BACK:
Alex Witherden ~ Harris Andrews ~ Nick Robertson
HALF BACK: Sam Mayes ~ Daniel McStay ~ Luke Hodge
CENTRE: Hugh McCluggage ~ Dayne Beams ~ Daniel Rich
HALF FWD: Cameron Rayner ~ Eric Hipwood ~ Mitch Robinson
FWD: Lewis Taylor ~ Josh Walker ~ Charlie Cameron
1R: Stafan Martin ~ Jarryd Berry ~ Dayne Zorko

INT: Allen Christensen ~ Ryan Bastinac ~ Ryan Lester ~ Rhys Mathieson

Back line is starting to gain more experience and the nucleus (minus Hodge) has built some good cohesion together. Hopefully they can stay healthy and stick together because there is a balance there os talls, mediums, mediums that can pay smaller and distributors like Witherden and Mayes.

The midfield has a Tom Rockliff sized hole that needs filling. Long term I think Berry and Mathieson can become those contested specialists but in the short term a lot of the heavy work will fall on Beams, Zorko and the experience of Rich.

Rayner and Charlie Cameron both add some real x factor and game winning potential to the Lions team. Throwing Robinson back in after an injury interrupted season in 2017 is a big bonus, he gives 100% and won't shirk any responsibility, can kick a goal and also clamp down on a dangerous defender.

After a good couple of drafts I am enjoying the depth of the Lions list now as well. Keays is desperately unlucky to miss, Jacob Allison is a future player maybe outside mid or half back (post Hodge who will be good for his development, get some mongrel into him), Lyons is a goer from his pre draft footage and if his anything like his brother at the Suns will be handy, there'd be a lot of clubs wanting to have a Gardiner type of defender in there AFL side, however it is a bit of a make or break year for Liam Dawson maybe.

The 2017 draft was really good. Ballenden and Payne along with Keays, Allison, Hipwood and Andrews that I mentioned before are all local QLD boys through the Academy which is terrific. There is the making of a spine in future spine in Andrews ~ Payne ~ Hipwood ~ Ballenden.

Bailey with his explosive speed from the midfield could earn an early debut, Wooler is a realy go getter half forward, great size about him and works hard. Starcervich I had the opportunity to see a bit of in his draft year and was hoping for a slide so that West Coast would draft him. Another bull at a gate midfielder who you can use some time and development into him against senior bodies at NEAFL level.

You've had some doom and gloom times but there is a light there at the tunnel end especially if you keep this group of draftees from 2015 onwards together. Schache will be peeved his missing out on it.

Offering a bit of an outsiders perspective before JLT week 3

BACK:

Back line is starting to gain more experience and the nucleus (minus Hodge) has built some good cohesion together. Hopefully they can stay healthy and stick together because there is a balance there os talls, mediums, mediums that can pay smaller and distributors like Witherden and Mayes.

The midfield has a Tom Rockliff sized hole that needs filling. Long term I think Berry and Mathieson can become those contested specialists but in the short term a lot of the heavy work will fall on Beams, Zorko and the experience of Rich.

Rayner and Charlie Cameron both add some real x factor and game winning potential to the Lions team. Throwing Robinson back in after an injury interrupted season in 2017 is a big bonus, he gives 100% and won't shirk any responsibility, can kick a goal and also clamp down on a dangerous defender.

After a good couple of drafts I am enjoying the depth of the Lions list now as well. Keays is desperately unlucky to miss, Jacob Allison is a future player maybe outside mid or half back (post Hodge who will be good for his development, get some mongrel into him), Lyons is a goer from his pre draft footage and if his anything like his brother at the Suns will be handy, there'd be a lot of clubs wanting to have a Gardiner type of defender in there AFL side, however it is a bit of a make or break year for Liam Dawson maybe.

The 2017 draft was really good. Ballenden and Payne along with Keays, Allison, Hipwood and Andrews that I mentioned before are all local QLD boys through the Academy which is terrific. There is the making of a spine in future spine in Andrews ~ Payne ~ Hipwood ~ Ballenden.

Bailey with his explosive speed from the midfield could earn an early debut, Wooler is a realy go getter half forward, great size about him and works hard. Starcervich I had the opportunity to see a bit of in his draft year and was hoping for a slide so that West Coast would draft him. Another bull at a gate midfielder who you can use some time and development into him against senior bodies at NEAFL level.

You've had some doom and gloom times but there is a light there at the tunnel end especially if you keep this group of draftees from 2015 onwards together. Schache will be peeved his missing out on it.

Replace Lester with Cutler and you’ve nailed it.

BACK:

Really good. Pretty much spot on i reckon.

BACK:

Really good effort. I reckon Tom Bell will squeeze one of Bastinac or Matho out of the squad round one. Cutler is another that could find his way into the squad but I reckon Fagan will make him earn it.

Can't see Bell coming in. Disposal efficiency terrible and l doubt he will play that inside clearance player that we need, certainly didn't do that when he was at Carlton

Yet had the second most clearances in the JLT match along with a heap of contested possessions and a higher than team ave DE? They are certainly open to giving him a shot in the cuts and week one was a personal success in many ways for Tom. I know the club were impressed with his inside work. Next week will be the big test.

