Bendigo 2009

Cheers Dustbin and ant! :thumbsu:
Was looking forward to reports on Bendigo. Good to hear about Myers and Houli. I was hoping Houli might have gotten a run against Sydney.
Has Houli's defensive game become more consistent?

Do you see either of these two being selected to play WB?

Looking forward to efcboy's report.

The match report below noted H Slattery as injured. If he's not right for Friday night Houli would probably be the logical replacement as a small defender given he filled in when Slatts was last out.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rf...ir-stuff/2009/07/11/1247258269298.html?page=2

Well we all know that you have made up your mind already becasue you don't rate his 1/4 time adress as inspirational.

i went with an open mind ant555 and stood right near interchange so i could hear everything going on - surely no-one could argue the jury has to be out on a coach who hasn't recorded a win this year? given most of geelong's regular vfl players were up in brisbane i thought this was a great opportunity for a win...i'd like others to go stand near the interchange and hear whats going on in the future as i'm only stating what i saw or heard...here's my report...

Watched the game listening intently to Hickmott who was wired up on the sidelines and talking to Gary O'Donnell up in the box.

On multiple occasions Hickmott was swearing/cursing a bit right in front of the players on the bench - don't think is a good example to set especially with supporters around personally. No doubt it was frustrating but he needs to be more professional.

During the game Hickmott didn't appear to know where players were positioned and would ask his assistant with the board "where's bachar playing, where's holmes playing" etc. He looked lost and appeared to be making it up on the go with no set plan or stucture - often a player would get up off interchange and hicky would say go on for umm ahh take holmes off - throw myers forward, jetta to roamer etc. It was all spur of the moment stuff that was very amatuerish. The biggest joke was when one of our blokes went off on the stretcher - he hadn't replaced him then laughed and sent a bloke on. I was looking around and talking to others around me and they all agreed it was hopeless - if the coach has no idea then its not surprising some of the players look lost out there. For me the main coach of any side should be fanatical basically living and breathing every aspect of the game plan, positioning etc. Hickmott is far from this - I certainly don't have the knowledge to coach VFL level but if I did I'd be making certain I knew every aspect. There didn't appear to be any set plans with rotations and bizarre movements - Myers would go on ball for 2 minutes and be dominating the clearances, then an interchange would happen and he'd send Myers forward etc. I don't think any of the players could find rhythm in a position - Lovett-Murray was shuffled around a lot and Darcy Daniher didn't know if he was coming or going such were the instructions coming from Hickmott.

I saw several VFL games coached by Knights under the same conditions with similar issues and its like comparing chalk and cheese. Knights a total professional seemingly always focused and in control - hickmott no idea in disarray.

Neagle was an angry man - he stuffed up big time in the first half on one occasion and Hickmott dragged him and went to talk to him. Couldn't hear exactly but it appeared Neagle was telling him where to go etc. Later on Jetta also came off and hickmott went to have a go at him and he punched the bench then walked away. I have my doubts the players think Hickmott is the right bloke. Sure everyone hates losing but I think there is more in it than that. All the AFL listed players looked pissed off and confused when they were coming on/off interchange.

The 1/4 and 3/4 time addresses were less an issue than the going-ons during the game but were once again less than inspirational. Last time I saw bendigo hicky was saying its a game of courage - this time his big thing was communication. Very simple stuff - sure it may have been a problem but there wasn't much talk of tactics. Thank god Simon Madden was talking to Bellchambers and Gary O'Donnell was out there talking to the defenders for some tactics talk. When their games clash with Essendon without these guys it would be even worse. Hickmott's tactics are non-existant - i'd say my u/13s coach was better. Definitely need a new coach in 2010.

A smaller issue was the boots - it was a bit slippery out there with many blokes losing their footing. The top-up players only have one set of boots and most of them have moulds - the club hasn't been willing to supply two boots per non-afl listed due to costs etc. With adidas as a major sponsor surely we could put a bit money into some of the smaller things for our vfl side used to develop our youngsters. Some extra boots would be a start...

