Bendigo 2009

Best part of the day was the fantastic Hot Dogs.

LOL :D

Bendigo did not have the ball at any stage of the game, so 12 possies was a good return from about 50% game time.

Good point. :thumbsu:

Quinn... is absolutley clueless when he gets the ball and needs all year in the magoos to play the game before he comes up again.

Another good point. :thumbsu:

Bock kicked 2 goals, but gave away countless free kicks in the ruck. He doesnt seem confident to jump in at the ruck contest, and his eyes are too often on his opponent. However, a bit of gym work and a couple of seasons, I think he might be a good prospect.

Yeah I'm not sure the kind of bodies he's going up against but if I was built like him I'd probably be just as focussed on protecting my body as winning the ball.

Interesting summary. Glad that at least the hot dogs surpassed your expectations even if perhaps not much else did. :D

Thanks mate. :thumbsu:

I admit I haven't seen a game and I know that a lot of the better Essendon players are injured but the feedback I get is that a lot of the listed players currently playing aren't up to VFL senior level and there are whispers of wanting to drop some to the VFL seconds.
Yeah Bryce Carroll isnt up to VFL senior Level yet.

I think that Most of the bombers players held thier own. I.e Nash, Atkinson, Bock, and a few others, however, the players on the Bendigo list besides the captain and one or two others, the rest are spuds. there are 10 blokes playing that shouldnt be there, and even if essendon had no injuries, the best team they could put out there would have struggled to be competitve with Nth Ballarat on the weekend.

I love it when I read that the Bendigo players have not been up to the job. From the first 4 rounds the best players have been Flaherty, Flaherty, Holmes, Bristow. Yep - all Bendigo players. No Essendon player has got a BOG this season. I was there yesterday and think that our Essendon boys have to start playing for eachother rather than for themselves and Bendigo might start to get somewhere.

I agree that "Bendigo players not up to it" is definitely not all that's going on. While the EFC obviously brings heaps to the Bendigo team, I think there are onfield drawbacks for Bendigo that need to be taken into account. e.g. Prismall and Hurley both came in only intending to play a half each this week. In this age of high bench rotation surely it's not something that's ideal for Bendigo. Of course, it's great having high stature players at even a reduced capacity, but "a champion team will always beat...etc" -- and coming along only intending to be available for half the game is not a team-orientated way to show up.

My point is that while the alignment is all symbiotic and makes me fuzzy inside, you've gotta go easy on the Bendigo boys because it's gotta be unsettling from a team perspective being under the thumb of an AFL side's needs every game day.

I agree that "Bendigo players not up to it" is definitely not all that's going on. While the EFC obviously brings heaps to the Bendigo team, I think there are onfield drawbacks for Bendigo that need to be taken into account. e.g. Prismall and Hurley both came in only intending to play a half each this week. In this age of high bench rotation surely it's not something that's ideal for Bendigo. Of course, it's great having high stature players at even a reduced capacity, but "a champion team will always beat...etc" -- and coming along only intending to be available for half the game is not a team-orientated way to show up.

My point is that while the alignment is all symbiotic and makes me fuzzy inside, you've gotta go easy on the Bendigo boys because it's gotta be unsettling from a team perspective being under the thumb of an AFL side's needs every game day.

Whilst I agree 100% with everything above, isn't this the same story at about 10 other AFL club aligned VFL clubs? How do most of them make it work so much better?

I was there on the weekend. Players named in the best may not necassarily be the best players on the ground. How quinn got in there is staggering. Bristow was ok, however no where near best and got beaten by direct opponents convincingly. So your argument there doesnt have any legs to stand on.

Whilst I agree 100% with everything above, isn't this the same story at about 10 other AFL club aligned VFL clubs? How do most of them make it work so much better?

Yeah, good point. I really don't follow any other VFL teams so I've no idea -- maybe it is just better players and better cohesion between the VFL and AFL list.

The substitution rule trialled in the NAB Cup would be perfect for AFL aligned VFL clubs, so EFC players returning from injury can play just a half without affecting the team's ability to rotate too much.

Becasue the VFL clubs based in Melbourne attract the better players and bigger spending sponsors.
Bendigo struggles to attract quality players or huge money.
If you where going to play VFL where would you go ? to a club in Melbourne where you work and get offered better money or to Bendiog where you have to drive two hours up and back to train once a week for less money.

People have to remember that Bendigo has cleaned out 60 odd players from their list and replaced most with young blokes and a couple of good country players. Without 15 or so Essendon players they will get beaten most weeks.
At the end of the day the most important thing is our players develop well and i would say that the results in the seniors is saying that we are going ok in that departent.

Something you should know with the Bendigo best. 90% of the time it does not reflect who actually was in the better players.
The simple facts is apart from one or two players most years the Bendigo squad is not up to the level of other VFL sides. Being named in the best in a losing side does not make you up to VFL level.

The fact that we try Essendon listed players in key or different roles often is a factor in their being less output from the Essendon players. Often when you are trying to teach players new roles they will not be in the better players.

