Bendigo 2009

Re: Windy Hill 2pm Monday June 8th (Bombers v Box Hill)

Umm no. Not yet anyway.

Well lucky we've got [strike]Hille[/strike], [strike]Laycock[/strike], [strike]Ryder[/strike] and [strike]Bellchambers[/strike] to cover the ruck duties.

fffffffuuuuuuuuCustom.png

2009 VFL Seniors
Bendigo Bombers 0.2 1.3 2.5 6.8 (44)
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 6.4 11.11 13.13 (91)

GOALS:
Bendigo Bombers: German Crameri Daniher Quinn Malone Bristow
Box Hill Hawks: Smithwick 3 Gibson 2 Morton Dyson Pedersen Iles Fagan Breust Kennedy Yze

BEST:
Bendigo Bombers: German Welsh ATKINSON Bristow Daniher Quinn
Box Hill Hawks: Iles Curnow Ladson Smithwick Gibson Neil

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Bendigo Bombers: Nil
Box Hill Hawks: Nil

No Myers. :(

good to see german in the best again. hopefully welsh and daniher will be right to play against melbourne in a fortnight. looks like myers had yet another disappointing game

Just returned from a very cold and wet Windy Hill.

Very average game, by both sides - we clearly don't have the class to compete in the VFL at the moment given the length of our injury list and need to play likely VFL players in the AFL.

For me, Welsh was clearly the best player on the ground. He handled the conditions fairly well and looked a class above the others on the ground. He didn't get massive numbers (possession wise) but generally used it well and moved freely. Quinn did well but like the rest of the team made some poor errors at times. I am surprised to see Atkinson in the best players - I guess he was one of the better players in a fairly average bunch. Myers was fairly quiet for much of the day but you could not question his hunger and attack on the ball. Daniher was good in patches and like the others, will probably prosper more in a competitive side like EFC at the moment. Bendigo just do not have the players to compete and having seen them live for the first time this year today, again underlines the long term future of the allignment.

I'd expect Welsh to return against Melbourne. Daniher might also get a gig. Nobody else really stood out.

PS - Tyson Slattery did return to the ground after getting injured in the last, so it cannot be too serious and Bock must not play AFL this season (not that it is any real news to most people) but he is just so raw and looked totally out of sorts today.

It was a pretty bitter ol' arvo at Windy Hill.
Definitely good to see Woosha out there. He seemed really confident on his leg and threw his body on the line in trademark fashion a few times. With Hocking in good form, we have no need to hurry him back, would hope that he could make it back for the Collingwood game.
Was incredibly bummed when Tyson Slattery went down. He looks likely, seems to have a good head on his shoulders. I am sure he will get a couple of games by the end of season.
Jetta did it tough, had very few opportunities, definitely has the chops... But always struggles to make his mark on a game in the way that he should. The presence of Davey in the team has denied him a spot.
Myers still looks lost. I can't tell what kind of player he is, is a genuine mid or a half back? His defensive side is weak but he doesn't seem to have excel in attack either. Definitely looking to next year for him at this stage, Has plenty of development to do.
Darcy looked good in bits today , he's not in our best team but a solid and exciting prospect nonetheless.
Atkinson kicked an incredible Torpedo from the kick out, about 70m. That was a highlight.
Oh, and Quinn was Quinn.

It was a pretty bitter ol' arvo at Windy Hill.
Definitely good to see Woosha out there. He seemed really confident on his leg and threw his body on the line in trademark fashion a few times. With Hocking in good form, we have no need to hurry him back, would hope that he could make it back for the Collingwood game.
Was incredibly bummed when Tyson Slattery went down. He looks incredibly likely, seems to have a good head on his shoulders. Hope it's not too serious. I am sure he will get a couple of games by the end of season.
Jetta did it tough, had very few opportunities, definitely has the chops... But always struggles to make his mark on a game in the way that he should. The presence of Davey in the team has denied him a spot.
Myers still looks lost. I can't tell what kind of player he is, is a genuine mid or a half back? His defensive side is weak but he doesn't seem to have excel in attack either. Definitely looking to next year for him at this stage, Has plenty of development to do.
Darcy looked good in bits today , he's not in our best team but a solid and exciting prospect nonetheless.
Oh, and Quinn was Quinn.