I'll post separate thread about individual players

Having observed Hickmott at 4 games in July 2008 - He does have an earthy style ?

He tends to be a motivational type of coach at 1/4 and 3/4 breaks and tries to rev up the players.

In saying that he does provide tactical instruction at the breaks but doesn't couch it in Technical terms.

His style may be a bit different to the norm in the 2009 but this doen't make him ineffective.

Neagle - i'm concerned about his mental state at present he is just so frustrated. The delivery to him was ordinary for the most part and the team was all over the place making it difficult to lead etc. He let himself down a few times in the first half with mediocre efforts with chasing etc. He changed this in the second half when they had a sniff of winning - he was bursting out of his skin trying to make something happen. The clincher came when he lead, the pass was short, he dived and he took it on the bounce, he got it out, got up but was surrounded by three opponents so had no hope. At this moment he was like the predator loudly screaming "f###". I was happy that he at least hated losing so much. To me he looks like he really needs a new coach or mentor to take him under their wing - an ex-afl forward would be ideal. A past gun, perhaps Terry Daniher, would be someone he would listen to. He needs to calm down, work hard and things will happen for him. To keep his spirits up he probably needs a run at AFL level soon - perhaps he will realise now that if he works his arse off at AFL level he will avoid having to go back to the rabble that is bendigo.

Jetta - played half-back for the most part and was caught on multiple occasions. I'm really doubting he is up to AFL standard and think we should look to trade him. No doubt he has some talent but at his size i don't think its enough.

Zaharakis - pretty quiet game from Zak. Didn't seem to get into the flow of it - perhaps a result of ordinary coaching. Did cop a knock to the head during the game though that forced him off for 5-10 minutes.

Myers - clearly the best player. Looked a class above the rest for mine - when in the middle was the only bomber looking capable of getting a clearance. Had hickmott left him in midfield longer perhaps they might have won. Would be leading the chances for a recall but the 5 day break will hurt anyones chances.

J.Williams - took a couple of mark on the lead up forward but he aint going to be an afl player.

D.Daniher - was shuffled around a fair bit and had a knock to his shin at one point. Took a couple of decent grabs and wasn't hopeless up forward in the 2nd half. A work in progress he has the ability and size to make it.

T.German - did ok but he's quite small. Doubting he's afl standard - for a really small bloke to make it you need exceptional skill. Don't think he has this.

Atkinson - surprised he was named in the best. Did plenty wrong and showed nothing to suggest he deserves to be on essendon's list. At his age and size he has no development left so is simply not up to it.

Quinn - showed glimpses of brilliance. Unlike German this kid has exceptional speed and a bit of x-factor about him. I can see him developing into a very handy player given his rate of improvement. Doubting he'll get back in AFL this year but can see a future.

Lovett-Murray - thought he was much better than Atkinson but obviously expectations were set higher. Was thrown around a lot of positions and played reasonable enough. Would expect him to be named an emergency for essendon again this week.

Houli - played good enough to be amongst the best players but still let himself down at times. On several occasions the coaches including hickmott were saying why isn't he chasing etc? I can't see him getting a recall whilst this is still a problem. He's definitely a kick chaser at this level and plays a selfish game hoping for a recall. Myers is more team orientated for mine and should be ahead.

Bellchambers - top game i thought. Took several strong marks and must have rucked pretty much all day. Turned it over a few times trying to be too clever but was definitely good enough to warrant selection thought. The 5 day break will go against him but i'd expect to see him at afl level sooner rather than later. I'm quite happy the individual coaching he is receiving off Simon Madden - need someone to do the same for neagle.

Thanks for all of the write ups ant, efcboy and the Dustbin. It's great to get a range of views from well respected posters :thumbsu:

I really see a stack of benefit for Essendon fans to get down to a few Bendigo games this year. You really get so much more of an appreciation of the players and what they are trying to achieve by watching a VFL game up close.

