Best goal you have ever seen live?

• Thread starter Thread starter topdon

T

topdon

Just thought i'd get an idea of the best goals any of you have seen live.

For me...i remember in the early 90's (forget the year...may have been 1992) Gavin Wanganeen kicking an absolute ripper from mid-air on the boundary line at Princess Park against Richmond. It still sticks in my mind as one of the best i have seen.

Another would have to be Boris' sixth (???) goal in the Centenary Match against Geelong in 1996. Tucked in on the boundary line, Bewick dodged and weaved 3 would-be tacklers and slotted the snap from the bounday. Not bad for a guy who was returning from a knee reconstruction.

I'm sure there are many others that some would call...memorable!

Oh and by the way...by best i mean...the most freakish. Something that left you awestruck!

Well it wasn't live but one of any of many by Peter Daicos on TV.

As for live the one that impressed me most was in a lower division Adelaide Uni v Flinders Uni match and a checkside from deep in the pocket by the Blacks full-forward under pressure spun along the boundary and then goal line at about an altitude of 2 inches and landed an inch behind the mid-point of the goals. Digby was the name of the rather Lockett sized full-foward in about his 14th season.

Peter Daicos has a monopoly on the best goals ever seen live. No player in history can rival his "impossible goals".

The best one I have seen live was the goal he kicked late in the drawn final against West Toast.

Impossible angle, reverse banana, Guy McKenna and Johnny Worsfold breathing down his neck and the pressure cooker situation make this a standout goal.

The entire crowd shoke their heads in disbelief at the goal they had just seen. The scary thing is that it only rates number 4 in the goals Daicos has kicked.

In Skob we trust.

Saw Bernie (during his Dog incarnation), kick one from the outer wing at the Junction one day (must have been in '77). To the Fitzroy Street end, it was. Must have gone 85 metres!

Another freak goal to that end at that oval was courtesy of one Gary Ablett in 1984. He kicked from about 50m out on the boundary in front of the Kevin Murray Stand; crowd gave him a big razz as it looked to be sailing straight out of bounds, until a blustery sou-wester blew in from behind the stand right at the opportune time, caught hold of the footy, and blew it straight through the middle as we watched on, gobsmacked!

Must be plenty of others from the more modern era. Lynchy got a bewty against the Hawks at Waverley a year or three or four ago...

A few of my personal fav's..

I remember Paul Hudson kicked a goal virtually over his head from 50 one day at Waverley when he kicked a lazy 9 against the Pies, pretty fair goal, he was kicking them out of his @rse that day.

Glen Bowyer's goal in the Elim Final vs Geelong last year was freakish....considering his foot skills are pathetic! Tucked deep in the pocket he received a handpass from the MONSTAA!, he didn't even look at the goals but somehow he managed to curl a banana straight through the middle from an impossible angle.

Daniel Harford kicked a freak goal in 1996 against Essendon at the MCG. He did 2 blind turns and somehow snapped a miracle goal from the Olympic Stand pocket.

The best goal IMO has to be Gary Buckenara's after the siren in the 87 Prelim. I know it wasn't 'freakish' but just imagine the pressure! A swirly breeze, 35 - 40 metres out, kick it and you're into a GF, miss and you're out.....superb goal under the circumstances.

So many more to talk about....but Bruce awaits on the TV. It better not be a let down....:mad:

im with topdon on this one, best goal ive seen was the wanganeen one at optus against richmond, it was freakish

the other would have to be matty lloyd against the roos in 99, pretty similar, kicked out of mid air at the G infront of the members
awesome goal

Wanga's one was in '94 at Optus.

What about Ablett in the '89 Preliminary Final. Baulked Paul Hamilton, took a bounce and dobbed it from 50.

Also, another Ablett special was against Collingwood in 1989. Sandy Roberts was the caller, and his commentary has now become Channel 7 folklore : "Here is the magician at work, he shoots towards goal....... What. More. Can. You. Say."

I also remember a freak Ablett goal in 1993 against the Bombers (one of his 14 that day), when he kicked a reverse banana to the Ponsford stand end, from in front of the AFL members. I was like : "What the heck!!!"

But Micky McGuane at the MCG in 1994 against Carlton would have to be close to the best. Micheal Mitchell for the Tigers in 1990 wouldn't be far behind either. He took, 10 bounces from full back to full-forward and kicked the goal of the year (he won both goal and mark of the year that season)

And does anyone remember an absolutely freak goal from Andrew Bews at Kardinia Park in the mid 80's? It won goal of the year too.

Sandy bettered that Ablett statement the following year.

Daicos kicked another freak goal and he said "the master at work".

The goal Bews kicked was against Footscray in 1986. He managed to drop the ball, and retain it and kick a goal down at Kardinia Park.

For freakishness a Bernie Evans goal in the 86 semi out a Waverly is up there.

Ball is thrown in from the boundary 35m from the small scoreboard end. its wet heavy and 20 odd minutes into the last Q.

Rucks go up, no clear knock out, ball bounces off ruckmans hands towards Evans who wildly just swings a boot out at it, BANG, connects with the sweetest torp you have ever seen. Heads off like an exocet straight through the high diddle diddle, good night Hawks. Still want to meet the smar@rse Blue who said to me as i was leaving 'thats your season finished'! (Well i had to get a little dig in after talking up a bagger)!

