Toast Ben Griffiths

Very promising. This is the 2nd time along with the Essendon game the other year where he's backed up a lot of the hype and showed real potential. I'm more stoked than anything he just got through the game really. If he could get a consistent run of 10 games on the trot it would be good.

Looking forward to the day when he is permanent CHF

Disagree, I like him as a defender and not just because of today. It's more important in this day and age to have a defense than a forward line. I'd rather have Riewoldt at FF, a second option in the second ruck (vickers) and then a few smalls and resting mids. The less crowded the forward 50 the better. As a defender, he just about completes our defense, and had all the attributes to be a gun defender. He is the answer to the monster CHFs who are also mobile.

played with no strapping on his shoulders so they would have to be pretty much fixed (touching wood)

Disagree, I like him as a defender and not just because of today. It's more important in this day and age to have a defense than a forward line. I'd rather have Riewoldt at FF, a second option in the second ruck (vickers) and then a few smalls and resting mids. The less crowded the forward 50 the better. As a defender, he just about completes our defense, and had all the attributes to be a gun defender. He is the answer to the monster CHFs who are also mobile.

the thing is there is no reason why it can be horses for courses. if teams have tall fwds he plays back if they are short then he can go fwd.

Had forgotten somewhat about Astbury.

But Elton could well be our long term CHF.

After all, it's not as if Big Griff needs to be that close to the goals to have a shot! :eek::D

played with no strapping on his shoulders so they would have to be pretty much fixed (touching wood)

Just another reason to play him down back. He wont be the one getting his shoulders twisted an hacked.

Was super impressed by him today. Not only defending well but got his hands to the footy and used it well.

And that boot... ****ing HUGE! Can't wait til he nails a goal from the centre circle!

Looking forward to the day when he is permanent CHF

Yes - This is what he was recruited for, and this is where he will end up. His career has been marred by injury. Lets hope he can string a few good performances. I always hoped that a fit Griffiths will be the CHF we so desperately need ! Today was encouraging.

Has he ever played in a losing side ?

Yeah unfortunately iirc he was in the FTF game last year. I understand why we might forget about that one. Actually played in couple last year.

I have been spruiking Griffiths to CHB all year. And i copped a couple of sprays, well i say to the nay sayers, while Biggie wasn't brilliant today, i just hope you all see what i see now. A 200cm, 100kg, 70m kick of the ball.

My biggest concern is losing him to the NFL as a punter

He is a beast of a kick.
Great game from Griff today. Did his job and did it well.
The youngest and most inexperienced back line in the league, minus Grimes and Batchelor, just stood up again and passed another test.

That run he took, touched it on the ground, was superb...just wish he'd taken a few more steps before unloading!

Same as the one in the first.....felt he could have taken a few more steps and watched it go though half way up the posts!

Still...he was just teasing..... if he gets 2 each game like that...it's just a matter of time now before he unleashes a 65m missile that sails through !

How nice is it to have some depth starting to build in our KPP stocks? Rance Grimes Jack now Griffiths also showing something. Would like to see Astbury back soon as well to just round out the group.

I have been spruiking Griffiths to CHB all year. And i copped a couple of sprays, well i say to the nay sayers, while Biggie wasn't brilliant today, i just hope you all see what i see now. A 200cm, 100kg, 70m kick of the ball.

Credit where it's due mate, I remember you kicking off this particular line of conversation. Don't think I commented at the time, but will admit I was a tad unsure about it. Still has a way to go, was outmarked a couple of times today (Hale and Roughhead from memory) where you'd expect him to get a spill with his height and reach. But early signs are promising :thumbsu: