Best non-A/VFL comebacks

Mar 16, 2001
Snout's Bar, Glenelg Oval
GLENELG
There is a bit of hoo-haa on the other boards about Essendon's comeback from 69 points down and how it may have been the best game ever, etc.

I would be interested to hear of other people's memories of the best comebacks in SANFL, WAFL or other leagues.

I'll start:

15th of March, 1986. Glenelg v Sturt in an Escort Cup night match. Sturt ran circles around the Bays for the entire first half, leading by 10 points at quarter time and 24 at half time. In the third quarter Sturt held Glenelg scoreless while piling on 5.5. IIRC at 3/4 time the score was something like 11.6 to 2.7 in Sturt's favour, give or take a few points. Only in recent years have I seen the Bays on the arse end of a thumping like that.

I was there, 14 years old, with a couple of mates. At 3/4 time we went to McDonalds for some food (and I do use the term loosely). After munching our burgers we were walking back, debating whether or not to jump on a bus and go straight home. We heard a yell from the stadium and decided to see what was happening before leaving.

We re-entered footy park to discover that the quarter was 5 minutes old. Glenelg had kicked 2 goals and as we entered they were nailing another. Encouraged, we climbed back up to the undercover terrace behind the northern goals.

The Bays were alight - heaven knows where they had been for the last 3 quarters, but they'd gotten a sniff and were lifting all over the ground. The likes of it I have never seen - I'd almost believe they'd each taken a hit of speed at 3/4 time. I would further believe that Sturt had been taking Valium. Where they had run circles around the Bays in the first 3 quarters they now looked lethargic - and as the quarter grew older, shell-shocked.

Glenelg piled on 9.3 to 0.3 during that quarter, and with each goal the crowd was getting more and more worked up. We were going ape**** in the stands - couldn't believe what we were seeing. When the siren went Sturt was still in front but unfortunately for them, big Jim West had grabbed a mark in the forward lines just as the siren sounded. We didn't even hear the siren for all of the yelling. Westy nailed the Tigers' 10th goal, putting them a point up - and it was only then that we realised the siren had gone as every person wearing black and gold - players and trainers - covered the length of the ground to swarm on top of Westy. We were over the moon. Tore out of footy park hollering at top volume, screaming all the way home on the bus.

To date, I've never seen a better comeback by any team anywhere. I also learned a good lesson: never leave a game early, no matter how bleak the prospects. Even if the Bays had gone down, I'd still have missed a good fightback.

Right - now lets hear what the rest of you remember. I recall a Sturt match at Glenelg Oval were the Bays blew a 40-point lead at half time to lose by almost as much in the early '80s; you Sturt fans might remember that one. No doubt Macca will bring up the '94 GF again but surely there are a few other notable Port comebacks? And how about something from the WAFL fans?

Not sure how accurate this is because a) I was youngish and b) it was a long time ago but here goes:
Unley Oval 1982 Sturt playing Centrals and midway thru the 2nd qtr Sturt develop a 60 something point lead.
Last kick of the half is from Wilbur Wilson which clearly was a point but was given a goal.
Sturt cracked the SHlTS with this decision, Centrals came back to win by 2 points and I still think it is Centrals if not the SANFL's biggest comeback ever.
To make it worse, we get back to my Uncle's car and its been broken into and has a Centrals sticker slapped onto the windscreen.
SMithy

Great topic!!

Well sorry Uncle Steve...but the best ever comeback ive ever seen just has to be the 1994 Grand Final. The fact that it was a grand final, and we werent even in the game for a half.

What happened:

Eagles went straight into the grand final thru beating (well thrashing) port by 80 points i think in the 2nd semi. Port defeated Centrals in the prelim by a comfortable margin, but Pooley was suspended for headbutting for the grand final.

Eagles started the grand final red hot favourites. And they lived up to that kicking 6.2 to 0.4 to the 25 minute mark of the 1st quarter. Ports first goal came thru Ginever after getting a free in front of goal after a melee. Hodges kicked another a minute later after taking a supurb one hander and getting a 25 metre penalty. 1/4 score was 6.2 to 2.4 the eagles way.

