Best club nicknames (eg Bombers, Tigers, Demons etc, etc)

Dan26

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
Which team has the best nickname?

I suppose we are looking for a name, which is both appropriate, and marketable, which appeals to everyone.

Worst would have to be the Swans, and Blues.

The "Swans", isn't exactly a marketers delight. it certainly doesn't inspire fear. Appropriate for South Melbourne, maybe (Lakeside Oval), but it is a horrible nickname now.

The "Blues" is pretty boring. If you were a 10 year od kid, and you had the choice between barracking for a team called the "Tigers", or "Bombers", or a team called the "Blues", what would you choose ?

Obviously you would choose "Tigers" or "Bombers'. They sound cooler to a youngster.

Perhaps this explains, why Carlton, despite being the most successful club, still have less support than Essendon, Collingwood, and perhaps Richmond.

I love my team's nickname. The "Bombers" is unique. I can't think of a sporting team anywhere in the world that uses such a name. It's very marketable. Used sine World war 2, due to the close proximity to Essendon airport.

The "Kangaroos", despite being used by many other teams, is very marketable. Uniquely Australian, the "Roos" are fortunate to have such a nickname, whilst they are pushing the club all over Australia.

I mean, think about it. They are playing games in Sydney, and Canberra. They are being known as "Australias" team. How appropriate then to have Australias most famous animal as their mascot.

In fact, their nickname is so good, they have decided to use it to identify their club. No North Melbourne anymore. Just the "Kangaroos".

"Power" is a good name. Marketable. Good to chant. "Dockers" is appropriate, and unique. They didn't just copy an American nickname. Not as marketable as Power", but an undervalued name nevertheless.

Thoughts ?

Dan24

You have fallen for that old chestnut in thinking the Swans got their nickname from the graceful waterbirds that ply Albert Park Lake.

Not so !

South Melbourne were polularly known as the Bloodstained Angels or just the Bloods for short untill the 1930's when South went out and bought a whole lot of Western Australian star players that formed the core of our really great squad of the 1930's.

Our club was so chock-full of Western Australian talent that one Melbourne journalist suggested we be renamed the Swans.

and the nickname has stuck ever since.

But you are right though mate - The 'Swans' is certainly ummmmm challenging from a marketing point of view.

Just one point Dan

The Kangaroos are not 'Australias' team. The Bombers or Swans would be the closest to that.

Now as the Kangaroos play home games in sydney they have a trade-off for less games in Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane. It would be fairer to call them Sydney's team.

With Hawthorn playing 6,6,5 games interstate and appearances in Hobart, London, Aukland the Hawks are doing much more in that front. And together with Bombers have a big following in Perth.

Nicknames ? I'm not sure how the "Hawks" rates in marketability but the Hawks Nickname, The Hawthorn name and the Brown and Gold colours are very Homogenous, and I think the colours reflect the suburb of Hawthorn and surrounds, with the heritage colours.

Port's nickname "Power" would have to be the worst in history!!! Have you seen their Mascot, Thunda Power? Come on.... It is such a nebulous thing. They should have called themselves the Pirates. They could have had a great mascot, their marketing ideas would be huge, and kids could be proud to dress up as pirates, how can you dress up as a power?

"The Blues" is the same as above.

Bombers are ok (and I like their song). Tigers good. Hawkes good, but their colours are revolting. Brown and gold is not a good look.

The Crows to me have the best colours. When they played in each of the grand finals the ground looked fantastic with all the different colours. When Carlton and Nth Melbourne played it was BORING.

Just a point on club colours.

The dockers and Eagles current jerseys are the worst by far. Adelaide away is shocking and , Is it just me but don't the crows (traditional strip) from the back look like they've got carlton shirt and shorts with Red underpants and Yellow vest hanging out?

As for the Brown and Gold they are currently in favour with markrters for publications, Web and TV graphics so lay off. At least the colours are unique.

I like the nickname "The Blues". It sounds Australian & traditional to Aussie Rules. I think Carlton has the best jumper too.

The Swans is a bit of a worry & their strip is a bit weak as well, but someone has to wear white. Not every team can be in black or navy. I mean its hard enough to tell 1 side from another as it is. If I was them though I would go back to Bloodstained angles/bloods. It is unusual & strong.

I like the bit about the crows looking like their singlets/jocks are hanging out. I think we look like lollypops but I still love the jumper. Hate the away 1 though.

Ports jumpers just look daggy & whoever designed the new West Coast strip has dropped too much acid. Whats with the orange?

The rest are ok.

The last couple of WCE Home Games I have seen on Tv show the Weagles in their vaguely Fitzroy-looking 'away' jumper.

