Best Dvfl Player Ever

Chris Keating by a mile others Richard Gouldon,Neil Brindley,Colin Hodgson,Polly Perkins,Paul Storey,Geoff Austin,Cowboy,Martin Kemp,Simon Lennox,Paul King still going there would be plenty of contenders but I think Keats has won 3 comp medals,premeirships club Bnf's and played for 15 years.Anyone who gets on here an brings up someone who played 2nd div there hole lives stop and think about it first.

Hey Bruce, perhaps a distinction should be made between DIV 1 and 2.
There are better teams in divvy 1 than 2.
As for individual players, their ability is not limited by which league or divisiion they play in.
A recent example would be H.Ayres and R.Wise. Both good players in Div 2, and good players in Div 1.
Do we sit here and have a go at them for not having a crack at VFL?
Should VFL people sit here and have a crack at our top line Divvy 1, and call it crap footy,(hence labelling all players as well), cause they dont step up to the next level?
Should AFL people sit here and have a go at VFL players, and call it crap footy, cause they dont step up?
An individual players ability to play footy, is not limited by which grade he plays.
It may be a little harder to stand out in a better team, although this doesnt diminish the players ability.
In fact good players playing lower grades could possibly find it harder, as they will be the first player tagged/manned up once the game starts.
Anyway, perhaps we should distinguish b/n divvy 1 and 2. As we would VFL and Divvy 1, or AFL and VFL.

Chris Keating by a mile others Richard Gouldon,Neil Brindley,Colin Hodgson,Polly Perkins,Paul Storey,Geoff Austin,Cowboy,Martin Kemp,Simon Lennox,Paul King still going there would be plenty of contenders but I think Keats has won 3 comp medals,premeirships club Bnf's and played for 15 years.Anyone who gets on here an brings up someone who played 2nd div there hole lives stop and think about it first.

Totally agree with Chris Keating. Played over 300 games and never played in the reserves. Won 2 Smith medals.

To check out the list of Smith medal winners: www.wikipedia.org type in dvfl

before u agreed with they guy that said he was a joke and hasnt had a kick all year so wat 1 is it...footy is quicker now n u have to be alot fitter so how can u compare the players its too heard without throwing up players who r playing now...
We are talking about the DVFL or Northern FL if you like not the AFL it is not that much faster than when i payed during the 80s/90s and as for fitness i dont think i will ever see any footballer who was as fit as Neil Brindley

MFFFTT ican smell Dave Mitchell you need to kick more than five to be the best player in the comp and especially against greensborough. Stop pumping your own tyres up. Yes you have'nt had a kick all year because the opposition know who you are now its always easy your first year but as you have found out so far its not easy second year try fifteen times round. I have heard your a big head.I would'nt rate you in Bundoora s top five players now.
do u play footy?...did u get a bit of a towling last time bundoora played u's are we touching on some hurt pride here....its the 3rd year mate n comming first in a b nf and top 3 last 2 years running aint bad...wats ur bundoora top 5 then

Who said anything about bundoora. Division two bandf s dont count for much and top three who cares.Mate if you were as good as what you think you are you would have been at a league club by now or at least having a run at an vfl club. Most of the blokes talked about on this thread have been at league clubs at your age you have done f all. I can't beleive you would jump on here and pump your own tyres up your new id on this thread should be FIGJAM Bundoora's top six Ayres, Budgie, Brown, Howse, Grossman,Mcintosh PS why did you leave Lower heard not many blokes down there liked you because of this sought of stuff.

If someone has nominated themselves in this thread that is one of the funniest things i have ever seen. It is, however, a little sad at the same time. Couldnt be serious though surely.

Would someone form the northcote park days of four flags be up their? Someone like Shannon Logan who played in them four flags, as well as a couple for creek. Just throwin that dynasty up as surely a few of them must have been able to seriously play.

If someone has nominated themselves in this thread that is one of the funniest things i have ever seen. It is, however, a little sad at the same time. Couldnt be serious though surely.

Would someone form the northcote park days of four flags be up their? Someone like Shannon Logan who played in them four flags, as well as a couple for creek. Just throwin that dynasty up as surely a few of them must have been able to seriously play.

if a 20 year old did get on here and say that he is gonna be one of the best ever in the dvfl he is a joke, what a sad little man u must be. any really good 20 year old would be at a vfl club, mate there must be at least 15 decent youngsters in this comp and for u to jump on and say ur gonna be a champion there is something seriously wrong. good for a laugh thou

it may not be the young fella so lets not go judging him as a bloke because of this, but if it is you would want to pull your head in. I think to be the best player eva in the dvfl you need at least 150-200 games behind you and thats games in the actuall dvfl at senior level so lets stop talking about 50 game spuds.

