Traded Ben Long

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

i think you are right. wright also has the flexibility of being able to play down back

i dont think billing can afford to phone it in/be picked on his draft position though. he's going to have some absolutely fierce competition for his spot now

I'm pretty confident Billings will be right this year, he went out injured after starting the year well and was never quite the same again. Statistically his year was actually not as bad as it seemed, most of us would have had Gresham as having outstanding year playing in a similar position but jack beat him in just about every stat. I know its not really fair him being a new player but he played the same role pretty much. I'm actually more worried Jade will end up spending more time at Sandy once his work rate goes up and second year blues set in.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...2=16&type=A&pid1=3920&pid2=4178&fid1=S&fid2=S

I'm pretty confident Billings will be right this year, he went out injured after starting the year well and was never quite the same again. Statistically his year was actually not as bad as it seemed, most of us would have had Gresham as having outstanding year playing in a similar position but jack beat him in just about every stat. I know its not really fair him being a new player but he played the same role pretty much. I'm actually more worried Jade will end up spending more time at Sandy once his work rate goes up and second year blues set in.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...2=16&type=A&pid1=3920&pid2=4178&fid1=S&fid2=S

very fair point!

Got a fair set of shoulders on a lanky frame, the lad...

IMG_0848.JPG

Reckon he could fill out quite nicely.

View attachment 313832

Given how much he's shot up in height in recent years, imagine if he grows another inch or two and fills out nicely, combined with his attack on the man and ball!

View attachment 313832

Looks like he'd have good overhead reach with those arms.

To quote the late Jack Dyer " hes got long arms like octopus testicles".

Given how much he's shot up in height in recent years, imagine if he grows another inch or two and fills out nicely, combined with his attack on the man and ball!

7cm of growth in the last 12 months suggest there's hopefully another inch at least to come. His cousin Jake Long at Essendon is 186cm so currently at 183cm I wouldn't be surprised if he matched Jake's height within the next year.

View attachment 313832

is it just me or does he have a gilbert like frame and look a bit like johnathan thurston in the face. he could build up nicely in the gym

7cm of growth in the last 12 months suggest there's hopefully another inch at least to come. His cousin Jake Long at Essendon is 186cm so currently at 183cm I wouldn't be surprised if he matched Jake's height within the next year.
I've seen him listed at 185cm as well...

You havin' a laff?

not at all. no one is an immediate selection anymore with how much competition there is for spots around the ground, let alone the fwd flankers we have where we have a number of options

i wouldnt be surprised in the slightest if someone goes past him round 1. i dont think its something we should automatically rule out, that he is a lock come round 1

its a good thing that we are in this position now. that what the dogs had and look how it drove that side to the point they could drop stringer for poor form prior to finals

Paywalled. Would you mind copy and pasting?

Copy the title of the article, open a new window, paste in the title in the browser then go click on link, it should subvert the paywall. It works most of the time.

Nice tip cheers. I only knew the incognito window tip which sometimse works, but I wasn't aware of that one.

Sometimes it will bring up hit for the same article on an affiliated paper too.

Give Ben the #32 guernsey if Paddy goes to #4.

Worn by the great Robbie 'Mad Dog' Muir, it seems apt.

i think you are right. wright also has the flexibility of being able to play down back

i dont think billing can afford to phone it in/be picked on his draft position though. he's going to have some absolutely fierce competition for his spot now

Long at half back playing a Johannisen like role, JWeb to HF to take over Wright's role.

Same maniacal pressure but with a beautiful left shoe to deliver or kick snags.

Long at half back playing a Johannisen like role, JWeb to HF to take over Wright's role.

Same maniacal pressure but with a beautiful left shoe to deliver or kick snags.
I think if we were going to do something like that it would be D-Mac to half forward instead of Webster. We played him there in the defensive forward role for a game or two this year.

What seems to very good about Long is that he also has a strong defensive side.

Apparently he played on Ainsworth in the Allies v Vic Country game and kept him to 5 touches while he got a dozen or so touches and 6 tackles.

I see one Doggies supporter reckons starting 22 Round 1 - big call but from someone has seen a lot more of him they we have.

Yeah but Billings can make the grade.
His 2016 was very similar to Acres stats wise.
He played one more game, kicked one less goal, a couple more inside 50's and a few more disposals to Acres.
Both of them comfortably the next ones on the pecking order after Steven , Newnes, Armitage and Ross.

But tell me this... how did Joey become one of our most effective kicks into the fifty, while playing of the back?