Besides GAblett...

The top players tend to have at least 50% though...

And you cant use 2014 or 2015 because he was injured.

So that only leaves 2013? Which was a very mixed bag year.

Which means he has contributed very little at all since leaving Geelong 5 years ago.

He actually played 15 games in 2014. He also won the brownlow in 2013. I definitely rate him as one of the best 5 players I have seen in my lifetime. I can't comment on the earlier players, that is why this is dividing a lot of people. We need to find a 170 year old that has seen all players play.

It's almost impossible to judge the best 100 given most of us haven't seen players pre-1970 and certainly 1960. But given you would expect 10 or so to come from each decade (some decades more than others, some less), it would be interesting to read who people think would be in the frame from 2000-2010 and also 2010 to now. Might also be interesting to see who people think might be in the discussion from their clubs over the last 20 or 30 years, bearing in mind, it should only be a handful, given the length of time we are talking about.

For the Eagles, I think only Judd (shared with Carlton), Cousins, Cox, Jakovich and Matera would be in the frame over 30 years.

For post 2000, Judd, Cousins, Cox, Voss, Black, Buckley, Ablett, Hodge, Franklin, Goodes would surely be the frontrunners...bloody hell, that's 10 already and there would be plenty I'm missing.

Cousins stocks have taken a beating for obvious reasons, but on his day cant say Ive seen too many better, he was a freak!

Add Riciutto to that list not only a fantastic player but one of the hardest aswell

Cousins stocks have taken a beating for obvious reasons, but on his day cant say Ive seen too many better, he was a freak!

Add Riciutto to that list not only a fantastic player but one of the hardest aswell
Agree on Roo.

A discussion on Adelaide and Geelong players is what got me thinking about it. For Adelaide, Riccuito, McLeod and Jarman would probably be the ones in the discussion, though I might be missing someone.

Yet when he gets 45 touches and they lose... ?

His efficiency is terrible. If he is only getting 15 touches he has done absolutely nothing.

You're assuming cause and effect, rather than correlation

Maybe when Ablett gets < 30 and the suns win it's because his team mates have pulled their finger out and so Ablett doesn't need to do the 1-2s

It's when his team mates are on the coke and red wines pre game that he racks up 45 touches, because he's the only one trying.

GAJ is a star match winner unparalleled in the last 15 years, to try to deny otherwise is silly.

You're assuming cause and effect, rather than correlation

Maybe when Ablett gets < 30 and the suns win it's because his team mates have pulled their finger out and so Ablett doesn't need to do the 1-2s

It's when his team mates are on the coke and red wines pre game that he racks up 45 touches, because he's the only one trying.

GAJ is a star match winner unparalleled in the last 15 years, to try to deny otherwise is silly.

I think Mumford at GWS has *far* more influence on their performance than GAJ does at GCS. Dangersloane said GCS wouldnt win games without GAJ - well they won 3 in 2015 without him. They won the game last year where he was injured (and in fact had 5 injuries meaning they not only had no bench they had an injured player on the ground).

The individual performances of GAJ bear no significant influence on whether his team won or lost. That to me says that he is far from a solo game winner. Unless its blind luck that every time GCS win when he has few possessions are when he was massively influential with few possessions, while the times they lost when he racked up 35+ possessions it was surely a case of GCS losing by 10 more goals had he been quiet that day...

Im sure someone with plenty of time on their hands can look at Fyfe or Pendlebury or Mitchell or Goldstein or Mumford or even Nic Nat and see whether their individual performances had any impact over whether their team won or lost.

He actually played 15 games in 2014. He also won the brownlow in 2013. I definitely rate him as one of the best 5 players I have seen in my lifetime. I can't comment on the earlier players, that is why this is dividing a lot of people. We need to find a 170 year old that has seen all players play.

Best 5 for someone in their 40s would actually make sense to me, as someone in his 40s.

I dont remember much from the 70s. From the 80s onwards I remember Lethal, GAS, and Carey being incredible players. Well ahead of their contemporaries.

In the early days GAJ was competing with Judd, Cousins and Kerr at their peak, Goodes at his peak, and even Pav at his peak, in the middle years you had Buddy, Cox, Sandilands, and in the last couple of years it has been Fyfe at his peak as well as Swan, Mitchell, Kennedy (COLAs), Goldstein and Mumford.

I guess you can include Scarlett in there somewhere, given Cats fans reckon he is a sneaky chance at 10th best of all time...

