Bendigo FL Thread 2010

Doc’s Game Previews and Tips for Round 12

Sandhurst v Eaglehawk - 19
This will be an absolute cracker with the big forwards, Gretgrix and Fitzgerald on show at either end of the ground. It’s great to see Hoofa back in the square and definitely makes the Dragons forward line look much more potent than it has been in the last month. Both of these sides enjoy the wide open spaces and I think it will be a game of attrition in the last half. Ben Deuscher is going up to VFL level (about bloody time) but it could not have come at a worse time with the Burra and Square in successive weeks. J Coghlan, L Coghlan, Holmes, Bateson and N Stagg have proved their worth and if they lift their effort individually, it may cover Benny’s loss. In more positive news, Cozens’ shoulder seems to miraculously recovered, he’s been named in the 2’s tomorrow. Good luck Jimmy. Dekka has left himself out this week so the on-field leadership needs to come from more than just Herdman for them to win. The Dragons have run into some great form and I actually think they will sneak over the line in a fast, skilful game. Get along to the QEO for this one!!

Castlemaine v
Square - 126
Unfamiliar territory here… Square need to bounce back from a loss? Square fans, get along and witness history. Weeks to kick 12 and end the day on 104 after 12 games…. Amazing. Only sour note for Square here is Simon Rosa is out injured again. Magpie fans, don’t despair – your boys are playing one of the best teams in Country Vic at the moment, so all you can do is be positive… watch, learn, listen and make notes for 2011. At least the Pies coach will know who on his list is not daunted by playing the best.

Strath Storm v Maryborough – 2
Call me crazy, but every now and then I like to take a punt. I just have this annoying feeling that an upset is on the cards. The wheels are falling off at Princes Park and the news got no better when Hind, a BFL Interleague Rep, decided to join his brother at M Rovers. As an outsider, the club seems very fickle and always battling the “us vs them” issue with MCDFL. If there was a time for Storm to beat a top 5 side, this week is it. They have made no change to the team and always play well at Tannery Lane… which is fortunate since it’s their home ground ;)

Kangaroo Flat v Kyneton - 36
Another game for the big forwards with Maddern v Condos. Last time, they kicked 11 and 12 respectively and tomorrow looks like another shoot-out with both sides desperate for a win. For Flat, it’s their chance to sneak back into the five, while Kyneton would love to put back to back wins together. In fantastic news for Roo fans, goal kicking runner Downie is back, named in the cotton-wool position of forward pocket. Best of luck to him. Flat look to have more winners across the ground so should win at home.

Gisborne v
South Bendigo - 51
Gisborne have done well with the list they have and should put up another good show tomorrow for 2-3 qtrs. The only danger for South is the come-down and complacency after the mighty effort last week coupled with a long drive down the Calder. Nevertheless, a routine win should be the outcome.

Nothing wrong with having a punt Dr., and yes Strath would consider themselves a chance against a visiting team staggering from the loss of a couple of key players. How, as an outsider you consider Maryborough to be fickle is a view I'm interested to hear you expand on. Perhaps if you were able to take an insider's standpoint you may appreciate the perceived Us v Them mentality.

Strath have knocked off the Magpies by 3 goals. Great effort today.

Yes well done but Shane Fisher was not impressed by the umpiring apparently according to an interview on The Fresh.I was not there so can't comment one way or the other, any truth in it or just sour grapes??????

There's always an element of sour grapes in the losing side criticising the umpires. That usually results in any complaint being brushed off. Maybe it shouldn't always.
From recollection he was absolutely livid after the Rd 1 match v Sandhurst though - and his team won!
Interestingly, one of those same umps had their game today, and he is no stranger to controversy and howls of dissatisfaction.

Yes well done but Shane Fisher was not impressed by the umpiring apparently according to an interview on The Fresh.I was not there so can't comment one way or the other, any truth in it or just sour grapes??????

I listened to his quarter time address and he was telling his blokes that the umpires were against them at that stage.

From watching the game I couldn't say that he was right however I reckon it planted a bad seed in the mind of some of his players.

I listened to his quarter time address and he was telling his blokes that the umpires were against them at that stage.

From watching the game I couldn't say that he was right however I reckon it planted a bad seed in the mind of some of his players.

You make it sound as if the country clubs have never had the bad rub of the green Roota?

It just an expected thing, and has been for over the 30 years I've been watching Bendigo league footy.

Just as Bendigonians think there's an "up against it" mentality with those clubs, they can see the way the establishment looks down upon them and makes them work twice as hard to get anywhere. You will brush it off, no doubt, but "Walk a mile in their shoes" and you might start to see what they are up against.

One of Fisher's complaints was Strath getting eight free kicks in front of goal.

Stormboy your comments on this point would be interesting.

You make it sound as if the country clubs have never had the bad rub of the green Roota?

It just an expected thing, and has been for over the 30 years I've been watching Bendigo league footy.