Whats the deal here WCE fans ? - Has the new 'home' jumper been dropped alltogether ? Its a real pity because that one with the Yellow and white broad vertical stripes was actaully the nicest, most tasteful strip the Weagles have ever turned out in.

The problem with the eagles new strips is that they are more like other teams than the old ones were. The blue and Gold one has a problem with other teams in that if they run one way they look like carlton and like hawthorn running the other way. I noticed they switched to 'fitzroy' to play the blue but it was totally confusing when Hawthorn played. The also switched the 'away' strip to home to aviod a clash with Melbourne

The saints in obviously the most ill-conceived name going around and lacks the most imagination. Especially as StKilda is known as the red-light district of Melbourne, there's no saints down there!!!

The Swans don't exactly exude fear as do the Demons, Lions, Tigers and Bombers.

Neither do the 'Pussy' cats, it comes across as a bit soft. However, at least Geelong's nickname has a bit of history to it. Similar to the Bloods, Red Legs and the Mustard Pots (remember that Hawks!!!)

The Geelong story is they used to be known as the Pivitonians, yes thats right..... Geelong being the Pivot city of Victoria.

The Cats came about in 1925 when Geelong were getting flogged by Collingwood at Half time at Corio Oval. A well known commentator of the day commented that the only thing that would stop Collingwood would be an unlucky run that only a black cat could deliver. After half time, a Black Cat followed the Collingwood side out onto the ground, the game turned and Geelong got up and won, and went on to win the premiership. It was seen that the Black Cat was the reason for Geelong winning and from that day, the name stuck.

I'm sure other clubs have similar stories.

power is the DUMMEST nickname for any sporting team anywhere in the world!! What is a power??? I've never seen one walking along the street, or flying in the sky. hmmmmmm, and their poxy black, white, silver and teal colours are a bloody joke and look as though someone chucked up while in the crowd!

The Power is a stupid club name, and yes they have a horrid uniform and song and mascot. I like their SANFL uniform much, much, better. Port look better when they wear teal socks, all that black is dull. It could be argued the teal is an after thought it looks like it.

I think the Dockers home strip looks ok, but the away one is awful, same with the crows away strip. Awful Awful. West coasts strip is god awful, I much prefered the old one, who thought that up?!

The crows home strip of course looks good as they are our state colours and it has a nice balance. EVery other uniform looks good, with one exception, the jockey uniform worn by the hawks a few years back! (puke)

Are the AFL going to FORCE teams to have an away strip in the near future?

I've heard there will be a predominately light strip for away games & dark strip for home games (like basketball).

It is probably a good idea as it is at times fairly dificult to tell 1 side from another. Witness last Saturday nights game between Port & Collingwood (both also wore dark socks).

Most of the current away jumpers are not really up to scratch in this regard. For example Adelaide's away jumper has too much red in it when playing Sydney or Melbourne & Collingwoods away jumper is so similar to the home jumper I don't know why they bother.

How would Melbourne, Essendon, Calton, Sydney, Brisbane etc supporters feel about this as their teams don't have an away strip? The traditionalist in me says bugger the away strip, I like our normal (lollypop) jumper, but maybe it IS in the best interests of the game.

Carlton playing in a white jumper with a navy CFC on the front? I'd like to see that.

Originally posted by gocatsgo:
The saints in obviously the most ill-conceived name going around and lacks the most imagination. Especially as StKilda is known as the red-light district of Melbourne, there's no saints down there!!!

I don't really know what you are getting at in your first sentence. In saying "ill-conceived", I assume you are talking about the lack of originality. Yes, we could have been creative like our northern namesakes and called ourselves the St Kilda Dragons but that would be ridiculous. Teams like St Kilda and Hawthorn are not meant to have their club name and nickname used together. ie St Kilda Saints, Hawthorn Hawks. And we did change our name to the Southern Saints for a brief time, either late 80's early 90's.

As for your second sentence, I suppose the suburb of St Kilda and the city of Geelong is like chalk and cheese. It would be a bit of a culture shock for you to see people outside their houses past 5pm.
wink.gif

As for the best nickname, without a doubt I would have to say the bulldogs. Great name and representative of the way they play.

[This message has been edited by sainter (edited 06 June 2000).]

Another nickname I forgot to mention is the "Cats"

Terrible.

A Lion or Tiger is a ferocious type of "cat", but Geelong's mascot, is a house-cat !

A housecat ? I'm aware of the history behind the name, but it doesn't necessarily make it marketable.

Look at their club enblem. There is a bloody big housecat on the front.

I like the old name, the "Pivotonians". The Geelong Pivots. Unique, appropriate, one of a kind.

Is it marketable ? Wellllllllll I dunno. But it's more marketable than a housecat is.

Bloody hell. The usual Crows kiddies have come out to play again. "What is a Power?" Very dumb question. Go get a dictionary.

