List Mgmt. Ben King

there's something going on.

watch the end of the suns vs saints game from the other week. player welfare officer is the runner and reminds both of them they are on tv

from a list management perspective, I suspect there's a bit of the WCE philosophy here. establish two big towers to build the side around, similar to mcgovern and barras.

Adding to the intrigue, the normally conservative Matt Finnis was very candid on 3AW last week when he said to Leigh Matthews that Max King’s brother (Ben) would look good in a St Kilda jumper.

Eyebrows raised. I wonder if there is more to this than meets the eye.

there's something going on.

watch the end of the suns vs saints game from the other week. player welfare officer is the runner and reminds both of them they are on tv

from a list management perspective, I suspect there's a bit of the WCE philosophy here. establish two big towers to build the side around, similar to mcgovern and barras.
Why would one of the kings even contemplate going back. They are both key forwards.

Would def give 2 1sts for ben
This. And it will cost this much.

Trade Billings, we are looking at a top 10 pick and a 1st round compo.

Use a first and a second for Taranto, the other for the best kid.
2022, first and future first for Ben.

5 flags coming up.

This. And it will cost this much.

Trade Billings, we are looking at a top 10 pick and a 1st round compo.

Use a first and a second for Taranto, the other for the best kid.
2022, first and future first for Ben.

5 flags coming up.
And ask for extra salary cap space. This reminds me of 3 years ago when we were Whitfield and 2 other stars. We got none

Why would one of the kings even contemplate going back. They are both key forwards.
They are perfect for the modern forwards. Both can run and both can take a mark. When filled out tjhey will be impossible to play on. We'd be insane not to move heaven and earth to get them both. Mids are easy. You can get free agents and we have a few already. No side in history had had twin 200cm key forwards. Given how crap we are at following blueprints for success, let's get unique and create our own. Will be a blast to watch.

Adding to the intrigue, the normally conservative Matt Finnis was very candid on 3AW last when he said to Leigh Matthews that Max King’s brother (Ben) would look good in a St Kilda jumper.

Eyebrows raised. I wonder if there is more to this than meets the eye.
Unless it’s smoke and shadows behind the mirror stuff...

They are perfect for the modern forwards. Both can run and both can take a mark. When filled out tjhey will be impossible to play on. We'd be insane not to move heaven and earth to get them both. Mids are easy. You can get free agents and we have a few already. No side in history had had twin 200cm key forwards. Given how crap we are at following blueprints for success, let's get unique and create our own. Will be a blast to watch.
As I just said I think midfields win you grand finals these days. The best 2 midfields at the moment are first and second on the ladder.

Fair mate.
Neither has won the flag yet, i think Port will give it a shake but that’s all in the future.
I think we get Ben and if GC ask for 2x firsts we give it over with the minimum of posturing and sabre rattling. The story of having twins play for the same club is too good to pass up for the romantics in footy.

That's because we haven't executed our cunning plan yet. None of us are talking about this year. We have time to get the mids and get King. It may cost us Billings but so what. The twins are still 3 years from being the force we want them to be and they will be a force for many years to come. There's time to get the mids but we need BING to make the side unique. Amazes me that some don't see it. You can do two things to make us a premiership side, BING and mids - BING will cost a 1st and Billings. We still have time to build the mids. Other clubs will come calling on BING and if one of them gets him we will never pry him loose.

Fair mate.
Neither has won the flag yet, i think Port will give it a shake but that’s all in the future.
I think we get Ben and if GC ask for 2x firsts we give it over with the minimum of posturing and sabre rattling. The story of having twins play for the same club is too good to pass up for the romantics in footy.
No they haven’t won a flag but tigers have with the best mid small forward in the afl. And the rest of their midfield runs very deep if not quite stars. Doesn’t mean those 2 sides aren’t first and second on the ladder at the moment.

That's because we haven't executed our cunning plan yet. None of us are talking about this year. We have time to get the mids and get King. It may cost us Billings but so what. The twins are still 3 years from being the force we want them to be and they will be a force for many years to come. There's time to get the mids but we need BING to make the side unique. Amazes me that some don't see it. You can do two things to make us a premiership side, BING and mids - BING will cost a 1st and Billings. We still have time to build the mids. Other clubs will come calling on BING and if one of them gets him we will never pry him loose.
So we lose our second best player this year in the hope we get mids into the future. Losing a very good outside mid in the hope of getting a very good inside mid makes zero sense to me.

