Bendigo FL Thread 2011

And that he spelt malmsbury "marmsbury", its funny how the gisborne ferals seem to chirp up when the Kyneton boys are struggling.. I believe i didn't here to much dribble coming from their mouth last year when the Tigers knocked them off.

What needs to be taken into consideration is 5 players who are over the age of 22 is the most Kyneton have had in one game. Im sure the town is alot happier seeing all the local kids run around who turn up to all functions, do things around the club, and actually wanna play in the Tiger jumper than seeing recruits turn up earn there huge amount of money then be lucky to be seen again until the following Saturday. The club is heading in the right direction and whilst its going through some hard times, the results will show next year.
Gisborne ferals ? thats a bit rough ! Disapointing G. Weeks fell 2 goals short of the 20 that i predicted he would kick against the tigers. Is this bloke better than Oliver, Reaper, etc ? I think he is !

Is this bloke better than Oliver, Reaper, etc ? I think he is !

Weeks is an interesting one, but given the silver service he is receiving atm, comparisons with Reaper and Oliver seem somewhat hollow and extremely shortsighted.

I was speaking with a well respected senior coach last season about Weeks prospects' of being drafted and from his perspective Madden was/is the most unstoppable player in the league.

Infact he had to put more time into working out how to stop Condos having an impact than Weeks because he was sure that stopping the supply could stop the player.

However, imo, the beauty of Weeks is that whilst he can take some nice grabs and kicks a lot of goals, he can also go into the middle and really mix things up.

It's just a pity that there is no real legitimate challenger to Golden Square to force Carts to change things up a bit for a contest.

Your a genius.
Ring-a-ding ding, long live the King !!

Does anyone think Square will be beaten this year ?

I dont !
Bearsboy don't you give your beloved Gisborne (with Luke Saunders) a chance of beating Square in the finals? I do - start by shutting down Lloyd - Gisborne have always had good taggers.

I saw Kyneton beat Square in the 1966 grand final (yes I know 1966!) when no one gave them any hope whatsoever, so it can be done.

I don't agree Weeks is better than Oliver. Oliver successfully played AFL with Carlton. Weeks hasn't managed to get drafted to date although to be fair to him he might this year.

Weeks is an interesting one, but given the silver service he is receiving atm, comparisons with Reaper and Oliver seem somewhat hollow and extremely shortsighted.

I was speaking with a well respected senior coach last season about Weeks prospects' of being drafted and from his perspective Madden was/is the most unstoppable player in the league.

Infact he had to put more time into working out how to stop Condos having an impact than Weeks because he was sure that stopping the supply could stop the player.

However, imo, the beauty of Weeks is that whilst he can take some nice grabs and kicks a lot of goals, he can also go into the middle and really mix things up.

It's just a pity that there is no real legitimate challenger to Golden Square to force Carts to change things up a bit for a contest.
Weeks plays at full forward and could have close to 300 goals in 2 seasons in the Bfl. i am unsure why you would have a problem with the camparison.

The Kyneton knockers are absolutely ridiculous.
Surely anyone with half a brain can see playing a list of kids, although initially painful, is the way to go.
Yeah their signings might not always be long-term, but isn't that the whole point of blooding as many kids as possible.
You get the kids hardened, add a few Melbourne boys a year on and they might even be pushing finals next year.

How old are you, 12 ? Almost every time you and your braindead mate post on here it gives the club and the town a bad name. Show some respect and pull your head in. Kicking a club when they are down only makes you look like a school yard bully. No wonder most of the comp think we are arrogant ferals. :thumbsdown:

Keep battling away tigers, :thumbsu: not everyone down here wishes you a speedy demise.
Please point out where i have recently 'kicked' or disrespected the Kyneton fc. I made a suggestion before the season started that Weeks would be a chance to kick 20 in a game (more than likely against Kyneton). No disrepect was intended, just my opinion.

Trust me, the Gisborne fnc would much prefer to see a healthy and strong Kyneton fnc, so we could ramp up this 'rivalry' and start to get some decent numbers through the gate.

Pretty sure your not a Gissy supporter anyway Roy.