The second q uarter the rain came down and the margin was the same at half time. Eagles 8.5 to Port 4.7. Port in the third term came out firing but just could not kick a goal. Stephen Williams kicked a goal on the 3/4 time siren to cut the margin back to 12 points at the last stage. Eagles 9.7 to Port 6.13.

Then the magical last quarter!! The most amazing quarter of football ive ever seen. The Eagles were tired as they had played the game of their lives to that stage. But nothing could stop Port Adelaide in that final term.
A tthis stage Daryl Wakelin was Ports best - after shutting out Phillipous influence on the game. Hodges only had 3 kicks for 1 goal at 3/4 time. THe sziller brothers were the Eagles best, with Spher who was on Hodges.

Final Quarter:
1.00 - Rohan Smith collects ball at Wing and boots it to a leading Hodges 45m from goal straight in front
1.30 - Hodges kicks the goal. Eagles by 6 points.
2.00 - Walker has shot on goal for Eagles from 50m but boots it on the full.
5.00 - Malakellis picks up the ball and turns on 50 and boots the ball to the square. Hodges takes a two grab mark one-out with Spher. (this is wherei always get shivers)
5.20 - Hodges kicks goal. Scores even.
5.45 - Rohan Smith kicks to the leading Hodges who drops the mark 40m from goal. Ball up.
(the commentary here i will never forget..."ROHAN WILLIAMS....SMITH...THATS HIS NAME...KICKS TO HOOOODDGGEGSSSs ...HES DROPPED IT, NO FREE KICK PLAY ONS THE CALL....OH SCOTTY...(righto rob, we'll get you a valium), took his eyes off the footy, he would eat them normally...smith, HODGES...WHOS GOT IT...PEDLER IS IT...MCLEOD...GOAL THE MAGGIES ....THE LEAD ITS FIRST)

6.25 - Darren Smith kicks forward from the ruck contest 30m from goal, lands in Hodges arms in the goal square but Spher gets a hand in the way, Hodges taps ball forward to Mcleod who soccers off the ground for a goal. Magpies by 6 points
7.45 - Daryl Wakelin kicks the ball from the wing to Hodges who gently nudges Spher out the way and marks 30 out from goal
8.20 - Hodges kicks the goal. Magpies by 12 points
9.30 - Ball is kicked forward to Hodges one-out in the goal square. ball is punched away, knocks it towards pedler who picks up and misses the ball having a shot...ball is rushed thru. Magpies by 13 points.
10.00 - Pedler snaps towards Hodges who is on the goal square. Spher is in front but drops the easy chest mark...Hodges pushes ball to himself and quickly snaps round the corner to - 17 year old Andrew Mcleod who takes a supurb mark one-out in the goalsquare.
10.30 - Mcleod kicks the goal. Magpies by 19 points
12.00 - Deliberate - free to Port. Williams kicks ball forward to the goal square where Malakellis roves perfectly picks up the ball, spins round and snaps on the top of the goal square for another goal. Magpies by 25 points
14.30 - ball kicked to hodges who is caught behind...SPher runs with the ball unaware that Hodges is chasing behind him. SPher backs off the pace a bit and gets caught holding the ball by Hodges 30m out from goal.
15.00 - Hodges kicks the goal - Magpies by 31 points
17.50 - Malakellis has a running shot from 50m but misses - Magpies by 32 points
19.00 - Morphett misses from 30m out for Eagles - Magpies by 31 points
20.00 - Mcleod takes one hander 50 from goal but misses - Magpies by 32 points
22.00 - Ginever kicks freak snap goal after Hodges nearly takes the best mark in the history of the sport. Magpies by 38 points
22.30 - Ginever takes one hander 50 from goal but doesnt make the difference.
24.00 - Hodges takes mark after Ginever is decked behind play 25m out.
24.30 - Hodges kicks goal - Magpies by 44 points
26.00 - Morphett kicks goal for Eagles - Magpies by 38 points
28.00 - rushed behind by Tylor - Magpies by 37 points

