LAK, NUFC, SAS, SFGiants, 49ers,
WE HAVE FOUND A CENTRE HALF BACK.:D:D:thumbsu:

Ben was great again today, and just seems to be getting better.

His kick to handball ratio is what is impressive, with 18 kicks and 4 handballs today, with a disposal efficiency of 86%.

He also took 9 marks, which was probably the most impressive part of his game.

And to think this is the same Ben Reid who we all thought was gone after he failed as a forward.

Yes, he still has areas of his game to work on, but unless he gets injured, he plays every game from now on, including any finals we are in.

As good as Melbourne's youngsters are supposed to be, we had the 2 best young players on the ground today, in Dick and Reid.:thumbsu:

With the Jack Riewoldt comparisons being thrown around because of their subsequent draft picks, I wouldn't swap Ben Reid for any young KP player in the league.

Will be a 200 + game player for the pies, and has the skill to be something special.

And to think, that was just his 17th AFL game, WOW.:eek::D

I would not Cement him at CHB Quite Yet but he was Good Again. Just needs to work on his Defensive Game and Get More Strength

very good post. Reid I think someone mad an awesome post about reid last week, something about him being on the up and up.

Don't get too carried away, he was not better than Swan, Pendles, Thomas or Lockyer.. Okay going forward, still worried about his defensive side though. looks lost at times.

That is Improving Mate - Played about 10 Games or less as a KPD in the AFL

With the Jack Riewoldt comparisons being thrown around because of their subsequent draft picks, I wouldn't swap Ben Reid for any young KP player in the league..........

I'm really impressed with his improvement and can see him being a good long term player for us........but I reckon most of us would take Jack Riewoldt over him in a heartbeat. :o

Take my hat off to him. Very, very solid game, didnt see him put a foot wrong.
He did look a bit slower than usual today though, the break should do him well.

I was a bit concerned about Presti really, Green pretty much marked every ball that came to him until Harry went onto him close to the end.

I really don't see where the concerns about his defensive side is coming from personally. He struggled at times against O'Halplin in a game that was not friendly to defenders. He struggled in a match up against J Brown that was never going to suit him. Besides that he has been very solid defensively when given a role. Did a solid job on Mooney who is an AA foward. He isn't going to be a Presti type glove defender but certainly is going to be a good 1 on 1 defender.

He still needs to work on his tank, his repeat efforts let him down a touch. A bigger tank will mean if he does get the loose man role he will be able to get to more contests. His core strength also needs some improvement. The rest I think will come with experince.

The only thing stopping him being a very good CHB is if he ends up going foward again.

Reid's kicking is the thing that most surprises me. He could hardly kick a ball when he was first drafted and now its becoming a real strength. He does have a little habit of leaning back on occasions but most of the time, he's very accurate.

He took a very good contest mark today.

I think he is headed places.

Presti is showing signs of age. This may be his last year..He has never liked being isolated at chf and opposing teams are starting to work on his weaknesses more than they did in the past...

The team is going through him as a designated kicker, which is a laughable turn of events after all the naysayers binned him for "lack of kicking ability" early in his career.

While the OP has gone a little over the top in his praise of Reid and may need to tidy himself up... he has been very good.

He has definitely cemented himself at CHB and he and Brown will form a good combination for the next decade.

While the OP has gone a little over the top in his praise of Reid and may need to tidy himself up... he has been very good.

He has definitely cemented himself at CHB and he and Brown will form a good combination for the next decade.

I just think it's extraordinary the turnaround in Ben Reid from about this time last year.

He played his last senior game as a forward about this time last year, and was woeful, yet 12 months later, and only a handful of senior games added to his experience, he is holding down Centre Half Back in a premiership contender.

If Ben Reid isn't one of the most improved footballers in the AFL, then I give up, because his improvement from about VFL finals time on lats year has been amazing.

Loved his game today, played on Miller for most of the game, and stopped his influence, and his field kicking was above any standard.

I think he will really benefit from the break this week too.

He is playing well but looking very tired towards the end of the last couple of games. His last quarters have been quiet.

Our whole team seem to be struggling in last quarters. We lead at every change and drew. Some big last quarter games.
melb 4-2 to 3-3 draw
dogs 6-1 to 1-4 win
bris 5-2 to 2-3 loss
cats 3-2 to 0-6 loss
freo 4-2 to 3-3 comfortable win
stk 4-3 to 0-3 loss

there's our 3 losses and draw. Lost every last quarter. It's something we need to work on. Sorry to hi-jack the thread.
Back on topic, Ben Reid is looking every bit a long term find for our key position backline stocks. He is athletic AND can actually play football!

The team is going through him as a designated kicker, which is a laughable turn of events after all the naysayers binned him for "lack of kicking ability" early in his career.

His Kicking Improvement has been Amazing, He is almost playing a QB Role in Defense know setting us up with his Kicks

I've been under the impression that he has always been a beautiful long kick.
One lousy shot at goal and everyone wrote him off!!!
I wonder if any of those people saw Josh Kennedys shot at goal last weekend.... He was lucky it went through because it was nearly identical to Reidys twinkle toes!!!

Reid and Dick were fantastic on the weekend and are definitely what I am going to focus on over the next two weeks.

Oh and Leon starting in the middle.... Well done MICK! FINALLY!

I wonder if any of those people saw Josh Kennedys shot at goal last weekend.... He was lucky it went through because it was nearly identical to Reidys twinkle toes!!!

Reid and Dick were fantastic on the weekend and are definitely what I am going to focus on over the next two weeks.

He has always been a pretty good field kick, those stutters in his run up to goal were just plain ugly and tarnished his reputation.

He still needs to do a fair bit of work in the gym around his core and legs to be able to hold his ground better and not get pushed off the ball too easily, but overall he's been quite impressive.

I know its not the right thread, but as for Leon starting in the middle.... about bloody time!

The thing is that is not a one off for Kennedy, He regularly has that ugly approach to goal. Despite that his set shot accuracy has been very good.

His horrible kicking in that Carlton game was because he shat his pants as a 19yo immature kid.

He now knows he belongs, (or you thnk he would know) and he would have fixed up those issues upstairs. Clearly he is a beautiful kick of the footy, it is one of his best weapons.

I would like him tyo float forward and pinch goals a bit more. That will also come with confidence, and a 'floating forward' liscence from stubborn Mick.

He has a massive future at our club.

I know its not the right thread, but as for Leon starting in the middle.... about bloody time!

wasnt he only there for about 1 minute? then went straight back to forward line. I'm sensing when didak comes back in he will play in midfield.