As for "Crows" - it has to rate as pissweak as Saints and Swans. Crow - noisy, bloody annoying, but harmless.

Port's home colours look bloody good - IF those softc*cks at the AFL let them wear the black shorts and socks!!

If the AFL are fair dinkum about all this ****y mixing and matching of colours for television's sake then they must force clubs like Carlton, Essendon, Richmond, etc to come up with an alternative guernsey. No pro-Victorian favouritism in the AFL!

PS - as a grown up I reckon all the club mascots are bloody hopeless, but apparently the kiddies like them - including Thunda Power, whose design came out of a competition among Port's junior members - not some **** marketing consultant with a ponytail.

OK, about THOSE jumpers..... (I've been told to shut up about this by other Eagles fans, because the club knows what it's doing, and if we all do as they say and but their crappy merchandise then world peace will follow.... or something like that
wink.gif
) But since you asked...

They got a series of designs from Puma, and went to primary schools all over Perth to find out what the next generation of Eagles liked (which is stupid in itself since very few of them will get to see a game live since they buuilt the stand too small...). I'm no marketing expert, but surely little kids taste when it comes to colour coordination is similar to the colourblind?

The design is supposed to represent the West Australian coast, the ochre is the red of up North, and the blue is the ocean. Nice in sentiment, a disaster on a footy jumper.

Surely the fact that both the home and away strips clash with at least one other team mean they fail as a footy jumper? To my mind a design should be easily recognisable, drawable, limited in colours, distictive, bold and tradition. Ours fail on almost all accounts.
frown.gif

Anyway, I'm not going to go on about this again,
smile.gif
but if you don't like it, please let the Eagles know! marketing@westcoasteagles.com.au should do it.

I emailed them a while ago, then read Trevor Nisbett saying; "we've had a really positive response, except for a few people who DON'T LIKE CHANGE". I like change as long as it's for the best.
Our Vic merchandise man (or something) told the press that the Eagles aren't "bogged down by tradition". Isn't that sad?

But there is hope! Footscray changed their jumpers to a horizontal design in 1935, but the fans were unimpressed, and the original jumpers returned for the 1936 season...
smile.gif

Anyway, like I said, let them know if you hate them! If you write nicely you get a personal response from a very important marketing person...
wink.gif

haha Shinboners! Actually I think the new eagles logo looks very similar to the hawk - maybe it was Ken Judge's idea

To Grave Danger, May I say that by no means am I a "Crows Kiddy", and my dictionary says that "power" means an ability to do or act..I can just see lots of supporters running round dressed up as that. (The Club also seems to be lacking in that department at the moment, he he.)

About the West Coast jumper. It looks great as an article of clothing, and has apparently sold like wildfire, but on the field it clashes with too many other teams.

regarding the WA sides:
the name dockers (as it was recognized from the inception) rhymes far too well with shockers, and gives WA footy journalists ready-made back page headlines.

The eagles new away jumper (have posted this at eags forum b4)- bares no resemblance to the colours being waved about in celebration by their fans at games. It looks weird, the fans and team dont look "together".
Especially since the eagles had shocking looking outfits in the late 80's, early ninties (my opinion only ok)- and they finally came up with that really dark navy blue, gold and the white trim, which looked far more imposing and professional. they kept that for all of two years (?) before "moving with the times".
Eagle fan- you obviously agree with all this. I just wondered about the comment "we arnt caught up in tradition"- wouldnt now be the perfect time to be developing an Eagles tradition for years to come ?????
I mean if they'd dramatcally change the jumper, why not change, say, the club song ????

A.

Arch - they did change the theme song in 1996 to a more upbeat version of "We're flying high" and they deleted the verses and added more 'drumming music'

But I doubt we're going to see them change to a totally different tune - the eagles 'were flying high' is the same as the carltons 'we are the navy blues'

No matter how bad any of the current playing strips look, they've still got a long way to go to match the sheer vomit inducing ability of the very first Brisbane Bears jumper. It had a stylised BB with a koala poking its head out.

Anyway, a tip to Adelaide fans visiting Melbourne. Do you guys really have to wander around town with your Crows jumper, scarves, hats, beanies, bags, etc. etc. It looks especially dicky when your team isn't actually playing until the following day. No one over here looks at you and thinks, "My God....aren't they fashionable!". So bring some proper clothes and you won't see us Melburnians smirking and supressing giggles as you walk past us.

or perhaps change the song to Glen Jakovich's "Mighty Mighty Eagles". That would be a classic.

funny post shins- however if (when) i get to melbourne i think I too would wear my essendon stuff evrywhere until the novelty had worn off.

A.

i remember those god awful brisbane jumpers too. probably christopher skases personal design.

Best club nicknames (eg Bombers, Tigers, Demons etc, etc)