Best from 2002 Draft?

• Thread starter Thread starter The Zebra

If you wanted a player to play for you tomorrow Selwood would be selected wayyy ahead of Wells.

If you wanted a player to play for you in 5 or so years you would select Wells cos he has greater potential to improve.

Think that solves the problem...

No it doesn't.

They got about the same amount of possessions this year and we all know Wells does more with it.

Every other season Wells has had it all over Selwood.

Wells came runner up in the rising star in his first year and was 4th in a B&F in his second.

Wells is faster, more athletic, better skills, has won multiple games for North in the dying seconds...

The only area where Selwood has it over Wells is as a tagger...and that is because Wells doesn't tag people - he gets tagged.

Even Selwood would be embarassed by this comparison.

Not really :p

If i wanted a player to play for me tommorow then i would take Wells.
If i wanted a player to play for me in 5 years then i would take Wells.

That should clear it up :D

Your ******ed if you think thats true. Every coach in the league would take Selwood over Wells for a one off game

No it doesn't.

They got about the same amount of possessions this year and we all know Wells does more with it.

Every other season Wells has had it all over Selwood.

Wells came runner up in the rising star in his first year and was 4th in a B&F in his second.

Wells is faster, more athletic, better skills, has won multiple games for North in the dying seconds...

The only area where Selwood has it over Wells is as a tagger...and that is because Wells doesn't tag people - he gets tagged.

Even Selwood would be embarassed by this comparison.

Selwood is a much better marker, tackler, better footy smarts. Its kind of a silly comparison considering both players are the exact opposite of one another really.

The difference today is consistency. Selwood is Eagles most consistent player. Never has a terrible game. Wells is the most inconsistent player in the league. Consistency is important especially in finals football. Thats something Wells will never give ya

If i wanted a player to play for me tommorow then i would take Wells.
If i wanted a player to play for me in 5 years then i would take Wells.
Have to agree. Except for the truly scrubber clubs like Carlton, most teams have enough workman types already, and the injection of a game breaker would be a bigger deal than another workman type.

Selwood would rip it up at Princes Park though, whereas Wells wouldn't have the necessary support to excel.

Selwood is a much better marker, tackler, better footy smarts. Its kind of a silly comparison considering both players are the exact opposite of one another really.

You are right. Selwood would tag Wells - that is the difference.

Brady Rawlings does the job Selwood does - only better. Regularly shuts down the best and gets more possessions than Selwood.
He is also ultra-consistent - as evidenced by two B&F wins in the last 3 years.

I love Brady.

But there is no way I would take him over Wells. Not today. Not tomorrow. Not in 5 years.

The difference today is consistency. Selwood is Eagles most consistent player. Never has a terrible game. Wells is the most inconsistent player in the league. Consistency is important especially in finals football. Thats something Wells will never give ya

This is crap. Refer to a post of mine a few pages back as to why.

I dont get the inconsistent - consistent arguement.

Selwood is consistently average while Wells varies from match winner to average. :confused:

I dont get the inconsistent - consistent arguement.

Selwood is consistently average while Wells varies from match winner to average. :confused:

Exactly.

They are saying Wells is inconsistent because he doesn't rip every game open with his pace and skill? Well what does that make Selwood - consistent because he has never ripped a game open with brilliance but rather remained a simply good level?

I think people believe that Wells is either on fire or completely missing.

It's a myth.

He is just inconsistent as a game breaker. If he gets consistency in this area we are talking a top 5 AFL player.

Brady Rawlings does the job Selwood does - only better. Regularly shuts down the best and gets more possessions than Selwood.

I love Brady.

But there is no way I would take him over Wells. Not today. Not tomorrow. Not in 5 years.

This is crap. Refer to a post of mine a few pages back as to why.

No Selwood would tag one of your small forward players probably play on Shannon Grant. We would play Braun on Wells. Selwood would shut Grant down and rack up 20 possessions to boot.

Selwood is by far Eagles most underrated player. His last half of the year he was probably in our top 3 players. Got 20 + possession 8 outta 10 games. Two games he didnt get 20+ posessions was because he was playing at Full Back during that game.

Hes underrated really because for starters no one here even knows what position he plays. The answer is he plays in defense switching between pockets and flanks with our other small defenders. He plays FB at times on the likes of Brad Johnson Burton too. He hasnt been at a centre bounce since bout Round 14.

By inconsistent im talking bout the 12 games he got 20 or less possessions. He needs to be getting 20+ considering hes mainly a receiver for the team

Wells has it all over Selwood in spades.