Siren sounds Magpies win by 37 points in a remarkable comeback.
The most amazing 16 minutes of football...well quarter of football ive ever seen in my life. 8 goals in 15 minutes - amazing.
Thats why Hodges is seen as a champion - he kicked 5 goals in the last quarter and nearly singlehandedly won us the game - something he did many many times.
Scott Hodges summed it up perfectly when he yelled "YOU BLOODY BEAUTY" into the microphone after getting his medal.
THat was the last game i ever doubted Ports ability to win a game from any position as well - never again will i say "nope, we cant win this"

Ill speak of other Port comebacks afterwards

Three other Port comebacks spring immediatly to mind:

1996 Prelim Final vs Norwood - Probably the best ever game of football ive ever seen - definatly the best SANFL game ive seen. I cant remember a better game of football. It was tough, it was hard, it was wet and it was skillful...and port won with a kick 5 seconds before the siren!!!

In the last quarter there was about a 9 goal wind going across the face of the goals...if on television from bottom of screen to top of screen. This made any kicking for goal from the bottom pockets basically impossible.

Norwood had kicked out to a three goal lead with about 15 minutes to go in the prelim final. Anthony Harvey was killing us, he had 5 goals and was clearly BOG at that stage....enter Scott Hodges who fairly bumps Harvey and breaks his collarbone in doing so - its one of the biggest bumps ive ever seen.
No more Harvey.

Rohan Smith kicks a great runing goal from the boundary to put port back in the game only 2 goals behind. Hodges then misses three set shots at goal - one from 5 metres out.

David Brown snaps a goal and there is suddenly 4 points in it. In the last minute Hodges getes a free kick for in the back 35m out in that pocket.
with only 8 seconds left in the match - he slots thru the most amazing goal ive seen. To kick a goal with the wind going across the face deep in the pocket - he had to kick the ball basically in ONE spot the width of the football to get it in. A little wider of this mark and it would of been a point. But he kicked it perfectly, exactly where he had to kick it and it went thru for a goal. Ball up, 5 seconds later the siren goes. The first time i ever cried after a football game just from complete shock of winning.

We went on to win the 1996 Grand Final - Hodges kicking 7 of 11 goals in a grand final we werent supposed to win. HODGES YOU LEGEND.
I memorised the commentary of the last 2 minutes as well.
Trigg: Tredrea QUICK SNAP FOR GOAL but its across the face...its still in business tho...oh Hodges did he snare it beautifully, theyve still got some space Hodges oh that will be a free....well....i said at the start of the game as you see the norwood fans and the bench devastated....i said at the start of the game that this man is to Port Adelaide what Lockett is to the Sydney Swans...and if youll remember two weeks ago in a preliminary final youll remember Scott Hodges...and Lockett kicked one after the siren"
Mckay: now he'll have to kick a goal here, cos we're 29 minutes gone and the breeze is going from left to right, this is one of the toughest kicks ever
Trigg: Hes a long way out and he hits at it....HES KICKED IT I THINK...HODGES KICKS IT
Mckay: I dont believe it
Trigg: PORT ADELAIDE YOU ARE MIRACLE WORKERS
Mckay: that is unbelievable
Trigg: Hodges...has...kicked it
Sheldon: What a player...that is one of the most difficult shots at goal you could ever imagine, the breeze is going strongly from left to right, he has had to thread that thru the eye of a needle

Trigg: lets get back to it, 4 points the difference, Port Adleaide are 9.12, Norwood are 9.8 we have played 29 and a half minutes into this last quarter of the prelim final...Norwood need it to go down and they need to go down very quickly otherwise they are out of business
Mckay: They need to kick a goal as a point wont do...great courage fiacchi he took the ball and carried thru AND THERES THE SIREN...PORT ADELAIDE HAVE STOLEN IT...SCOTT HODGES KICKS A MIRACLE GOAL 20 SECONDS FROM THE END OF THE GAME...this will go down as an all time classic"

Unbelievable finish.