I play for a country club myself mate up at Lalbert and we have certainly been on the end of some ordinary umpiring this season

The point I was trying to make (not very well i mite add) was that I was not sure that the coach needed to mention that he thought the umpires were against them as it can lead to increased frustration

round 12 big news ... weeksie slotted a lazy fourteen to get to 106 snags 4 the season... got past the 100 mark in the 3rd
fans jumped the fence as u wld xpect

weeksie actually finished on 14 goals 7, plus a few handballs to mates runing past and a few little chip kicks to mates in better spots So overall would have had 30-plus possies
maine tried hard but w/out conn-marshal-cordie-& big orrie cross were up against it for talls

I must admit I get a giggle each Sunday at how all you blokes repeatedly take the bait and fall into Kings Army and his pot stirring way with words. I just hope none of ya's realise that the best way to ignore him would be to purely not bite back and respond . . . . otherwise she'll get mighty dull round these parts ;).

Well done to young Weeksy by the way, exceptional effort :thumbsu: Have many other guys got the ton in Victoria yet? Big Jamesy needs 7-8 down here in Kilmore.

I must admit I get a giggle each Sunday at how all you blokes repeatedly take the bait and fall into (James) King(s) Army and his pot stirring way with words. I just hope none of ya's realise that the best way to ignore him would be to purely not bite back and respond . . . . otherwise she'll get mighty dull round these parts ;).

Well done to young Weeksy by the way, exceptional effort :thumbsu: Have many other guys got the ton in Victoria yet? Big Jamesy needs 7-8 down here in Kilmore.

Yep well done Weeka:thumbsu: Now for the record and the flag

One of Fisher's complaints was Strath getting eight free kicks in front of goal.

Only watched 2nd half of the match due to other commitments. The last half resembled more of a rugby match, with more scrums than a state of origin match. Both sides got some ordinary decisions, as the umpires were reluctant to ball the ball up.

In the end, a stupid 50m penalty (throwing the ball back way past the Strath Storm player gridiron style) by Maryborough cost them the game as the 50m brought the player (Sullivan I think) 10m directly out in front. Storm seized control of the last 5 minutes of the match from then on. So if Fisher is referring to one of these free kicks in front of goal, he has only got his players to blame.

Whilst I can't offer a blow-by-blow account, it seems it was in the first quarter M'boro felt especially hard done by. Fisher felt that 8 of Strath's first 9 goals resulted from free kicks.

The 50m penalty Stormboy is referring to was as obvious as you will ever get. The free kick that enraged the player was not.

I play for a country club myself mate up at Lalbert and we have certainly been on the end of some ordinary umpiring this season

The point I was trying to make (not very well i mite add) was that I was not sure that the coach needed to mention that he thought the umpires were against them as it can lead to increased frustration

Gauging by the reactions at quarter time and half time amongst players and spectators, I would reckon they formed their own opinions.

You have a point though, if the issue can be avoided tactfully by a coach, less may be made of it. It's not an easy thing to do if you are at your wits end.

Gauging by the reactions at quarter time and half time amongst players and spectators, I would reckon they formed their own opinions.

You have a point though, if the issue can be avoided tactfully by a coach, less may be made of it. It's not an easy thing to do if you are at your wits end.

I suppose the thing is CB, and I don't know the context that Fisher made his point, the really good coaches over the last 15 years of country clubs have used that as a weapon.

Your Filo's, your Massina's and your McGuane's would gather the boys together and say 'okay- we have to beat 20 of these mongrels today - so let's be smart about it - don't worry about it and don't lose your cool'.

And for a long period the country clubs reigned.

There is no point in sooking about the umpiring - no matter how bad it is - you just have to deal with it and move on.

They won't ever change their decision, and when you involved in a country club - you know that better than most.

Anyone else hearing the persistent rumour that Weeks and the Gold Coast have been in contact with each other?!

Seemed a massive reach but might have some legs with the amount going around about it.

I'm still not sure but thought I would throw it out there...

Anyone else hearing the persistent rumour that Weeks and the Gold Coast have been in contact with each other?!

Seemed a massive reach but might have some legs with the amount going around about it.

I'm still not sure but thought I would throw it out there...

Why do you think it's so unrealistic?

Well done to Weeks:thumbsu:

What jumpers are Castlemaine wearing?

For the record, I didn't see anything too bad with the umpiring at Strath, but in saying that I might have had some Storm glasses on as well;)

The Magpies were certainly vocal about the umpiring though, the goal that put the Storm ahead in the last was through silly-ness throwing the ball away after a free kick so they can't complain about that one.

Young gun Ben Duscher finaly been called up to play with
the bendigo bombers:thumbsu:
And after his performance on the weekend the dragons will have to get used to his absence.

Something out of left field for the dragons, I would like to see Simon Weekley play full back next Saturday - especially if Borchard is out. With his delivery skills on either foot Sandhurst looks at their best when Simon has the ball. The problem is he drifts in and out of the play - that certainly won't be an issue next Saturday on Weeks!

The other radical suggestion is the coach play as a forward/goal sneak. Some years ago he did this role quite well and the dragons desperately need someone snappy around goals. Some changes in approach are needed to worry the top three.

Did you here the one about the Kangaroo Flat player who stabbed his team mate in the hand at a social function. Poor fella who was stabbed was then refused a clearance!! Club did a good job brushing this little episode under the carpet.:mad:

big deal, there's a stabbing every week in Kangaroo Flat, probably so used to them they thought it wasn't news-worthy