Good to see Myers carrying on his good form from last week. It appears that his hands and decision making are improving each week around the clearances. He is an imposing figure in the middle with his size. The interesting question is whether Knights will play him in the middle in the AFL or continue to play him down back? I'm not sure where he could fit in atm.

I'm starting to feel for Neagle - however regardless of whether they respect Hickmott or not, you can't publically berate or disrespect the coach. That's a no no in any level of football. He WILL come good though. This 6 weeks could be the making of him as a footballer with his work rate and attitude.

It just goes to show how well Lucas did to go back to Bendigo for a month and force his way back to the seniors. That is the sign of a champion player.

T-Bell is progressing nicely now. I agree that the 5 day break is a major concern however we only need T-Bell to play 30-40 TOG% max so there is a chance he could come in.

And there where at least 4 times i counted where he stopped dead after a contested marking situation and did not chase at all.
On top of that his first 4 disposals where turn overs and he did not get much better in that department for the rest of the day.

Agree Ant. Like I said he did chase on some occassions. That has to be a positive. The consistency will come with fitness.

i went with an open mind ant555 and stood right near interchange so i could hear everything going on - surely no-one could argue the jury has to be out on a coach who hasn't recorded a win this year? given most of geelong's regular vfl players were up in brisbane i thought this was a great opportunity for a win...i'd like others to go stand near the interchange and hear whats going on in the future as i'm only stating what i saw or heard...here's my report...

I doubt this very much given you have already called for a new coach several times. I think if you really ask yourself you where watching for reasons to back up your stance rather than reasons to say he is a good coach.

efcboy said:
Watched the game listening intently to Hickmott who was wired up on the sidelines and talking to Gary O'Donnell up in the box.

On multiple occasions Hickmott was swearing/cursing a bit right in front of the players on the bench - don't think is a good example to set especially with supporters around personally. No doubt it was frustrating but he needs to be more professional.

You have not been around coaches a lot have you. FFS every coaches box i have sat in front i have heard plenty of colourfull language. How does that change by coaching from the Bench ? I can tell you now that i have seen Knights do the same, i have seen TAC Cup coaches doing the same.
Its called bloody coaching under pressure and i am getting the strong feeling you have no idea of what its like to be an assistant coach let alone the senior coach.

efcboy said:
During the game Hickmott didn't appear to know where players were positioned and would ask his assistant with the board "where's bachar playing, where's holmes playing" etc. He looked lost and appeared to be making it up on the go with no set plan or stucture - often a player would get up off interchange and hicky would say go on for umm ahh take holmes off - throw myers forward, jetta to roamer etc. It was all spur of the moment stuff that was very amatuerish.

When you coach from the sideline this is often what happens. You have a baord guy so you can follow the game and then ask him where you have everyone. Once again i would say you have no experince in coahcing do you. Have you seen Ratten going off at his board guy on TV ? The reason is he relies on the board man to let him know where everyone is as with the rotations often he is does not know where everyone is.
With the side i am currently assistant coach at (and others in the past ) the head coach does not always know where everyone is becasue i stand with the board man and run the interchange. The coach then asks where is player X playing or where is player Y.
It is not becasue it is amaturish. It is often becasue they are trying to make a heap of changes becasue the side is struggling. I can tell you it is a lot easier when you are 5 gaols in front.
What you have explained is exactly what i have seen when coahces are on the side lines at a number of levels.
I know for a fact that When Roo's coaches from the boundry he does not know where everyone is all of the time.

efcboy said:
The biggest joke was when one of our blokes went off on the stretcher - he hadn't replaced him then laughed and sent a bloke on. I was looking around and talking to others around me and they all agreed it was hopeless - if the coach has no idea then its not surprising some of the players look lost out there.

