Ben Hudson

Wayne's-World said:
I'll stand corrected but I believe he played the whole year from game 1 or early season having returned from the reco the previous year

Certainly wasn't anywhere near this late in the season.

you are probably right (he did it 1st game in the preseason one of the years didnt he). just remember him ripping it off to inspire the boys in the 97 prelim !

RoosterLad said:
Don't worry lads, we will look after Huddo.

The Crows Truth, that was one of the most inspirational things ive ever seen on a footy field.

agree :thumbsu: unbelievable impact on the lads as well

The Crows Truth said:
you are probably right (he did it 1st game in the preseason one of the years didnt he). just remember him ripping it off to inspire the boys in the 97 prelim !
How inspiring was that!

There are some things in this game you simply never forget ;)

Wayne's-World said:
How inspiring was that!

There are some things in this game you simply never forget ;)

agree mate. as much as i loved every minute of the 97GF there wasnt that unbelievable release of tension and exeburence that was felt when the siren sounded in that game

The Crows Truth said:

I think Rehn came back in about Round 4 of 1997, vs the Western Bulldogs at Optus Oval. From memory Koster came back in the same game from his reconstruction.

My second favourite piece of commentary is from the 97 prelim, Tim Watson: "Rehn has decided to take the bandage off his knee." Turning point.

My favourite bit of commentary occurred in the same game, halfway through the last quarter. As the camera panned over the some Bulldogs fans in the crowd, Sandy Roberts: "That young fan is wondering what the Bulldogs will do next week when they take on St Kilda."

Carl Spackler said:
My favourite bit of commentary occurred in the same game, halfway through the last quarter. As the camera panned over the some Bulldogs fans in the crowd, Sandy Roberts: "That young fan is wondering what the Bulldogs will do next week when they take on St Kilda."

ahh the memories :thumbsu:

lets hope sandy doesnt end up back on the friday night crew though next yr :thumbsd: he is next to useless imo

Sorry ladies and gents, Huddo has been picked in the magoos this week. Bit surprising, thought he would be given a brief run each quarter in the A's but obviously not gonna risk it and rush him back. Hopefully we will come up next week for the top vs bottom clash.

RoosterLad said:
Sorry ladies and gents, Huddo has been picked in the magoos this week. Bit surprising, thought he would be given a brief run each quarter in the A's but obviously not gonna risk it and rush him back. Hopefully we will come up next week for the top vs bottom clash.
I'm not sorry at all.

Huddo is a valuable player & best to ease him back after a long lay off. He would be badly lacking match fitness.

Great to see him back, but people should lower their expectations of him playing this year.

RoosterLad said:

In the magoos because jars would not want to unsettle the A's?

I would say Jars wants to keep his A side together that will be playing finals

birdmanptr said:
In the magoos because jars would not want to unsettle the A's?

I would say Jars wants to keep his A side together that will be playing finals
More to do with AFC wanting him to get back into it slowly and playing at a slower pace of SANFL reserves is as good a place as any to start.

Kane McGoodwin said:
I'm not sorry at all.

Huddo is a valuable player & best to ease him back after a long lay off. He would be badly lacking match fitness.

Great to see him back, but people should lower their expectations of him playing this year.

Agree but he would only get 10 to 15 minutes a quarter

My predicition against the Dockers no 13 returns or as i have ben saying the icing on the cake

RoosterLad said:

Will you be there? if so full report my good man Please

Yeh mate I'll be there, i usually watch at least half of the Reserves as they play great footy and are the reigning premiers.

I can tell you now, hes not playing Bs because Jars doesnt want to unsettle our As. One of our ruckmen playing As has only played 3 or 4 games at the most, we would LOVE to have big Huddo in the team as the ruck is one area we have struggled with a little bit this year.

As Kane said, we are easing him back in, us Roosters (and maybe even you lads) got a bit too excited with him coming back this week, he has had one of the worst injuries you can suffer so its good Jars and co arent rushing him back. He will actually come up against Minson the Power listed player in the 2s.

jc67 said:
You are greatly undervaluing him.
I was the poster who was laughed by most posters on this board in the 2004/05 pre-season for suggesting that Huddo would be our leading ruckman in 2005. ie. I rate him & value him big time ... but it appears many of you on BF (including his majesty crowmo) don't appreciate what it is like for a big man to come back from a knee injury after TWELVE MONTHS off competitive football. Name me a tall who has successfully played consistent AFL before 18 months? Get a shot of realism guys!

Kane McGoodwin said:
I was the poster who was laughed by most posters on this board in the 2004/05 pre-season for suggesting that Huddo would be our leading ruckman in 2005. ie. I rate him & value him big time ... but it appears many of you on BF (including his majesty crowmo) don't appreciate what it is like for a big man to come back from a knee injury after TWELVE MONTHS off competitive football. Name me a tall who has successfully played consistent AFL before 18 months? Get a shot of realism guys!

ok, so you just have some weird idea that you pulled from the sky that this particular player won't come back this year - despite no particular reasoning, evidence, or reference to all the players who make mid-season comebacks?

hey who knows maybe you're right, maybe you've just been the first guy to spot a radical shift in league thinking - that players will no longer attempt mid season comebacks, despite medical clearances.

sure it will be a big break from the past, but anythings possible :thumbsu:

Stiffy_18 said:
Other than Rehn, tell me who is the last player, let alone ruckman that has come off the knee reco to have a major impact immidietly after his return??????

who said anything about their impact?

