Bertolacci has screwed our club

• Thread starter Thread starter CF

CatmanForever said:
Article in todays HUN about how Bertolacci has given the other clubs our game plan. If this is true then I hope the Club sues his butt off. Explains why Hawthorn was so devasting in that 3rd round match. if this is proven, Bertolacci may just become the biggest villian at GFC for a long time.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20187942%255E20322,00.html

:mad::thumbsd:

Hahahah, give it up. The Hawks won that match because they were on their game and Geelong weren't. Stop making excuses for your players. They lost this year on their own bat.

hyperswivel said:
Hahahah, give it up. The Hawks won that match because they were on their game and Geelong weren't. Stop making excuses for your players. They lost this year on their own bat.

Hmmm, I'm sure you'd love it if your fitness coach went around selling information on player fitness and game plans... however, it probably wouldn't be particularly valuable at this point, would it, so it's a moot point.

Not saying it's a good thing to happen. It's a disgrace. But it's not the reason the Cats lost that match, or their season. That's all.

hyperswivel said:
Not saying it's a good thing to happen. It's a disgrace. But it's not the reason the Cats lost that match, or their season. That's all.

Fair enough....you are probably right.

I still reckon though that Thompson deserves one more year to get it right, free of innuendo and constant questioning.

What a gigantic load of crap i've been reading.
Do you seriously believe we've been an absolute joke because Loris let a few game plans loose? I guess he just went from club to club between round 3-15 passing out copies of the plan right? You're all stupid if you think we've sucked because of this. How convenient the heat goes from Thompson to the fitness coach that was sacked because he caught Bomber....well you know the rest.

Thompson is the one responsible for all of the insipid performances and underachieving..

Renegade said:
What a gigantic load of crap i've been reading.
Do you seriously believe we've been an absolute joke because Loris let a few game plans loose? I guess he just went from club to club between round 3-15 passing out copies of the plan right? You're all stupid if you think we've sucked because of this. How convenient the heat goes from Thompson to the fitness coach that was sacked because he caught Bomber....well you know the rest.

Thompson is the one responsible for all of the insipid performances and underachieving..

And probably from your point of view he's also responsible for the conflict in the Middle East, high petrol prices and Dancing on Ice?
You seem to be so prejudiced against Thomspon that no matter what other suggestions come up (whether valid or not), you dismiss them as rubbish without assessing them in any way.
Certainly, Bomber has to take a large part of the responsibility for the crap year, but is it his 'solely'? No.
And your responses have been suggesting that you're acting like a little kid who sticks his fingers in his ears and sings, "la,la,la... not listening."
Get off your highhorse and open up your mind to what it really means to bring a club success.

cat in sydney said:
And probably from your point of view he's also responsible for the conflict in the Middle East, high petrol prices and Dancing on Ice?
You seem to be so prejudiced against Thomspon that no matter what other suggestions come up (whether valid or not), you dismiss them as rubbish without assessing them in any way.
Certainly, Bomber has to take a large part of the responsibility for the crap year, but is it his 'solely'? No.
And your responses have been suggesting that you're acting like a little kid who sticks his fingers in his ears and sings, "la,la,la... not listening."
Get off your highhorse and open up your mind to what it really means to bring a club success.

Well said. I was going to add he was seen near Pompeii 79 AD so that's his fault as well.

Renegade - lay off - you're a one note band.

Jim Boy said:
Damn that guy, that explains how our tactics of playing listless, disinterested and unaccountable footy didn't result in the wins we surely deserved.

i agree, that game against the saints (just to name one this season) when we had so much to play for and gain by winning we lost. but not because the saints had our gameplan but because we were unaccountable, insipid and generally not interested.

Jim Boy said:
Damn that guy, that explains how our tactics of playing listless, disinterested and unaccountable footy didn't result in the wins we surely deserved.
Haha great call. I'm with you, and Catman.

And before his "ass (is) sued off him", as shahla selena said, let's just remember that the club sacked him whilst in contract before he did anything to the club.

Hard to give away a game plan when one didnt even exsist

those like renegade who are coming out and calling everyone stupid for believing or talking about the possibilities of what has happened are missing the whole point. No-one has ever said that the Bertolacci situation is the reason why we have lost. No-one has said that the pathetic and insipid efforts put in by our players is Bertolaccis fault. The club hasn't said it and supporters haven't said it. Yet people like renegade, who are all class, come on here and call people stupid. Good one mate, how to make friends and influence people (not).

All I have ever said is that IF IT IS TRUE..and that is with a big IF.....then one must have to look at the season a little differently from how we have been. The awul pathetic performances still need to be reviewed, the players and coaches need to be held accountable. But if Bertolacci has done this very low act, then Bomber has a case for saying he should be given another year.