This part i agree with. It was poor coaching and it was poor coaching for another reason. It was bloody obvious that Redpath was going to need the stretcher. I was sitting in the stand and saying to my mate what the **** are they doing. Get the stretcher on and stop the game before Geelong can push forward and get within range of goal.
Simon Madden was sitting behind us and said the same.
But not it took almost 4 minutes for the strectcher to be called and by that time Geelong had marked within range of goal.
Poor effort.

efcboy said:
For me the main coach of any side should be fanatical basically living and breathing every aspect of the game plan, positioning etc. Hickmott is far from this - I certainly don't have the knowledge to coach VFL level but if I did I'd be making certain I knew every aspect. There didn't appear to be any set plans with rotations and bizarre movements - Myers would go on ball for 2 minutes and be dominating the clearances, then an interchange would happen and he'd send Myers forward etc. I don't think any of the players could find rhythm in a position - Lovett-Murray was shuffled around a lot and Darcy Daniher didn't know if he was coming or going such were the instructions coming from Hickmott.

A couple of issues here. For a start you admitt you dont have the knowledge about coaching and it shows. To say he is not living and breathing coaching is just stupid. Even if he is not a very good match day coach the work he has been doing with the young blokes in development has been very good.
Now as far as rotations go he may not have known them all. It is a fact that GOD can and will call rotations depending on what he will want to see from a senior level. Secondly Hickmott will have set instructions from Knights for players and their game time.
A lot of the messages coming from Hickmott are going to the players through him via Knights.
Personaly i am not sold on him as a match day coach. I have often wondered how inspiring players have found his quarter time and three quarter time speaches. In fact i have not really gone out to listen in recent times.
Howerever a lot of what you have described above shows your complete lack of knowledge in experience in being a coach.

efcboy said:
I saw several VFL games coached by Knights under the same conditions with similar issues and its like comparing chalk and cheese. Knights a total professional seemingly always focused and in control - hickmott no idea in disarray.

Rubish. I saw virtually every game Knights coached with Bendigo. I sat in front of the coahces box in the stand at Bendigo games and have heard and seen Knights go off, throw the head phones, break a walkie talkie, punch the perspex window in the box, smash the drinks off the table and give players massive sprays with plenty of colorfull language.
The only thing i did not see was it happening from the bench but that would have been becasue he rarely coached from the bench.

efcboy said:
Neagle was an angry man - he stuffed up big time in the first half on one occasion and Hickmott dragged him and went to talk to him. Couldn't hear exactly but it appeared Neagle was telling him where to go etc. Later on Jetta also came off and hickmott went to have a go at him and he punched the bench then walked away. I have my doubts the players think Hickmott is the right bloke. Sure everyone hates losing but I think there is more in it than that. All the AFL listed players looked pissed off and confused when they were coming on/off interchange.

I think this says more about Neagle and Jetta than anything else. there are reasons i dont think either of them will make it and what you have said hits the nail on the head as to one of the reasons why.
Neagle is a sook. He does not have the mental capacity or drive to make it at AFL level. He has done this all the way through his carrer and i can remember Hudson giving him a spray when he was at Gippsland power for sulking and not working hard enough. That is how he is and on Sundays game he deserved to be taken of and given a spray several times.
As for Jetta i am not surprised either. He came to the club with an attitude that Bendigo was beneath his tallents so i am not surprised with him displaying this attitude. There where warnings about him before the draft which is why he did not go as early as predicted. I also know if we did not take him where we did he would have slipped down a bit further.
Persoannly i think it says a lot about the attitude of the players involved. Good coach or not you do not do it that way. You talk to the coach during the week or the senior coach. You do not chuck a tanty on the boundry line like a spoilt brat.
It is annoying to me that the players have done this more so than Hickmotts coaching.

efcboy said:
The 1/4 and 3/4 time addresses were less an issue than the going-ons during the game but were once again less than inspirational. Last time I saw bendigo hicky was saying its a game of courage - this time his big thing was communication. Very simple stuff - sure it may have been a problem but there wasn't much talk of tactics. Thank god Simon Madden was talking to Bellchambers and Gary O'Donnell was out there talking to the defenders for some tactics talk. When their games clash with Essendon without these guys it would be even worse. Hickmott's tactics are non-existant - i'd say my u/13s coach was better. Definitely need a new coach in 2010.