Speed
Natural Talent
Scope for Improvement
Kicking Skills
Match Winning Ability

Exactly. But I guess the Weagles are in a different situation i.e they rely extremely heavily on Judd, and other guys like Selwood just do the defensive-tagging stuff to facilitate their star. You can't be too critical of this one-man-game-plan. It certainly just got the Weagles across the iine to pinch a flag in 2006, and that's all that matters. :)

He was the best for the wooden spooners. Selwood was one of the top 5 for the premiers. Figure it out :rolleyes:

Top 5, give me a break.

Selwood won't get any better either, while Simmo will become one of the best wingers in the AFL.

It's pretty easy racking possy's off the HBF.

Exactly. But I guess the Weagles are in a different situation i.e they rely extremely heavily on Judd, and other guys like Selwood just do the defensive-tagging stuff to facilitate their star. You can't be too critical of this one-man-game-plan. It certainly just got the Weagles across the iine to pinch a flag in 2006, and that's all that matters. :)

Yeah i also love how Kerr is such an awesome Forward Pocket, he loves it in that area. And how Cousins starts at FB and runs up to FF to kick a goal. Mate your argument is flawed and i have repeated this sh1t over and over again. To no comeback of course.

Judd would not be as good as he is without Cox. He wont be as good without Kerr or Cousins in the team either. Thats a 4 man midfield as it is. So your either saying Judd is the worlds greatest midfield ever or the eagles midfield just sucks and overated due to there abundance of taggers (such as selwood whose a f*ckin defender).

Now ask yourself again. Do the Eagles rely more heavily on a guy like Judd than say over Cox or Glass? Your a Tool.

Top 5, give me a break.

Selwood won't get any better either, while Simmo will become one of the best wingers in the AFL.
Well if Selwood remains the same player he is today, hes going to have a very good career. But i still reckon hes going to improve.

Oh and Simmo being one of the best wingers in the game??? Never knew wingers existed in todays day and age. Hes going to have to add a few more strings to hes bow to be one of the best. (Look at the Embleys, Burtons, etc).
It's pretty easy racking possy's off the HBF.
yeah its pretty easy to rack up a lot and hold your opponent to less than 2 goals and 15 possies a game. Sure, why not. :rolleyes:

Heath Shaw seems to do it splendidly well also.

Same player. HBF tagger. Nothing special.

Simmo has plenty of strings to his bow, and when on song uses them very well. Only needs a couple of pounds and his right foot to improve and he will be dynamite.

You would probably expect most Forward Flankers to kick an average of 2 goals and 15 possies a game.

Yeah i also love how Kerr is such an awesome Forward Pocket, he loves it in that area. And how Cousins starts at FB and runs up to FF to kick a goal. Mate your argument is flawed and i have ...

I'm finding it hard to respond, because you seem a little incoherent for some reason, but I'll do my best. I suspect your struggling with the concept of defensive midfield tagger i.e Selwood, Stenglein, Braum etc, etc . These guys can get their own ball but their main role, with the Weagles 2006 gameplan, was to tag opponents, and provide blocks and space for Judd to run into. I'm not sure whether you get to see much footy, but if you grab yourself a video of some Weagles games you'll see what I mean. It was a very successful strategy when Judd was playing, and managed to sneak the Weagles a flag. Obviously such a one-man dominated game plan is only possible when you have a pleyer as good as Judd. Trying to work out why you mentioned Glass. But since you brought it up, I rate him as possibly the worse AA selection in the history of that competition as many others do. Whenever the Blues play Weagles, Fev always kicks 6 or more on the guy. Perhaps I have a different view of Glass, because Fev always seems to make him look like a basket case. Matty Scarlett is about 400% better than Glass. :)

Are we talking about a fit Grant? i.e a 2005 or what will be a 2007 Grant? If so, I wouldn't be putting your house on that.

I would. During the finals he shut down Brad Johnson for 3 qtrs and racked up 22 possessions to boot

Johnson >>> Grant

I would. During the finals he shut down Brad Johnson for 3 qtrs and racked up 22 possessions to boot
Big deal. Even bloody Shannon Watt shut him down. Johnson actually didn't have a great season by his standards anyway, neither did Grant. Well the entire Kangaroos list turned out a poor effort in 2006 so he was no orphan.
Johnson >>> Grant
Ya reckon? I know who's CV I'd prefer.

Big deal. Even bloody Shannon Watt shut him down. Johnson actually didn't have a great season by his standards anyway, neither did Grant. Well the entire Kangaroos list turned out a poor effort in 2006 so he was no orphan.
Ya reckon? I know who's CV I'd prefer.

Yeah Brad Johnson by an absolute mile!

oh and Johnno's season stats
74 goals
174 marks
467 Disposals
42 Tackles
2006 All-Australian Captain

Yeah pretty average Season from Johnno there :P

I love Brady.

Wells is better than Selwood and always will be.

Rawlings is better than Selwood and always will be.

I like Selwood but he has a lot to prove before being mentioned in the same breath as the other two guys.