Prediction Best 22 - 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Flandersss

Jake Niall should be embarrassed about that article.

He conflates salary cap spending with operating debt to manufacture a narrative of hypocrisy. i.e. St Kilda is betting the house on a premiership window to solve its debt issues. Glossing over the fact we just paid down $1.5m debt this year.

Every team has to pay within the same salary cap and nearly every team gets handouts from the AFL.

A poor attempt to shame us.
I wonder if these plp actually believe the ‘vibe’ they are pushing. Sure, the facts are there, it’s legit and all, but they know they are speaking to footy fans in general, not Saints fans. That’s why North and St Kilda, and to some extent the Bulldogs and Melbourne get pumped easily. The average peanut in AFL land assumes St Kilda is a ‘rabble’ - why not write for them - get the numbers up, get the metrics right, rather than attempt to be honest to St Kilda. But they know better.

Journalists are acutely aware that negative articles get 1000 times the traction of. puff piece. Write a dramatic headline about Collingwood and you'll crash the server.

Journalists obviously can't run constantly negative articles without looking like a parasite so the schedule them across all clubs on a cycle. They can stir up the fans once every few months and it slips through.

Guys like Purple and Volkano have just taken out the positive bits of the cycle and rebranded as the "say it how it is" pragmatist type.

I used to love doing them.

I think the last time I did one was 2014....

Delaney, Goddard, Longer, McCartin, White, Hickey...what a spine.
Thanks for the reminder bruz

Journalists are acutely aware that negative articles get 1000 times the traction of. puff piece. Write a dramatic headline about Collingwood and you'll crash the server.

Journalists obviously can't run constantly negative articles without looking like a parasite so the schedule them across all clubs on a cycle. They can stir up the fans once every few months and it slips through.

Guys like Purple and Volkano have just taken out the positive bits of the cycle and rebranded as the "say it how it is" pragmatist type.
Was gonna say, you rarely see Hawthorn getting pumped these days. I’m sure it’s more nuanced than just kicking the ‘little guys’ and the Hawks got grilled by the racist thing- so journos know about the value of ‘virtue posturing’ and flag waving. Guys like Purple are among the most posturing and they are hated for it. But somehow they are better paid for being egregious.

2 possible versions

Wilkie Howard Tauru
Sincs Hammer Carrol
Int: JSOS

Wilkie Hammer Stocker
Sincs JSOS Tauru
Int: Carrol

I think Hammer belongs and could work well with Howard as the stopper. He loved running through the middle 2025. Not sure what JSOSs best position in the back line is yet. Waiting for preseason games to get a better idea.

I used to love doing them.

I think the last time I did one was 2014....

Delaney, Goddard, Longer, McCartin, White, Hickey...what a spine.
Where is the throw up in your mouth emoji when you need it

2 possible versions

Wilkie Howard Tauru
Sincs Hammer Carrol
Int: JSOS

Wilkie Hammer Stocker
Sincs JSOS Tauru
Int: Carrol

I think Hammer belongs and could work well with Howard as the stopper. He loved running through the middle 2025. Not sure what JSOSs best position in the back line is yet. Waiting for preseason games to get a better idea.
Need to be conscious of balance and ball use coming out of defense

Which users would concern you the most .?
Hastie and Travaglia can't be trusted with ball in hand..i like Carroll as the Nas replacement, LOC as a lockdown defender.
I know they have admirers but i wouldn't have Dougal or Stocker as first choice defenders.
Dougal is a worry body on body & Stocker a bit slow in leg speed and decision making...handy back ups though!

Hastie and Travaglia can't be trusted with ball in hand..i like Carroll as the Nas replacement, LOC as a lockdown defender.
I know they have admirers but i wouldn't have Dougal or Stocker as first choice defenders.
Dougal is a worry body on body & Stocker a bit slow in leg speed and decision making...handy back ups though!
I think Stocker is in by default because with Webster gone there’s really no other experienced option. It’s really something we should’ve been prepared for.

If you're right its disappointing using a 10 pick on someone who can't be trusted with ball in hand

Would you lot be interested in a competition? Say, we all name our best 23 by Jan 31?
Each time one of your team ‘gets a guernsey’ in the firsts, during the home-and-away season, you get a point. Winner takes all!

Realistic

Stocker Wilkie Tauru
Sinclair Camaniti Windhager
Hill McRae Wilson
Owens Sharman Hall
Higgins Marshal Ryan
TDK Naz Flanders

Phillapou Garcia Howard Clark Box

Butler Trav Collard Henry Keeler Henry

Our small forward depth is very impressive

Injured
  • Silvagni
  • King
  • Wood

Genuine full forward: Max King
Lead up marking half forward: Cooper Sharman
Resting ruckman who can play forward and is a get out target: Rowan Marshall
Hybrid marking/ground level forward: Mitch Owens
Genuine goalkicking small forward: Jack Higgins
Pressure forward: Dan Butler
High half-forward: Max Hall

It is 30 years since I played footy but I reckon I would back myself today to be able to run the footy out of that forward line. You have 4 players there that no one would describe as pacey plus Higgins who just goes if he has a bit of a downslope and Butler who is 50/50 these days.

Desperately need one (or two) of Collard, Ryan, Henry to become "best 6".

I think we like Stockers hardness at the man. He makes the opposition nervous.
Agree on Dougal but Hammer still a little green down back. With Trav, it looks more like decision making to me so hopefully more experience sorts that out.

Its an interesting year because it feels like a changing of the guard with the experienced players just holding out the players who will be taking us forward in '27 and '28. Interesting to see how we prioritise winning games with ongoing development.

Yes it's a concern...not only me that's not quite sure about Tobie, a few of us that attend training every week aren't sure!

Bloody early to call it. He's got other skills that off-set his iffy kicking.

If 2025 Butler is 2026 Butler, 2027 Butler is playing back at Ballarat.

And IMO we need tall targets rather than small players who are good above their heads in 1 on 1s. Players who can take contested marks and break packs.
Geez you love this type of post , you did the same to me with your mate Byrnes ,

Not the only concern...time will tell
Yes his kicking is not AFL half back level, think he becomes a mid with see ball get ball attitude. Not that quick either. What are the other concerns? Value your opinion as a track watcher