Benalla & District

• Thread starter Thread starter raso43

Any new players that can play the game though. After wining a total of 0 games last year, 10 - 15 new players that can play the game wouldnt go astray.
They wernt too bad last year and if they are able to pick up a few decent players you would think the will be a fairly competative this year.

The feet of the goal umpire at that top end are level with the head of the goal umpire at the downhill end.
Ironically, in the near 40 years I've been involved with BDFL footy, many close games at Doon have been won in the last quarter by the side kicking uphill.
As my old school mate, Jack Dyer used to say (.. he was still at school when I arrived), footy is 90% physical and 20% mental !
Not my feeling on that one carrot. Sounds a bit like that snap goal I kicked from the half back flank against the wind at Devenish in 2001.
I would say the close games were won by the team who kicked up hill in the last had a fairly handy lead at 3/4 time. Very hard to stop a team on a roll when they are kicking down hill in the last.

I don't think it will take 10-15 (although that would be handy). Damien King and David Renkin are back on the training track , both are handy, having Fritsch providing a focal point up forward will also be handy. We moved the ball forward plenty of times last year, but just didn't convert. These's a few others in the pipeline so watch this space.
Must be good to have the Bonnie Doon coach coaching Swanpool:D
Whats the go with the love fest in this league?

Must be good to have the Bonnie Doon coach coaching Swanpool:D
Whats the go with the love fest in this league?
Matt Finch is already making his mark in attracting new red blood to the stadium. Check the BDFL website Transfer lists in coming weeks for more info. I see the Tatong twins must have dented egos with clearances rejected to Doon.
Now CD, for Chrissake! What's this love fest comment about. Have you been listening to your Barry White LP records again. If at least three bloggers have an affinity with the Redlegs and Blue then don’t fight ‘em mate .. join ‘em!!;)

Hey Carrot and Specko.
Bonnie Doon must be in the money this year. Carrot, whats the chances they see the end is nigh and may be clearing out the bank account before the club folds without a home? Just a thought.
I reckon Roger on that Dodger .. ( Shit, this is starting to sound like a Lesley Nielsen movie!! Flying High?)
As we all know Longwood had a navel gazing exercise in June 2007 which came out with positives for the future .. but with the emphasis on staying with and supporting the B&DNFL. The plan is to revisit that meeting in 2008 for an update.
Now if a four letter acronym called VCFL doesn’t give FCUK a chance to be a sponsor after the 2008 season then where do the Redlegs go.
One tact is to be financially prepared and the hard working committee is ensuring that. The other is to go out with glory in 2008 Benalla and District football to prove a point of a future. As I’ve said before. The subtle message from the VCFL is that towns surrounding Benalla will be given life lines, but the Redlegs and the Doon can get on their bike.

So I think you’ve hit the mark, Dodgeball, Doon are spending the dollars for the vinegar stroke!

I reckon Roger on that Dodger .. ( Shit, this is starting to sound like a Lesley Nielsen movie!! Flying High?)
As we all know Longwood had a navel gazing exercise in June 2007 which came out with positives for the future .. but with the emphasis on staying with and supporting the B&DNFL. The plan is to revisit that meeting in 2008 for an update.
Now if a four letter acronym called VCFL doesn’t give FCUK a chance to be a sponsor after the 2008 season then where do the Redlegs go.
One tact is to be financially prepared and the hard working committee is ensuring that. The other is to go out with glory in 2008 Benalla and District football to prove a point of a future. As I’ve said before. The subtle message from the VCFL is that towns surrounding Benalla will be given life lines, but the Redlegs and the Doon can get on their bike.

So I think you’ve hit the mark, Dodgeball, Doon are spending the dollars for the vinegar stroke!

Ahh. Takes me back into some of the steep history of the B&D carrot. 82 doon went all out and bought a few and spent a dollar, which just wasn't done in them days. Only to go through the season undefeated i think then fall over in the big 1 to the boys from VT. Their 1st flag in some yrs and wild celebrations followed with the local pub putting on free beer for a week.:eek::thumbsu: Hope the B&D continues.

Matt Finch is already making his mark in attracting new red blood to the stadium. Check the BDFL website Transfer lists in coming weeks for more info. I see the Tatong twins must have dented egos with clearances rejected to Doon.
Now CD, for Chrissake! What's this love fest comment about. Have you been listening to your Barry White LP records again. If at least three bloggers have an affinity with the Redlegs and Blue then don’t fight ‘em mate .. join ‘em!!;)
Referring to how players in this comp play for Goorambat last year Swanpool this year and Bonnie Doon (fictional example, Im not saying their is someone who has actualy done this just emphasising how players in the league move from club to club) next year. Seems not only do you guy's love to play each other 1000 times a year you also like to share the love in transfering to other teams within the league.
Is it too hard for players pull their finger out and have a go in a stronger league. Might be the reason the league is going down the gurgler, no one whats to improve or do the hard yards!
I can understand Tatong, you can never have enough drug taking peodapfiles in your side.
Hey veggie man, if you know who the bird man is recruiting, put some names up. Dont wait for transfers to come through and say I told you, when you had no idea other than that he would recruit someone.
Oh and John not fighting the Redlegs and Blue just speaking my mind. Also wont be joining.

Interesting that Tatong would reject their clearances. After last year I would have thought Tatong would have been glad to see the back of them. Though Im fairly sure Tatong rejected every clearance last year. Tatong may think their too good to leave again, like last year.
Maybe they would prefer they went to anouther league? As both can play the game. Maybe the 2 of them should step up into a higher league. But might be their only chance for a medal with all the recruiting Doon is doing. Any news on who they (doon) have lost other than Nick?

Ahh. Takes me back into some of the steep history of the B&D carrot. 82 doon went all out and bought a few and spent a dollar, which just wasn't done in them days. Only to go through the season undefeated i think then fall over in the big 1 to the boys from VT. Their 1st flag in some yrs and wild celebrations followed with the local pub putting on free beer for a week.:eek::thumbsu: Hope the B&D continues.
Would most likley be the only time I would ever wanted to play for V.T.
Other than that time when I was at high school tryin to crack onto a couple of V.T. girls.:D

Interesting that Tatong would reject their clearances. After last year I would have thought Tatong would have been glad to see the back of them. Though Im fairly sure Tatong rejected every clearance last year. Tatong may think their too good to leave again, like last year.
Maybe they would prefer they went to anouther league? As both can play the game. Maybe the 2 of them should step up into a higher league. But might be their only chance for a medal with all the recruiting Doon is doing. Any news on who they (doon) have lost other than Nick?

The ONLY reason Andrew and Daryl's clearances were rejected is because they are both still in possession of club jumpers. As soon as they are returned they will be cleared. Dont be surprised if they end up at Glenrowan in the O&K

why get cleared to Doon if they are going to the O&K?? 2 part movement

Ive been told that Goorambat was approached by Webby and Dodders to play but knocked them back. Also Goorambat have been recruiting well so Bonnie Doon may not be traveling as well as they think.
Is Nolan staying at Goorambat?

See Chris Anderson from Benalla also heading to Doon. Good smart young footballer. His Bro plays at Tatong.

Finchy took training at Longwood on Wednesday night I believe. Can anyone confirm some numbers and possibly any recruits he may have?
25 - 30 on the track. Skills were pretty good and fitness hasnt droped off too much over the break. A few new recruits with a bit of hight. Things are looking good for the red legs.
Aparently Finchy is still waiting on the club to come to terms G Knight. Apparently has been working very hard in the off season and looks a million dollars, but is looking to play in a higher league. Would be ashame for the club to loose someone of his calibre and experiance.:D