No they haven’t won a flag but tigers have with the best mid small forward in the afl. And the rest of their midfield runs very deep if not quite stars. Doesn’t mean those 2 sides aren’t first and second on the ladder at the moment.
Yeah that’s fair mate - and I agree fwiw. Mids are more structurally important pieces, but I’m a romantic and would love to see the boys play long, successful careers with the club

Sounds great but I reckon one wakelin is happy they didn’t stay together. Or either brown not that they were together

Our midfield is probably the top ten best in the league at full strength and most of them are still young enough that by the time we get Ben King (let’s face it - however we get him here it is going to happen eventually regardless of how you or I or anyone else here feels about it) they will still be very important. And by then we may have Taranto Heeney and Jelly in there to help.

Unless it’s smoke and shadows behind the mirror stuff...

It was an interesting little interlude. Finnis would normally say that Ben King was a contracted player at Gold Coast and that such a scenario was unlikely. But he did nothing of the sort.

I don’t think he let his guard down or had a slip of the tongue. He knew what he was saying.

So we lose our second best player this year in the hope we get mids into the future. Losing a very good outside mid in the hope of getting a very good inside mid makes zero sense to me.

If Billings gets us the 2nd 1st round pick we need to get BING then he's done his job. He's a pretty good footballer but he's not a key piece in my puzzle. He's neither a mid or a BING. Rucks are the other key and he's not a ruck either. So yeah, he can go. It doesn't matter if it makes sense to you now, it will become clear to you when you can view it with hindsight.

If we get Bing, what do we think our forward line setup will look like. We are already struggling to find Battle a spot and it doesn't seem as though we are interested in him playing CHB. Especially if Ryder plays on and one of him/Marshall is playing resting forward. Membrey might also spend more time as a defender playing in the hole like he did the other week? For me, I think it looks something like this

CHF: Membrey Bing Butler
FF: Higgings, Ming, Marshall/Ryder

For me, I think this might be a little tall. Yes, all of Membrey King X2 and Marshall/Ryder are good at ground level but I think it's just missing a smaller crumbing type. The only thing I could think of is if Membrey is in a rotation with a Gresham/Billings type, but they play completely different positions. This leaves Battle, we all know the guy has potential, but we aren't utilising it properly and I feel as though he might be offered to Gold Coast as part of a trade. He might see an opportunity to lock down a CHF position there? The only way I can see him staying is if he is being guaranteed a forward position in the future after Ryder retires (say as a chop out with Marshall in Ruck) so it would look like this

CHF: Membrey, Bing, Butler
FF: Higgins, Ming, Marshall/Battle

If Billings gets us the 2nd 1st round pick we need to get BING then he's done his job. He's a pretty good footballer but he's not a key piece in my puzzle. He's neither a mid or a BING. Rucks are the other key and he's not a ruck either. So yeah, he can go. It doesn't matter if it makes sense to you now, it will become clear to you when you can view it with hindsight.
Unpopular opinion, but I would prefer we keep Billings and trade Gresham. Unfortunately I don’t see Gresh getting us a first rounder as compo with his injury history.

I don’t it makes sense to our club either. I certainly hope not. I think billings is playing on the wing in the last few games. That’s part of the midfield and a very important part of the midfield this year. If he goes who is your magical wing replacement. Last time I watched a game which was Sunday the midfield get the ball to forwards and the more they get it and the better they use it then the forwards get more looks.

And whats the point in having two big key forwards if we have to get rid our good outside mids who would be kicking them the ball.

If we get Bing, what do we think our forward line setup will look like. We are already struggling to find Battle a spot and it doesn't seem as though we are interested in him playing CHB. Especially if Ryder plays on and one of him/Marshall is playing resting forward. Membrey might also spend more time as a defender playing in the hole like he did the other week? For me, I think it looks something like this

CHF: Membrey Bing Butler
FF: Higgings, Ming, Marshall/Ryder

For me, I think this might be a little tall. Yes, all of Membrey King X2 and Marshall/Ryder are good at ground level but I think it's just missing a smaller crumbing type. The only thing I could think of is if Membrey is in a rotation with a Gresham/Billings type, but they play completely different positions. This leaves Battle, we all know the guy has potential, but we aren't utilising it properly and I feel as though he might be offered to Gold Coast as part of a trade. He might see an opportunity to lock down a CHF position there? The only way I can see him staying is if he is being guaranteed a forward position in the future after Ryder retires (say as a chop out with Marshall in Ruck) so it would look like this

CHF: Membrey, Bing, Butler
FF: Higgins, Ming, Marshall/Battle

I'd trade Membrey and/or Battle.

Unpopular opinion, but I would prefer we keep Billings and trade Gresham. Unfortunately I don’t see Gresh getting us a first rounder as compo with his injury history.

GWS have been keen on Gresham since he was drafted. They may ask the question.

In addition, GWS have additional 1st RDPs this year, one of which is Collingwood’s which could end up being pick 2 or 3. They may be prepared to splurge, trading-out their other first rounder.