Welsh was easily the best Essendon listed player today. Automatic inclusion next week for Zaka.

Bock, was ok. Conditions didn't suit him around the ground, his ruck work just ok. He's nowhere near ready for AFL, but it looks like he'll be playing sooner then later.

[...]
Oh, and Quinn was Quinn.

:D

If the coaches can put some genuine football skills/decision-making-ability around that Quinness, the EFC have a very unique and exciting backline on the way. And Myers might not have to do his apprecticeship there. bombers2011 asked if he was a half-back or genunine mid - I reckon the time must be right to see how he goes on a forward flank, maybe Ryan O'Keefe style.

Thanks for the reporting everyone.

Myers must be injured. He was terrible today. Certainly will not go close to selection after games like that. I am scared about this bloke.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/

The Bendigo Bombers lost their eighth game in a row at Windy Hill today.

Despite having experienced midfielder, Andrew Welsh who is returning from injury, The Box Hill Hawks were too strong for the Bombers in the wet conditions, downing them by 47 points.

The Bombers had a slow start, the Hawks gaining a 68 point lead at half time. Regaining pace in the final quarter wasn’t enough to get near Box Hill, the final scores 13.13 (91) to the Bombers 6.8 (44).

Goal kickers for Bendigo were German, Crameri, Daniher, Quinn, Malone and Bristow (all one).

Best: German,Welsh, Atkinson, Bristow, Daniher and Quinn

I was not at the game, this is just merely the report from the game but could any one who went to the game let all of us know how the Essendon listed guys went?

Thanks.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/

I was not at the game, this is just merely the report from the game but could any one who went to the game let all of us know how the Essendon listed guys went?

Thanks.

i was at the game. wasn't a great day to be rating players, pretty scrappy affair.
Welsh was good, probably our best i would've thought. was hard at it and clean skills in tight.
Myers i thought was ok. Started well and found space but his impact on the game wasn't huge. I think it said somewhere he picked up 22 touches but i could be wrong.
Daniher was solid in defence. did his job all day and rarely beaten. a few times the delivery to the box hill forwards wasn't spot on allowing him to easily spoil, obviously will be different at AFL level.
German was good. Had a tagging role on Kennedy i think. Did pretty well and laid a lot of strong tackles.
T. Slattery i was impressed with. Didn't do a whole lot but seemed very confident and composed when he had the footy and when he didn't he was giving plenty of instructions to his teammates.
Quinn made a few basic skill errors but you have to like the way he is prepared to take the game on...Although i'm happy he is doing it at Bendigo at the moment.

It sort of makes you think how are we going to develope the kids and give confidence to the fringe players when they are being smashed every week? Not the ideal situation.

is it just me or in the last few weeks Bendigo's team sheets actually haven't looked bad at all. I know we've had a few efc players coming back lately that will be underdone, but to me it still looks competitive.
i feel we should be doing a hell of a lot better than all these 100 point losses. as i look at some of the names on the other teams sheets and i see them as absolute duds, yet they get up with ease.
I haven't seen any Bendigo games this year, so I can't comment on players commitment. but can anyone nail down what it is due to?

- EFC players trying to emulate their running game plan all the time, when the quality of stocks around them are simpily not as good to keep up?
- Some VFL teams are acutally not that far behind some AFL teams with regards to standard?
- Players just don't care anymore?
- I am overrating some of the players?

If anyone could shed some light on this that would be great..

I hope we do it. It would be awesome. Plus Frankston aren't as bad as Bendigo.

The ladder this year says otherwise ;) they are just as bad .

Bendigo 2009