Best individual performance ever?

Actually remember the stats from this game as Matthews was my favourite player. He had 38 kicks, 12 marks, 8 handballs and kicked 11 goals. Marks were not simple uncontested ones in those days which make it even more remarkable

wow, imagine those dreamteam points! And leigh matthews would have been up there in your choice for captain too!

Just those 4 stats are 232 points! that's amazing! and as people have stated previously, this was in an era where high team possession counts simply didn't exist!

to SLF:
Forwards don't get an easy ride at all. The game has changed so instead of conceding a free kick in a one-on-one, you put a 3rd man up to block the pass or make a spoil. They weren't doing that 10-15 years ago, not to the extent it's done now.

The simple physics of the game is, that once something becomes easier, tactics and style of play changes to make it harder again.

Buddy had three times as many free kicks against him this year than for him. I'm certainly not saying he did any all-time memorable performances, but to say that he got an easy ride to the 100 goals is just rubbish.

Dylan mate, don't fall into the trap of believing everything now is better.

Franklin is an excellent athlete and quite a talent, but plays in an era when forwards get an unbelievably easy ride. And even then he still plays for frees.

If Carey was 22 in today's game, he'd have the ton by Round 10. They'd rename the sport Careyball.

Similarly, Leigh Matthews was simply unbeliavable in his mix of skill, courage, hardness and desire to win.

There is no mid type player going round now, including Judd, who can hold a candle to Matthews.
only put down buddy because the guy said not to:D

lol about carey ball. unfortunately all i can remember about carey is his time at adelaide and he was shocking for us.

also i could see ablett been up there 1 day. he can turn it on when his team is having a bad day and pull off some big things.

was just thinking blight has to win this for that goal he kicked on the Toyota add. that was a great effort:thumbsu:

but really i dont have a clue who would win but im enjoying reading about some of the games that these freak players had.

Far from the best performance ever but Warren Tredreas 22 disposals, 17 marks and 8.4, before dislocating his knee cap was amazing(Round 7, vs. Carlton, 1998). Particularly considering he was only 19 at the time.

I remember Matthews licking 8 against Melbourne in 80 - 81 whilst playing first rover.
He would just spin around blokes and put through the wobbly punts from any angle.

Dylan mate, don't fall into the trap of believing everything now is better.

Franklin is an excellent athlete and quite a talent, but plays in an era when forwards get an unbelievably easy ride. And even then he still plays for frees.

If Carey was 22 in today's game, he'd have the ton by Round 10. They'd rename the sport Careyball.

Similarly, Leigh Matthews was simply unbeliavable in his mix of skill, courage, hardness and desire to win.

There is no mid type player going round now, including Judd, who can hold a candle to Matthews.
im sorry but i don't think players from back then could make much of an impact of today's game

So with your logic Craig Bradley and Deisel Williams would be solid players at best if they were playing in their prime today.
diesel might still be good at the stopages but the speed of the game would kill him, i just think that today's footballers are more talented profeissional athletes then those from the past and footy is a much harder game then it was back then

I saw Greg Williams 53-possession game against the Saints on the telly - the best individual game I have seen (and I was at Dunstall's 17 vs Richmond).

But the greatest game I have seen was Wayne Schimmelbusch in the Elimination Final at Waverley in 1982. Not for the stats, but you could see in the last quarter there was no way he was going to let his team lose. It was phenomenal.

I've given up on judging quality of preformance by stats alone. 90% of stats in today's AFL are uncontested and trivial (and in the 70s it was 80%).That's why I don't complain about the umpires Brownlow votes - I reckon they are judging on what they see is important and influential - and they are in probably the best position to see.

Stats are fun for Dream Teams (if that's your go) and internet forums (hey, that's us! Forget everything I said).

Aker - in the wet at the Gabba v Geelong 4 or 5 years ago. 30+ quality touches, 5 goals - 2 of which were so f#*king good even Aker was surprised by how good he was. Was simply an outstanding individual game. Close to perfect.

Agreed, Franklin hasnt put in a all-time memorable performace quite yet, but to say that it is easier for forwards today is garbage, when infact it is harder. Put away the crack pipe.;)

Aker - in the wet at the Gabba v Geelong 4 or 5 years ago. 30+ quality touches, 5 goals - 2 of which were so f#*king good even Aker was surprised by how good he was. Was simply an outstanding individual game. Close to perfect.

Yeah that was an awesome performance

Still cannot forget James Heard's performance against the eagles where he kicked goals, won clearances and directed play against a gold class midfield. His sheer will changed the direction of the match and won Essendon the game. And there is that famous embrace with the crowd after kicking a goal to seal the game. It may not be statistically the greatest, but I cannot remember seeing one man "do it all" against champions like Sir James did that day.

Best individual performance ever?