Benalla & District

Dawson is a fantastic footballer, i think that at the moment he would be the best player at Tatong! The guy is a dirty player, however he shows a crap load of guts and i beleive he should be playing at a higher level. The day Tatong beat Longwood at Longwood by 2 points was the day i gained alot of respect for the guy as I think HE is the reason those boys beat the Leggers.:thumbsu:
Your not trying to pull our leg are you Rocket2007. I thought Dwason was the lazy soft shepdog who is all about himself. Like a lot of players in this league he should have a go in a higher league, but like many of the rest he is LAZY!

there has been a lot of movement in the last few days with most clubs adding players just before the cut off.
Are any of the new players any good and can anyone get close to challenging Boonie Doon?

Also noted the article again about Tatong yesterday in the paper. Are Tatong chasing the media or the other way around as they have had about 3-4 articles written in the last 4 weeks? Amalgamation with O&K seems a little far fetched based on adding 5 clubs to the league that is struggling. I cant see Doon wanting to be added to O&K or Longwood as travel will be an issue.
I keep hearing Doon are in talks with YVMFDL about DIV 2 next year. It makes more sense than going into the O&K. Half the games would be against local towns although there is some decent travel if they go that way as well.

there has been a lot of movement in the last few days with most clubs adding players just before the cut off.
Are any of the new players any good and can anyone get close to challenging Boonie Doon?

Also noted the article again about Tatong yesterday in the paper. Are Tatong chasing the media or the other way around as they have had about 3-4 articles written in the last 4 weeks? Amalgamation with O&K seems a little far fetched based on adding 5 clubs to the league that is struggling. I cant see Doon wanting to be added to O&K or Longwood as travel will be an issue.
I keep hearing Doon are in talks with YVMFDL about DIV 2 next year. It makes more sense than going into the O&K. Half the games would be against local towns although there is some decent travel if they go that way as well.

Think you'll hear that the O&K would be willing to take Goorambat as standalone but a merge between Swannie & Tatong to have 2 clubs join. Longwood & Bonnie Doon would be too far for a teams such as Bright or Whorouly to approve of travelling.

Heard from one of the Broady Doon's match against Longwood on the weekend may see Longwood without a full side. Players may be doubling up to get a senior side on the field.:confused:

I have heard the same thing. Longwood reserves will most likely forfit.
I have also heard that a couple of the key Longwood reserves players have doubled up too many times and are now not eligable to play finals footy in the twos.

Hey everybody im from stawell & just wondering wat the league over ur ways like? Im potentially looking at moving over that way nxt yr....So i was wantin 2 no which teams r the strugglers n so on?

Hey Carrot hoping you still drop in for a read. Interesting to see "roger doger" get a mention in the local rag. Why the mention?
G'day Roger
Brocky was one of our few clear winners, playing on the wing and when I told him so at three quarter time and he would be in the one's on that form, he said, "don't tell roger doger .. I'm coaching the twos and that's it!"
Cheers mate
John Carrot:thumbsu:

G'day Roger
Brocky was one of our few clear winners, playing on the wing and when I told him so at three quarter time and he would be in the one's on that form, he said, "don't tell roger doger .. I'm coaching the twos and that's it!"
Cheers mate

Brocky hada huge game no doubt he is oneof the few shining lights at the redlegs at the moment. Is he going to be a regular in the one now???

G'day Roger
Cheers mate
Cheers Carrot.
Ive been pushing him via sms to have a go in the 1's all year. When he finally said he was playing I thought there was more to the story. Not the best sign to have not fielded a 2's side on the weekend, but the weather did look crap. Was talking to Mat Elliot last week and when he said he was looking foward to the Doon game as the Redlegs will have a fairly full side, I said you better wait and see who turns up. Noticed he didnt play too!
If I remember rightly, years ago a couple of Longwood identities actually got close enough to see the Swanpool goal posts before deciding it was a little too wet and continued driving to Melbourne for the weekend.
Weekend off, you going fishing?

Cheers Carrot.
Ive been pushing him via sms to have a go in the 1's all year. When he finally said he was playing I thought there was more to the story. Not the best sign to have not fielded a 2's side on the weekend, but the weather did look crap. Was talking to Mat Elliot last week and when he said he was looking foward to the Doon game as the Redlegs will have a fairly full side, I said you better wait and see who turns up. Noticed he didnt play too!
If I remember rightly, years ago a couple of Longwood identities actually got close enough to see the Swanpool goal posts before deciding it was a little too wet and continued driving to Melbourne for the weekend.
Hmmm
"Lazy" and "unreliable" would be two words that come to my mind!