Team vs Williamstown

B: Flaherty Hurley Quinn

HB: Bristow Daniher Nash

C: T. Slattery Prismall Atkinson

HF: Bowe Weekley Carroll

F: Jetta Lucas Crameri

R: Bock Scanlon German

Int: Davies Redpath Magin C. Slattery B. Taylor Delahunty Thomson A'vard Stroobants Hackett

Team vs Williamstown

B: Flaherty Hurley Quinn

HB: Bristow Daniher Nash

C: T. Slattery Prismall Atkinson

HF: Bowe Weekley Carroll

F: Jetta Lucas Crameri

R: Bock Scanlon German

Int: Davies Redpath Magin C. Slattery B. Taylor Delahunty Thomson A'vard Stroobants Hackett

I thought Skippy & possibly even Reimers would be coming back through the VFL this week?

Bendigo Bombers 3.2 6.3 9.4 10.6 (66)
Williamstown 6.3 13.6 19.14 25.17 (167)

GOALS:
Bendigo Bombers: Jetta 4 Lucas 3 SLATTERY Magin Stroobants

BEST:
Bendigo Bombers: Hurley Jetta Quinn German Magin Scanlon

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Bendigo Bombers: Nil
Williamstown: Nil

**** this team is terrible. Good stuff by Jetta and hurley from looking at the best and goals.

Anyone know how Prismall went?

Great to see the first 5 in the best are Essendon listed, especially Hurley named first and Jetta named 2nd, kicking 4. The bad news, we've got to end this agreement with Bendigo, this is getting embarrassing.

Oh well, Bendigo's season keeps getting worse and worse.

Who's a chance to make AFL this weeks? (Hurley, Jetta even Lucas?)

What about Prismall? Not in the best, how much game time?

Great to see the first 5 in the best are Essendon listed, especially Hurley named first and Jetta named 2nd, kicking 4. The bad news, we've got to end this agreement with Bendigo, this is getting embarrassing.

I don't think there's any embarrassment for the EFC. Everyone knows these partnerships are based on business/football-operations advantages. The Bendigo element of the Bendigo Bombers will go up and down -- Essendon will do what they can to help them go up, but ultimately they're using Bendigo (and Bendigo are using Essendon). It could be said that Bendigo could have been embarrassed with Essendon last year, because the club was rarely able to give them a number of AFL quality players.

If the EFC were to end the partnership, on-field results wouldn't play an overly significant role in the decision, I don't think.

Knights embraced Bendigo, but I wonder what he really thinks about us be aligned with them now. Maybe with PJ and Auld moving on, the new CEO may see things differently.

It's been embarrassing for a while now. With or without injuries. I mean Darren Hulme is our boom recruit - enough said. :rolleyes:

Knights embraced Bendigo, but I wonder what he really thinks about us be aligned with them now. Maybe with PJ and Auld moving on, the new CEO may see things differently.

It's been embarrassing for a while now. With or without injuries. I mean Darren Hulme is our boom recruit - enough said. :rolleyes:

Is it time to bite the bullet and go it alone?

Maybe time to get a couple of decent Metropolitan players who are up to the challenge.

Geelong have always been a stand alone club, and they seem to have a pretty good success! I think that were a strong enough club to make this work.

It must be a deterrent for anyone in the seniors to have a bad game however. You have to travel to Bendigo and get flogged if you dont perform. LOL.

As far as Essendon would be concerned the Bendigo alignment is a good one as we have control over where our players are played (positions, rotations, etc) and our rookies and young kids are playing senior level wheras most other clubs have kids playing VFL reserves. But after spending 5 hours sitting in a car i wish a few more matches were at Windy Hill *looks at fixture for next week* :(:(.

Tyson Slattery was the only emergency that didnt play.

Jetta turned it on in the first half. Kicked 2 in the first qtr, one super crumbers goal from a spilt Lucas gimme. Lead and took contested marks, tackled superbly, just played with confidence. 2nd half was quieter but was starved of opportunity as were the other forwards. Had a bit of a run on the ball but he is at home when in the forward 50.

Lucas was ok but his limitations are noticable at VFL level. Worked hard on the defensive stuff but the lack of leg speed is killing him. Cameron Wight played on him and he never got more than a metre clear on the lead. Body language isnt the greatest.

Quinn was one of the few that was prepared to run but once the ball is kicked in the air he is lost. Cant question his endeavour just needs to play more games. His kicking is better than some blokes who have been playing all their lives *cough* Nash *cough*.

Hurley started on Jarrad Grant, killed him for the first qtr then Flaherty was suddenly on him and Hurls is picking up Chris Egan :confused:. Played most of the match and would have to be playing seniors next week, he is too good for this.

Prismall played about 3 and a bit qtrs with plenty of breaks. First bounce we cleared it and he hit Crameri lace out. His lack of pace and defensive game has me wondering if him and Watson in the centre square is a viable option. About 15 possies i'd guess.

Nash struggling a bit and pretty sure he knows it. Could be here for a while.

Daniher battled hard all day. Seemed to matched against small blokes for most of the day.

Atkinson didnt notice him do a lot.

Bock got flogged. The Bendigo kid was better in the ruck.

German tagged Brett Johnson and did a good job for the first half.

Magin good skills, lacks heart to be any better than average.

Few injuries at Bendigo a lot of the better players are missing.

Top write up LC, thanks. And you're spot on, I reckon, about the Bendigo alignment.

Sounds like Hurley did exactly what he had to today to keep everyone's high expectations justified. Can't wait to see him again.

Bendigo 2009