Kufa, Iraq
Banhammer Big House Under 70s
Ill let you be the judge of the word "BEST"
Who are they?

Best Kick
Mark Ricciuto IMO, is the best kick in the team and also a most accurate kick for goal. I just love to see the Roo punch a bullet like drop punt into our forward 50 onto the chest of Burton when both are at top speed.
Roo to Duck is starting to look ominous.
Second best = Goodwin

Best Mark
Mark Stevens gets the nod here because he seems to take some great grabs just when you think hes under the ball or out of the contest. I reckon he could go up a level this year with his marking ability
Second best = Burton

Best Handball
Andrew McLeod threads the needle on this one with his customary ankle deep pickup followed by the deft ball between two opposing players into the arms of a team mate
Second best = Edwards

Best Tackle
Mark Bickley seems to have that low centre of gravity which enables him to lay a great tackle although you dont see many laid in todays game ( I used to call him best on ground once because he seemed to throw himself into his work)
Second best = Massie

Originally posted by topjars
Ill let you be the judge of the word "BEST"
Who are they?

Best Kick

Talk about hedging your bets, but I'll give 3 answers on this one:

Long bombs - agree with topjars - Mark Ricciuto

Shot at goal up to 50 metres - Scotty Welsh

Field kicking either foot to a team-mate - Tyson Edwards

Best Mark

Ben Marsh by a country mile!!! Just testing whether you were awake!!! :D

This is the Crows weakest area overall

I'll go for Brett Burton because he can take the unbelievable speccy, from Mark Stevens who takes strong marks under heaps of pressure. In 2003 - Wayne Carey. :)

Best Handball

Couldn't disagree with topjars on this one McLeod from Edwards. If there was a category of best skills, it would be the same answer - McLeod from Edwards.

Best Tackle

Mark Bickley has been a great tackler over the years - absolutely fearless. He has a genuine contender for his crown in young Mattner who is a real junkyard dog in his attitude. Mark Ricciuto is the fiercest - absolutely bloody scary. Lance Whitnall could attest to that if they dug his head out of the Optus Oval goalsquare! ;)

I agree with pretty much everything so far. Except maybe Welsh on a set shot, he was terrible in the preliminary.

I think Matthew Bode deserves an honourable mention for his kicking - I really rate him from a set shot - and his tackling.

Best Kick

Well I have two thoughts on this one. I think "on the run" Simon Goodwin is our best kick, I love seeing him run into our 50 aiming at the goals - they nearly always go through!

Matty Bode from a set mark is pretty accurate. I would put my money on him.

Best Mark

Again two scenarios here. The most spectacular marker must go to Brett Burton. He just flys!

Stevo for a one on one mark is our best - no doubt about it. Though Benny and Nigel do pretty well also.

Best Handball

No doubt - Mr Magic himself Andrew McLeod

Best Tackler

Bicks closely followed by Roo.

k
xx

Originally posted by DaveW
I agree with pretty much everything so far. Except maybe Welsh on a set shot, he was terrible in the preliminary.

Scotty did miss a couple in the preliminary, which I'll put down to his sore groin.

He kicked 29.8 for the year on top of 12.2 in the pre-season. That's a total of 41.10 or a conversion percentage of better than 80%. Wouldn't be too many in the whole AFL who could beat that one.

I'd take a fit Scotty Welsh kicking for goal any time.

• Banned
Re: Re: Best Kick, Best Mark, Best Handball, Best Tackle

Originally posted by macca23
[Best Mark

Ben Marsh by a country mile!!! Just testing whether you were awake!!! :D

LOL
:D

Just on tackles there is no better sight than a mean hip and shoulder.
Remember the day Roo levelled Dean Kemp in mid air with a bonecruncher?

Remember Bickleys first game at Windy Hill?
I doubt whether he does

Id forgotten about Mattners tackling efforts, he must be quick over the ground in the first few metres

Seems to me that there are quite a few contenders in each of the four categories.

Tough to define the term "best", but for me I think consistency under pressure is really important. Good consistent execution is a must too, especially under pressure.

Goody would be up there on my list for best kick for sure, as well as Roo, McLeod and Edwards.

Not sure if there is a clear winner for best mark, but Stevo, Burton and Hart would all be up there.

