Bendigo FL Thread 2010

Thats a good post. End of the day people take this way too serious and end up on the hook. Look at the Ballarat thread now - gone to crap because of the people banned from stirring things up a little. I get a good laugh out of it - if people want to sook then so be it - don't log on. And I follow a few sides - Gissy in the Bendigo league, Sunba in the Ballarat league, Riddell in the Riddell league, Abers in the EDFL A grade, Taylors Lakes in the EDFL B grade, Kangaroos in the AFL. All for various reasons - but end of the day win or lose it really does not faze me at all. Thats why it is so easy for me to be flippant - there are far more important things in life than if your footy team wins.

To everybody who reads this site let’s make one thing very clear here as stated above in bold kings army only follows Gisborne but he has none what so ever involment in the club, so all this dribble that he speaks about Gisborne is his opinion and his opinion only. He does stats for 2 games years ago and thinks he involved as a valued member, sponsor or supporter. No one likes you at Gisborne so stop going on about it like you have mates down there! You never even step foot in the gate unless Sunba is playing Gissy.so stop crappin on about shinning Gisborne cups because you have never been involved with them except for sitting on the couch reading results.

was a good effort by the square:thumbsu: norf dont know who can beat the square the burra looks like the only option
flat didn't kick a goal until the 3rd and even tho were way behnd didn't mind a bit of niggle

on the down side the g abott boyz look like they got a nice touchup:thumbsdown:
13 goals or roundabout
wot was sed on the lvfl thread in jan. mite be true

still, they could avoid the lvfl Spoon by beating the hopeless Bears not a given that one, tho

Yeah mate we were disgusting yesterday, missing a few though, but no excuses, we dead set disgusting! As for square, well I cannot wait until they play the burra, see where they are at against the other premiership fave!

Looks like we have ladder factions forming already, Golden Square and Eaglehawk are looking the goods for sure, but dont forget the regular season form has been misleading in recent years...South beat Square twice in H&A last year and were pummeled twice in finals..
Think a completely missed talking point is the form Josh Baird has returned in post that nasty injury in Maryborough last year, exciting to watch:thumbsu:
Anybody else see the bake that Nathan Bell gave Matthew Klein-Brettler on his decision making.....first class!

Looks like we have ladder factions forming already, Golden Square and Eaglehawk are looking the goods for sure, but dont forget the regular season form has been misleading in recent years...South beat Square twice in H&A last year and were pummeled twice in finals..
Think a completely missed talking point is the form Josh Baird has returned in post that nasty injury in Maryborough last year, exciting to watch:thumbsu:
Anybody else see the bake that Nathan Bell gave Matthew Klein-Brettler on his decision making.....first class!

As soon as the odds are released for the BFL flag, do yourself a favour and get on the Square whatever the odds!
A class above, made both South and Flat look second rate already in 2010...and will only get better.
Still to return, Hammond, Bateson, Malone and a bloke by the name of Simon Rosa who knows how to catch and kick the pill as well!
Eaglehawk would be their only threat, yet have only beaten Strath and Gissy so probably need to reserve judgement on that!
Early days...but for mine everyone's playing for second....

3BO would love more night footy too, give them a chance to get to more games that are probably being covered already, reckon the BFL may need to look at that because now with Fresh ( or whatever they are now) and Pheonix having seperate licenses again we could have the stupid situation where 3 stations show up to broadcast one match. That may sound strange but BO and Fresh already do it and Pheonix have signalled there intention to call TAC cup to start with. It would be good to sit at home with a cold can and "Go around the grounds"!!!!!!

Not sure the Pheonix will be doing any BFL mate...and even if they do, good on 'em for having a crack. Dont see any problems with 3 stations doing the same game on a Sat night either...gives listeners a choice and Im sure the BFL would like the extra exposure.

Interleague clash is just 5 weeks away...when should we expect initial squads to be named for this? Surely the blokes who put there hand up and played so well last year get first dibbs? Interesting to hear what others think.

Not sure the Pheonix will be doing any BFL mate...and even if they do, good on 'em for having a crack. Dont see any problems with 3 stations doing the same game on a Sat night either...gives listeners a choice and Im sure the BFL would like the extra exposure.

Interleague clash is just 5 weeks away...when should we expect initial squads to be named for this? Surely the blokes who put there hand up and played so well last year get first dibbs? Interesting to hear what others think.