He plays in a team game. His output will go only so far. Just like w Pavlich at Freo at times, Richo at Richmond, Flower at Melbourne, etc

Are you deliberately ignoring the fact that GCS was a team comprising all kids until recently and had one of the worst cultures seen in recent times, yet despite that, Ablett dragged them to be brink of finals in 2014 and to hugely unlikely wins in seasons before that?

You omit the key part of GCS time with and without Ablett, the 2nd half of the 2014 season.

I think Mumford at GWS has *far* more influence on their performance than GAJ does at GCS. Dangersloane said GCS wouldnt win games without GAJ - well they won 3 in 2015 without him. They won the game last year where he was injured (and in fact had 5 injuries meaning they not only had no bench they had an injured player on the ground).

The individual performances of GAJ bear no significant influence on whether his team won or lost. That to me says that he is far from a solo game winner. Unless its blind luck that every time GCS win when he has few possessions are when he was massively influential with few possessions, while the times they lost when he racked up 35+ possessions it was surely a case of GCS losing by 10 more goals had he been quiet that day...

Im sure someone with plenty of time on their hands can look at Fyfe or Pendlebury or Mitchell or Goldstein or Mumford or even Nic Nat and see whether their individual performances had any impact over whether their team won or lost.

Best 5 for someone in their 40s would actually make sense to me, as someone in his 40s.

I dont remember much from the 70s. From the 80s onwards I remember Lethal, GAS, and Carey being incredible players. Well ahead of their contemporaries.

In the early days GAJ was competing with Judd, Cousins and Kerr at their peak, Goodes at his peak, and even Pav at his peak, in the middle years you had Buddy, Cox, Sandilands, and in the last couple of years it has been Fyfe at his peak as well as Swan, Mitchell, Kennedy (COLAs), Goldstein and Mumford.

I guess you can include Scarlett in there somewhere, given Cats fans reckon he is a sneaky chance at 10th best of all time...
OK yeah GC are definitely the same side without Ablett. They wouldnt evne want him back, he makes no difference. DERP

Yet Ablett takes a dump on all of them, which is why your thoughts on him are so far wrong.

For post 2000, Judd, Cousins, Cox, Voss, Black, Buckley, Ablett, Hodge, Franklin, Goodes would surely be the frontrunners...bloody hell, that's 10 already and there would be plenty I'm missing.
Of course it be hard to name the 100 top but you wouldn't start with 110 players, you would realistically bring up 300+ names and work your way down.

He plays in a team game. His output will go only so far. Just like w Pavlich at Freo at times, Richo at Richmond, Flower at Melbourne, etc

Are you deliberately ignoring the fact that GCS was a team comprising all kids until recently and had one of the worst cultures seen in recent times, yet despite that, Ablett dragged them to be brink of finals in 2014 and to hugely unlikely wins in seasons before that?

You omit the key part of GCS time with and without Ablett, the 2nd half of the 2014 season.

Its like someone saying that Michael Jordan wasnt any good at basketball....

The individual performances of GAJ bear no significant influence on whether his team won or lost.

From a Geelong perspective, that statement is simply untrue.
He was often a significant reason for Geelong winning. He just happened to excel when we lost also, can't punish the bloke for being consistent.
At Gold Coast, G Ablett has a bigger influence on outcomes for his side than any player in the competition.

The issue also is that top 10 is arbitrarily a useless restriction considering the completely different eras and closeness in ability.

I mean, who exactly are the 100% absolute locks that cant be argued with? Leigh Matthews, Gablett snr and Plugger might be the only I can think of that no one is going to disagree with at all. Others might be "just as good" but will cop some debate.
Actually, you will get some argument even about Plugger. Best FF of all time is one of the most hotly debated of all positions - even the two from that era (Dunstall and Lockett) people find hard to split, then you factor in Coventry, Coleman, Hudson....

I'm not quite 40's but close and it would be (in no order):
Matthews (I didn't see him at his absolute peak)
Carey
Senior
Lockett
Williams (Dunstall maybe but for some reason I saw a lot more of Diesel than I did of Piggy)

And Carey the best of them all because of the effect on the team he played with.

Actually, you will get some argument even about Plugger. Best FF of all time is one of the most hotly debated of all positions - even the two from that era (Dunstall and Lockett) people find hard to split, then you factor in Coventry, Coleman, Hudson....

Do you have to have a full forward in the top 10 or could you select 5 full forwards all depends on your thoughts on the importance of the position ? So effectively then comparing Lockett, Dunstall,Coventry,Coleman,Hudson, with Williams, GAJ,Judd, Voss, Buckley,Ricciutto, Cousin, Carey, Matthews how can you compare such different playing styles then compare them to backman who are as boring as bat shit. You can only pick 10 but they could all be from one position!