Q. do players attempt mid season comebacks?
A. all the time.

Q. do players ever decide to throw away 1/2 or 1/3 of a season once cleared to play, only resuming after a full preseason?
A. never, or at least never once that I can recall.

for all we know Huddo will suck this week, and for the rest of the season, but that has nothing to do with whether he is physically able to start playing again.

If he's in form we'll play him, if he's not we probably won't. Nothing to do with nebullous assertions about his physical condition.

Crow-mo said:
who said anything about their impact?

Q. do players attempt mid season comebacks?
A. all the time.

Q. do players ever decide to throw away 1/2 or 1/3 of a season once cleared to play, only resuming after a full preseason?
A. never, or at least never once that I can recall.

for all we know Huddo will suck this week, and for the rest of the season, but that has nothing to do with whether he is physically able to start playing again.

If he's in form we'll play him, if he's not we probably won't. Nothing to do with nebullous assertions about his physical condition.
I have never argued that he won't make a comeback to footy this year. What I am saying is that people here are expecting him to come back into the Crows side and pick up where he left off. My opinion is based on history. Players, especially ruckman take at least half a season to warm up into anything resembling their pre-injury form. This is not an opinion pulled out of thin air. Its a trend that has been noticable over the years. Some players never comeback from knee reconstructions.

In the last 10 years the only ruckman I can remember coming back and having a serious impact in the same year was Shaun Rehn.

If you read this board, most people seem to think that Huddo is our gun recruit for the finals. He will come back as good as he was last year. History suggests that odds are against that happening. Thats all Kane, Wayne, Springy and myself have been saying.

Stiffy_18 said:
I have never argued that he won't make a comeback to footy this year. What I am saying is that people here are expecting him to come back into the Crows side and pick up where he left off. My opinion is based on history. Players, especially ruckman take at least half a season to warm up into anything resembling their pre-injury form. This is not an opinion pulled out of thin air. Its a trend that has been noticable over the years. Some players never comeback from knee reconstructions.

In the last 10 years the only ruckman I can remember coming back and having a serious impact in the same year was Shaun Rehn.

If you read this board, most people seem to think that Huddo is our gun recruit for the finals. He will come back as good as he was last year. History suggests that odds are against that happening. Thats all Kane, Wayne, Springy and myself have been saying.

and all I have been saying is that is physical condition won't stop him attempting a comeback, and nor should it. I agree entirely about concerns over form, I have no idea how he'll go.

however these pronouncements that he won't play this year, make no sense. Kane has some wacky idea he'll be the first player to elect not to make a mideseason comeback. that never happens.

To say he definitely won't play presumes knowledge of how he's going to go - which is nuts.

Kane McGoodwin said:
I usually take notice of the warning you post in your sig, but tonight I'll bite.:p
last years preseason almost everyone believed that he could make 1st ruck, absolutely make the team. Go back another year to find the better judges.

From what i know about Knee reco's, once its ok it's OK! He owns his own Physio equipment FFS, and the round the clock attention had him ready to go months ago. The danger is in the mind, and huddo is not your average bear in the mind dept either.
Anyway we'll know if he's up to it within a couple of weeks.
I am certain that he will play well in the SANFL and the Crows squad is picked on form, he will get back in soon.
If you get your car back from the crash repairer, do you leave it in the garage and drive your older, slower car with less performance? just in case you smash it again?

Crow-mo said:
ok, so you just have some weird idea that you pulled from the sky that this particular player won't come back this year - despite no particular reasoning, evidence, or reference to all the players who make mid-season comebacks?

hey who knows maybe you're right, maybe you've just been the first guy to spot a radical shift in league thinking - that players will no longer attempt mid season comebacks, despite medical clearances.

sure it will be a big break from the past, but anythings possible :thumbsu:
A comeback after 12 months from a knee injury playing at SANFL reserves level is one thing, playing with confidence at AFL level is another thing entirely. Funny how you reckon I'm the one with radical thinking. For someone suposedly very intelligent, I would have thought you could think through the logic of this a little better...

jc67 said:
I usually take notice of the warning you post in your sig, but tonight I'll bite.:p
last years preseason almost everyone believed that he could make 1st ruck, absolutely make the team. Go back another year to find the better judges.

From what i know about Knee reco's, once its ok it's OK! He owns his own Physio equipment FFS, and the round the clock attention had him ready to go months ago. The danger is in the mind, and huddo is not your average bear in the mind dept either.
Anyway we'll know if he's up to it within a couple of weeks.
I am certain that he will play well in the SANFL and the Crows squad is picked on form, he will get back in soon.
If you get your car back from the crash repairer, do you leave it in the garage and drive your older, slower car with less performance? just in case you smash it again?
With all due respects, thats one of the dumbest analogies I have every heard off.

Knees and cars are not even similar in any sense. Are you actually aware that when a person has a knee reco that the knee never gets to what it was before and it generally takes 2 years to "fully" heal properly.