Traded Ben Long

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

I agree you can't keep punishing them forever, but you must admit the Bombers' getting the No 1 draft pick for finishing bottom because their players were suspended for cheating, doesn't really sit well.
The incompetence of the AFL in all these matters past ( and now again in the Whitfield affair) is truly astounding.
I'd love to see them punished forever. ******* cheats, if it had happened to St. Kilda we would be kicked from the AFL and would no longer exist as a club, until a local Moorabbin football club bought the naming rights. The fact that they got pick 1 as compensation for finishing last because they lost all their players because they're ******* cheating dogs, I will never understand. The AFL is a joke

They chose the wrong one at #1 anyway.

Its pretty simple.
The AFL should have coordinated stripping them of draft picks with the suspension of players.
That would have been the best solution.

However.
The AFL didn't believe that any players would be suspended so decided to put the whole issue to rest by stripping the club of first and second round draft picks in 2013, and 2014. ( Bizarrely giving them back an end of first round pick ).

Given that this two year punishment has been applied, I'm yet to hear any justification for stripping the club of more draft picks. You can't just keep taking picks off them randomly forever.

If they'd had a first rounder in 2013 there is a good chance they'd have taken Dunstan or Acres. ( as it is they traded for a 2nd rounder and picked up Merrett ).

Anyway, chalk it all up to unprofessional incompetence by the AFL who thought it would be perfectly OK to make the "she'll be right" judgement call regarding the supplements program , ignoring all the rules and regulations they subscribe to.

The Dons were fined and given money back as well. They were given draft penalties for burning all their medical records. The only AFL charge they ever saw was for a losing their paperwork. They were actually supported by the AFL in their cheating from Demetrio warning them so they could do their document destruction to having no penalties and right through to providing money and assistance for getting them off any legal proceedings.

The Bombres have been allowed to pay players outside the salary cap because of the money they are paying as compo, they were allowed keep the players who played last year etc. The clubs who took thier players were more punished than them. They AFL has handled most of it's controversies in a terrible way for the last few years and the whole image of the comp is tarnished. I think they need a massive clean out and start again with no old boys in charge any more.

I reckon the club would see him as becoming a midfielder.. But will start his career as a HF
He moves like Josh Kelly. Have a look at their highlights. Their long striding running gait is identical

Perfect for the wing

Perhaps Long can be our version of McDonald-Tipungwuti from Essendon, who switched between half back and half forward at times last season to great effect.

Yep will be almost as big a blunder as picking that fat slob ranga neckbeard at pick 6 the dodo strikes again
McGrath is good but I just love giving my Bomber mates shit that they spent pick 1 on a glorified small back pocket.

Th
McGrath is good but I just love giving my Bomber mates shit that they spent pick 1 on a glorified small back pocket.
ats such rubbish
McGrath only played half back because he was such a freak a freak off half back and the sandy miss we're good enough to win with out him there but every time he played in the midfield he was close to if not the best in ground.
28 touches in the second half of the granny
He is way way more then just a back pocket

Th

ats such rubbish
McGrath only played half back because he was such a freak a freak off half back and the sandy miss we're good enough to win with out him there but every time he played in the midfield he was close to if not the best in ground.
Rofl

It was tongue in cheek to get a rise out of my flog Essendon Kool-aid drinking mates

Th

ats such rubbish
He's like a 4ft 9 Michael burrito have you seen the chin on him? Ludicrous comment