Measure by consistent impact on games (which to an extent makes it pretty hard for defenders but meh)

I'm not quite 40's but close and it would be (in no order):
Matthews (I didn't see him at his absolute peak)
Carey
Senior
Lockett
Williams (Dunstall maybe but for some reason I saw a lot more of Diesel than I did of Piggy)

And Carey the best of them all because of the effect on the team he played with.

I would go with most of yours

1. Carey
2. Matthews
3. Garry Ablett
4. Lockett
5 GAJ

But then some older players that I have seen footage of and listened to people talk about' we had a player called Barrie Robran who was an absolute champion who was rated above Blight by any South Australian and Im sure the Western Australians have one particular footballer they feel the same about.

Doesnt leave too many spots left

I would go with most of yours

1. Carey
2. Matthews
3. Garry Ablett
4. Lockett
5 GAJ

But then some older players that I have seen footage of and listened to people talk about' we had a player called Barrie Robran who was an absolute champion who was rated above Blight by any South Australian and Im sure the Western Australians have one particular footballer they feel the same about.

Doesnt leave too many spots left

I left GAJ out because his career is still going, he would be close for me though. There would be lots that I never saw though, Stewart, Bunton, Coleman, Farmer and no doubt WAFL and SANFL players too. I think really one can only rate the players they saw play - unless its a Bradman situation but AFL does not have a Bradman.

1 from 5 vs 1 from 18.

And a lot of people see Lebron as better than Jordan. Jordan had an insanely good team and Lebron carries his.

In that case hawthorn carries sam Mitchell and he's actually crap.
Same with Hodge, Lewis, Roughead, Burgoyne.

If they didn't play for hawthorn they'd suck....

Or does that only work for non-hawks?

In that case hawthorn carries sam Mitchell and he's actually crap.
Same with Hodge, Lewis, Roughead, Burgoyne.

If they didn't play for hawthorn they'd suck....

Or does that only work for non-hawks?

Take a look around BF. Plenty dont rate any of our players.

Thing is though, our stars not only do well in regular games but stand up in grand finals.

Chapman was more important in GFs than Ablett. Bartel too.

GAJ doesnt win games.... BAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHHAHAH

I'm so glad you said that, its made my day.

Neither does Sam Mitchell or Luke Hodge then, sorry.

I think he is allowed that opinion. Not saying his opinion is right but in GCs early years Gaz was just looking to get more disposals, often causing the GC to move away from their structures and look for Gaz. Not saying it was his fault but it was evident they would look for Gaz at every opportunity and likewise, he wanted the ball as much as possible.

When Ablett got injured, they shared the ball around more and as a result they won games.

Not saying it was Ablett's fault but HairyO should be allowed to make that point; it is not as laughable as you think.

1 from 5 vs 1 from 18.

And a lot of people see Lebron as better than Jordan. Jordan had an insanely good team and Lebron carries his.

Mmmmm... Yup no worries :-/

Let's analyse this. Michael Jordan was drafted by Chicago in the 1984 draft at Pick #3, after the Bulls finished that season with a 27-55 record. He played the 1984-85 season with a weak roster and the Bulls improved to a 38-44 record and made playoffs. The following season he broke his foot and missed 64 games. Bulls fell back to a 30-52 record (their worst ever with Jordan on the roster).

Jordan then dominated and broke numerous individual records between 1986-1990 whilst a competitive team was being built around him. The team then improved over time and eventually made it to the Finals in 1991, 1992, and 1993... winning all three championships. He then retired and the Bulls fell away and didn't make Finals in either 1994 or 1995.

He came out of retirement towards the end of 1994-95 season, and had his first full season in 1995-96 with the Bulls recording a 72-10 season... only team in history to post more than 70 wins. They then proceeded to win the 1996, 1997, 1998 championships before Jordan retired again. After retirement the Bulls failed to win more than 17 games in the next three seasons.

The Wizards in 2000-01 recorded a 19-63 record. Jordan then came out of retirement again and in the 2001-02 and 2002-03 seasons with Jordan on one leg the Wizards recorded 37-45 records, and then when he retired they again fell away to a 25-57 record.

Every team that Jordan played in (weak roster or not) improved significantly. If he retired or was injured they regressed significantly... whilst it was similar with LeBron, it wasn't until he got some decent support that Caveliers made playoffs. It also wasn't until LeBron got to Miami with Wade and Bosh that he even won a championship.

But yeah, don't let facts get in the way of a good story mate :thumbsu:

Besides GAblett...