HB Johno Luke Duff
C Hill Mundy Mzungu
HF Suban Pav Walters
F Mayne Clarke Ballantyne
R Sandi Fyfe Barlow
IC Sutcliffe Mora De Boer
Sub Neale
Emerg Griffin Silvagni Sylvia

Very controversial but Crowley out for me.
I'm not really a fan of the hard tag and honestly think we will somehow have to become more attacking if we're going to win the GF.
I think that midfield could beat any in the league with an amazing mix of size, skill and explosive pace.
If we needed a run with go with Gu or Deboer

Luckily for you guys I don't run the show!!! :D

If Fremantle were to do this they'd want to experiment with that move soon.

Best 22 is an outdated concept. To make a firm decision on who will play, firstly you need to know who the opposition is and what the weather is going to be like.
Say it's like last year - flukey, unpredictable breezes that disrupt goal-kicking and long passes alike.

Whose spots are then in jeopardy?

B Spurr Dawson Ibbo
HB Johno Luke Duff
C Hill Mundy Mzungu
HF Suban Pav Walters
F Mayne Clarke Ballantyne
R Sandi Fyfe Barlow
IC Sutcliffe Mora De Boer
Sub Neale
Emerg Griffin Silvagni Sylvia

Very controversial but Crowley out for me.
I'm not really a fan of the hard tag and honestly think we will somehow have to become more attacking if we're going to win the GF.
I think that midfield could beat any in the league with an amazing mix of size, skill and explosive pace.
If we needed a run with go with Gu or Deboer

Luckily for you guys I don't run the show!!! :D
like the creative thinking here

I hope we experiment with Jonathan Griffey in ape ness role for a couple of games. He could be a real bonus come finals time

I'm really interested to see where MDB ends up after this season. Apparently him and Kirky get along extremely well and thoughts were that he was getting groomed to take the tagging mantle from Crowls. The def forward role has a few contenders and not all will fit

I'm thinking Deboer will come in and replace Sylvia. I just think he works harder and is better at locking the ball inside our 50 meter arc. He usually seems to chime in with a goal or two as well. Sylvia has been ok but if he wants to cement his spot now is the time. He needs to put in a really solid performance.

Yep ,this is spot on

B: Spurr Dawson Sutty

HB: Johno Macca Duffield

C: Hill Mundy D. Pearce

HF: Mayne Clarke Fyfe

F: Walters Pav Ballantyne

R: Sandi Barlow Crowley

IC: Suban Mzungu Neale
Sub: Mora (For finals I would purposely leave him as sub because the rev up the supporters and team get when he joins the game, would be a great lifter if we needed it in the 3 qtr)

Emerg: To be chosen from the rest
Silvagni - Will only come in if we loose Macca, Johnson or Dawson.
De Boer - Doubtful will make the squad from here, could be the sub if a midfielder goes down or Mayne.
Ibbo - Will come in if we lose any of our other defenders or Mzungu
Sylvia - While I'm one of his backers at the moment he's really going to have lift his game to another level because Walters is a proven finals player.
Clancee - Dropped off the pace, can't see how he breaks into the current team.
Apeness - Cannot see us using Apeness during any tough game. Great that he got some experience in his first year though.

The real question isn't Best 22, but which team can defeat Sydney, Hawthorn, there are only three
teams capable of winning the GF.
Our greatest strength is the depth of our list, and with Mayne capable of playing down back, and
with Walters return, we are the wildcard in the pack.

ok, this is mine. Think Ross always plays 1 extra man back so will take that into consideration.

Spurr Dawson Duffield
Ibbo Johhno McPharlin Sutcliffe
Hill Crowley Neale
Mayne Walters
Clarke Pav Ballantine

Ruck Sandi Mundy Fife
Int Suban Barlow Myzungu
Sub: Mora.

Controversial: No D Pearce - am thinking this 22 is for a grand final and in a regular match Danyle would be in every week. He does a lot of great things but I reckon he miskicks/fumbles a little too much when the pressure is really on (Grand Final)

I think that is a furphy. If you look at how the team lines up before a bounce there is rarely a man loose in defence. We often have one defender who has let his man run further up the ground which creates a loose man. But, he is still one of our 6 backmen, and he still has a man to match up on, he's just giving his opponent a long leash.

On our offensive side, we often have our 6th forward often starting on the wing. Which creates the exact same situation for our opposition's defence. They either choose to match up closely on our 6th forward, or have their own loose man.

