Dan26

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
What are the best club songs ?

I must admit, I love the Richmond club song. You really feel like singing along to it. When the Tiger army get into it, there is none better.

I also admit that I don't mind the West Coast song. It's got a good melody.

The Crows song, The pride of South Australia" is a good one. It's sung to the old U.S marine tune, so it's a good song. I love how the supportersput in the "ooo-ooo" at the end of each verse.

All the others are pretty good too, but I don't like Carltons.

It's not Carlton bashing from me (being an Essendon supporter), but any song sung to and old 1930's song called "You are my lady love" is not an appropriate or stirring song.

I get goose bumps when any song plays at the MCG, EXCEPT that boring Carlton song.

Freo's is a bit of dud song I suppose.

Port's song has a good melody, but they should have taken an existing song and changed the words.

Look at Brisbane. They took Fitzroys old song, which is the national anthem of France. The result is a stirring song.

I suppose, while all the other songs are good (except Carlton), Hawthorns doesn't exactlly set the goose bumps rolling at a record pace. It's too "happy". Same with The Bombers song. It's OK, but there are better songs.

I wouldn't say I like Carlton's, but it does have ability to stick in your head for days!

Agree with you on Adelaide
smile.gif

Don't mind Norths, but I've heard it a few too many times in recent years.

Honestly can't remember Essendons....

Hate Bulldogs. Doesn't flow together at all. Bits and pieces from heaps of songs (or that's what it sounds like anyway).

Freo's isn't so bad when they play the whole thing. But the "Freo heave-ho" at the beginning should be cut.

And obviously love ours. Used to be better when it had verses, and before they added that wailing noise at the beginning.
smile.gif

Richmond. Particularly the "... from tiger... YELLOW AND BLACK..." bit.

1995 - we lost a game we should have won but you HAD to respect the noise and electricity that song generated.

No contest. End of argument.

I Loathe that bloody Tiger song and their bandwagon jumping &^(&$ fans with it.

Doesnt do anything for me except make me sick to my stomach (I was FILTHY walking out the G last week).

I like the Hawks Dons Swans. Freo's and the Powers are both shockers.

Favourite though might be a surprise. I like the ole Sainters. Must be the jazz fan in me.

Melbourne's is a particular favourite of mine

"The Grand Old Flag" is really stirring and emotional, has a great melody and a beat that really swings.

The Lions song to the the tune of the Marseilles is good too. And of course "Cheer Cheer the Red and the White" is a song I don't get to sing too often these days but is still a ripper !

I thought about this the other day acctually Jeez I'm starting worry about myself, my wifes right I'm a footy nut!

Has to be Tigerland, although I'm biased when I say the bombers next, love the way it builds to that last verse "The other teams they don't fear, They all try their best,
But they can't get near,As the Bombers fly up!"

Equal first for worst would be Blues "this is so very dull" and the Hawks' song more befitting their old Mayblooms nickname "We're a HAPPY team at Hawthorn" not that there's anything wrong with that.

Perhaps it's because they were adopted in more successful times but when the bombers fly up... to win the premiership flag and, even worse 'the premiership's a cakewalk' are long on arrogance and short on qualities such as 'riding the bumps with a grin' and (perhaps a bit socialist) 'All for one and one for all' Lines like this give you a clue how to win a flag rather than assuming you've got it already.

For example with the greatest number of second places the Pies certainly don't find the premiership a 'cakewalk'at all and to say that south australia has the 'admiration of the nation' is well.... Ironic

ok, i'd have to say the Eagles or the Power.

Eagles...has anyone heard the verses? it sounds seriously like a modern pop song. with lyrics like:
"For years they took the best of us,
and claimed them as our own..."
how can you not like it???

Then Port's song (which i haven't heard too much of this year) is very dancable to.
"We've go the power to win,
the power to rule,
C'mon, port adelaide agression."
Do yourselves a favour and listen to this song in FULL. you'll just crack up laughing coz it's so good.

NE way, finally of course nothing beats the Roos song...esp on that last Sat of September...

Fair enough, fib, the essendon song is nowhere near as stupid as 'the premiership's a cakewalk' - why aspire to winning it if it's that easy ?

But believe me, everyone is now hoping the bombers win all 22 as there will be that much more pressure on at finals time.

And if by chance the unthinkable happens - I can forsee Dan24 doing a 'Fiji' and leading the 'bomber rebels' by holding the AFL commission hostage at gunpoint until his demands for the premiership to be for the H&A winners and for North to return the cup immediately

But back onto the songs. the north chorus ends withe 'north melbourne will be premiers in nineteen-ninety-nine' - what do they sing now ? Kanas will be premiers in twooo thousannnnndddd ?

the roos now sing "north melbourne will be premiers- just you wait and see".

Theres is Easily the best song.

But I do remember having "We're the team that never lets you down" going through my head alot last prelim day.

:-(

A couple of points regarding club songs:

I think the best song is the Lions one sung to the tune of the French national anthem – more so when it used to be Fitzroy’s but the changed words used in Brisbane isn’t too bad

I had to laugh when Collingwood won it’s first game last year in round 9 (or thereabouts) and sang the lyric “oh the premierships a cakewalk” – yeah right!!!

