Best 22 for 2006

okay, you have made your point about why you reckon he isn't a good CHF, why should he play at CHB?

Rivers is much better and only 1CM shorter. Miller is an average defender. He had one decent game vs Barry Hall but if Barry knew how to kick straight he would have kicked 3-5. Remember Pavlich rjnning rings around him earlier in the year? what about Hamill touching him up early on against the saints with him fumbling 24/7.

Well i personally struggle to find a place for Miller in the team and have no time for him as a player..but thats just my opinion. In the backline he is better than Nicholson and Carroll on the stronger types. He has only had 1 good game in the back line because Daniher has really only given him 1 opportunity.

incorrect. He played at CHB for the whole game vs Pavlich against the dockers and just couldn't keep up. badly beaten. Pav got 3 votes.

Beaten by Hamill early in the 2nd stkilda game. was moved forward because of that and kicked 2 goals.

was moved back to play on Bradshaw after he kicked goals on Nicholson.....geez that worked well.

He is a hard working CHF who will continue to get better, he needs a full year at CHF to really be able to stamp his authority more often.

Example of some of Miller's stats in 2005.
R2- 8 possessions
R3-11 possessions
R4- 10 possessions
R5-12 posessions
R6-10 possessions
R7-5 possessions
R10-10 possessions
R13- 13 possessions
R14- 8 possessions
R15- 2 possessions
R19-12 possessions
R20- 12 possessions
R21- 9 possessions
Week 1 finals- 13 possessions.

He was injured/reported in R8, R9, R16, R17, R22.

# Whilst stats don't tell everything, in this case it does. Miller does not get enough of the ball. Some people refer to miller as a future captain which is just ridiculous. He has shown nothing to date.

#. He played 17 games for the season and in 13 of those matches he averaged 9.6 possessions a game. Simply not good enough.

I'll give it a go:

Whelan Carroll Ferguson
Wheatley Rivers Brown
Green Johnstone Moloney
Pickett Miller Davey
Robbo Neitz Yze
White Bruce Mclean

int: Jamar, Mcdonald, Sylvia, Bell

emg: Bizzell, Read, C Johnson

The hardest thing was picking a FB.

A better stat for Miller would be the marks. He leads up the ground, takes a mark against a strong opponent which not many of our players can do, and handballs it off to TJ or green or moloney etc who are running past him.

B: Ferguson Carroll Whelan
HB: Brown Rivers Pickett
C: Johnno Moloney Bruce
HF: Yze Miller Green
F: Robbo Neitz Davey
R: White McLean Sylvia
Int: P.Johnson Bell McDonald Wheatley

Emergencies: Bate, C.Johnson, Jamar, Bizzell, Motlop, Read, Rigoni, Holland, Armstrong (maybe but who knows whats going on????), hopefully Nathan Jones, maybe B.Scott or Woey

vazie31 said:
Why would u leave Moloney out he came 4th in Melbourne b and f and is the toughest bloke in the side u r so dumb

your the dumb one, i clearly said that i accidently left him out cause the list is so good i forgot about him but i then went on to say put moloney in the team ahead of rigoni or bell, but start moloney on the ground seeing as he is such a good player, hence the 4th in the best and fairest.

sorry mate i didnt fuly understand your 2nd post it was hard to under stand but yes ur right i think he will win b and f sometime soon

oooze said:
Example of some of Miller's stats in 2005.
R2- 8 possessions
R3-11 possessions
R4- 10 possessions
R5-12 posessions
R6-10 possessions
R7-5 possessions
R10-10 possessions
R13- 13 possessions
R14- 8 possessions
R15- 2 possessions
R19-12 possessions
R20- 12 possessions
R21- 9 possessions
Week 1 finals- 13 possessions.

He was injured/reported in R8, R9, R16, R17, R22.

# Whilst stats don't tell everything, in this case it does. Miller does not get enough of the ball. Some people refer to miller as a future captain which is just ridiculous. He has shown nothing to date.

#. He played 17 games for the season and in 13 of those matches he averaged 9.6 possessions a game. Simply not good enough.

Sorry mate but I think the comments about Miller are stupid.

*Stats don't tell everything but in this case they do- You left out his better games (R1, R11,R12 and when we played the Saints the second time when he was moved forward).
*17 games- Not a full season. Give him a chance. He's playing in the hardest position on the ground and showed enough IMO this year to be given CHF next year at least.

I can understand he is frustrating, but he is still learning. You can't expect a 22 year old to be dominating. Some players do take longer than others to develop and Miller is a bit of a project. I thought although he was a bit patchy and didn't play every game in the second half of the year, there was some improvement. His kicking was better, he was playing near the goals as well as further up the ground and wasn't trying poor efforts at bumps.

Hopefully Byron can teach him a few things.

Im not saying that I expect Miller to dominate. You guys are by saying that he is future captain. He isnt in our top 18 players and is no-where near that level.

Agree to disagree.

He isnt in our top 18 players and is no-where near that level.

Are we talking in terms of talent, or in terms of importance to the team?

Because I tell you what, I'd take Miller over Yze anyday, although Yze has more football talent in his (non- prefered) right foot than Milsy has in his whole body.

Miller is an example of a football, who relies on hard work and aggression to cover for the skills they lack. Don't get me wrong, Milsy is talented and plays exactly the way Daniher wants him to. His role is very important to our structure, no matter how many goals he kicks. He is the only reason we can go through the middle, instead of ********ing around with the ball and going wide.

Miller is top 5 in terms of importance. He makes up for all his pussy team-mates and he allows us to play a winning style of footy.

oooze said:
Im not saying that I expect Miller to dominate. You guys are by saying that he is future captain. He isnt in our top 18 players and is no-where near that level.