Well i have already said i am not overly inspired by his 1/4 time and 3/4 time adress either. He lost me at the Werribee game this year when we where 60 points down and he asked the players whou thought we where out of the game to put their hands up. Sorry Hicky but we where out of the game.
As far as tactics go you have a bit to learn about that. The players are expected to know the game plan at this level. They spend 6 days a week working on it and the Bendigo boys know what is expected as well. You wont see many coaches going out and talking about it during a break.

efcboy said:
A smaller issue was the boots - it was a bit slippery out there with many blokes losing their footing. The top-up players only have one set of boots and most of them have moulds - the club hasn't been willing to supply two boots per non-afl listed due to costs etc. With adidas as a major sponsor surely we could put a bit money into some of the smaller things for our vfl side used to develop our youngsters. Some extra boots would be a start...

We this falls under the issue of not funding Bnedigo properly to start with and secondly when i played country footy 15 years ago i had three pairs of boots. Grass cats for very early in the season and a pair of moulded and screw ins. I also used my old boots for training rather than wearing out my new pair once they where run in. Now if i could afford to have three pairs of boots when playing for $150 to $200 a game then i am sure that the Bendigo boys who are on $500 to $1500 a game can afford them.
For me it shows a lack of professionalism. The coach probaly should be accountable for this. I know that with the under 18 boys i coach all where told they needed two pairs of boots pre season and all complied despite most of them being at school and not working.

I will be at training on Thursday. I will sit in the small box. Come and see me and have a chat :)
I can tell you that Hickmott was very well regarded in the year he coached Gippsland power. He made the finals with a side that had only one player drafted that year.

i did go with an open mind hoping for hickmott to prove my doubts wrong as being a fanatical bombers fan i can only wish our coaching staff are better than anyone elses. however from what i saw, in my opinion only, he was poor. i stated quite clearly i don't have the credentials to coach at vfl level and have not coached at senior level - i'm only going off my experience as a player and reading the players body language. i live and breathe football much like yourself ant555.

for sure most coaches will swear and carry on etc but not right next to the spectators etc. i stand by this not being a good example - there were young children around etc and a senior coach should be better than this. in the privacy of the box fine throw a tantrum etc. i actually think this is an area m.knights has deliberately improved in - he makes a concerted effort to remain calm/focused. we have seen him walk away from the huddle to gather his thoughts, calm down so as to not cloud his judgements with anger. i know myself when i blow a fuse i make bad judgements and i do have a temper.

in hickmott's defence the assistance he was getting at ground level was also pretty non-existant. it also may have been tough trying to coach when o'donnell was in his ear. i didn't see matthew knights at the game - was he even there?

my main issue was the interchanges - he just appeared to make it up on the spot without much thought going in to it. for mine i just don't think he is coping under the pressure well - he needs to remain calm and make good judgement calls without letting the pressure of losing getting to him.

you might be right about neagle and jetta but i really think neagle is crying out for a mentor. if simon madden is giving bellchambers one-on-one advice why can't we employ someone to do the same for neagle (and gumby when he plays) - key position forward is a difficult position to play. i think with more personal attention neagle might turn it around - he needs someone he would respect (eg.t.daniher/j.hird) to grab him and just say something like "jay - calm down, you've got the talent, try to remain calm, keep your workrate up and it will eventually happen" - i watched neagle the closest of any player and for his personality type i don't think he was getting enough support. i've been a critic of his work ethic so watched this area. IMO neagle was almost trying too hard in the 2nd half and was over the top with adrenalin. i can tell you when he was interchanged in the 2nd half he was sweating and puffing quite a lot - he definitely tried pretty hard - better than i've seen in other games. perhaps if they were down further he might have spat the dummy which is wrong but there was no doubt he was pumping himself up to try and be involved in a win.