And that he spelt malmsbury "marmsbury", its funny how the gisborne ferals seem to chirp up when the Kyneton boys are struggling.. I believe i didn't here to much dribble coming from their mouth last year when the Tigers knocked them off.

What needs to be taken into consideration is 5 players who are over the age of 22 is the most Kyneton have had in one game. Im sure the town is alot happier seeing all the local kids run around who turn up to all functions, do things around the club, and actually wanna play in the Tiger jumper than seeing recruits turn up earn there huge amount of money then be lucky to be seen again until the following Saturday. The club is heading in the right direction and whilst its going through some hard times, the results will show next year.

You want to discuss last year? Gisborne after having 1 down year is sitting 2nd on the ladder. Kyneton have had 10 down years and now one of the worst clubs in Victoria. Gissy have an average winning margin over 100 points in the last 10 years.

Nearly a 200 point loss on the weekend and more comments like heading in the right direction. Only one direction they should be heading - the RDFL.

Please point out where i have recently 'kicked' or disrespected the Kyneton fc. I made a suggestion before the season started that Weeks would be a chance to kick 20 in a game (more than likely against Kyneton). No disrepect was intended, just my opinion.

Trust me, the Gisborne fnc would much prefer to see a healthy and strong Kyneton fnc, so we could ramp up this 'rivalry' and start to get some decent numbers through the gate.

Pretty sure your not a Gissy supporter anyway Roy.

Why bite? You know who it is......

Wondering when it will be announced that Essendon Football Club will be ceasing there links with Bendigo and heading back down the track of having a traditional stand alone reserves team in the VFL. Bendigo Bombers to be no longer with announcement to come in near future. Will this be good for local footy?

All unravelling now that the truth is coming out. No Bombers in Bendigo as Hird heads down the path of a stand alone VFL team to ensure full control of his list. Interesting to note the carefully managed media campaign to slowly leak a story about a decision that was made 6 weeks ago.

Reading the RDFL thread, it seems that D. Filo's comments in our local rag during the week may have stirred the emotions of some RDFL folk.

[/b]

All unravelling now that the truth is coming out. No Bombers in Bendigo as Hird heads down the path of a stand alone VFL team to ensure full control of his list. Interesting to note the carefully managed media campaign to slowly leak a story about a decision that was made 6 weeks ago.

Its hardly earth shattering news. Essendon has long be renowned as underhanded gutless kind of operation. Appointments of Mark Thompson and Ian Robson good recent examples. The Bendigo Bombers will not leave a mark on the greater Bendigo Football community.....Buubbbye:cool:

Essendon have never really cared about Bendigo and Bendigo people are the same.
Hird and Thompson were great players and Thompson (I believe) a lucky good coach as results show.Essendon VFL would not play at QEO due to safety issues however Pioneers and other TAC teams did which is a bit 2 faced ie the TAc players are more valuable than VFL players(no disrespect to VFL)
Hird may turn out to be another Tim Watson/Malcom Blight with great on field prowess but not much respect for his players due to his exceptional ability/courage etc and is on huge money as was Blight/Watson at St Kilda.
IMO Bendigo will be better off if Essendon leave and the BFL will be up there with GVL in standard and crowds to finals
QEO upgrade is a blessing to footy and cricket and I believe we will see more AFL and Premier/State cricket and maybe even see BDCA play games at the QEO before xmas

If Essendon pull the pin on their link with the Bombers I would like to see Golden Square represent Bendigo football in the VFL the same way North Ballarat represents the Ballarat area. District fans would then have a real team to follow, not the 'plastic Bombers' which exists now.

Golden Square are so strong they could also keep a team in the BFNL.

