Benalla & District

Great stuff Aaron .. sounds like a fantastic club. But a bit too far from Benalla and D for me to sign up.
All the best in 2009, I'll keep on the MudCrabs website to see how you are going during next season. Go the Crabs! A pox on all others!!:thumbsu:

Whole thing sounds a bit poxy to me JC :p:p:p

john Carrot. Is Finchy coaching again and what is the big news we need to await?
I am hanging by my short and curlies awaiting this monumental (or mental) news.
One ex coach had a hole in one a few weeks ago. Can you tell him to stop texting me now as I got the message, I just refused to believe a hack could do that. He may as well give up, it wont get any better for him.

john Carrot. Is Finchy coaching again and what is the big news we need to await?
I am hanging by my short and curlies awaiting this monumental (or mental) news.
One ex coach had a hole in one a few weeks ago. Can you tell him to stop texting me now as I got the message, I just refused to believe a hack could do that. He may as well give up, it wont get any better for him.
Not that big of a deal as Im sure a lot of golfers have had one. Mind you from 170m I guess I had a little luck on my side. You been able to hit the green on a par 3 yet. You might need to slow down you back swing a little.

When is this league going to close down, 5 teams Y bother. Swanpool and Tatong should merge and apply for o&k. otherwise just fold everything, Doon & Wood can find new leagues. the other players go to Blacks and start Benalla Rovers again. Then they can go anywhere. 5 teams stupid, it was bad enough with 6, win 2 games in the finals!

You will find 2010 will be a whole new ball game.

Not that big of a deal as Im sure a lot of golfers have had one. Mind you from 170m I guess I had a little luck on my side. You been able to hit the green on a par 3 yet. You might need to slow down you back swing a little.

Teachings from the master. I cant wait for that next round. You lost via handicap last time and it wont get any better next time.

back of our training singlets
I got the crabs with the Gladstone Mudcrabs in 2008

But definatley Go the Mighty Muddies!!!!:)
One last thing AB_1980 .. in the Benalla and D a training "singlet" is the first thing to go on when changing in the shed before you put on three old footy jumpers for training on late July winter nights! Maybe a further recruiting angle to get the players up there?:D

G'day GG and the Dodger
First Golf ..
GG you'd better check. Heard from a related golfing legend at Longwood that the "Redda Hot Roger's" ball landed in a green side tap hole after the drive and he claimed it as a gimme .. would not surprise .. only a 165 metres after all!

Football
In the words of the esteemed Eddy MagEverywhere .. "all will be revealed in the fullness of time!" Which was Eddy's way of saying at the moment I don't know and if I did I would be telling you buzzards!

Who we should be asking is the VCFL and the B&D amateur League administrators (..did you know they posted the wrong winner of their premiership side for 6 hours after the game on their website?) as to what th' is happening now that it is October and betting is open for 2009..

Anyone out there got some official facts!!! For Cripesake!!!

Carrot

Who's this newbie .. Cellar Dweller's "Mini Me Mel" Take your insipid opinions back to other threads like CD's realm, such as the O&K blog.
There you will find the master .. grasshopper!
John Carrot

G'day GG and the Dodger
First Golf ..
GG you'd better check. Heard from a related golfing legend at Longwood that the "Redda Hot Roger's" ball landed in a green side tap hole after the drive and he claimed it as a gimme .. would not surprise .. only a 165 metres after all!

Football
In the words of the esteemed Eddy MagEverywhere .. "all will be revealed in the fullness of time!" Which was Eddy's way of saying at the moment I don't know and if I did I would be telling you buzzards!

Who we should be asking is the VCFL and the B&D amateur League administrators (..did you know they posted the wrong winner of their premiership side for 6 hours after the game on their website?) as to what th' is happening now that it is October and betting is open for 2009..

Anyone out there got some official facts!!! For Cripesake!!!

Carrot
Hey Carrot how you been?
Its only been a couple of weeks and it seems the HI1 story is already growing from pub to pub. I wouldnt listen to GG Carrot as like he says why let fact get in the way.
Now on footbal Carrot, came across a story on the net that said that Longwood has had it with the B&D and want to move on. Think it said something about the KDFL, any news or was it just a cry for attention?
Will Finchy be coaching again?
Also Carrot I think one shot has put me ahead of a certain brother of yours. Like GG let him know if he wants any help with his game dont be scared to ask.