i'm doubting bendigo players/coaches spend 6 days on tactics per week. how often do they even train together as a collective team?

i agree with your thoughts on boots with funding etc - we are a powerful club so more money should be pumped into it.

i don't doubt hickmott might have had success with gippsland in the u/18s but bendigo at present is a tough assignment. lack of resources, players that don't know each other that well, basically lots of issues to deal with. i don't think hickmott has handled these existing problems that well. it remains to be seen if another coach could do better. i'm doubting that bendigo are going to win a game this year so the chances of hickmott continuing in the role would have to jeopardised. i don't think its unreasonable to throw up some suggestions of replacements at this stage.

hoping to make it to training on thursday so look forward to seeing. we both have our opinions and i enjoy talking football. please don't hit me if i disagree with you though!!!

[...]
hoping to make it to training on thursday so look forward to seeing. we both have our opinions and i enjoy talking football. please don't hit me if i disagree with you though!!!

Lol no chance of you getting belted.
I just see things a lot differently. 30 years of being involved in the husstle and bustle of footy at many levels at the top end and bottom end of the ladder has given me a lot of insight into things.
A lot of what you described i have seen happen in sides i have been involved with and sides i have played/coached against.
I just think you have drwan a few long bows on certain things and i can tell you that people who have not coached footy at any level would be shocked as to how much frustration is involved and how much you do actually make up on the run. Coaching under 18 footy and up can be a real eye opener and it is not as simple as it looks. The best layed plans can come apart even if you dont have injuries or a strong squad to coach.
It is something completly different to playing i can tell you that when i got involved in coaching the colts at 20 while i was still playing it made me a better player becasue i got real insight to another aspect of the game.

As far as Neagle goes he has to get it together mentally. He has been the same since he came into under 18's for Gippsland. Bit of a sook with no work ethic. He got found out in the TAC Cup finals and he is getting found out now at AFL level. He has plenty of people pissing in his pocket over his journey.
It is up to him to want it and put it together. Personally i just dont see it happening.

This has been most of the thoroughly enjoyable and insightful discussions on football that I have read in ages!

Any chance of you guys taping your conversation on Thursday and posting a transcript of it on here? :D

It seems almost obvious that ant doesn't see us playing major role in finals for at least 6 years or so.

Without Neagle firing, I can see why.

There's a good chance Gumbleton might not make it either. That's a mighty big hole in the forward line. Who knows with Still and Daniher, they were originally speculative picks too.

With GC17 and WS coming in, it's going to make it hard for us to draft a top-shelf KPF prospect like a S. May.

From what I've been reading, this years first and second round, apart from Butcher and perhaps Panos, is rather weak in the KPF range.

It spells trouble for Essendon in the future, something that a lot of our supporters are reluctant to accept.

One hopes that that midfield will be given an addition in the mould of a Christensen, Stevens, Lucas, Martin or even a Trengove. The defence is the real saving grace.

Put that midfield with a fit Ryder and that defence then we might just have a chance in the next 6 years.

But ant has every right to be pessimistic about that imoending period.

This has been most of the thoroughly enjoyable and insightful discussions on football that I have read in ages!

Any chance of you guys taping your conversation on Thursday and posting a transcript of it on here? :D
I think a weekly podcast is on the cards.:D

Agree with you Boucks, great read.

It seems almost obvious that ant doesn't see us playing major role in finals for at least 6 years or so.

There's a good chance Gumbleton might not make it either. That's a mighty big hole in the forward line. Who knows with Still and Daniher, they were originally speculative picks too.

With GC17 and WS coming in, it's going to make it hard for us to draft a top-shelf KPF prospect like a S. May.