Couple of others, Jarmans stroll past a few North blokes, picks the ball up one handed, blind turns and slots it from fifty at Waverly about 93. Might not sound much, but truly it was poetic how fluid his motion was.

Matthews 85 prelim coming back on in the last Q after a hiding from Hardie for 3 Q's, attacks the ball, BANGS spins out of a tackle and snaps a classic 'Barney' goal. TWICE. It was truly the last role for the greatest ive seen play the game.

Winmar with an 75m torp to sink the Hawks at Moorabbin after some brilliant lead up play. Quinlan and those monsters from 60 plus, 3 times in the 83 Qualifying final!

Yea, been alot of great goals kicked! ;)

I didn't see it live :(....But, I loved Daicos' goal in the 1990 GF.
The 2nd one he kicked in the 3rd quarter.
The commentry..."Over the head of Thompson it goes. Daicos, this is were he's at his best!.......The Master!
Very Speciallllll Bruce!

best goal

Was anyone at the 2000 Elimination Final between Hawthorn Vs Geelong. The goal that Glen Bowyer kicked from the boundary brought the house down. That was the best goal I have seen in a long time.

Round 19 of 1995.
Bulldogs V Melbourne at WO.
Richard Osborne gathered the ball in the centre, dodged around 3 players whilst taking 3 bounces and he ran to 50 metres out on a 60 degree angle and drilled it.

Also the Petre Daicos goal in the 1990 quater final.
Gavin Brown picked up the ball from 50 metres out, gives the hands of to Darren Millane who then passes to Daicos 35 metres out on a 85 degree angle and drills it.

Originally posted by Grendel
Couple of others, Jarmans stroll past a few North blokes, picks the ball up one handed, blind turns and slots it from fifty at Waverly about 93. Might not sound much, but truly it was poetic how fluid his motion was.
Yeah Gren, that's my Hawthorn favourite, along with the Brick Bowyer and the fat boy slotting the winner from the boundary against the Cats in the 1991 Second Semi. And Bungy's at the Western on his left after that great pass from Tim Allen.

In the interests of balance, the best goal I've seen kicked against us was Derek Kickett in 1993 at Waverley. He got it about 70 out, took on about four tackles, and each tackle just slid off him. "Ball!" we screamed each time, but no-one ever managed to grab him.

Then he languidly leans back and slams a 75 metre torp post high off one step.

Bast@rd! :D

I didnt see it live but have it on Video was Steve Koloniuks goal VS the pies in 1990. Took on Graeme Wright 2 bounces drilled it from 40 to put the dogs 2pts up and beat the pies who were uo the top.

Malcolm Blight's goal after the siren against Carlton in 1976 from 70 meters out.I was there that day and this goal would have to be the best i've seen.

AFL -

Adelaide v Melbourne 1995 at Footy Park...Jeff Hilton at the corporate box members pocket with a kick VERY similar to Merendas goal at Footy Park this year except it was better because that pocket is impossible.

SANFL -
Two that stick in my mind
1989 Escort Cup grand final Port v Glenelg
with 2 minutes left Scott Hodges misses the mark it rolls towards the boundary in the pocket area...he runs at it picks it up and in one movement snaps it over his shoulder for a miracle goal - which also put us in front in the GF (we won by 4 points)

1996 Prelim final Port v Norwood
5 seconds to go Hodges gets a free in the left hand pocket to the new scoreboard end at footy park. The breeze was impossible...the angle wasnt that bad - if there was no wind most players would kick it with ease....but seeing as there was a 8 goal breeze going across the face of goal - Hodges had to kick it in the perfect spot so the wind would blow it back into goal....anyone thats tried this knows its pretty difficult as the wind can blow the ball across the face.

Deep in the pocket, he lines up, and kicks it dead perfectly - noone else could of kicked it that perfectly...siren goes 5 seconds later...port win by 4 points and go on to win the Grand Final.
It wasnt freakish like Ablett style, but it was a magic kick as he literally had to thread a needle with the ball.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
In the interests of balance, the best goal I've seen kicked against us was Derek Kickett in 1993 at Waverley. He got it about 70 out, took on about four tackles, and each tackle just slid off him. "Ball!" we screamed each time, but no-one ever managed to grab him.

Then he languidly leans back and slams a 75 metre torp post high off one step.

That was 1992, actually. It was the first game. I won't bring up what happned in the re-match.

Dunstall's goal at the Western Oval was a ripper too. He took on half the Bulldog team and dobbed ii with his left footy! Classic.

And does anyone remember Allen Jackovichs goal agaisnt North in 1991 at the MCG (it was to the Put Road end and the GSS was being constructed)? The ball came out of a ruck contest, and no one hit the ball. Before it hit the ground, Jakovich stuck his foot out, and kicked the ball through the goals. Unbelievable.

I also remember Darryl White kickig a classic at Carrara against the Bulldogs. Pity there was only 3,000 people there to see it. :rolleyes:

Re: THAT pocket at Football Park.

Does anyone remember Tony Hall kicking an impossible goal from THAT pocket in a state game against the Vics. He was dead-set on the boundary line, on the run, from about 50 metres out, and he kind-of checksided it through the middle. No one has done that at Football Park in about 10,000 attempts.

I was directly behind the Daicos goal against the Weagles in 1990, and could see how it was never going to miss. Unbelievable.

Also on television the Allen Jakovich goal against North out of the air was the best improvisation I have ever seen. He kicked 11 that day. He was only great for a short time, but he was spectacular and worth going to the footy just to watch him.