Hey Carrot how you been?
Its only been a couple of weeks and it seems the HI1 story is already growing from pub to pub. I wouldnt listen to GG Carrot as like he says why let fact get in the way.
Now on footbal Carrot, came across a story on the net that said that Longwood has had it with the B&D and want to move on. Think it said something about the KDFL, any news or was it just a cry for attention?
Will Finchy be coaching again?
Also Carrot I think one shot has put me ahead of a certain brother of yours. Like GG let him know if he wants any help with his game dont be scared to ask.
G'day Dodger
Joking of course about LPC and the hole in one but if you've rounded him up I'll pass on the tip!
Footy .. Dunno.
LFC AGM Thursday night 9 Oct so more may be forthcoming re Finchy and the future (or not?) of the Redlegs.
Story on the net I take it was the one from the Weekly Times after the Prelim. The other girl let Becci C know she would not be there, but Becc had to rush to Melbourne for her sister's emergency operation to deliver little Zoe.
Apparently Bec rang at 6pm to say no appearance and the Benalla Netball floozies took it from there to deduct 4 points and put the A's out of the finals. The Benalla Football said, "Don't look at us, this is a netball thing".
News to me that the netballers are in a different League. Then to cap it off they had the Bats beating Doon on the net site on Sunday night!
Vote of no confidence I'd say and what transpires at Redlegs Stadium tomorrow night might be worth people going along for a sticky beak..
Cheers
John Carrot
ps Can't be there m'self .. work this time! Hope to get down for the "Back To" on Satd'y and find out the goss..

Here it goes

backs B.anderson, B. MCAULIFFE M.dawson
center half backs B.raeburn S.pearce c.fletcher
center B.vercoe T.tanner D.keen
chf B.tanner k.dockery G.burnell
ff R.webster B.torney S.armstrong
Rucks G.vallender T.nolan C.dunne
i/c D.fletcher C.anderson C.dube
emg C.relf B.turner T.hair:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Must be exciting in the B&D if you still need to bring me into you posts!
G'day CD ol' mate .. even when you seem friendly you are still vitriolic!
Longwood Redlegs AGM last Thursday was big and positive.
Finchy declared himself 60/40 at the presentation night speech to coach next year and what has transpired since see's the 60 inflationary while the 40 drops as fast as the all ordinaries .. there you go me no show mate .. we'll add a bit of fiscal flavour and dub you the "All Ordinary". Much better call than Cellar Dweller!
Cheers
John Carrot ;)
Best vegie to buy tomorrow are the carrots in Douro Valley ..

G'day CD ol' mate .. even when you seem friendly you are still vitriolic!
Longwood Redlegs AGM last Thursday was big and positive.
Finchy declared himself 60/40 at the presentation night speech to coach next year and what has transpired since see's the 60 inflationary while the 40 drops as fast as the all ordinaries .. there you go me no show mate .. we'll add a bit of fiscal flavour and dub you the "All Ordinary". Much better call than Cellar Dweller!
Cheers
John Carrot ;)
Best vegie to buy tomorrow are the carrots in Douro Valley ..

Carrot
I have been informed that the meeting also voted to apply to enter the KDL. What can you tell me about this as if its happening the BDFL is stuffed with 4 teams. A whole new meaning to groundhog day.
I am not sure how true it is, as the person informing me still thinks Richmond are a good side so no real creditability.
News?

Carrot
I have been informed that the meeting also voted to apply to enter the KDL. What can you tell me about this as if its happening the BDFL is stuffed with 4 teams. A whole new meaning to groundhog day.
I am not sure how true it is, as the person informing me still thinks Richmond are a good side so no real creditability.
News?
I promised after All the Good won the Caulfield Cup ( and the first four paid a $million close ) .. I'd never talk to a "GG" again. But in your case I"ll make an exception. Don't be too harsh on the Richmond Red Man .. do you know he has a lovely wife named Sally with two boys who do a lot for the old Red and Mrs L. to keep up with!
Anyway. First news is that I've heard the Benalla Footy Manager John Rohnke (don't talk to me about the netball!) has resigned.
Need confirmation there. Secondly Longwood's AGM unanimously voted we apply to the KDFL to join in 2009.
Tues.14.Oct08 presentation to the league was well received and VCFL gave tacit support. In fact, the meeting ended at 10.30 pm but the VCFL's comments still hit the Shepp Press and WIN News on Wednesday. Pretty interesting from the paper's perspective to be still rolling the presses after 10.00 pm.
That's what I've heard the rest will be history in the future !!