Agree to disagree.
Dont understand people saying that either.

Moloney will be the next captain of the MFC.

Miller is our 2nd most important to White, that's how much i rate his value to the team.

who do you expect to play at CHF? you listed Brad Green. you say that Miler can't take a strong contested mark, Green can? against opponents 3 inches taller?

Bate, Dunn and Newton aint ready. Smith aint AFL standard. Holland is 2 slow and lacks skills.

Yze_Class said:
Dont understand people saying that either.

Moloney will be the next captain of the MFC.

No he won't be.

Oooze - Youy say you have no time for Miller, struggle to fit him into your best 22 blah blah blah. Then you go and place Daniel Ward on the bench. From that effort alone the rest of your posts should be dis-regarded.

But then you place Green at CHF. Now, when we struggled in 2003, what did we lack across half forward? That's right. A CHF. Miller plays a role, and he plays it well. We have one of the most potent forward lines in the comp regardless of Miller kicking goals, he is the link between half forward and helping get the ball inside our 50 for Neitz, Robbo, Flash etc. He's not supposed to kick goals. He's there to make sure we get the ball far enough forward for us to score, and he does it well.

He's worth more than Yze to the side as it is.

CowboyFromHell said:
No he won't be.

Oooze - Youy say you have no time for Miller, struggle to fit him into your best 22 blah blah blah. Then you go and place Daniel Ward on the bench. From that effort alone the rest of your posts should be dis-regarded.

But then you place Green at CHF. Now, when we struggled in 2003, what did we lack across half forward? That's right. A CHF. Miller plays a role, and he plays it well. We have one of the most potent forward lines in the comp regardless of Miller kicking goals, he is the link between half forward and helping get the ball inside our 50 for Neitz, Robbo, Flash etc. He's not supposed to kick goals. He's there to make sure we get the ball far enough forward for us to score, and he does it well.

He's worth more than Yze to the side as it is.

That is primarily the role of a forward I dont care what you say. Jono Brown, Riewoldt, Tredrea are the best CHF's in the comp and they regulalrly kick bags of goals. Miller hsould try and emulate their performances. You say that we need Miller to link up and that he is important to 'our' structure. Well how come we are the only side who has a CHF that can't kick a goal to save himself??? A goal-kicking CHF is more important than a link-up CHF.

Miller not in our best 18??????????????????????????????????????????? My brain hurts I don't understand how that conclusion could be reached by a Melbourne supporter.

Quite easily. Look at previous posts. In 80% of his games last season he averaged 9 touches! You cant have an effective game with 9 touches. Linking up or not linking up. Cant mark or kick...and regularly leads underneath the ball as he doesnt want to receive physical contact from behind. This gives him no chance to mark the ball. He also runs 100% at the ball on the lead and doesnt slow down making it hard. He needs to slow down 20% before jumping at the ball to mark it.

there is a lot thing called improvement which will come from him if he gets a full year at CHF and isn't used as a hole plugger down back, a role that he really isn't very good at anyway.

you cant compare miller to Brown, Riewoldt, or Tredrea. they have totally different roles to play for their team. brown is brisbanes number one target so he is going to keck plenty of goals. riewoldt is the number 2 target at st. kilda and tredrea is number 1 at port. miller is not a goal kicking target. he is a target at CHF that we use to enter the forward line. if you wanted to compare him to someone i think hamill would be better, he is used in the same kind of role. and miller is a fantastic target. he took 4th most marks for melbourne and anthough he may not grab every mark he always provides a contest. when miller is not in the team melbourne struggle to have a target across CHF and so our play is in-direct and we look second rate. when miller is in the team melbourne is more direct, use the centre of the ground better and are a more attacking team.

in my opinion miller is a gun and with another year or two's experience we will start to stamp his authority on the game and really show his importance to our great club. frosty is most certainly our best option for CHF.

oooze said:
FB: Whelan Ferguson Bizzell

HB: Wheatley Miller Rivers

C: Johnstone Moloney Sylvia

HF: Bruce Green Davey

FF: Yze Neitz Robertson

Foll: White, Mclean, J.McDonald

Int: Pickett, P.Johnson, Bell, Ward

Green = centre half forward. Now I have seen it all. No more needs to be said.

You do realise that not many players can kick goals from 80m out, right?

Miller doesn't kick many goals, because he leads long and is told to play outside the 50m arc. Do you remember that fantastic goal he kicked from the pocket?

When he plays close to goals, which is a very rare occourance, he kicks goals. He has no problem putting them through, but the 70-80m distance is a bit of a worry for him :rolleyes: .
If he was leading so far away from goal, while not under clear instructions from Daniher, you reckon he'd be dropped after two games, wouldn't you?

He plays a role, whether you agree with it or not. His role makes it very hard for him to kick goals, but that does mean he can't or won't kick them.

AllStar7 you've got it exactly right. Look, Miller leads up, takes a mark and dishes it off to a midfielder with a handball.
That's the way he plays and obviously the way Melbourne want him to play and I hope that is all that needs to be said.

Let me translate:

"provides a contest" = fumbles a mark with the slightest physical contest

"gives off the handball" = He looks for the handball first because he can't kick

I could provide the same contest as Miller does for christs sake. Ultimately the ball will finish on the ground anyway.

If it is Miller's role to do so then Daniher should be given the boot quickly. Who wants a forward that cant mark, or kick and refuses to be compared to the leagues best CHF's such as Riewoldt etc?..its simply an excuse by saying that he plays a different role.

Who is better Dale Morris or Ben Cousins???..they play different roles though...figure it out.

Miller is more beneficial to the team by taking out opponents behind play..football ability is zero.