Give it to G/s see if they can beat gippsland
icon10.gif

Anyone want have a crack or nominate players from each team?

Would have thought there is more exposure in having more games covered eg more teams which creates a greater listenership, the same amount of people listen to the game Id have thought regardless of how many outlets cover it.

Totally agree that the youngsters who represented the league in Bachaus Marsh get first crack, went with a car load of mates for a squiz last year and the run and carry was brilliant. Exhillerating win it was!:thumbsu:

Late last year it was announced in the Advertiser that Peter Jackson was to do a review of football in the the region in particular the amount of football that is played on the QEO.

For his time I believe a fee of $50,000 was paid and the report was to be released in late February.

It is now mid April all football in the region has started and we have heard nothing in regards to the review.

Was this another example of the wasted money that now happenens with football administration?.

As soon as the odds are released for the BFL flag, do yourself a favour and get on the Square whatever the odds!
A class above, made both South and Flat look second rate already in 2010...and will only get better.
Still to return, Hammond, Bateson, Malone and a bloke by the name of Simon Rosa who knows how to catch and kick the pill as well!
Eaglehawk would be their only threat, yet have only beaten Strath and Gissy so probably need to reserve judgement on that!
Early days...but for mine everyone's playing for second....
and - Dillon Anderson kicked 7 goals in the Reserves, he certainly wouldn't be in the Reserves in any other team in the competition.

Last Saturday's round was very lackluster. Also the BFNL has gone from the 'big four' a fews years back, then with Gisborne dropping of the pace last year it became the 'big three'. Now in 2010 it looks like being the 'big two' - Square and Eaglehawk. It is not a good sign for the league.

I think Sandhurst & Maryborough will play a role in the finals this year and both would hope do what Kangaroo Flat did last year (almost getting to the grand final). The saving grace for the BFNL is that this year's battle for the top five is more open than last year, but even that is starting to dissipate with Castlemaine and Strathfieldsaye dropping of the pace.

Would have thought there is more exposure in having more games covered eg more teams which creates a greater listenership, the same amount of people listen to the game Id have thought regardless of how many outlets cover it.
:thumbsu:

Last I checked the BFl draw theres only ever one game on a Saturday night....so not sure how you can cover any more games than that?! Not to mention it probably does increase listenership...as I know quite a few who refused to listen to one particular frequency due to some percieved ego's and personal agendas held by certain callers, but each to their own I say. :cool:

On a much more interesting subject, it was great to hear Steven Oliver on the new Bendigo IPTV website saying that the Interleague squad will look to youth first as it "had" to last year, and if anyone even hesitates with commitment to playing, they wont be considered. :thumbsu:
Thats what interleague should be about anyway, pride in representing your league and your club and a desire to play...next best thing to finals and premierships I would have thought!

and - Dillon Anderson kicked 7 goals in the Reserves, he certainly wouldn't be in the Reserves in any other team in the competition.

arr, sorry Albury but he wouldn't be in burra or slags best side. He's been on the meat pie & Chip-smoothie diet. Good player in his hey-day and would play seniors for storm and tigers but seriously he has returned to country vet very overweight, does not handpass which is why he bagged 7 against a very ordinary 2's side

Last I checked the BFl draw theres only ever one game on a Saturday night....so not sure how you can cover any more games than that?! Not to mention it probably does increase listenership...as I know quite a few who refused to listen to one particular frequency due to some percieved ego's and personal agendas held by certain callers, but each to their own I say. :cool:

On a much more interesting subject, it was great to hear Steven Oliver on the new Bendigo IPTV website saying that the Interleague squad will look to youth first as it "had" to last year, and if anyone even hesitates with commitment to playing, they wont be considered. :thumbsu:
Thats what interleague should be about anyway, pride in representing your league and your club and a desire to play...next best thing to finals and premierships I would have thought!

I actually meant on the Saturday arvos for the local stations available, it would be good to have more than one covered, as for private agendas, I do find it pretty funny listening to the two current stations and the little jabs at the other, no harm in that from the both.:)

And again, spot on with your interleague thoughts!:thumbsu:

i hear ur boys are referred to as the "local u know" hoopy while the others say they r permanent in central vic. and not just visiting thats wot my mates in oz tell me by email
where will maryborough play strath storm this sat nite is it princes park or tannery lane we know the maryborough maggies went to the outside edges of their town to play last sunday

Was just reading Chalky's website and the BFL goalkicking list is on there. Expected to see Weeksy at the top of the list as I thought he had kicked bags of 9 and 5 in the two games however Harry Maddern was sitting at the top with 13 goals.