Cheers Guffawing Golfer !!
John Carrot:cool:

Seems there has been a swing in Longwoods thoughts on where they want to play. In my time there didnt seem to be much support in leaving the B&D but now it seems there isnt much support in staying.
And Carrot dont forget the girl, its 2 boys and a girl. I can now understand "fiery redheads".
When we going to play round 2 GG?

Surely Longwood will struggle to be competitive in the KDFL. Even if Longwood want to join the KDFL, the fact that they don't have an Under 16's netball side or Under 18's football side will severely affect their chances you would think...

In 2008, Ardmona did not have 3rds and Merrigum forfeited many 3rds games. It appears change is on the agenda in a few leagues, with the PDFL meeting tonight with a possibility of splitting the league.

Seems there has been a swing in Longwoods thoughts on where they want to play. In my time there didnt seem to be much support in leaving the B&D but now it seems there isnt much support in staying.
And Carrot dont forget the girl, its 2 boys and a girl. I can now understand "fiery redheads".
When we going to play round 2 GG?
Maaate .. how could I miss the lovely little miss, Molly!
My apologies Richmond Redman.
I’ve got a boy and a girl now both over 25 so I’ve been there .. done that .. I wish you and Sal best of luck for the next 15 years.
D&B are great fellas, learning also from Ol’ Red and Mrs L and in 15 years they will be top chaperones for Molly when she starts to go out .. yeh right .. I’ve got a red haired sister and it didn’t always work that way with 3 older bros!!
As Sally will also say; be easy on GG cos he might kick your balls .. into the rough .. on the golf course I mean?
Now footy stuff.
Longwood have been faced with three alternatives since the start of 2006 when the VCFL basically said, “The BDFNL is on its own to survive”. Longwood’s choices were move, merge or fold. Options 2 and 3 would mean the same thing.
Bonnie Doon made their position clear in 2008, buying a premiership to have a side to go forward should the Benalla League fold.
There is no way clubs are going to join the Benalla Footy League and players are laughing at a 5 team comp playing each other 4 times each over the season. Ask the blokes who reluctantly left the Redlegs after the 2007 season.

Importantly, 2007 you may recall had the Benalla tribunal accepting evidence from a spectator in the reserves semi final. That spectator was a senior member of the club who would play Longwood the following week, ( and we beat them bytheway to win the twos’ flag the following week) !!!!!
Also, the “consiglori” at the tribunal was some independent trumped up president of a club who hosted the match. Now I don’t want to get into conspiracy theories but the facts speak for themselves.

So fast forward to 2008.

On the Tuesday before the start of the finals, Longwood’s netball delegate had a call from her second delegate to say she couldn’t make it. At 6.00 pm the first delegate rang the netball contact at the meeting to say that she had to rush to Melbourne to be with her sister in hospital emergency.
The netball league deducted 4 points from Longwood to put the “A’s” out of the finals as no delegates appeared.
The Weekly Times gave it a photo story.
And the Benalla Football League washed their hands of it.
Then for six hours after the footy Grand Final the BDFL’s website had Goorambat beating Bonnie Doon!!
Times change .. Time to move on to something more satisfying ..with good reason.
Benalla Football League will have a delegates meeting; under the control of the VCFL at Benalla this Monday night 10-Nov08 to accept or deny Longwood’s application to move to the Kyabram and District Football League.

More history to come in the near future Red Rodger Dodger!
That’s now Over Rodger and Out!!
Cheers
John Carrot
(Tip from the Vegie Man : Canned tomatoes from Argentina .. Que? .. Buy Australian .. or grow ‘em in your own backyard you lazy buzzards!!!)