Bendigo FL Thread 2010

Dragons got jumped by Corowa (O&MFL) in first quarter by 6 goals, ended up being the final margin so was good that the young kids could match it at some level with much bigger opponents.

Got North City @ Eureka Stadium (Ballarat) this Saturday.

Clearances to yesterday... getting to the pointy end!

Castlemaine
IN: R Ford, J Smith, N Quinn, J McMurtie, H Campbell, H Symons, R Hickey
OUT: N Pope, H Polglase, T McLeod, D Vosper, B Culpitt, T Martin, H Wilson, J Archer, J Daffy, J Leech, M Wootton, T Ruggles, S Moss

Eaglehawk
IN: K Robins, D Lock, J Ketterer, T Hill, M Gretgrix, J Fitzpatrick, T Coates, W Slater, H White, T Prime, L Jacobs, D Sullivan, K Bloxidge
OUT: B Filo, B Singh, A Bourne, R Bice, D Bice, T Kirby, Z Broadbent, J Groenewald, A Davis, B Lewis

Gisborne:
IN: C Docherty, C Haynes, D Rocard, B Shipard, J Arnold, L Testro, J Visentin, T Walsh
OUT: J Treloar, R Sharp, M Bradshaw, T Drew, M Strickland, T Wright, R Webster, S Crowley, G Baseggio, J Forder

Golden Square:
IN: H Symons, S Rosa, M Seiler, J Angove, L Thompson, M Billings, L Hammond, G Weeks, J Bristow,
OUT: J Douglas, A Bateman, B Kelly, J Limbrick, M Adamson, P Houston, S Lowry

Kangaroo Flat:
IN: C Thiesz, B Pinnington, B McHenry, J Bilbrough, J Clark, T Mihocek
OUT: T Kelly, C Bourke, M Holt, D Stockx, M Stevens, J McEwan, L Stevens, D Roy, S Bentley, A Coonan, P Russell, J Hobley, J Stevens, D Holzer

Kyneton:
IN: M Bentley, W Kelly, J Kulevski, S Neeson, G McIntyre, R Trajkovski, R Healy, J Condos, M Agius, L Turner, M Turner, B Turner, B Richmond, M Scibberas, R Harrison, W Foster, B Hopkins
OUT: A Lambropoulos, A Jock, J Gibney

Maryborough:
IN: J Hooper, N Wright, L Treacy, S Hooper, A Carr, N Harnetty, J Lohmann, G McMillan, D McLean, B McRedmond, R O’Shea, M Whiteman
OUT: L Aspinall, A Tatchell, S Young, S O’Connor

Sandhurst:
IN: R Frankilin, B Butler, P Angove, B Deuscher, S Weekley, J Walsh, T Summerhayes, B Stringer, D Martin
OUT: R Walker, A Thomas, J McCarroll

South Bendigo:
IN: P Hubbard, N Torpey, D O’Bree, L Davies, A Crawley, P Carroll, D Anderson, R Carman, J Talbot, K Berchtold, T Hams
OUT: D Hill, J Lake, J Keely, H Honig, J Lea, B Fawcett, K Morcombe, J Williams, C Bassett, D Jones, S Bowles, Z East, B Galea, M Lindsay, J McLeod, B Rohde

Strathfieldsaye:
IN: J Baxter, M Millard, Z Raeburn, M Rice, C Ross, J Ruff, L Baldwin, D Harrison, A Rosaia, J West
OUT: C Grenfell, P Matheson, G Prigg, M Arnott, T Wicks, I Wright, D Hamilton, C Hardingham

Dragons got jumped by Corowa (O&MFL) in first quarter by 6 goals, ended up being the final margin so was good that the young kids could match it at some level with much bigger opponents.
Got North City @ Eureka Stadium (Ballarat) this Saturday.

Had a look at this game saturday. Both sides began the game with their strongest avaliable squads (obviously both still missing players) and Corowa was a class above. Sandhurst really struggled with the tackling pressure and physicality of the Corowa side. Sandhurst played around 45 players in six quarters and Corowa played with 26 (including 47 year old coach Peter Tossol). So all in all the final margin of 40 points flattered Sandhurst who would have been given a royal hiding in a traditional 4 quarter game.

yep, fair call, but O&M is a much stronger league so did not expect miracles from the young kids who included our u'18 kids. By the way, players missing from Sandhurst included Borchard, Stringer, Hoofa, Speccy McGee, Rob Thornton, J Bateson, L Watts etc etc... so key positions went to the skinny kids, even if there were more of them.

In comparison, Square def Yarrawonga I see, so shows how valuable the bigger bodies of Square will be this year. Yardstick again.

I watched this game and thought there were a lot a really good signs for the dragons. After the first quarter they really matched it with Corowa and for a practice match it was a pretty high standard. Corowa have a grandstand called the 'Fred Swift Stand' as he coached them (possibly to a flag) after playing with Richmond. Fred Swift started his career with Sandhurst so in future these teams should play for the Fred Swift cup.

My little prediction for the year is to watch out for Nick Stagg. The dragons have some good recruits, but after watching him at Corowa I think he is ready to 'go up another level'.

I don't know the name of the Echuca recruit either but he is definitely going to play with the dragons. I was talking to his father who mentioned he has another son playing with Echuca so he will be watching both Sandhurst and Echuca play. The lad from Echuca looks like he could play in a key position in defence and looks to be a pretty hand pick up. Can anyone at Sandhurst tell me who the big ruckman wearing 21 was - He also looked pretty handy.