Yeah the website with all the results in it have Weeksy only playing one game, as for why that is I am not sure and I suspect the CVF site just got the tally off there.

arr, sorry Albury but he wouldn't be in burra or slags best side. He's been on the meat pie & Chip-smoothie diet. Good player in his hey-day and would play seniors for storm and tigers but seriously he has returned to country vet very overweight, does not handpass which is why he bagged 7 against a very ordinary 2's side
if he keeps up this form will be trying to push weeksy out of the goal square

i hear ur boys are referred to as the "local u know" hoopy while the others say they r permanent in central vic. and not just visiting thats wot my mates in oz tell me by email
where will maryborough play strath storm this sat nite is it princes park or tannery lane we know the maryborough maggies went to the outside edges of their town to play last sunday

Wasnt the game played on royal park's ground which is across the lake ???

Think youll find its the other way round in hoopsy's case Razor!

And pretty sure the Maryborough game this Sat will remain at Princess Park, nobody at this stage has been told otherwise. You'd think Maryborough wouldnt be too pleased having to transfer 2 home games to other grounds...could cost a few $'s in gate takings.

NORF and Roota: the simple fact of the matter is that Central Vic. footy administration stuffed the sen. goalkicking table up.
Look in Monday's Addy or countryfootyscores.com to see G. Weeks (GS) leading the BFL senior list with 14 goals. Harry M. and Condos are eq. 2nd on 13.

Chalky would have been busy with the Bridgie coaching duties so wouldn't have known there was error there. He would have received the generic e-mail circulated to all and sundry, and taken it as being correct

Amazing really. Two weeks in and the goalkicking has been wrong two weeks.

Boys, T. Fitzgbbon is with the b'casters living in and not just visiting Bendigo.
Hoopsy is NOT Trav. He's with the local you know. I know!!

Think youll find its the other way round in hoopsy's case Razor!

And pretty sure the Maryborough game this Sat will remain at Princess Park, nobody at this stage has been told otherwise. You'd think Maryborough wouldnt be too pleased having to transfer 2 home games to other grounds...could cost a few $'s in gate takings.

game is definitely at princes park this week

M Borch - knee, 2-3 weeks
J Wilkinson - back next week
M Cornish - back next week
M Thornton - back next week
B Duscher - unknown?
N Arthur - rather not say

that's another 6 walk up starts that missed out on Sat night so our full strength side will be hard to beat. But Maryborough were impressive, they will beat a few good sides this year, especially at home.
Doc, (or anyone else at the Dragons) can you give us an upate on the injury list. Cornish, M Thorton & Duscher have returned which is great - but J Walsh & Fitzpatrick appear to have joined Borchard & Wilkinson on the sidelines. How are the latter four going?

Goat, seriously what is that footy focus thing all about, if its important to check the papers for your team etc, why the hell do you have Chaplin and Crowley on the bench? If you are to be self indulgent you may as well do it right? Also, whilst I am going with this, Kepler Bradley is a stretch isnt he? No problem with the guys who came of rookie list at Bombers but that is stretching it Id have thought....why not include Chris Judd because his father works here and Twigley was at the cup or Jonothan Brown because he once drove through?? Sorry, sidetracked, if you need a ruckman how about Jamie Charman, his father coached the Chewton to an undefeated premiership in 1975.

as the last paragraph said chaplin and crowley aren't in there proper positions, so reckon they should be just on the reserves. chaplin is listed in the dream team as a defender, crowley as a midfielder, but needed to put a few bloke in different positions for the reserves to find 30 players
i know bradley is a stretch, but that's how light on ruckmen are
as for being self-indulgent, really couldn't care less what u reckon

Doc, (or anyone else at the Dragons) can you give us an upate on the injury list. Cornish, M Thorton & Duscher have returned which is great - but J Walsh & Fitzpatrick appear to have joined Borchard & Wilkinson on the sidelines. How are the latter four going?
Has duscher been geting a kick?