Essendon have never really cared about Bendigo and Bendigo people are the same.
Hird and Thompson were great players and Thompson (I believe) a lucky good coach as results show.Essendon VFL would not play at QEO due to safety issues however Pioneers and other TAC teams did which is a bit 2 faced ie the TAc players are more valuable than VFL players(no disrespect to VFL)
Hird may turn out to be another Tim Watson/Malcom Blight with great on field prowess but not much respect for his players due to his exceptional ability/courage etc and is on huge money as was Blight/Watson at St Kilda.
IMO Bendigo will be better off if Essendon leave and the BFL will be up there with GVL in standard and crowds to finals
QEO upgrade is a blessing to footy and cricket and I believe we will see more AFL and Premier/State cricket and maybe even see BDCA play games at the QEO before xmas

Bit harsh on Blight I'd reckon. Took Geelong to 3 grand finals and a prelim in 6 years and won 2 flags in 3 years with the Crows. If Hird replicates that he's turned out ok. Let's hope he doesn't:eek:

Cracker of a game this upcoming weekend at the QEO as the Strath Storm take on QEO co-tenants and resurgent team Sandhurst. With that all elusive 5th spot up for grabs this would have to be one of the matches of the round.

Make sure supporters of both sides come along to what should be an early taste of September action !:thumbsu:

LADSON seems a definite out, Stormie

Is Tommy Dowd right to go ?? Hurst has L. Coghlan and Thornton back.

Prior can take one of Jake Ward or Thornton. Who's on the other big marking 4ward ??

Have the suspensions handed out from Eh game been served. Easty mite be right.
Have a feeling Sammie Mildren mite still have a week 2 go :D

LADSON seems a definite out, Stormie

Is Tommy Dowd right to go ?? Hurst has L. Coghlan and Thornton back.

Prior can take one of Jake Ward or Thornton. Who's on the other big marking 4ward ??

Have the suspensions handed out from Eh game been served. Easty mite be right.
Have a feeling Sammie Mildren mite still have a week 2 go :D

All that you seek shall be answered on Saturday 5th !!! Sammy still has one week to go - will be right for finals :D

*With the Bombers the word is they will have a crack at being stand alone.

* Onto something more important though! The Dragons were super yesterday that was a great win especially because the Storm had Sharp firing up forward. Little Lee Coghlan was brilliant and Collo and Thornton up forward were good too. Snake was pretty happy with the boys!
Still plenty of work to do but everyone knows it's extremely even and the chance is there to make a real big charge.

* I noticed Castlemaine were flogging Eaglehawk yesterday at half time but could only kick one goal in the last half.

* Who does everyone reckon will play Square in the big one?

*With the Bombers the word is they will have a crack at being stand alone.

* Onto something more important though! The Dragons were super yesterday that was a great win especially because the Storm had Sharp firing up forward. Little Lee Coghlan was brilliant and Collo and Thornton up forward were good too. Snake was pretty happy with the boys!
Still plenty of work to do but everyone knows it's extremely even and the chance is there to make a real big charge.

* I noticed Castlemaine were flogging Eaglehawk yesterday at half time but could only kick one goal in the last half.

* Who does everyone reckon will play Square in the big one?
Dragon Fly it was mentioned on Fresh that our beloved Dragons can now drop a match and still make the finals. Looking at the draw I just cannot see thus as both South & Strath have matches coming up where they could really boost their percentage.

I think for the Dragons to make the finals we will have to win all three remaining home and away games which include Gisborne at home next week and South in the final round. It is a tough ask, especially next week. However, if this could be done we would replace the loser of the South v Strath game in the five by season end.

If the Dragons could get over the line against Gisborne (and for that matter don't get rolled at Castlemaine) the five would be settled in the last home and away game for the season. What a massive match the Sandhurst v South game would become in these circumstances.

What do you think?

Yer I think we should be aiming to win all of them to be safe.......
This weeks match will be a big one for us that was one of most dissapointing games for the year when they touched us up at Huntly but I think we're a 50-50 this week.

Is there likely to be any Coaching movement in the BFL next year? I was having a discussion with a mate the other day and we thought that most club's would have the same coach again.

hey guys i might be moving to bendigo next year for uni and i will be looking for a club or info on different clubs in the league . have played senior gvfl football. am 19 years of age. message me for details if interested.

Had the pleasure of watching weeksy slotting through his 100th goal of the year on saturday night, the guy is a absolute champion.
Gee golden square would have to to have a absolute stinker in the grand final to let it slip this year, as they are easily the best side i've seen in the bfl for a very long time, and they deserve everything that comes their way.
Gisborne would be the only side i could see knocking them off but for this to happen gis would have to play out of their skins and g s would have to be right off the boil for that unlikely scenerio to happen.