best 5 for pies today

I believe Bradley was number 7 while Bolton was definitly top 5, maybe number 3. If you ask any Essendon supporter in the whole world, unless they are related to Bradley or Bolton, they will agree they are hopeless, no one called them guns.

And yeah I remember SOS in the 93 GF. From the replay I saw at the ground, it looked like Fletcher touched it. Unless there is another angle on it to prove me wrong, I will stick by my original call: Touched.

Bryan deserved the free before Rocca. He was more infringed upon than Rocca. Either way it would have been a goal, but I would have prefered Bryan to have kicked it.

And BTW, what was everyones beef with Bolton's goal? I know he was paid a mark when it was questionable, but the free kick was there anyway! I mean, either way it is his ball. And it was a blatant free too, not some line ball call.

u have beefs with calls like the rocca touched point, when a bloke 5m from the position didn't see or hear any touch on the footy........reckon he would have a fair idea

u have a beef with rocca getting a free when he was being sheparded out of the contest, what was mal doing?? it is the most obvious sheparding thing i have seen

the beef with bolton is that the umpire paid him the mark and he didn't mark the ball

hilarious that dons supporters like urself are whinging about the umpires, we absolutely smahsed u blokes and if we could kick straight would have won by 10+ goals, u were dominated and are blaming the umpires! take a look at some of ur players mate, apart from the easy scapegoats in bolton and bradley

lucas was thrashed by harry o'brien
lloyd didn't look like winning a contest against clement
dyson is a squib
michael doesn't look like he wants to play anymore
watson cant kick a footy and is on an AFL list
laycock is worse than G.Richards
Lovett is ordinary
MJ is slow and doesn't offer anything
what is slattery doing, not improving thats for sure
heff and pev, both meh players
johns doesn't fit in when lloyd and lucas are playing

the dons were exposed big time

Travis was great today

He took 13 marks, presented all day

Yeah he needs to work on his kicking, but he played the perfect CHF game today, will be our CHF for the next decade

He gets the ball well and actually has a good grasp of where to lead and when to lead there, but getting the pill is only half the game. It's the other half that's the problem for Trav. Overall, yeah, he played well, but till he can use the ball better he ain't gonna be playing anything resembling the 'perfect CHF game'.

And that's not bagging the young bloke: it's just the truth.

He gets the ball well and actually has a good grasp of where to lead and when to lead there, but getting the pill is only half the game. It's the other half that's the problem for Trav. Overall, yeah, he played well, but till he can use the ball better he ain't gonna be playing anything resembling the 'perfect CHF game'.

And that's not bagging the young bloke: it's just the truth.

yeah prob was a tad excited:thumbsu:

if trav can be a target and grab 13 marks a game we are going to do pretty well

if he can finish off his kicking he will be a star

peanut, Essendon got a great run with the umps.

How bout Matthew 'i have more in common with Greg Loganis than just my diving skills' Llyod.

Kepler Bradley is and always will be a hack!
Well obviously you missed my point, thats what I am trying to say!:rolleyes:

u have beefs with calls like the rocca touched point, when a bloke 5m from the position didn't see or hear any touch on the footy........reckon he would have a fair idea

u have a beef with rocca getting a free when he was being sheparded out of the contest, what was mal doing?? it is the most obvious sheparding thing i have seen

the beef with bolton is that the umpire paid him the mark and he didn't mark the ball

hilarious that dons supporters like urself are whinging about the umpires, we absolutely smahsed u blokes and if we could kick straight would have won by 10+ goals, u were dominated and are blaming the umpires! take a look at some of ur players mate, apart from the easy scapegoats in bolton and bradley

lucas was thrashed by harry o'brien
lloyd didn't look like winning a contest against clement
dyson is a squib
michael doesn't look like he wants to play anymore
watson cant kick a footy and is on an AFL list
laycock is worse than G.Richards
Lovett is ordinary
MJ is slow and doesn't offer anything
what is slattery doing, not improving thats for sure
heff and pev, both meh players
johns doesn't fit in when lloyd and lucas are playing

the dons were exposed big time
I agree with most of that apart from the Heff and Pev call. Pev killed Thomas when he was moved to him. Heff is our most composed midfielder and a fair tagger too.

Mate, you should have destroyed us, i know that. Fact is , you didnt. I don't blame the umpires for losing, I just think there were some ordinary calls in the game, for both teams. I reckon Harry O'Brien man-handled Lucas in alot of contests and that wasnt picked up.

And like I said, I reckon a free should have been paid, but I thought it should have been paid to Bryan, not Rocca. Irrelevant as Bryan would have kicked it too.

Collingwood deserved the win. Full credit to them. But some of the umpiring was poor. And Bradley and Bolton didnt cost us the game, they just went a fair way to helping you guys. If they played cricket, there would be a match fixing enquiry going on as we blog ;)

Dale gets in there for his running-baulking attempt at goal. Even pies supporters were smiling after he got tackleD! Loved it.
Mate, you have no idea how rapped I was when that happened. For some reason, Thomas just comes off as cocky. When he was tackled he was put right back in his place.

Translation. He plays for Collingwood, does flashy things, and I don't like his haircut.

That's not completely true. Ben Johnson does flashy things and I like him. His haircut (or lack thereof) is awful though :p

very wrong in your cloke call

Sorry mate but I was just giving my opinion, from my perspective, and that can't be wrong. He got a lot of the ball, was accountable and made some very strong tackles... but just made too many stuff ups for my liking. Fumbled a lot of the ball, dropped marks, bad decision making and very poor kicking which resulted in a few too many turn overs. Second half was great though like I said... I hope he can become more consistant.

I reckon Cloke was painfully good in the Anzac clash. He played really well and then just stuffed up again and again, undoing his good work. But he did get the ball a lot and a number of our forward thrusts went through him. I think that this game could be the start of him growing into the position as even though he stuffed up he still worked hard and was a significant contributor. I think had he converter two of his failed attempts at goal we would be saying he had a good game with a few saying he had a great game. It definitely looks like something he needs to work on, but he wasn't alone there as Rocca was just as cross-eyed.

I agree with the Dons fan that we should have won by more, but our goal kicking was horrid. Oh well we won and like all fans, we'll take a win whether its easy or scrappy. I wouldn't say Pev killed him, but Thomas didn't have the impact that I thought he would have so Pev did alright at worst. Who knows maybe he was carrying a bit of an injury from last week. I thought he gave a good account of himself at least.

Pendelbury was solid again. Another impressive performance. Very happy with the way he is progressing. And its great to Rhyce Shaw playing with confidence, attacking and using the ball well.

Cloke's game was reminiscent of the game he played against Hawthorn last year, except in that game he kicked reasonably well. At least he provided a target, he'll get better.

My top five Pies for the game:
1. H. Shaw
2. S. Burns
3. H. O'Brien
4. T. Lockyer
5. R. Shaw

Apologies to Cloke, who got plenty of it but didn't execute, and Didak, who executed brilliantly but didn't get enough of it (for votes that is, great first game back though and rapt that he's healthy).

Kinda like how davey got nailed by cox on the wing? I guess the argument is: its good to see the youngsters taking them on, providing excitement and creating play. Lay of daisy you muppet.

best 5 for pies today