2) Port v Norwood 97 2nd semi

this wasnt a last gasp victory or anything but i thought it was a good comeback.
Port were 24 points down halfway thru the third term and werent playing very well when suddenly we kicked 8 goals in 8 minutes to wrestle the game back our way and we went on to make the grand final

3) Port v West 2001 - unbelivable game of football. Tough and hard...we were 4 goals down into time on (6 goals down 15 minutes into the last quarter) and we got up and won by a point with a rushed behind seconds from the siren by Mark Wade. This was one of hte sweetest victories ive seen as the umpiring was that one sided towards West it was bordering on disgraceful - in fact it was disgraceful. BUT WE STILL WON!!!!!!!

there is others like Ports one point win over West last year in same circumstances, ports win at whyalla 98 which was a great comeback etcetc but i could be here forever then!

How come no one mentioned this one...

1979 Grand Final
3/4 time - Sturt were leading by 10 goals.
Norwood won by 1 point.

This was the year Sturt had only lost one minor round game.

(Ok, it's better left unmentioned.)

and in about '82 I remember listening to a game between Sturt and either Norwood or Glenelg.
At the 19 minute mark of the final quarter, Sturt were down by 5 goals, yet they won by 7 points. Six goals in about 10 minutes to take the game.

AeroBoy

Originally posted by AeroBoy
How come no one mentioned this one...

1979 Grand Final
3/4 time - Sturt were leading by 10 goals.
Norwood won by 1 point.

This was the year Sturt had only lost one minor round game.

(Ok, it's better left unmentioned.)

and in about '82 I remember listening to a game between Sturt and either Norwood or Glenelg.
At the 19 minute mark of the final quarter, Sturt were down by 5 goals, yet they won by 7 points. Six goals in about 10 minutes to take the game.

AeroBoy

That'd be 1978 Aeroboy and it is better left alone.

Yep, 1982, I was celebrating my 10th bday at Norwood Bowl and the Uncle was furious he had to attend as we played at Norwood Oval down the road the same day.
6 goals in 9 minutes to defeat the legs by 2 points with Ray Wilson kicking the winning goal.

Bloody hell Macca! Is your first name Bruce? :)

Re: 1978. Yes we will leave it alone. My blood is boiling again.

RE: 1986 Escort Cup. I'll never forget that. I thought we were going to win by 15 goals. Jim West kicked the winning goal, I've hated him ever since. The amount of abuse I took from Glenelg supporters after that game was unbeleivable.

Now.......

Greatest comeback..

4th June 1983
Norwood v Sturt at The Parade

We were missing Rick Davies, Frank Spiel and Peter Motley who were all playing in the SA team against WA in Perth. The ruck was held down by perennial reserves ruckman Peter Hargreaves and the veteran Trevor Sims. At full forward it was Ian Willmotts first ever league game.

Last Quarter - 20 Minute mark

Norwood were dominant, Jim Michalanney had just put through Norwoods 20th goal and Bruce McAvaney said "the Redlegs look home after a remarkable struggle" and "time will run out for Sturt, they need to kick 6 goals and even as good as they are I don't think they can do it". Wrong, Bruce.

Sturt then take control and kick the next 5 goals in 7 minutes.

Michael Graham sealed the result with another goal on a seemingly impossible angle. Sturt win by 7 points.

It was the most amazing game I had seen up until that point and is still the greatest comeback I have seen.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat
Bloody hell Macca! Is your first name Bruce? :)

Well no...its not lol My dads name is Bruce tho (its true)

Ive hated Jim West ever since the first time i saw him play against Port - not that he ever actually played a good game for Port but he was just an arseh*le. He went to Norwood in the stage when norwood had the 'arseh*le birgade' at Full Forward - all these heros who couldnt actually play football but were big thugs.
Chris Prime, Anthony Pierri, Ashley Reade (bit harsh cos he acutally had talent), Jim West, Christian O'brien.

Chris Prime - one of my most hated players - fat as a pig, looked like a cannibal with the beard he had. Crap player too.

Originally posted by Macca19

3) Port v West 2001 - unbelivable game of football. Tough and hard...we were 4 goals down into time on (6 goals down 15 minutes into the last quarter) and we got up and won by a point with a rushed behind seconds from the siren by Mark Wade. This was one of hte sweetest victories ive seen as the umpiring was that one sided towards West it was bordering on disgraceful - in fact it was disgraceful. BUT WE STILL WON!!!!!!!

