Strategy Best 22 in 2023

B: Corr (195) McKay (201) Scott (186)
HB: Clark (186) Logue (194) McDonald (189)
C: Goater (190) LDU (189) Hill (182)
HF: Horne-Francis (186) Larkey (198) Thomas (189)
F: Curtis (185) Coleman-Jones (200) Zurhaar (189)

R: Goldstein (201) Simpkin (182) Cunnington (186)

I: Phillips (182) Powell (184) Stephenson (188) Taylor (187)

E: Ziebell Hall Anderson Walker Dawson Perez Pick 1

Assuming we get Clark, Logue, Tucker and Hill.

Assuming we delist Turner, Atu, J.Walker and Anderson.

B: Corr, McKay, McDonald
HB: Thomas, Logue, Clark
C: Goater, LDU, Hill
HF: JHF, Comben, Stephenson
F: Curtis, Larkey, Zurhaar
Foll: Goldy, Simpkin, Cunnington
Int: Phillips, Powell, Scott, CCJ
Sub: Taylor

Backline Depth:
Hall, Dawson, Young, Perez, Bonar, Bergman & Archer

Midfield Depth:
Tucker, Greenwood, Polec & C.Harvey

Forward Depth:
Ziebell, Ford, Mahony, Lazzaro & Spicer

Ruck Depth:
Xerri & Edwards

Best 22 and no Hill yet because there hasn't been that much smoke.

B: Corr McKay McDonald
HB: Clark Logue Tucker
C: Goater LDU Scott
HF: JHF Comben Zurhaar
F: CCJ Larkey Curtis
R: Goldstein Cunnington Simpkin
I: Thomas, Phillips, Powell, Taylor

E: Hall, Perez, Anderson, Young

I’ll have a crack

Corr. McKay. McDonald
Scott. Logue. Thomas.
JHF. LDU. Goater
Stevo. Comden. Zurharr
Curtis Larkey. Cadmen
Foll, Goldy, Jy Cunnington

int, Phillips, Ford, Powell, Taylor.

em, CCJ

i am not sure we get Clark and don’t want Hill.

we Have a lot of depth down back, but still need a forward line that works.

The injection of Clark & Logue into our back 6 is big
Releases Corr to play 3rd tall and rebound while also McDonald to be more aggressive rebounding or setting a higher zone with his intercept marking.

If we land Clarke, I would love to see him as the kick out specialist and distributor out of defence. His composure and foot skills will improve our ability to transition immensely.

McDonald - McKay - Corr

Clarke - Logue - Hall

Scott - Simpkin - Goater

Horne - Comben - Stephenson

Zurhaar - Larkey - Thomas

Goldstein - Cunnington - LDU

Phillips - Taylor - Powell - Tucker

Interesting that so many have Goater on the wing after playing just a single game. Obviously it was a cracking game

Almost no teams are mentioning Bergman, even in the emergencies. He was very good in the VFL straight out of the gate, and could have been in the AFL if he didn't get injured almost straight away (robbing us from the opportunity to find out).

Interesting that so many have Goater on the wing after playing just a single game. Obviously it was a cracking game

Almost no teams are mentioning Bergman, even in the emergencies. He was very good in the VFL straight out of the gate, and could have been in the AFL if he didn't get injured almost straight away (robbing us from the opportunity to find out).
Just have a gut feeling that Clarkson, if he remains coach, will love Bergman. Could be his Grant Birchall. Weapon of a kick and reportedly understand structures very well. I’d want him to get some good VFL footy in first though just coming off a shoulder reco he’d need some extra confidence in his body.

Hadn't thought of that comparison, seems like a good one.

I remember the commentary on how quickly he picked up AFL structures and it suggests that he might have quite a high footy IQ.

For mine when you look at the best 22 it still looks as good as it has ever looked in the last 20 years from a talent perspective

Logue coming in completes the defence

If we can get Hunter Clark and a decent young port player we just need to fill the CHF hole which can be done via Cadman pick 1

Logue coming in completes the defence

This is complete nonsense, we have McKay and Logue who we can trust.

We are yet to produce a single small or medium defender of any note and as such to complete the defence we need to find three hard, fast, skilful, psychotic and competitive defenders.

Assuming Goater is a wing, Clark on the other wing if we get him.

Then I reckon it will be set by 2024.
B: Logue - McKay - McDonalds
HB: Reid - Curtain - Cowan

B Shitmen McKay McDonald
HB Tucker Logue Corr
C Polec LDU Shitmen
HF Curtis Shitmen Zurhaar
F Shitmen Larkey Shitmen
R Goldy, Simpkin, Cunners
I Thomas, Scott, Shitmen, Shitmen

Then we hope that; Goater, Archer, Phillips, Comben, CCJ, Xerri, Perez, Stevo, Powell and Ford put their hands up to own a spot. They all won't of course for a variety of reasons.

There does seem to be more Shitmen bros than Danihers.

oh well

B: Corr Mckay Perez
HB: McDonald Logue Sleevo
C: Hill LDU Powell
HF: Thomas Comben Taylor
F: Curtis Larkey Zurhaar
R: CCJ Jy JHF
I: Sheezel/Tsatas Phillips Cunners Goldy/Xerri

Emg: Tucker, Ford, Bonar, Dawson, Hall, Greenwood, Cooper Harvey, Scott, Ziebell, Archer, young
Tucker to replace hill since we no longer look like getting him

ideally we replace JHF spot with Hunter Clark

Going to be interesting round 1 selection if we go in with minimal injuries

Add Logue and Tucker. Assume Pick 2 and Pick 3 will be pushing hard.

Will Philips and TT you would think, with good pre-seasons would be in. Cunnington a lock. A few "regulars" from this year will be playing VFL

BScott, BaileyCorr, AidanLogue, Griffen
HBMcDonald, LukeMcKay, BenHall, Aaron
CTaylor, CurtisDavies-Uniacke, LukeTucker, Darcy
HFThomas, TarrynComben, CharliePick 2
FZurhaar, CameronLarkey, NickCurtis, Paul
RucGoldstein, ToddCunnington, BenSimpkin, Jy
INTColeman-Jones, CallumPowell, TomPhillips, Will
Stephenson, JaidynYoung, LachieArcher, Jackson
Pick 3Zeibell, Jack

Probably only CHF the hard one to fill

B: Corr McKay Perez
C: Tucker LDU Powell
R: CCJ Jy Phillips
I: Sheezel Tsatas/Wardlaw Cunners Goldy/Xerri
Sub: Bonar

Emg: Ford, Dawson, Hall, Greenwood, Cooper Harvey, Scott, Ziebell, Archer, young
Scott in obviously, Goat in the mix too, but otherwise not bad mate.

B: Corr McKay Perez
C: Tucker LDU Powell
R: CCJ Jy Phillips
I: Sheezel Tsatas/Wardlaw Cunners Goldy/Xerri
Sub: Bonar

Emg: Ford, Dawson, Hall, Greenwood, Cooper Harvey, Scott, Ziebell, Archer, young
You don’t rate Goater? I’d have him in before McDonald.