Spare a thought for the poor man, i mean up until Lorris was sacked Cameron Ling was only the second ugliest person at the footy club.

How was this guy a fitness coach? He reminded me of what Monty Burns would look like if he had a personal trainer. Surely, someone who knows about fitness wouldn't look so sickly pale and fragile. Shame on Geelong for giving him a chance.

This whole thing is starting to look like a Roman circus, and a damm embarrassment to boot, I've never seen so much buck passing outside of politics.

All we've heard from Thompson and the club recently is excuses, and pretty pathetic ones at that "our fitness wasn't good enough, our game plan has been given away" and now the coach says just give me one more year, sure Thommo, no worries, seven years is obviously not long enough.

Think it's about time to step back, take a long hard look at Thompson, and his assistant coaches, and realise that they're just not up to the task, it's not fitness or missing game plans that's responsible for poor [ to put it mildly ] team selections, poor decision making on match days, or apathetic performances from the players on far to many occasions.

Big fan of Thommo as a person, but I'm beginning to lose even that given his comments recently, he's starting to look like a guy willing to put his own survival ahead of the interest of the club, and the sad part is that I reckon we're stuck with him for another year.

I'm with you, Cattery.

Every team knows what every team's game plans are. The game is fully professional. We all know what our game plan is, and it isn't successful. It is rubbish. Get over it.

Cattery said:
he's starting to look like a guy willing to put his own survival ahead of the interest of the club

that is a big call Cattery, really I don't think Bomber is that type of person. I think you are dead wrong there. But the nuffs will agree with you because the anti-bomber bandwagon is the best ride around at the moment for disgruntled Cats fans. :(

CatmanForever said:
that is a big call Cattery, really I don't think Bomber is that type of person. I think you are dead wrong there. But the nuffs will agree with you because the anti-bomber bandwagon is the best ride around at the moment for disgruntled Cats fans. :(

Agreed, and I don't, or at least I didn't, think of him in that way either, and I sincerely hope I'm wrong now, but all his comments over the last few weeks seem to point that way.

He seems to be trying to lay the blame anywhere but on himself and his assistants, and let's be honest, the excuses he, and the club, have been coming up with are really pretty pathetic.

I'm quite willing to admit I may be wrong in my assessment of him, and as I've already said, I hope I am, the one opinion of him that I am sure of though is that he's a "very" average coach, a coach who seems bereft of new ideas, unwilling, or unable, to try anything different.

From team selection to strategy on match day, he, and his assistants, just don't seem capable of getting it right, and I think it's time for a complete change.

I'm not jumping on the "anti-bomber bandwagon", I've believed for some time now that he's just not adequate for the job, and enough is enough.

Rosella said:
Well said. I was going to add he was seen near Pompeii 79 AD so that's his fault as well.

Renegade - lay off - you're a one note band.

Oh right so Thompson is doing a sublime job with this club in your eyes? 7 years with nothing to show and you're delighted with things? Typical Geelong fans...
accept mediocrity with a grin on their face.

Renegade said:
Oh right so Thompson is doing a sublime job with this club in your eyes? 7 years with nothing to show and you're delighted with things? Typical Geelong fans...
accept mediocrity with a grin on their face.
No one ever said that dip****. Stop saying people have said things when they clearly haven't.

Inferno said:
No one ever said that dip****. Stop saying people have said things when they clearly haven't.

ditto

no one is happy with mediocrity performances, and everyone who says that about geelong fans can get f@rked - including geel supporters.

i want the cats to win the flag as much as anyone on this board, doesn't mean i accept their results this year because I don't critise every player on our list and highlight every possible coaching wrong-doing...

we have 35-40 players on the list because they are the best we can put together, and we have Mark Thompson as coach because the board feels that he has got a definite and viable plan that will see us succeed.

Thats life - deal with it.

Thompson/GFC/etc have never solely blamed the year on fitness...

By the way Renegade, the "sack Bomber" and "it's all his fault" routine wears thin after a while.

cat in sydney said:

I'll tell you what Thompson most certainly is responsible for:

1. Selecting the correct team to give us the best chance of winning.
2. Motivating the players to play committed, desperate, professional football, including skills development and discipline on and off the field.
3. Managing the preparation of the players from the commencement of preseason training to round 1 and up to round 22 and beyond.
4. Tactics on match day.
5. Appointing skilled resources as assistant coaches to further assist the development of the playing group to the best of their ability.

I would say there are serious question marks over some or all of these this season. You can rant and rave at supporters who dare question him but as a coach this season has been an unmitigated disaster. And stop defending him - he's had 7 years to learn and improve.