Best Footy Stand

fighting fury

Nov 14, 2000
Melbourne (Richmond)
What is your best footy stand and why?

Do you like the Southern Stand which is probably the most famous named stand or the E. J. Whitten stand? Equally famous too.

For me, I only recognise the Southern Stand, but the last time I was actually at a game I didn't know which Stand I was sitting in.
redface.gif

Please share your thoughts!
smile.gif

------------------
Welcome to the jungle

The Showers stand at Windy Hill. Was a great atmoshphere, especially given that you got most of the noise from the near adjoining Dick Reynolds Stand.

Used to love when the boys come home to our end in the last quarter. Good old days.

These days Id have to say the Olympic Stand...second tier. Bird's eye view and is right on the wing. Pretty close access to the Tavern Bar as well.

yeah - I like the Olympic Stand as well

You are surprisingly close to the action up there, the bars out the back are always good for a quick cold beer, and the stairways are a good place for a secret cigarette whiulst enjoying the pleasant view over Jolimont Park.

Its hardly ever crowded up there, the seating is OK (not great - just OK) but beware stray feral Richmond fans !!!!! - I had a nasty encounter with a few last time I visited (1999 Round 2 Richmond v Sydney)

Well Colonial Wouldnt Be In Contention coz it doesnt have stands the shit hole!

Its all the same everywhere in that stadium except one side has the locker room and the other doesnt!

I hate that bloody big new stand at Optarse. It took away my favourite footy vantage point. Used to love going to watch North from the eastern end of the ground, standing in the outer in the forward pocket under the scoreboard. The best spot ever for watching a game.

------------------
Give me a woman who loves beer, and I will conquer the world!!!!!!!!!

The reverberation of noise in the Southern Stand is magnificent. The only problem is that the sun shines in your face the whole day. There has been talk of moving the AFL members to the newly constructed northern stand when it is built in a few years, so that this problem can be avoided.

I've only been to the SCG a couple of times, but the Brewongle stand has a "closeness" and an atmosphere all of it's own.

Southern Stand, Level 3, Section P14, Row E, Seat 1.

Right on the wing / Half Forward Flank depending on where the goals have been rotated to. High enough to see the whole ground, not so high that you get nose bleeds. Only problem is having people throwing up from the corporate boxes behind me. (Happened twice)

I generally don’t like sitting at ground level as too much of the play is lost in the background of the crowd on the far side.

lgsmile-RICH.gif

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Level 2A of the GSS is a fantastic vantage point at the 'G'. Elevated enough to be able to see the play unfolding before you, but still feels very close to the action. Level 2 at Colonial is even better in this department, but that doesn't really qualify as 'a stand', does it!?
wink.gif

The best viewing to be had at a suburban ground is from the top deck of the Dick Pratt nee Hawthorn Stand at OO, right on the wing if you can manage it.

As far as the best atmos goes, I'd nominate the Ryder Stand at Vicky Park. Had seats there for the 1986 season, and despite the piddly crowds we drew, the noise and atmosphere were electrifying. Shame about that blasted pole right in front of my seat though!
tongue.gif

[This message has been edited by Mr Ripper (edited 11 December 2000).]

I have to say the Members Stand at the MCG. Not only is it a great view, but it also maintains the tradition of the ground. That is why I also like the SCG, they still maintain two of their old stands that keep the history of the ground alive.

Without a doubt it has to be the Sherrin Stand (sorry dunno how to spell) at Victoria Park, I grew up sitting in the same sits, in the same row, with the same ppl around you. Almost right behind the Collingwood Offiaical Cheer Squad. I also have some special memporiers from the stand too.

But now thats gone it is a toss up between the Punt rd end goel bottom level right behind the goals or GSS on the 2nd and 3rd level.

------------------
NICKY DAVIS KICKS ASS!!!
GO THE MIGHTY PIES!!

I don't think you can beat watching the footy at ground level. With that in mind nothing beats the Great Southern Stand, and I actually don't mind it at Colonial either.

Hey shut up Mr Ripper! I live in Perth and my parents don't have much money to go to footy matches plus they don't really like footy.

I have been to Richmond vs Freo but the Tigers lost.
frown.gif

I am still a fanatic supporter though. I watch all matches on TV and love the Tigers. I'm gonna move to Melbourne one day!

CJH,

We're pretty similar in a lot of ways,i reckon !

When I watch the Bombers play each week, I always head to section P of the Great Southern Stand. I attempt to sit right on the wing (usually P17 for me), and I try to sit in the very back row. it only goes back about 8 rows, so if you sit in the back you don't have to worry about other fans behind you. It also means that you can shout stuff about how good your team is, and everyone can hear you !

I dislike the bottom level too. That's why I was pissed off with the Grand Final this year, because AFL members weren't given a choice of where to sit.

But IO agree, nothing beats the 3rd deck. The 2nd deck for me is too claustophobic. I like the elevation of the third deck. The very back row of the third deck (right in front of the boxes) is actually the only row in the third deck that is undercover, believe it or not !!

Mr Ripper and CJH,

There are a group of about 5 people that ALWAYS sit in the back row of the third deck. Thety attend nearly every match. I went to heaps of non-Essendon matches and they were always there. They have a stats book, with them, and they do something, but I'm not sure what they do. One of them is this Richmond supporter with long frizzy hair and there is another fat bloke who always wear's a tracksuit. Do you know eho they are?

They always sit in P17 (approx) in front of the superboxes.

Originally posted by Dan24:
One of them is this Richmond supporter with long frizzy hair and there is another fat bloke who always wear's a tracksuit. Do you know eho they are?

I'm not sure who the tigers fan is but it's "highly likely" that the fat guy in the tracksuit is one of the Fatbastard's on Big Footy.
biggrin.gif

Mr Ripper,

I saw these dudes at nealy EVERY match. Not literally every match, but certainly every final and all the big matches. They carry a notebook and fill stats in and they love to come up with smart ass comments and stuff too. You have to get there early to sit in their seat, because they are usually there by about 10 AM to make sure they get the back row in front of the superboxes.

I THINK, the fat guy who always wears a tracksuit is a Hawks supporter, but I'm not 100% sure.

Yeah, they gave me some stick one day went I let fly with a big "OSSSSIEEEEE!" as Tricky Dicky took a grab in the goal square on his way to 8 majors. Every time he went near the pill thereafter, we got a chorus of "OSSSSIEEEEEE!" erupting from behind! They are dead set fanatics. I've seen 'em at Waverley and OO as well.

Best Footy Stand