Who said anything about bundoora. Division two bandf s dont count for much and top three who cares.Mate if you were as good as what you think you are you would have been at a league club by now or at least having a run at an vfl club. Most of the blokes talked about on this thread have been at league clubs at your age you have done f all. I can't beleive you would jump on here and pump your own tyres up your new id on this thread should be FIGJAM Bundoora's top six Ayres, Budgie, Brown, Howse, Grossman,Mcintosh PS why did you leave Lower heard not many blokes down there liked you because of this sought of stuff.

nah i left to play div 1. its not me doing this so calm down, and dont cut loose at me. thank you

I can't believe how far left of center this thread became, maybe if we add some rules.
1 - Must have played at least 150 a Grade div 1 games
2 - No player from Div 2 qualifies

On some of the questions posted
Bernie Smead was just OK, the best from Watsy would have been
1 - Mick Lamb
2 - Mal Griffith
(both of those 2 could have played Div 1 but didn't)
Someone asked about Northcote Park
bit of a guess here but maybe
1 - Origlasso
2 - ooze (i know i spelt that wrong)
icon10.gif

James Taylor from Mont
200+ Div 1 senior games
Rep side
2 x B & F @ mont

Maybe not the best, but has to be in the all time top 10.
Also add Neil Brindley from the slime

derrick shaw for me he is used to rip the diamond valley apart!! paul story would also be up there along with rabbi (rick daniels) from rezza lakeside he was a freak!!

Agreed Hawk. Dekka has been one of the best players to come to the DVFL/NFL. Pity he didn't come to this comp till he was about 30 and he still played over 200 A grade Div 1 games! Maybe some of the should-have-beens mentioned as great players on this thread could have tried their luck in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL like Dek did instead of taking the easy option of being the big fish in a little pond.

By the way Hawk are you and Dek back on speaking terms after your little lovers tiff last Sat?

I agree totally with Dekka (Derek Shaw) had he not played so much time in the ruck he would have topped the Goal kicking 5 or 6 times, he's a good mate of mine Shawy, he had a lot of injuries too. We book ended the burras for 6 or 7 years.

James Taylor from Mont
200+ Div 1 senior games
Rep side
2 x B & F @ mont

Maybe not the best, but has to be in the all time top 10.
Also add Neil Brindley from the slime
Jimmy Taylor would'nt be the best but as for loyality and eyes only for the footy would be second to none. You have to feel for a bloke like Taylor as he was a champion player and never played in a premiership if mont had of won one of those grandfinals that they were in Jimmy Taylor would be right up there.

Now his talents lie in advertising the 4'n'Twenty meat pie

Colbol35, so if your young to be good you need to be in the vfl? thats a load of crap i have friends that have recently been de-listed from the afl they have gone to vfl clubs and hated it and have gone back to local footy becuase they are not enjoying there footy at vfl, i also had a short stint in the vfl and i hated it aswell i have now gone back to local footy and are loving every minute of it, i got droped from the vfl and found out first hand that they spin a lot of shit to get you there and then use u up as they please, and i reckon there is alot of young good players in the nfl that would easily be able to fit into a vfl side?

also sorry to steer away from what you guys are on about just wanted to share my bit on that, carry on about the real reason we r in this thread its good reading!

Colbol35, so if your young to be good you need to be in the vfl? thats a load of crap i have friends that have recently been de-listed from the afl they have gone to vfl clubs and hated it and have gone back to local footy becuase they are not enjoying there footy at vfl, i also had a short stint in the vfl and i hated it aswell i have now gone back to local footy and are loving every minute of it, i got droped from the vfl and found out first hand that they spin a lot of shit to get you there and then use u up as they please, and i reckon there is alot of young good players in the nfl that would easily be able to fit into a vfl side?
i think one of the main reasons alot of these young kids and even ex afl players come back and play local footy is because there is alot of easy money to be made, there is hardly any commitment at local level needed, i would say probably 7 hours a week and for the amount of money some get paid its the easy option. instead of giving up 4 to 5 days of ur week busting ur balls at a vfl club trying to break through to the seniors but probably going to play reserves for pretty much no coin would be the main reason alot of youngsters dont stay, the commitment is too much. and i would really doubtt that there would be any young players in ur comp that could fill spots in a senior vfl side without being down there for a couple of years earning there stripes.

The dvfl is a very strong league. My beleif is the vfl is a bit of a side step to local footy the players are much fitter and maybe a bit quiker but i beleive a vermont or heidelberg could mix it up with majority of the vfl sides. Most kids that go to vfl clubs drop off when they relise the dream of playing afl is over which makes the vfl pretty much an under 23 competition. I beleive that one day it will go back to the old system with the afl reserves which will see the vfl in real trouble.

Best Dvfl Player Ever