creating salary cap pressures. He along with Judd, would set a very high benchmark in regards to training intensity. He is a running machine who should be able to get 4 - 5 years out of himself, duting which time we will be in a position to challenge. Would create another option in the midfield, meaning others wouldnt receive as much scrutiny. And at the end of the day, the drug testing policy is that strict that it should act as a deterrent and if he mucks up, he is out straight away before he can have any influene on fellow players. A midfield of Judd, Stevens, Cousins, Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, etc would surely be the most potent in the league and create headaches for the opposition!!!

We have a young list and can afford to take a punt on someone a little older, as Hawthorh did with Dew last year.

Cousins at the right price would be a bonus...

seriously being in Melbourne if he is even thinking of going to a club and doing some stuff it's be in the media in 2 seconds before he's even had a chance to cause damage to any players.

In fact I think our team would embrace Cousins and help him stay clean as much as possible.

It is one of those unique situations where, I think there's only a 3% chance we will select Ben Cousins this Saturday, but if we do I won't be surprised. If that makes sense.

Sure does make sense, i feel the same, but in the back of my mind i have a funny feeling that we may pick him up. If we do or dont i wont really feel any different, more just looking forward to the boys playing each week and having something decent to watch again.

If true, and I highly, highly doubt it is, I have a couple of abnormal psychology text books to throw Swanny and Icke's way, doesn't paint a good picture ;)