Bendigo FL Thread 2010

good hard ball get, ablett. Although I am a Woodnend/Hesket fan and ex player of 2 games in the magoos, I have a soft spot for the tiges as a few friends play there. Namely ZB and the great Berto, ciunik's etc. They have struggled since I can remember and im looking forward to seeing them do well this year. Can anybody tell me though if they still play night games in the BFL???

Yep night games still exist in the H&A season of the BFNL, with a few scheduled in 2010. These games are mainly in the earlier rounds due to the colder weather. Check out the 2010 draw at the BFNL website: http://www.bendigo.vcfl.com.au

Maryborough v Castlemaine game has been transfered to Royal park and will now take place on Sunday instead of Saturday night.......also sounds like the recently retired Jason Griffin is popping up at Elmore just a few weeks later.....:eek:

why so surprised Hoops? There were heaps of blokes on here that said Griff would return to footy sooner rather than later.

Also - I see Ben Richmond has signed with Kyneton... forward line looking pretty good now

Its hardly retirement tho is more my point...plenty of guys drop down a league for the sack of their bodies..I ran out of leagues.....

why so surprised Hoops? There were heaps of blokes on here that said Griff would return to footy sooner rather than later.

Also - I see Ben Richmond has signed with Kyneton... forward line looking pretty good now

Spot on BenBal....not a suprise at all.
Griffo stated when he made his decision to retire it was due to the commitment level required to play at the top flight in the BFL, 3 nights a week training etc.
So the move to Elmore makes simple sense...he's good mates with Aggots Grant, and will have a modified program.
Would be a handy forward target who occassionaly floats into the guts you'd reckon!

As for the night footy...I say bring on more of it, even during the winter months. Gives neautral supporters and those from other leagues a chance to watch some quality footy, and dont give me the tripe about being too cold, players train in it, Saturday arvos are sometimes just as bad...and as for the spectators, its a coat, gloves and a thermos job, and your laughing!

I agree BG, its not a surprise but why go and say I have retired when all you really need is to back off at a level where your body can respond and play to a level you deem worthy. Griffo is a top player and one who I enjoy watching ply his craft, just seemed a little odd.....How many players at Elmore have once played at South at the minute??
3BO would love more night footy too, give them a chance to get to more games that are probably being covered already, reckon the BFL may need to look at that because now with Fresh ( or whatever they are now) and Pheonix having seperate licenses again we could have the stupid situation where 3 stations show up to broadcast one match. That may sound strange but BO and Fresh already do it and Pheonix have signalled there intention to call TAC cup to start with. It would be good to sit at home with a cold can and "Go around the grounds"!!!!!!

:thumbsu: pheonix will be calling pioneers vers bushrangers sat from miday hoopie i have heard
but don't know what facilities r avalaible from the diffrent grounds 4 example if truck isnt ready at kynton how could the pheonix guys call a bfl game from there
and at the storm is the upstairs facility avalaible for all the b'casters :confused:
getting 3 b'casters for bfl seems a big call --- 2 at good fri plus 2 at qeo last sat nite seemed a bit extrvagant

is the fresh still 89.5?

cant find their website or anything?

ive tried to listen last 2 nights after work and got no signaL?

found it 101.5 - but i still cant find a website?

Good work Zakster, I am sure the broadcast points would be made available to the given broadcaster each game.
Not sure about Fresh fms website, the old ones been gone a while..

Doc’s Game Previews and Tips for Round 2

Castlemaine v Maryborough - 48
As I mentioned last week, Fisher has done a great job with his Magpies and they showed some real grunt against Hurst at the QEO. They have picked up some solid runners and, more importantly, some height to contain opposition key position players. They have also had one more year playing to Fisher’s game plan and it showed on Saturday night. Hickey, Culvenor and O’Brien are the engine room for the Maine, and Christmas returns to FF which should keep them in the contest for 2-3 quarters. Last time they met, Maryborough defeated Castlemaine by 29points, so I think you can expect a bigger margin this time around given Maryborough’s solid improvement and the Maine’s lack of depth. At Hedges Oval on Sunday arvo instead of Princes Park on Sat night due to rain.

Kyneton v Sth Bendigo - 22
I witnessed first-hand the atrocity that was South Bendigo last Friday. They can’t possibly put in another shocker like that (can they?) - no matter how much Coburn wants to play the card of “We won’t be any good until the second half of the year”. Rick, mate, you still had Stroobants, Connaughton, Davies, Hubbard, Anderson, Childs, Leech, Ireland, Bowles, Frew etc in the side, so I’d be worried about the WHOLE season if you keep playing like that. The Tigers win last week was a great result for the competition and with some more game-time together, they will trouble the top sides at home. Jimmy Condos is built like a condom full of walnuts and many believe he is the best power forward to chuck on a Tigers jumper since Reaper. Combined with new recruit Ben Richmond, the Tigers forward line suddenly has potential. Paul Houston was studying South pretty hard at the game last Friday so he will have a good idea on how to play them. Still, I’m tipping the Bloods, but if they play like they did last Friday, I would not be surprised if the Tigers turn up to training next Tuesday with a 2-0 record.

Gisborne v Eaglehawk – 65
Once the impenetrable fortress that was Gardiner Reserve, the lack of experience and bigger bodies at Gissy mean they will be re-building this year (on and off the field). Interesting to see that apart from the first quarter when Flat piled on 11 goals to 4, both sides kicked 10 for the rest of the match, so I would say not all is lost at Gisborne. However, given their inconsistency and the fact that most believe the Burra are a 5 goal better team than Flat, logic would suggest an easy win for Filo’s boys. Coates, Bloxidge, Bowe, Robins, Gretgrix, Herdman… simply too much talent. The asbestos, glass covered mud-heap actually looks in great nick, so any team travelling to Gissy in the early part of the year (before winter really hits) would be rapt.

Kangaroo Flat v Golden Square – 31
Game of the round to be played under lights at Dower Park – in terms of quality that is, as I think the end result will not be close. Joel West will miss so without a true ruckman to give the Roos midfield first option, this could be embarrassing if Lehane doesn’t step up to the plate. A key match-up to watch is Mihocek on Weeks. His efforts will go a long way to keeping his team in the contest. Lloyd and Bell had a corker for Round 1 and I would think they have another great game in the clinches on a smaller ground like Dower Park. I’m a huge fan of Klein-Bretler and will not be surprised if he kicks 3-4 from his wing. The Robbie Flower of the BFL!

Strathfieldsaye v Sandhurst - 76
Playing at Tannery Lane on Sunday afternoon, get set to see the Dragons come out breathing fire after last week’s disappointing upset loss to the Pies. When they decided to pull the finger out, Sandhurst were brilliant, coming back from as much as 47 points down with one and a half quarters to go, only to lose by 4 points with six more scoring shots and 13 more inside 50’s for the match. There are plenty of new players at the Den this year and it showed – no talk, application or cohesion for 3qtrs – and it cost them the game. The Storm does not have much to crow about after Eaglehawk made them look silly with a 110 point loss, but have a feeling the Storm will put up a better fight this week. Expect some push and shove as the Storm go up against a determined Dragons outfit with Thornton, Deuscher, Watts, Cornish to come in. The Dragons look capable of a 100+ point win, but they never seem to bury sides like the Burra and Square do. The ‘killer instinct’ needs to be developed in 2010 if they want to be considered a serious Premiership contender.

Great stuff Doc.

You are also spot on about Coburn. This 'we will be better next week/better later in the season/better for the run' stuff has worn very thin. Remember after last years 2nd semi loss to Square it was the same story (with the same words). It is time for South to be better 'right now' without excuses.

Great stuff Doc.

You are also spot on about Coburn. This 'we will be better next week/better later in the season/better for the run' stuff has worn very thin. Remember after last years 2nd semi loss to Square it was the same story (with the same words). It is time for South to be better 'right now' without excuses.

thanks Albs... I actually think South's premiership window has shut. Too many of their better players are on the wrong side of 28, no depth in the Reserves and ordinary Thirds.

Doc’s Game Previews and Tips for Round 2

Castlemaine v Maryborough - 48
As I mentioned last week, Fisher has done a great job with his Magpies and they showed some real grunt against Hurst at the QEO. They have picked up some solid runners and, more importantly, some height to contain opposition key position players. They have also had one more year playing to Fisher’s game plan and it showed on Saturday night. Hickey, Culvenor and O’Brien are the engine room for the Maine, and Christmas returns to FF which should keep them in the contest for 2-3 quarters. Last time they met, Maryborough defeated Castlemaine by 29points, so I think you can expect a bigger margin this time around given Maryborough’s solid improvement and the Maine’s lack of depth. At Hedges Oval on Sunday arvo instead of Princes Park on Sat night due to rain.

Kyneton v Sth Bendigo - 22
I witnessed first-hand the atrocity that was South Bendigo last Friday. They can’t possibly put in another shocker like that (can they?) - no matter how much Coburn wants to play the card of “We won’t be any good until the second half of the year”. Rick, mate, you still had Stroobants, Connaughton, Davies, Hubbard, Anderson, Childs, Leech, Ireland, Bowles, Frew etc in the side, so I’d be worried about the WHOLE season if you keep playing like that. The Tigers win last week was a great result for the competition and with some more game-time together, they will trouble the top sides at home. Jimmy Condos is built like a condom full of walnuts and many believe he is the best power forward to chuck on a Tigers jumper since Reaper. Combined with new recruit Ben Richmond, the Tigers forward line suddenly has potential. Paul Houston was studying South pretty hard at the game last Friday so he will have a good idea on how to play them. Still, I’m tipping the Bloods, but if they play like they did last Friday, I would not be surprised if the Tigers turn up to training next Tuesday with a 2-0 record.

Gisborne v Eaglehawk – 65
Once the impenetrable fortress that was Gardiner Reserve, the lack of experience and bigger bodies at Gissy mean they will be re-building this year (on and off the field). Interesting to see that apart from the first quarter when Flat piled on 11 goals to 4, both sides kicked 10 for the rest of the match, so I would say not all is lost at Gisborne. However, given their inconsistency and the fact that most believe the Burra are a 5 goal better team than Flat, logic would suggest an easy win for Filo’s boys. Coates, Bloxidge, Bowe, Robins, Gretgrix, Herdman… simply too much talent. The asbestos, glass covered mud-heap actually looks in great nick, so any team travelling to Gissy in the early part of the year (before winter really hits) would be rapt.

Kangaroo Flat v Golden Square – 31
Game of the round to be played under lights at Dower Park – in terms of quality that is, as I think the end result will not be close. Joel West will miss so without a true ruckman to give the Roos midfield first option, this could be embarrassing if Lehane doesn’t step up to the plate. A key match-up to watch is Mihocek on Weeks. His efforts will go a long way to keeping his team in the contest. Lloyd and Bell had a corker for Round 1 and I would think they have another great game in the clinches on a smaller ground like Dower Park. I’m a huge fan of Klein-Bretler and will not be surprised if he kicks 3-4 from his wing. The Robbie Flower of the BFL!

Strathfieldsaye v Sandhurst - 76
Playing at Tannery Lane on Sunday afternoon, get set to see the Dragons come out breathing fire after last week’s disappointing upset loss to the Pies. When they decided to pull the finger out, Sandhurst were brilliant, coming back from as much as 47 points down with one and a half quarters to go, only to lose by 4 points with six more scoring shots and 13 more inside 50’s for the match. There are plenty of new players at the Den this year and it showed – no talk, application or cohesion for 3qtrs – and it cost them the game. The Storm does not have much to crow about after Eaglehawk made them look silly with a 110 point loss, but have a feeling the Storm will put up a better fight this week. Expect some push and shove as the Storm go up against a determined Dragons outfit with Thornton, Deuscher, Watts, Cornish to come in. The Dragons look capable of a 100+ point win, but they never seem to bury sides like the Burra and Square do. The ‘killer instinct’ needs to be developed in 2010 if they want to be considered a serious Premiership contender.

like your work doc, although, give your boys a bit of credit - they beat kyneton by 190 points last year

Just keeping a lid on it Goat.

Seems I'm not alone though... including you. Tips from todays Addy
Adam Bourke - Sandhurst by 25
Luke West - Sandhurst by 44
Nathan Dole - Sandhurst by 19
Richard Jones - Sandhurst by 52

Just keeping a lid on it Goat.

Seems I'm not alone though... including you. Tips from todays Addy
Adam Bourke - Sandhurst by 25
Luke West - Sandhurst by 44
Nathan Dole - Sandhurst by 19
Richard Jones - Sandhurst by 52
could be a dirty weekend, hard to kick a big score, so seven goals might see the dragons out
i've already changed my wooden-spoon prediction from castlemaine to strathfieldsaye

fair point about a dirty weekend goat. still theres plenty of room out at the lane for hurst runners 2 get out and put the pedal down
who does gareth keenan tip in this one

fair point about a dirty weekend goat. still theres plenty of room out at the lane for hurst runners 2 get out and put the pedal down
who does gareth keenan tip in this one

One flogging doesn't make a season, but I respect your confidence in your boys Doc.

As my boys, be sure to see them come out AGB (all guns blazing) this Sunday at Tannery Lane. First game at home for 2010, so they want to put on a better showing in front of the Storm supporters.

Those looking for some local footy fix on Sunday, make sure you head out to Tannery Lane ! Good initiative by the BFNL to implement Sunday matches - so lets support the concept and local footy !

:thumbsu: pheonix will be calling pioneers vers bushrangers sat from miday hoopie i have heard
but don't know what facilities r avalaible from the diffrent grounds 4 example if truck isnt ready at kynton how could the pheonix guys call a bfl game from there
and at the storm is the upstairs facility avalaible for all the b'casters :confused:
getting 3 b'casters for bfl seems a big call --- 2 at good fri plus 2 at qeo last sat nite seemed a bit extrvagant

I'm sure the club wouldn't have an issue if your mob wanted to call games from the "Presidents Lounge", although calling Saturday BFNL matches would clash with ur AFL coverage wouldnt it Zakster ?

Seeing that your station has switched away from the MMM coverage to AW that may not be a bad thing afterall :confused:

I'm not bagging the club, use have been a very good side the last few years, who i am bagging is you, you get on every day beaking off how good ya club is and all that, but u refuse to buy a membership.... Again it comes back to is it easier using u centerlink payment one week at a time, instead of a bulk payment up front.

Oh dear - where do I start "use have been" - nice place to start. The best thing to happen to Kyneton is the by-pass. Welcome to 2010. Each time you post I will walk you down memory lane. Lets start with Sth Bendigo: Round 4 2009:

South Bendigo - 30 - 17 - 197
Paws of Leather - 5 - 5 - 33

Thanks for posting. Next?

Get off it will you K.A.
The stink of the meatworks was O.K. for Gisborne greats like Bill Barham and John Fitzgerald to put up with (when it really did stink).
As for you denigrating the club song, it is one of the only songs written specifically for one club and not re-cycled like most. The only time anyone should hear it is after Kyneton wins, hopefully it will get a few more airings this year.

KA, as you may remember, I read alot, and write seldomly. I am frequently ammused by your posts, and the hatred you have attracted to yourself. Whilst I think that your continued dissing of a fellow country football club is nothing short of a disgrace, stats don't lie, and since Gisborne's inception into the BFNL, they have had the measure of the battling Kyneton Tigers, and all other clubs for that matter. I say they, as I strongly suspect they want not to be associated with you, your comments etc. The majority of Gisborne players have shown grace in their winning culture in their time in the league, and from what i can tell do not enjoy you claiming to be one of "them". How, I ask, can you be one of them, when you on other threads claim to be one of "them" at various other teams in various other leagues in the region.
Now i'm not another of those who's going to ask you to go jump (as i suspect jumping is a big ask for a man like you), as we know you won't stop. You will probably come back with your infamous "you are probably from kyneton, the abbatoirs stink, you have a losing culture, tip toe into Gisborne" lines. Go for it, won't bother me. No matter where i am from, who i've played for, where i live, what it smells like, what sort of culture i am a part of, i will feel no pain from your reply. I think i also speak of the vast majority here, including those from Kyneton who continually reply to the bait you often throw.

However, if you do want any of your comments to be respected here, you need to think before you type. I refer to your above comments. I quote one sentence that reads "Welcome to 2010". I then read that you want to walk people "down memory lane". If you walk down memory lane, then Kyneton fans can go back to the 40's, 60's, 90's - and you can recite scores from the past 10 years. If you want to speak of 2010..... that's all fine and dandy. The win column after round one tell's me you should be sitting on your hands a little longer, no matter how much it hurts.

- Eat my footy shorts

KA, as you may remember, I read alot, and write seldomly. I am frequently ammused by your posts, and the hatred you have attracted to yourself. Whilst I think that your continued dissing of a fellow country football club is nothing short of a disgrace, stats don't lie, and since Gisborne's inception into the BFNL, they have had the measure of the battling Kyneton Tigers, and all other clubs for that matter. I say they, as I strongly suspect they want not to be associated with you, your comments etc. The majority of Gisborne players have shown grace in their winning culture in their time in the league, and from what i can tell do not enjoy you claiming to be one of "them". How, I ask, can you be one of them, when you on other threads claim to be one of "them" at various other teams in various other leagues in the region.
Now i'm not another of those who's going to ask you to go jump (as i suspect jumping is a big ask for a man like you), as we know you won't stop. You will probably come back with your infamous "you are probably from kyneton, the abbatoirs stink, you have a losing culture, tip toe into Gisborne" lines. Go for it, won't bother me. No matter where i am from, who i've played for, where i live, what it smells like, what sort of culture i am a part of, i will feel no pain from your reply. I think i also speak of the vast majority here, including those from Kyneton who continually reply to the bait you often throw.

However, if you do want any of your comments to be respected here, you need to think before you type. I refer to your above comments. I quote one sentence that reads "Welcome to 2010". I then read that you want to walk people "down memory lane". If you walk down memory lane, then Kyneton fans can go back to the 40's, 60's, 90's - and you can recite scores from the past 10 years. If you want to speak of 2010..... that's all fine and dandy. The win column after round one tell's me you should be sitting on your hands a little longer, no matter how much it hurts.

- Eat my footy shorts

Thats a good post. End of the day people take this way too serious and end up on the hook. Look at the Ballarat thread now - gone to crap because of the people banned from stirring things up a little. I get a good laugh out of it - if people want to sook then so be it - don't log on. And I follow a few sides - Gissy in the Bendigo league, Sunba in the Ballarat league, Riddell in the Riddell league, Abers in the EDFL A grade, Taylors Lakes in the EDFL B grade, Kangaroos in the AFL. All for various reasons - but end of the day win or lose it really does not faze me at all. Thats why it is so easy for me to be flippant - there are far more important things in life than if your footy team wins.

Hey guys I was wondering if anyone had any info on Brodie Filo. I believe he played for Eaglehawk in the Bendigo league last year. I here he is originally a mandurah boy and he is only turning 20 this year I think.

1) What was he doing over in Victoria in the first place was it for work commitments?? or something and did the club pay for him to play?? as he seems to be a decent player, playing for Peel Thunder this year.

mandurah? kid spent all his young life in castlemaine, played junior footy for winters flat, the under 16's then under 18's for maine then went to play under his father at eaglehawk, you have no idea brother

was a good effort by the square:thumbsu: norf dont know who can beat the square the burra looks like the only option
flat didn't kick a goal until the 3rd and even tho were way behnd didn't mind a bit of niggle

on the down side the g abott boyz look like they got a nice touchup:thumbsdown:
13 goals or roundabout
wot was sed on the lvfl thread in jan. mite be true

still, they could avoid the lvfl Spoon by beating the hopeless Bears not a given that one, tho