I'm assuming the young Echuca recruit in question is Jake Wilkinson.

Correct. His brother, Liam, who kicked 28 goals last year for Echuca may be interested as well.

Albury - No 21 was Dave Martin, ex-VFL bombers 2's ruckman. 37 shared a game, not 45.
Jon Coghlan got through a couple of qtrs. Good result after knee reco. Mick Cornish played a couple of qtrs too.

Albury, hope that answers your questions.

Correct. His brother, Liam, who kicked 28 goals last year for Echuca may be interested as well.

Albury - No 21 was Dave Martin, ex-VFL bombers 2's ruckman. 37 shared a game, not 45.
Jon Coghlan got through a couple of qtrs. Good result after knee reco. Mick Cornish played a couple of qtrs too.

Absolutely,totally and categorically untrue!!!!!!! Liam Wilkinson is playing for echuca so you can stop that speculation right now!:(

Some of you may recall last year I was suggesting the BFNL Board go after Sunbury and/or Rochester when the Ballarat Board went after Gisborne. When I said a Golden Square v Rochester match would draw a big crowd (like they did in the past) one scribe stated no one would go as Rochester would thrash Golden Square by 15 goals or more.

Mate - where are you now? Would you like to identify yourself before next weekend when these teams meet. We can all keep an eye on this practice match.

Some of you may recall last year I was suggesting the BFNL Board go after Sunbury and/or Rochester when the Ballarat Board went after Gisborne. When I said a Golden Square v Rochester match would draw a big crowd (like they did in the past) one scribe stated no one would go as Rochester would thrash Golden Square by 15 goals or more.

Mate - where are you now? Would you like to identify yourself before next weekend when these teams meet. We can all keep an eye on this practice match.

square by 65 points.....:D

Jake will be a very good pick up for the dragons. As for Liam he lived in Bendigo for the past 3 years and travelled back to Echuca. Living in Echuca now so doubt he will travel to bendigo, lives and breaths the Murray Bombers. Not sure about his dedication either....jets of all over the world during footy season...

Not sure about his dedication either....jets of all over the world during footy season...

Has had to travel for work but is right for the whole season. Jake will be handy but slight chance he could be at Echuca

how r our new recruits going, ilovecricket? R the new boys fitting in with paul hustons game plan hope u and darryl and other tiger men can giv e us some hope this year i want to c our boys knock off the maine, round 1 :thumbsu:

The so called administrators that run Bendigo Football can't find the time and have not the ability to update the website, how would they be able to convince a quality side like Sunbury or Rochester to join the BFL.

bloody hell Dr Kenny, another recruit?? heard there's about 50-55+ on the slag's senior and magoos list? how r u gunna pay 'em all ? :) its a b*tch tryin to keep 55 blokes happy . players who think they should be gettin a senior game, keep gettin chucked in the 2's, they will p*ss off before June

Not sure about his dedication either....jets of all over the world during footy season...

Has had to travel for work but is right for the whole season. Jake will be handy but slight chance he could be at Echuca

I didnt see him working! Just having a bit of a laugh Ringo, you know as well as I do what the extremes he will goto to help the Echca footy club achieve success. What are the chances on Jake staying at Echuca?

How are the injuries at south? John Hardinge and co

I didnt see him working! Just having a bit of a laugh Ringo, you know as well as I do what the extremes he will goto to help the Echca footy club achieve success. What are the chances on Jake staying at Echuca?

How are the injuries at south? John Hardinge and co
anyone heading out to white hills for a look at bdca granny this weekend

Can anyone tell me how William Rolfe of Castlemaine goes? Has a clearance in to the Millewa league in Sunraysia and apparently the club is paying for flights for him and his brother to come up. Will probably be very shocked by the change in standard, we would be about as good as your best reserves sides only

The so called administrators that run Bendigo Football can't find the time and have not the ability to update the website, how would they be able to convince a quality side like Sunbury or Rochester to join the BFL.
This is a change in the topic I raised (the Square v Rochester match and the earlier sarcastic comments of our forgotten Rochester supporter). However I'll go down this road.

I think they BFNL Board are light years from the 'convince' stage - they haven't even got to the 'make an approach' stage. How many times did the Ballarat League go after Gisborne - 4,5,6? In these circumstances Sunbury are fair game for the Bendigo Board and the carrot is the Gisborne v Sunbury rivalry. If that is an attaction for Gisborne in the Ballarat League then logic tells you its the same attraction for Sunbury in the Bendigo League.

Yes the bid may fail, but you never know if you don't have a go. Rochester should also remain as a potential club to chase as five BFNL clubs are just down the road.
I repeat - you never know if you don't have a go (make approaches).

This is the post you are referring to;

Johnny Tapp said:
I would suggest that the top 4 teams in the GV would beat Golden Square/South by 4 - 5 goals and flog the rest by 10.

I'm not sure where you get "15 goals" from. I can't see any other posts that refer to that.

I don't really think we can read too much into practice match scores. Otherwise, I could bring up Rochester winning the BFL lightening premiership in 2006 or in 2009 when Rochester played reigning premiers Eaglehawk in a practice match and won by 13 goals.

As for Rochester re-entering the BFL, I don't think that will never happen. There are still plenty of people involved with the club that remember the disgraceful treatment by sections of the BFL administation, competing clubs and media.

Rochester had to sit out of football for the entire 1971 season which nearly killed the club. We lost a heap of players for that year and they never returned when the club was admitted into the GVFL in 1973. It took until 1980 for the club to reach the finals again and 1988 to make the grand final.