As for the Kangas – ever since they have changed the lyrics from North Melbourne to Kangas and Kangaroos it doesn’t feel the same I’m afraid. Still sing the old lyrics and will keep doing so!

Freo’s song – shocker!!!!

Cheers

Gonzo

Yeah, I agree with Gonzo....I sing the old words as well. My favourite ones from other clubs though are:

The Swans "Cheer, cheer"...it sounds so traditional.

Melbourne's, especially for the line, "every heart beats true for the red and the blue".

As much as I hate Richmond, just hearing the "YELLOW AND BLACK" during their '95 season was, well, just awesome. Still, since they're part time fans, you wouldn't expect them to know the whole song, would you? ;-)

The dumbest line has to be Geelong's opening line, "We are Geelong, the greatest team of all".....it's a wonder that Geelong fans and players can keep a straight face singing that. Oh, and the Bulldogs theme song is very drippy to listen to.

It has to be "OH WE'RE FROM TIGERLAND" as the best, it's the song which gets the crowd involved the most.

I also like the Eagles, Bombers, Saints and Swans.

I really don't like the Geelong song but I sing it anyway.

I hate Collingwood, Melbourne, Hawthorn - They are all just soooooo boring, like the Geelong one.

Most of the Vic clubs song melodies come from the beginning of the century. And it is interesting to note that the songs of Melbourne and Hawthorn were written by the same person George M Cohan in the USA. His life was put down on film with James Cagney playing the title role in the film Yankee Doodle Dandy. He wrote many songs esp. in the first 20 years of the century.

South Melbourne's song adopted by Sydney is/was the Notre Dame football song in the U.S.

Much as everyone hates Collingwood's song, everyone knows all the words to it. Something you cant say for essendon, west coast and the new Brisbane song (with changes from Fitzroy) which doesnt flow like it used to.

How about this for a shocker club song.

Here we go, here we go, here we go
Here we go, camry crows, here we go
etc, etc, etc

that was bad.

I don't mind any of the club songs except for Freo's & Port's. The main trouble with the Port song is the people who sing it.

Great Topic! You all would think I like the eagles theme because I support the team, but I love hearing the Melbourne song (because It's the same song to West Perth - the local team I support) and Richmond, especially the YELLOW AND BLACK bit which would send shivers down the players spines!

The Eagles theme was great when it had the verses, because if you saw the lyrics it was all about how the Vics took all our good players and "claimed them as their own". The new version which is more bouncy and "up to date" isn't as good and I just wish just for once they will play the old song at an eagles win.

On the other side of town, Freo's theme isn't that bad - the "Freo heave ho" sung really loudly can be very stirring but since it goes on for 3-4 minutes it's also irritating! Maybe people dont appreciate it because it's hardly ever played!

On a final note, did Sydney change their theme song this year to the same tune of Up Their Cazaley? Also, it was wierd hearing the Western Bulldogs change it to sons of the west instead of sons of the scray! Plus can anyone remember the Brisbane theme called "Dare to Beat the Bear?"

I have to agree with the majority of people and say that the Richmond theme song is the best.

I also like the Lions song. That song just evokes so much passion. You only have to look at the French national supporting sides to see this.

Melbourne and Sydney's are my other favourites.

Suprisingly I have to say that I like the Port Power song too. I don't know why but I just enjoy it.

The creativity of our song is just mind-boggling.
wink.gif
While I love the tune and the song, I would prefer that it had a few more lines. We used to play a song at Moorabbin (not that often of course) that ran into the infamous "when the saints go marching in". I wish we still played that as it seemed to compliment our song quite well, much in the same fashion as the Roos "Hearts to Hearts, etc" does.

Join Bigfooty for Free

I have to agree with most others in that Richmond's song is the best, particularly the "yellow and black" line. I also enjoy West Coast's, while even from an unbiased perspective, Adelaide's "We're the pride of South Australia" would have to be one of the best. Unlike most, I also happen to like Carlton's song..

I remember being at the 1992 and 1994 Grand Finals, and hearing West Coast's tune blaring all over the MCG.

I couldn't get the song out of my head. It is a great tune

Actually if you go to the WCE website, you can download the "instrumental version" of their song for those that are interested. It's really good. It's sounds like it's done with an orchestra.

I love the tigers song, Melbourne's song, and the North Melbourne one with the "hearts to hearts" bit. I also like Carlton's song, although it can get a bit annoying when it is sung over and over again...

I don't think I've ever heard the proper Eagles song- only a very brief one that sort of had no melody and no words that said anything other than "we are the eagles..." or something similar, anyway that's the worst one I'd reckon.

The carlton song is a shocker of a club song... it sounds like a drunken old yobbo singing it and it does not frighten the opposition at all. It makes them laugh!

Richmond's is the best club song, especially with the Richmond crowd in full voice.

Fitzroy's came a close second. While Brisbane's version is OK, I don't find it as stirring as I did Fitzroy's. The words don't flow as well and the official recording of the new song is a little insipid. I saw the Ten Tenors give a really good stirring version of the Lions' club song in a recent visit to the Gabba. I wish our official version sounded as stirring as that.

Worst: Fremantle (by a long way)

Best club songs.