One of the best was a night game in 94 between west & port adelaide - could have been a foundation cup match?. I was in port lincoln working and watched it on tv. I remember it something like port adeladie were 9 goals up and west had not scored a goal.
An image i'll never forget because it was so funny was when port were under siege deep in westies attack during the comeack and a player tried to kick it out towards the boundary - but kicked it on the full - then the camera panned to this guy in the crowd - completely bald a cross between uncle fester & peter garret and he was totally non plussed - very funny.

Macca - how about desribing the 7 quarters of finals footy between Jason Spehr & Tilt. Spehr gave him a bath for this period then tilt got lucky - I actually credit Mcleod with the vital last 1/4 goals.
Tilt showed his true colours at AFL level under 2 different coaches - a complete use. Good to see a description of an eagles game, as I've said before i've got the first half on tape. Pehaps you could put in the description of the 80 point second semi match.

Don't depress me anymore - especially with Anna Kournikova's just announced marriage - I wondered why she had stopped returning my calls.

That game is why I hate the backstabbing traitors of SA footy so much. No doubt the worse day of my life. I went to every GF after that day watching centrals choke in 95 & 96 - then the legs enabled me to sleep easier knowing that they had flogged port & the pain on the magpie faithful leaving early was absolutely magnificent.

Originally posted by eddie eagle

One of the best was a night game in 94 between west & port adelaide - could have been a foundation cup match?. I was in port lincoln working and watched it on tv. I remember it something like port adeladie were 9 goals up and west had not scored a goal.
An image i'll never forget because it was so funny was when port were under siege deep in westies attack during the comeack and a player tried to kick it out towards the boundary - but kicked it on the full - then the camera panned to this guy in the crowd - completely bald a cross between uncle fester & peter garret and he was totally non plussed - very funny.

nah mate - you got it wrong. It wasnt foundation cup - it was a friday night game mid season.
Yup...Port were up by about 8 or 9 goals....Troy Olsen kicked the ball out on the full and SCott Simister kicked the goal from the boundary to win it with 2 minute sleft. I think that loss put has down to 6th or 7th with only 10 games remaining - the West loss was our last loss till the second semi final loss against the eagles.
Sorta like this year - against west it was a season changing victory/loss for the port footy club.

Well one quarter is all it took for Scotty to win the premiership for us and to give Spher never ending nightmares. Notice how Jason never recovered any form after that match!

nah mate - you got it wrong. It wasnt foundation cup - it was a friday night game mid season.
Yup...Port were up by about 8 or 9 goals....Troy Olsen kicked the ball out on the full and SCott Simister kicked the goal from the boundary to win it with 2 minute sleft. I think that loss put has down to 6th or 7th with only 10 games remaining - the West loss was our last loss till the second semi final loss against the eagles.

Nice one - now you describe it, I remember that one too.

One thing though - is it possible that this match was a Friday night game and a Foundation Cup match?

If you cast your mind back to the mid-nineties, the SANFL was experimenting with the Foundation Cup format. In one year - methinks 1994 - it was merged with the regular home and away season. In the first 9 rounds there was a night match every week, and 4 or 5 matches were played in the country. After round 9 the FC was contested between the two top-placed teams mid-week. The 2 contestants were WWT and Central, with WWT winning in a very low-scoring match - 4 goals to 2 IIRC.

Was the Port-West game in question part of this merged FC/regular season competition?

From 1995 onwards the Foundation Cup has been awarded to the minor premier. Why bother, I reckon... I for one would happily support the return of a pre-season night series. Anyone else?

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Nice one - now you describe it, I remember that one too.

One thing though - is it possible that this match was a Friday night game and a Foundation Cup match?

Was the Port-West game in question part of this merged FC/regular season competition?

Why bother, I reckon... I for one would happily support the return of a pre-season night series. Anyone else?

Nah it was definatly part of the regular season cos i watched it on tele and remember just thinking "heck...thats are season over"...amazingly we came back and won theflag!

I would like the return of the old escort or foundation cup.