Big difference between the start of a pre-season comp and the official home and away games. I didn't see the game so l am kindov going off what he did last season. If he has improved A LOT then sweet. Next week will definitly be the test as you say with a full team out there as well as a full team for the opposite side as well

BACK:

Would like to see Payne and Gardiner stay in the team...2 goers. I think Bailey showed enough in the X and lyon n Cutler to a lesser extent also. So many failures last game deserve to be dropped to find form. Hope Neafl start practice matches soon. Rest Martin perhaps as it will be a long season for him n give the big O a run.

Didn't realize Dizzy was left out. You'd think Robertsons spot is open to one of Dizz and Allison pending form.

Yeah, really think Archie and/or Big O should play. Definite benefits in giving them the experience, l personally can see Oscar overtaking Archie in the future if he hasnt already

Agree....Lyon has footy know how...acknowledged within the heirarchy,and deserves a fair crack.Some are really beyond redemption and still being indulged.

I really think he can be that clearance player we need. He seemed to have good positioning against some of the swans mids on the weekend and won his fair share. Given time he could do it IMO.

I thought Bell was excellent in the first half with plenty of of presence in the clinches and at the centre square. Not so prominent in the second half but who was for us? The Swans cranked it up big time and to man, we looked under pressure, except maybe for Stef, who was excellent throughout

This "ball butcher" tag that's hung on Bell was not supported by his stats in that JLT effort against the Swans, as has already been mentioned by Nunez.

I'm not proclaiming him our saviour but neither am I willing to write him off as has seemingly become fashionable around here.

Keep an open mind peeps.

I thought Bell was excellent in the first half with plenty of of presence in the clinches and at the centre square. Not so prominent in the second half but who was for us? The Swans cranked it up big time and to man, we looked under pressure, except maybe for Stef, who was excellent throughout

This "ball butcher" tag that's hung on Bell was not supported by his stats in that JLT effort against the Swans, as has already been mentioned by Nunez.

I'm not proclaiming him our saviour but neither am I willing to write him off as has seemingly become fashionable around here.

Keep an open mind peeps.
Some of his handballs were unusually slick and his contested work was noticeably better against quality opposition too. Would be hard for the coaches to leave him out of the side in round one if he repeats that effort against the Suns imo.

Locks based on the pre season

B: Gardiner Andrews Hodge
HB: Rich McStay Witherden
C: McCluggage DBeams Lester
HF: Robinson Hipwood Taylor
FF: Christensen ????? ????
Ruck: Martin Zorko Bell
Bench: Berry

Likely - Mayes, Cameron, Robertson, Walker, Rayner

From today’s game I can’t see Allison, Keays or Payne playing round 1

Round 1 team-

B Gardiner Andrews Rich
HB Mayes McStay Hodge
C McCluggage Berry Taylor
HF Cameron Hipwood Rayner
F Christensen Walker Robinson
R Martin Beams Zorko
I Bell Witherden Lester Mathieson

I think Bell has worked his way in. Rayner did enough to earn a spot come Round 1. It came down to a choice between Mathieson and Robertson for that final spot on the bench. Not sure why Matho didn't play today, potentially an injury niggle? If he was left out it might be a sign that Robertson is closer to a game than he is and you'd probably swap those two around.

Robertson, Allison, Keays and Payne removed from the side today with Beams and Mathieson coming in.

Round 1 team-

B Gardiner Andrews Rich
HB Mayes McStay Hodge
C McCluggage Berry Taylor
HF Cameron Hipwood Rayner
F Christensen Walker Robinson
R Martin Beams Zorko
I Bell Witherden Lester Mathieson

I think Bell has worked his way in. Rayner did enough to earn a spot come Round 1. It came down to a choice between Mathieson and Robertson for that final spot on the bench. Not sure why Matho didn't play today, potentially an injury niggle? If he was left out it might be a sign that Robertson is closer to a game than he is and you'd probably swap those two around.

Robertson, Allison, Keays and Payne removed from the side today with Beams and Mathieson coming in.
I have to say I'm getting to the stage where I want to see more from Lester, but there isn't really anyone you have left out that I think really deserves to overtake him

I thought Lester was really good today.
I was underwhelmed to be honest, but perhaps I'm just starting to watch his play with less than positive intent! Ripper clubman but I just feel like we are getting to a point where he is in danger of being overtaken by younger players. Dearly love to be proven wrong though

If Richmond can win a flag with a dud like McIntosh playing a similar role then we can play good footy with Lester. But if he’s overtaken then we’ll be looking pretty good.

Yeah, I thought Lester was solid. The problem with him is the games where he is invisible (last week) but today wasn’t one of those days.

I suspect that if we’ve got a choice between a mature body and a youngster then, all things being equal, we’ll favour experience, at least to start the season.

I have to say I'm getting to the stage where I want to see more from Lester, but there isn't really anyone you have left out that I think really deserves to overtake him

Lester was pretty good today and coming off the back of a career best year, a year which saw him included in the leadership group. I think he's pretty safe at this stage.

22 touches, 10 contested, 5 clearances and he only spent 60% of the game on the ground. What more do you want him to do?
Yeah, I thought Lester was solid. The problem with him is the games where he is invisible (last week) but today wasn’t one of those days.

I suspect that if we’ve got a choice between a mature body and a youngster then, all things being equal, we’ll favour experience, at least to start the season.
Also plays a lot of different roles from week to week, so it can be hard to tell whether he's not playing well or is just doing a job.