From what I've been reading, this years first and second round, apart from Butcher and perhaps Panos, is rather weak in the KPF range.

It spells trouble for Essendon in the future, something that a lot of our supporters are reluctant to accept.

One hopes that that midfield will be given an addition in the mould of a Christensen, Stevens, Lucas, Martin or even a Trengove. The defence is the real saving grace.

Put that midfield with a fit Ryder and that defence then we might just have a chance in the next 6 years.

So basically, with the improvement of the side this year, comes bitter disappointment in the coming years. Most of us know and are concerned about this. You'd think the club has plans to cover these possibilities. If not, lets keep dancing with our sisters (waist our time).

Why don't you contact admin and change your username to Mr Negative. :rolleyes:
Or, if that username is taken, try I have no ****ing idea.

Here's my report from Bendigo v Antz.

Neagle - Took some marks on the lead and kicked a couple of goals. Again, the delivery to him most of the time was poor. He was frustrated alot by this. Second and third efforts were ok, without being effective. The effort was there. He needs a summer in the gym to get rid of that 'puppy fat'.

Jetta - Played in defence again and started on Garlett. Played a little loose on Garlett, I think Garlett kicked 3 goals. Provided some run and carry and his vision and kicking was quite good. Having said that, Leroy always seems rushed and comes across as shitting himself - perceived pressure. I wouldn't think he would come into contention for Ess this week.

Zaka - Was going ok before he got injured.

Lonergan - Kicked a few goals up forward when he wasn't on the ball. Played his usual game, tough at the contest and worked hard at stoppages. Didn't get a heap of possessions but his contested work, as always was outstanding.

Nash - Not a good game for Jay. Had some clanger kicks and fumbled alot. Appeared to injure his shoulder, but he played on. Doubt he will play for Ess again this year.

Skipworth - Played the majority of the game on the ball and racked up plenty of possessions and used the ball well in the tricky conditions. Kicked a goal and I'm amazed he didn't get named in the best. :eek:
Has to come into consideration for next week.

Myers- Started well then was restricted with a knock to his knee. Played on the ball, won the contested possession and was doing well at the clearences. When he hits it well, his left foot is lethal. Doubtlful he'll play next week, which is a shame as he seems to be enjoying playing on the ball.

Daniher - Played up forward and took some strong pack marks. Probably didn't make the most of his opportunities - should've kicked at least 3.

Slattery - Roamed freely across the ground. His marking was a highlight, however his kicking wasn't. Had a couple of shocking clangers, but his endeavour to spoil and provide run was good. He's going to be a pretty versitile player in a few years time. Liking his year so far.

Atkinson - Same game as always from Jarrod. Plenty of run and carry coming out of defence. Consdering how the ball was being moved and delivered by the Antz, Jarrod was one of the better performed defenders. Linked up alot with Leroy.

Quinn - Played forward then midfield in the second half. Took plenty of marks on the lead and his disposal was pretty good in tricky conditions. I still shit myself everytime he has the ball in his hands, but the more he hits the target the more relaxed I'm starting to feel. Has the right attitude to succeed.

Houli - Solid game from Bachar. Kicked a nice goal on the run, was productive when he had the ball in his hands, missed the target a few times when Neagle or Daniher were on the lead, for a player of his ability and under no pressure, that was pretty disappointing.

Bellchambers - Took on Jacobs and Warnock in the ruck. Thought he did really well at the centre bounces. Got his fair share of hit outs against Warnock (Seems to have bulked up a fair bit), not always to a team mate, but it was still encourging. Did ok around the ground, often dropping back to fill the hole in defence. Is coming along nicely.

* Flaherty played on Cloke.

Well it looks like the ABC thinks Bendigo play in another comp, last saturday game for the year this week (unless there has been a fixture change im unaware of) and they're showing a game that has been transfered from Sunday. So it looks like no coverage for the whole year. Pretty ordinary stuff :thumbsdown:.