Now, you could of course argue that the bloke I'm referring to as our "6th forward" is in fact our "7th defender". But, I reckon if you watch the team before the bounce at the start of any quarter, there will be 6 blokes walking into the forward line and one of them will move up to the wing before the bounce. And it's usually someone like Nic Suban, whose job is effectively te be a goal-kicking mid.

In short, I reckon you should move Sutcliffe to the wing in your 22 and have him next to Neale.

I think that is a furphy. If you look at how the team lines up before a bounce there is rarely a man loose in defence. We often have one defender who has let his man run further up the ground which creates a loose man. But, he is still one of our 6 backmen, and he still has a man to match up on, he's just giving his opponent a long leash.

On our offensive side, we often have our 6th forward often starting on the wing. Which creates the exact same situation for our opposition's defence. They either choose to match up closely on our 6th forward, or have their own loose man.

Now, you could of course argue that the bloke I'm referring to as our "6th forward" is in fact our "7th defender". But, I reckon if you watch the team before the bounce at the start of any quarter, there will be 6 blokes walking into the forward line and one of them will move up to the wing before the bounce. And it's usually someone like Nic Suban, whose job is effectively te be a goal-kicking mid.

In short, I reckon you should move Sutcliffe to the wing in your 22 and have him next to Neale.

Spot on. When people complain about our scrappy style of play it's because we have extra numbers in the midfield and around the ball not an extra man down back. Teams that play a loose man back are often paradoxically quite open and rely on intercept marking, fast rebound run and carry from defensive 50.

B: Spurr Dawson Sutty

HB: Johno Macca Duffield

C: Hill Mundy D. Pearce

HF: Mayne Clarke Fyfe

F: Walters Pav Ballantyne

R: Sandi Barlow Crowley

IC: Suban Mzungu Neale
Sub: Mora (For finals I would purposely leave him as sub because the rev up the supporters and team get when he joins the game, would be a great lifter if we needed it in the 3 qtr)

Emerg: To be chosen from the rest
Silvagni - Will only come in if we loose Macca, Johnson or Dawson.
De Boer - Doubtful will make the squad from here, could be the sub if a midfielder goes down or Mayne.
Ibbo - Will come in if we lose any of our other defenders or Mzungu
Sylvia - While I'm one of his backers at the moment he's really going to have lift his game to another level because Walters is a proven finals player.
Clancee - Dropped off the pace, can't see how he breaks into the current team.
Apeness - Cannot see us using Apeness during any tough game. Great that he got some experience in his first year though.

Great team, I wouldn't forget Griffin as an emergency either. Can't see him dislodging Sandilands and Clarke as first choice but he's building nicely in the wafl and could yet have a part to play.

I think Apeness has shown some real class so far, and is going to be a great long term prospect, but I can't see him playing in the finals if the team's healthy. With Ballas & Walters back in the side we may not need the extra up forward. And even if he does smash the rest of the season he's too young and inexperienced to guarantee he's going to stay consistent.

Very very hard task.....

I remember us being sad trying to find enough quality to fill a best 22, now I think it's even more upsetting finding today's best 22, as I feel really bad for leaving some players out.

Spine should pretty much be a lock, barring injury.
Dawson
McPh
Mundy
Pav
Clarke

Tagger/s
Crowley
Muz

Inside mid/s
Fyfe
Barlow

Outside mids
Hill
DPearce

Fp's/ hff's
Ballaz
Mayne
Walters
......??.....

Bp's/hbf's
Spurr
Johno
Duff
.....??.....

Ruck
Sandi

Leaves 4 spots up for grabs, made up of mids/flank rotations
Neale
Sutty
Ibbo
Suban

Unknown
Mora - could be anything!! Would more that likely take the spot of one of the flankers

Many posters mention Sylvia for big game experience, but how many big games/ finals has he played?? He really needs to pull his finger out.
Clancee and DeBoer are a bit unlucky, but in team in form and injury does that to selection.

Sub? Take your pick. It depends who we are playing. I think looking at who the potential "sub out" is as important as the " sub in".

Bolded is something of an exaggeration, but he kicks the odd goal... and usually sets more of them up than he does kick them. So I get your point.

This season (the only one that they have played in the same structures) de Boer has kicked 3 from 9 games and Sylvia 1 from 5. Sylvia's history at the Demons is irrelevant. The only stats this season that Sylvia leads in are: Behinds (de Boer hasn't kciked one), clangers (2.4/game to 1.9) and frees against (2/game to 0.8).

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d1=3200&tid2=9&pid2=1383&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

I can manipulate stats too!