G'day Roger
Cheers mate
You been quiet Veggie Man. This thread is dieing!
Ive been reading a little of your work and have come to the conclusion you dont like Broady Doon very much.
What do you think your thoughts would be if the shoe was on the othe foot???

It's looking more likely the Doon will join the O&K. Interesting to see how many of the recruits stick around next year. If that pans out the furthest game would be against Whorouly, with the rumoured Bright/Myrt merger. You would think that would be better than travelling to Emerald even if Bright stay in the O&K

Is there any possibility that the Doon will get pushed this year. Ive seen 2 games and they have been a joke. Just total mismatches.

It's looking more likely the Doon will join the O&K. Interesting to see how many of the recruits stick around next year. If that pans out the furthest game would be against Whorouly, with the rumoured Bright/Myrt merger. You would think that would be better than travelling to Emerald even if Bright stay in the O&K

Is there any possibility that the Doon will get pushed this year. Ive seen 2 games and they have been a joke. Just total mismatches.

Have to agree that the O & K looks the go for doon. Being down the yarra valley way I know to many sides wouldn't be to keen on heading up there for footy. I don't think doon would see it as there best option either as theres a very strong possibility that thornton or alex will be getting promoted at years end should they win the flag and the team that would drop back would be olinda some 2 and a half hours from doon.

I'm not 100% sure whats happening in your league but is death really knocking on the door or can the league survive ????

Cheers Carrot.
G'day Roger .. hope this finds you "Jolly"
I hear you're now a bit of pirate on the golf course!
Longwood bye today and the lads were heading to the Goulburn for the weekend and catching Paulkie and Mozz and others at Nagambie's game. I see Rushworth knocked 'em off! Must have been the inspiration from that great country footy movie, "Ben Valentine" on ABC last Sund'y.
Check it out if you get the chance.
Bytheway. Does your question - Weekend off, you going fishing? mean the Leggers were actually doing their fishin' at Nagambie footy for 2009? For mine, I didn't go cause I'm a NAFA. Couldn't catch a fish in the river let alone a footballer at Nagambie!
As for golf .. word from "GG" is that you're a NAGA. Prove him wrong mate.
As for our mate "CD" whose response to your 'fession of guys not arriving at Doon when you coached, due to the weather. The CD needs to put some Viagra in his eye drops and have a Good Hard look at himself.
Twice he has invited himself to catch me for a beer at the footy ( at Doon and Redlegs Stadium earlier in the season ) and twice he has been a no-show.
In fact CD himself said he couldn't get to Doon in May cause the day was to cold .. poor dear.
Cheers RD (and all the best CD!)
John Carrot ;)

Re: Benalla & District future?

It would be a shame to see this league go in to recess. The VCFL although would have crockodile tears as there agenda has and always will be Major Leagues and TAC Teams. BDFL has served a purpose and could continue to do so no matter what league you are in there are always clubs that are struggling, playing players under other names etc etc. Perhaps the BDFL should look to its past and that is to eliminate the offical reserve grade competition and concentrate on a one grade comp with say with 6 reserves. The Leven Football Association has successfully been running this style for years. To ensure there is always an atmosphere they play double headers (no pun intended) ie First Game at 12.30 and the second game at 2.30 this game is usually involves the Home side. This ensures that all clubs committees etc get the oppurtunity to run a successful day and obtain a reasonable gate and canteen albeit there is generally only 4 home games plus finals etc.
This comp allows for teams with similair demographics etc to compete against each other keeps footy active in communities and allows for participation, The Leven Association has also been used for clubs to "park" there to regroup for whatever reason then they go back to larger leagues. It is unfortunate that in this proposal that the reserves would get the flick.But if clubs are forefeiting now you have to consider the viability if clubs can put the reserves on the track then that is a bonus and could be quickly catered for.
Who knows there could be an old club up in the Strathbogies that could feild one competive side. Surely the BDFL is worthy of exploring all avenues of survival i think the clubs as individual clubs would like to survive without the thought of other alternatives etc

It's looking more likely the Doon will join the O&K. Interesting to see how many of the recruits sticknext year around . If that pans out the furthest game would be against Whorouly, with the rumoured Bright/Myrt merger. You would think that would be better than travelling to Emerald even if Bright stay in the O&K

Just wondering wether this is just an assumption or is there any fact to that statement. As a pretty close follower of a o&k club i havnt heard anything even "unofficial" about this let alone anything "official" and would be very surprised if clubs would accept that without some opposition.