Other than Bombers supporters with a deathwish, who'd want to watch a Bendigo game?

I'd rather watch a contest, not a shellacking!

Coburg Tigers V Bendigo Bombers

This week we see the 13th placed Bombers take on the 10th placed Tigers with a raft of AFL listed players on show, the Bombers after pushing finals aspirant to within 4 goals last week is starting to at least show some fight. Any way here are the listed teams:

Saturday 8th August
ABD Group Stadium , Coburg
2:00PM kickoff

AFL listed players underlined:

B: Polak - Rance - Thomson
F: Bock - Daniher - Hulme
HB: Caruso - Bowden - Raines
HF: Magin - Delahuntey - Scanlon
C: White - Coughlan - Carrick
C: Nash - Skipworth - Coulson-Hoffacher
HF: Clarke - Pattinson - Brown
HB: Carrol - T.Slattery - Weekley
F: Carnell - Shulz - Graham
B: L.Jetta - Flahertey - S.Crameri
R: Simmonds - Tuck - A.Horne
R: Hooker - Myers - German
I/C: (From) Allan - Morris - Clifton - J.Hislop - Liddle - Cattapan - Thompson* - Rayson - Hughes - Gilligan - Putt - Oakley-Nicolls - Browne
I/C: (From) Holmes - Fenton* - Thomson - Stroobants - Klemke - A'Vard - Byrne - Davies - Hackett

A good test for the improving bomnbers, hopefully put up a good fight, a couple of match ups to look out for are: Young Hooker, up against another fellow undersized ruckmen in Simmonds in the ruck, Hooker may be developed in the VFL as a pure ruckmen, good to see Bock getting a run in the seniors too, Bendigo skipper James Flaherty up against VFL machine Jay Shultz, The ever improving Myers also on the ball is another to keep an eye on, opposed to the ever reliable Shane Tuck, and one match up that may surprise some to look out for is that of young Bomber Tyson Slattery up against man mountain Angus Graham at CHF/CHB, may go along way to giving us a result, would love to be able to post the reserves side but am running a little short on time, feel free to post scores or updates when you hear anything, we are always looking out for the results and descriptions on how our boys played.

Thanks in advance.

HFF_07 :thumbsu:

Re: Coburg Tigers V Bendigo Bombers

Anyone have any radio links or what station it will be on? I wonder if Hooker will play or might come into the side tonight? Hope Jetta Myers and Nash go well. Would really like to see Nash back for atleast 1 more game this year, like Atkinson to show that he still has it to play at the highest level.

Given that the ABC is now in the business of attempting to show the best game possible. Why in the hell would they select games involving the bottom side? Especially when the majority of Bendigo games have been utterly one-sided and would likely encourage the audience to turn off at half-time.

Re: Coburg Tigers V Bendigo Bombers

2009 VFL Seniors

Coburg Tigers 4.2 9.3 14.5 21.6 (132)
Bendigo Bombers 5.3 9.5 11.9 13.11 (89)

GOALS:
Coburg Tigers: Hislop 5 Clarke 4 Pattison 2 Simmonds 2 GILLIGAN 2 Liddle Raines Allan Tuck Horne Oakley-Nicholls
Bendigo Bombers: Daniher 5 Delahunty 2 Holmes Jetta Magin Scanlon Stroobants Hulme

BEST:
Coburg Tigers: Clarke Simmonds Liddle Bowden Pattison Coughlan
Bendigo Bombers: Slattery Daniher Crameri Scanlon Jetta Magin

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Coburg Tigers: Nil
Bendigo Bombers: Nil

Hislop 5 goals. :eek: Out come the supporters...

Daniher 5 goals. Surely pushing for Neagle's spot now. :thumbsu:

And Crameri was named in the best for the reserves and seniors. :eek: Either he's a running machine or has a brother.

Bendigo 2009