mud n blood

Oct 18, 2000
"When a naked man is chas
Brisbane Lions
Lions & Coorparoo Roos
I thought this might appeal more to the "older" generation on here, as the youngies can't appreciate what those days were like.

So, what is the best you've seen at the footy or the cricket ????

I remember in 1981 (yes - I know!) I went to a one-dayer (Oz v Paki's) at the Gabba with some mates of Dad's, and one of them hung a banner over the fence near where the social club is now that read "ME AND DAD GET A KICK OUT OF LILLEE" ..... in honour of Lillee kicking Miandad in the test earlier that season. What a classic!

Its not a banner, and its the cricket as well (I know this is the footy forum) but I happened to be on the gabba hill the day the vet students released the pig with "Hemmings" on one side and "Botham" (I think) on the other .... what a laugh .... smuggled it in in the bottom of a huge esky!

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

I think it is the Blues Round 1 2002 banner which reads something like:

"Back to back Blue in 2002.
Welcome home premiers"

Oh sorry, I swore never to reveal my gift of ESP to anyone.
wink.gif

------------------
mens sana in corpore sano - a sound mind in a sound body

ODN?!?!?
ODN?!?!
Wake up...
Wake up...

WAKE UP?!?!

You must have fallen asleep
biggrin.gif

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

North had this banner Rd 22 1990

Colling would if Colling could
But Colling cant cos Colling wobbles.

Richmond banner for qualifying final vs North in 1995. The banner was in two parts. The front banner slipped off (everyone in the crowd started to worry and gasp for the RFC cheer squad), but when it fell down, it revealed just two words, "We're Back".

Also from Richmond, another banner that read "Men In Yellow And Black. Ridding the G of the Scum of the Universe".

Carlton in the '96 Night Grand Final vs Geelong, "1995 by Day, 1996 by Night".

Credit to the Melbourne cheer squad for banners in 2000 that wished Anthony Stevens well after his accident, and in the return game, another banner this time paying tribute to the late Ron Casey. It's still remembered and appreciated by North fans.

Still loved the "Bombres" banner by the Essendon cheersquad, and the Pies cheersquads "Colingwood" banner.Not clever, but a good laugh anyway
wink.gif

Don't see many of ours. Not shown on TV, and face the other way at Subi. All I see is "The Novotel WCE Cheersquad" or something similar...
frown.gif
Not particularly inspiring.

Shinboners,

I remember that final in 95 as well, and Richmond banner was simply sensational that night. All cheer squads do a great job coming up with slogans each week, and it is one aspect of the game I look forward to each week.

I used to love those old banners that used to hang on the fence back in the days before they polluted the fences of League footy grounds with corporate advertising.

The best one of them all used to stretch about half-way around the ground, and it said:

THE GREAT HIGH-FLYING MAGPIES, THE MIGHTIEST CLUB OF THEM ALL, COLLINGWOOD, OUR TEAM OF BLACK AND WHITE CHAMPIONS

------------------
**floreat pica**

Eagle_Fan - It's an unfortunate situation with the Eagles running out onto the ground from their main training club rooms, but the run out on the General Public side so the paying members dont get to see them run out and see their banner. It would be nice if they maybe changed sides just once a season.

ok I made a banner with some friends this year, took it to 2 matches and lost them both, so I guess we've learnt our lesson!!!!

Anyways the banner said:

C'mon Doggies
Grant Our Wish
Millenium Cup
On a Dish...

Well, some say that the Millenium isn't till next year, so I guess we'll just have to wait and see what happens....

though, not footy related, but i remember my cousin telling me about one that was hurled about during that Team USA basketball match against Australia in pre-olympic warm ups in melbourne...

it was something like this...:

NBA CHAMPIONSHIP RINGS
Dream Team = 0
Australia = 4

heheheh.. thought that was funny.. as, team usa had no championship ring winners.. and aust had 4.. (longley=3, Gaze=1).. hehe...

I remember yers ago a cricket banner, just after Richard Hadlee had asked "You have to wonder about the education of Australians" [regarding the "Hadlee's a w***er" chant]

The banner read..

Mista Haddley, Wot's rong wif our edication?
[or something really similar]

Dan24, I hadn't heard of that one, wish I had! What a beauty.

I presume no-one had yet mentioned the 'seduced by north etc etc' banner at Victoria Park. I was very proud to be there that day, to see the Pies fans give it such a rousing round of applause.

It looks like multiculturalism has done nothing to raise the consciousness of the Australian cricket fan. Or maybe it's just the complete idiocy of the very concept of one-day cricket, and the 3-minute attention span that it has nurtured, that enables xenophobic racist morons like JubJub to find that tram driver remark funny.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Best banner you've seen ....