McLeod wins my best handball award, but Goody, Hart, Smart and Roo closely follow as well.

Bicks is one of our best tacklers, and I would also rate Mattner highly too as well (like macca did) -- I think he got 12 or 13 tackles in one game this year, which is impressive for a rookie. Loved Stinga's bonecrunching tackle in the Melbourne semi (can't remember who it was) that have the guy a 3 minute concussion -- top effort that was. He'd be up on that list too I think.

Re: Re: Re: Best Kick, Best Mark, Best Handball, Best Tackle

Remember Bickleys first game at Windy Hill?
I doubt whether he does
Actually, he does. Have you read his biography? (I think it only came out this year. I got it on sale at about $5 from RRP $30!) He said the crowd at windy hill at his first game were into him from before the first bounce, "you're no good, Bickley" or something like that, I'll have to re-read it to get the exact quotes.
(It's saturday night and I've just got home - I'm not in the best of states)

Best Kick
The Roo for a set shot on goal would have to have a very high % rate for convervion from inside & outside 50,

Use to love S Goodwins disposal by foot when on the run but he missed quite a few last year,

]Best Mark
Might go against the norm here in selecting S Welsh but in my opinion he is a terrific mark for his size & comes up with some beauties against tough opposition,

Best Handball
Can't go past A Mcleod for handballing as he cetainly can thread the eye of a needle with his quick movement of the ball,

Best Tackle
Same as everyone else in going for Bicks who is just a great in & under player who tackles hard non stop for the whole game,
Have also been impressed with M Bode tackling as well as S Welsh for his effort in keeping the ball in the forward zone

Best Kick

Shot on goal on the run: Simon Goodwin

Shot on Goal inside 50: Scott Welsh

Shot on goal outside 50: Mark Ricciuto

Delivery accuracy: Andrew McLeod closely followed by Tyson Edwards

Best Mark

Contested: Mark Stevens

Specy: Brett Burton

Best Handball

Andrew McLeod

Best Tackle

Tough one but I will focus on the younger players: Mattner Stenglein Bode Welsh and John**** can all lay very good effective tackles:D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Best Kick

Shot on goal on the run: Simon Goodwin

Shot on Goal inside 50: Scott Welsh

Shot on goal outside 50: Mark Ricciuto

Delivery accuracy: Andrew McLeod closely followed by Tyson Edwards

Best Mark

Contested: Mark Stevens

Specy: Brett Burton

Best Handball

Andrew McLeod

Best Tackle

Tough one but I will focus on the younger players: Mattner Stenglein Bode Welsh and John**** can all lay very good effective tackles:D
I agree with most of Stiffy's post.

With regard to the marking, I would add McGregor who took quite a few marks across CHB & should only get better in 2003. With the addition of Carey too, I expect our marking power (which has been ordinary in the past), should improve heaps.

We have some great young tacklers mentioned above, but the old-pro in Bickley is still the best.

Best Kickers:

On the run - McLeod and Goodwin are some of our best although Goodwin is poor on his right foot.

For set shots I like Mark Ricciuto.

For general accuracy with passing and shots on goal, Chris Ladhams is as good as we've got.

Best Markers:

For his size Tyson Stenglein is very good. Burton has good jumping ability and good hands which makes him an obvious choice.

Nathan Bassett in my opinion is underrated in his marking and is one of our best. Particularly when he plays up forward and loses his defensive tendancies, his attack on the marking contest is impressive.

Best Handballers:

Andrew McLeod, Tyson Edwards, Matthew Bode, Simon Goodwin, Tyson Stenglein seem to be the best but probably because as in-and-under midfielders they do it more often.

Best Tacklers:

Players low to the ground such as Edwards and Bickley are very good. Stenglein is my pick as our best. Mattner hasn't played enough to judge fairly but appears to be a great tackler.

Did you see the photo of Hentschel in today's paper taking that screamer of a mark in the scratch match at Strathalbyn? He was a long way up!!

In time he could well become one of our best marks. :)

Yeah I did, Who was the bloke in the foreground? Looked like Bode in Matthew Smiths number.....or was it Smith:confused:

It had me buggared too TJ. :confused: Like you I thought it was Bode, but it was Smith's number. Too small to be Smith though, so I'm going for Bode.

Best Kick, Best Mark, Best Handball, Best Tackle