Best games from each player

• Thread starter Thread starter -VC-

The other thing to take into account in the rutten v trerea or brown debate is that Truck was playing after just being named AA Full back. To pull a performance out like that after being on a high shows what strength of character he has.

I would say that one of Welshies best game would be against the Kangas at the Dome in 2005 where he kicked 8 I think on Archer who has always had the wood on him.

Mark Ricciuto - someone will have to help me with the year but I think it was around Round 14-16 and I'd put in on either 2000 or 2001 when he was moved to full forward for the last quarter down at the Cattery and kicked a bag for an unlikely come from behind win on hostile territory. That was the day Gary Ayres famously gave it to the Geelong faithful.

Probably not Roos best game in terms of stats but it was the finest piece of leadership by a single player I have ever seen. That round 4 game against Carlton at OO back in 2001 (I think).

Most inspirational game by a player I have ever seen. That was just sensational.

Probably not Roos best game in terms of stats but it was the finest piece of leadership by a single player I have ever seen. That round 4 game against Carlton at OO back in 2001 (I think).

Most inspirational game by a player I have ever seen. That was just sensational.

Agree completely. Rmemember the snap from teh boundary line adn the high five he threw at everyone after he nailed it. REckon a few crows players had broken arms after that game :p

Great call. Was at that game. 0-3, Roo takes Whitnall out in the first minute to concede a certain goal but Whitnall misses and the whole team lifts to record a great win in the club's history. His attack on the ball that day and kicking 4 goals in the wet from midfield/half forward was insprational. That or the showdown where we were down by 7 goals at 3/4 time and Roo had about 50 touches and kicked 4 goals (already mentioned in this thread).

Others:
Scott Thompson - definitely the game against Geelong at the Cattery in '05 when he had 30 touches and kicked 3 goals. The same game we were denied a blatant holding the ball/deliberate out of bounds in the dying seconds to snatch victory.

Andrew McLeod - In terms of defining games, the round 6? match against Collingwood in '97 at Victoria Park would have to go close. He really was stagnating like a number of livewire Aboriginal forward pockets have in the past before Blighty ingeniously moved him to a HBF where he would dominate. This game particularly sticks in the memory as one of the first times where his dash and skills from the backline contributed to our strong showing. Only went down by a point that day I think - and one of the few times the magpie faithful have actually applauded an opposition team off the field for their efforts.

Another one for McLeod that hasn't been mentioned has to be the '98 Prelim where he kicked 7 from midfield. Magic.

Tyson Edwards - Early 2002 when we played Freo at home. Whole team was playing sh*t against a team who had arguably the worst season in recent memory the year before. Zooma bobbed up with 5-6 goals to almost singlehandedly get us home.

Nathan Bassett - Could obviously have picked any number of games from the last 2 seasons but the one that sticks in my mind is from 2002 again I think. Round 3 if memory serves. Bassett, having struggled a bit playing as the number 1 defender comes out and completely blankets the red hot Barry Hall who'd just kicked 7 straight against the Blues at Optus, even picking up more disposals than him in the process.

Michael Doughty - Showdown round 3 2005. Having just been knocked from pillar to post from most of us for not putting his body on the line against Collingwood the previous week, Dogga comes out and plays a ripping game against Port, consistently putting his body between the ball and a rampaging Tredrea/Lade/Brogan. Went from one poor game away from being dropped to a regular in our most successful minor round team ever.

Graham Johncock - DT is on the money with the WC game, but another nomination would have to be the game either couple weeks before or after (can't remember) where he kicked 6 against the Saints at footy park and sprayed a few others out on the full if memory serves. Could have easily had 8 goals that day.

Brett Burton - The game against Richmond in '01 at the MCG (round 7 or 8) when we were 5 goals down at half time and a resurgent Crows side lead by the Birdman came out after half time and kicked about 8-9 goals in the 3rd term to set up a famous come from behind victory. I think Burton kicked 5 or 6 that night. First time we'd seen that he could dominate an opposition. Actually that's another one of McLeod's brilliant games as well. In terms of quarters, that 3rd quarter would have to be one of McLeod's best ever. Must have picked up 10 clearances that quarter along with Goody. One of the great 2nd halves we've ever been treated too.

That's all I can think of at the minute.

i think reillys best game was against the demons in 2004 i think it was, picked up about 35 possesions and his delivery was great especially to welsh who kicked 8

To hit Welsh on the t1t his delivery must've been supernatural.

He was playing free role sweeper in the back-50 for his 30 touches.

I added McLeod and Knights. I've been a little busy the past couple of days so I'll have a closer look at the thread this arvo.