- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Geelong
- Other Teams
- have been WARPED by Geelong
Prelim final team - Motlop, Menzel, Lang + Ablett = 2018 team.

It might be early. But next year will see us contend. And seeing as crickey season began at 11.00pm last Friday night - here it is. All you hawk fans lurking. Read this and weep.
B: Zuthrie, Henderson, Bews
HB: Stewart, Taylor, Tuohy
C: Duncan, J Selwood, Menegola
HF: Motlop, Hawkins, Parfitt
FF: Cockatoo, Buzza, Stringer
R: Smith, Dangerfield, Ablett
IB: Guthrie, Blicavs, S Selwood, Kolo
Couple of questions based on last two GF winners:
-Where does one buy a...."mosquito fleet?"
-Is playing land of the giants a viable path to a flag?
No and we need to stop picking a tall side.
They dont have to be anything special all they have to do is apply pressure and either lock the ball in our forward line or cause a turnover, Richmonds smalls do nothing on the scoreboard more often than not.What do other posters think about Gregson and McCarthy next year ? how good can they be if they stay fit ?
I like it. Not much forward tackling pressure. Not needed. We got goal kickers there.Bews Henderson Stewart
Tuohy Taylor Cockatoo
Duncan S.Selwood Guthrie
Smith Hawkins Stringer
Motlop Dangerfield Menzel
Smith J.Selwood Ablett
Parfitt McCarthy Menegola Buzza
Emer. Zuthrie Blicavs Kolo Gregson Parsons Ruggles Gardner House Simpson Abbott Henry draftees
Lang Stanley Thurlow murder ghs gone
Look at that attacking high scoring football team

A couple of ideas ruminating in my head.
The trend we've seen - is that when danger or selwood have been out, the lesser lights have lifted. Given richmonds success with a smaller forward line and our need for a second "tall" forward, I reckon we could revamp by
*having danger play as a permanent full forward with the occasional run through the middle. A midfield of
Selwood, selwood, Duncan, ablett, menegola and Cam Guthrie - with Blicavs tagging - is still a top 4 midfield.
*i loved what I saw Of Jermaine Jones in the VFL this year. Another big preseason, and he could play the genuine small forward crumbling role. A front 6 with
Hawkins, Dangerfield, cockatoo, parfitt, jones the resting mid (ablett/menegola) is quality.
*back 6 of Henderson, taylor, Stewart, Bews, Tuohy and Zuthrie is quick and good. It's more mobile than this years back 6.
Imo the structure and plan will work. What a missing is the true trust and dedication to the team. There are about 6 blokes that put in that ultimate team first attitude and 2 of them just retired.Couple of questions based on last two GF winners:
-Where does one buy a...."mosquito fleet?"
-Is playing land of the giants a viable path to a flag?
Imo the structure and plan will work. What a missing is the true trust and dedication to the team.
Until the group play selfless footy - or are allowed to play selfless footy - we will have issues. It’s not just the players - it’s the whole place.
Absolutely. And people are too quick to conflate Richmond and last year's Doggos who were very much dependant on big performances from two talls in the Granny.The thing that i hope Richmond and last year's dogs have shown Geelong is not so much a mobile high pressure forward line ( it is important ) but a total and committed buy in from every player irrespective of ability to work hard to pressure the opposition and to support a team mate. Until Geelong as a list, not just the 22 who take the field do this we will continue to be found wanting in finals.
The frustrating thing is that we've shown it -
Took a couple of short steps in the preliminary,he's got some work to do to win me over.I can't understand how people don't have Jake Kolodjashnij in our best 2018 backline, especially now that Lonergan is retired and Taylor is getting on.
The IF is the issue.What do other posters think about Gregson and McCarthy next year ? how good can they be if they stay fit ?
He can mark overhead, I wouldn't rule it out, that is a creative move, it might work as a swing role, he will get figured out eventually as a forward if he was there permanently. You can play Zuthrie in his position down back, he is good enough.Interesting call I saw someone make in one of the other threads was Stewart forward in a Max Rooke role.