G'day Roger .. hope this finds you "Jolly"
I hear you're now a bit of pirate on the golf course!
Longwood bye today and the lads were heading to the Goulburn for the weekend and catching Paulkie and Mozz and others at Nagambie's game. I see Rushworth knocked 'em off! Must have been the inspiration from that great country footy movie, "Ben Valentine" on ABC last Sund'y.
Check it out if you get the chance.
Bytheway. Does your question - Weekend off, you going fishing? mean the Leggers were actually doing their fishin' at Nagambie footy for 2009? For mine, I didn't go cause I'm a NAFA. Couldn't catch a fish in the river let alone a footballer at Nagambie!
As for golf .. word from "GG" is that you're a NAGA. Prove him wrong mate.
As for our mate "CD" whose response to your 'fession of guys not arriving at Doon when you coached, due to the weather. The CD needs to put some Viagra in his eye drops and have a Good Hard look at himself.
Twice he has invited himself to catch me for a beer at the footy ( at Doon and Redlegs Stadium earlier in the season ) and twice he has been a no-show.
In fact CD himself said he couldn't get to Doon in May cause the day was to cold .. poor dear.
Cheers RD (and all the best CD!)
John Carrot ;)
Caught up with Paulke and Moz last week, dissapointing they had a loss on the weekend as Im not sure where that leaves them in the run for finals. Nagambie have lost a couple of close games that may proove to be costly. All going well I might see you at Redleg Stadium Sat as Nagambie have the bye and Paulkes and Moz were talking about coming across.
As far as golf goes I wouldnt think G.G. will be looking to play again until my handycap comes down a bit. If he was a little smarter he would get a few beers into me before we played.
Interesting out at the golf course now with Drew, Rodney and Binga all giving football away to play. Might be the lure of all the sexy ladies out on the course. Im thinking the Drew, Rod and Binga will do quite well.
Interesting to see Bonnie Doon win by just 20 points. Looks like Goorambat's kicking may have handed Doon the game. The season might not be heading the way we all thought. Think I can remember Bonnie Doon going through the season to lose the GF in the 90's.
Big game at Longwood Sat I would hope Finchy can get all his troops on the field and serve it right but to the Bat's.
Cheers
Redda

Just wondering wether this is just an assumption or is there any fact to that statement. As a pretty close follower of a o&k club i havnt heard anything even "unofficial" about this let alone anything "official" and would be very surprised if clubs would accept that without some opposition.
Just prior to the season the O&K had a joint meeting with all delegates of the BDFNL (facilitated by the VCFL) where O&K invited ALL BDFL Clubs to join the O&K in 2009 and was well received.
If Myrt/Bright merge rumour is right, plus ongoing saga of Greta and Whitfield merging rumour, the O&K could end up with 8 teams which the VCFL certainly don't want to see.
BDFL Clubs would love to see All Blacks and Glenrowan come back .. periennial easybeats in O&K. BDFL at 7 would be viable.
No chance though as that would make O&K 8 teams without any of above mergers going through. No way the VCFL would approve that.
When the BDFL was a single game league, it was regarded as a minor league. Now with VCFL main focus Major Leagues and TEAC, higher quality "minor" leagues are supported while the next level "district" leagues can disappear into the cyber.:(

Just prior to the season the O&K had a joint meeting with all delegates of the BDFNL (facilitated by the VCFL) where O&K invited ALL BDFL Clubs to join the O&K in 2009 and was well received.
If Myrt/Bright merge rumour is right, plus ongoing saga of Greta and Whitfield merging rumour, the O&K could end up with 8 teams which the VCFL certainly don't want to see.
BDFL Clubs would love to see All Blacks and Glenrowan come back .. periennial easybeats in O&K. BDFL at 7 would be viable.
No chance though as that would make O&K 8 teams without any of above mergers going through. No way the VCFL would approve that.
When the BDFL was a single game league, it was regarded as a minor league. Now with VCFL main focus Major Leagues and TEAC, higher quality "minor" leagues are supported while the next level "district" leagues can disappear into the cyber.:(

Thanks for trying but that doesnt really answer my Question . It just all sounds like alot of if, buts and maybes to me. If something going down they need to make a decision quick smart so that the process can start , the last thing clubs need is to have all this landed on them in dec/jan (like last season) when their trying to recruit coaches/players etc its very disruptive and can put you back behind the 8 ball big time.

As far as golf goes I wouldnt think G.G. will be looking to play again until my handycap comes down a bit. If he was a little smarter he would get a few beers into me before we played.

Why would I ply you with p15s when you are clearly struggling without the inducement. I think the smarter move is to keep the money in my pocket.
And I hear you are doing a god job at not being able to reduce that handicap. Average around the course is a good cricket score I am told.

I await the round 2 ina few weeks..........