Some of the greatest games i can remember were those games. The 1989 Escort Cup final - unbelivable match. Hynes taking mark of the year (basically before the year started!) in the first 30 seconds of the match...Hodges kicking one of the freakiest goals ive ever seen to put Magpies in front against Glenelg and winning the cup by 3 or 4 points

I would like the return of the old escort or foundation cup.

Some of the greatest games i can remember were those games.

Yes foundation cup games were special – they were at either end of the eagles hatrick of premierships in 93-94 and helped the eagles AFL entry with the first OFFICIAL match in the fosters cup game against sydney in 1994 - well before port adelaide could put together their own “non backstabbing” bid (with very rubbery business plan/financials – (eg 35,000 spectators every week).

1993 foundation cup GF – actually contested after preseason games (unlike 94) . A match saving tackle in QTR 4 by mark kennedy on a full paced michael gaffney who tried to break the tackle & run into an open goal to put port in front – the resulting holding the ball & eagles goal at the opposite end by breuer was enough to hang on, in front of a crowd of 19,400.

Bruce Winter was sensational after the game – when the microphone was thrust into his face immediately after the siren – he said – “Not bad for a side that could not play finals footy and were going to get thrashed” – absolutely deadpan. Sticking it right up Cahill who in the lead up said that the eagles had no experience in grand finals and port had just experienced a premiership – and came out saying that any grand final port will win.

1994 foundation cup final was a low scoring affair, something like 4 goals to 2 with the eagles triumphing over centrals in their first ever meeting in a final – your memory for detail uncle steve is amazing. Eagles won their 3rd premiership in a row by beating the bulldogs on a Wednesday or Tuesday night. The combatants were decided by first vs second after round 9.

I was at that 94 Foundation Cup Final. Most bl**dy freezing night I can ever remember in Adelaide. Suprisingly a good game even though only 6 goals were scored.

Only about 9,000 people there if memory serves me right.............

I remember one Escort Cup game back in 1987...it was a double header Port v Woodville or Glenelg and West v someone.

The siren went on the first game - and the scores were level. Extra time was meant to be played as you couldnt have a tied game or something. All you see is the Port and opposition team on the boundary line wondering why the umpires are walking off the ground. The port boys began to walk off but Ebert said no - we are staying here. Then the other umpires come back...followed 10 seconds later by the next games umpires. Both sets of umpires just stopped and looked at each other....then the next thing you know bloody West have run out onto the field!!! So there was three teams and 4 umpires on the field - funniest thing ive ever seen!

I remember a game in the Woomera Football league in 1970-something where Works were leading Koolymilka by more than 15 goals at 3 quarter time which was amazing in itself because Kooly were a strong team ironically after spending years as the easybeats of the WFL anyway 'ideal centreman' Alan Trott decided to pull his finger out after playing like a flipping old tart all day and absolutely dominated an amazing last term time after time driving his bullet like left foot passes to glamour forward and reigning Mail Medallist Greg Whittle who either left the hapless Tigers defenders floundering in his wake or just jumped right over the top of them taking a number of towering marks and kicking with unerring accuracy he ended up with 18 goals and Kooly won the game comfortably.

Dunno if this counts, but in the U/15s - I care not to say what year that was !!! - we (Coorparoo) trailed Strathpine by 89 points at halftime .... 51 points at 3/4 time .... and kept the pricks scoreless in the last quarter to win by 4 points in the elimination semi. (Ended up we lost the grand final though ......)

I don't know of any turn-a-round as good as that ....

NTFL North Darwin v Wanderers 1981

North (collingwood jumpers)were a
newish team (around only 10 years )
trying to buy a premiership with lots of southerners.

Wanderers (West Torrens jumpers) had
been around 60 years as the most unsuccessful
team in the league, mainly supported
by the local larrakeyah tribe.

North Darwin were absolutely slaughtering the eagles
for 3 quarters (from memory eagles were down
at least 40 points during the 3rd quarter).

three quarter time Wanderers coach gave them
a big scream... A big scream

North stopped to a walk - Wanderers ran all over them
for the entire quarter - a compete reversal of form

Only North Darwins huge lead saved them (by a around a goal)

Best non-A/VFL comebacks