Best Stadium?

Originally posted by riccardo

I will not return to Kardinia Park if it will remain in pretty much its present state, having a glassed in and roofed room stand empty while small children stand in freezing wind and rain is enough to put me off going there.

Geez,you've still got that bug up your butt. :rolleyes:
Where was this glassed in and empty roofed room ?
Was it the Ford Stand,behind the goals at the city end ?

The Gabba by a mile. excelent facilities and a very modern stadium. The MCG wins hands-down on atmosphere, but even if ur in the nosebleed sections of the gabba, ur close to the action and still in sniper distance of jason akkermanis

Originally posted by Fullarton Power
hehe and I used to live in Werribee.... so I know what sort of a heroin ridden, crime haven that particular little part of Melbourne is.

Sorry, they were all extradited back to Adelaide. And by your own admission, you appear to be living proof of that.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
From a Port Supporter he has no idea, there is no atmosphere at a Port game anyway none of the sad ****s turn up.

Just read this thread.

Have you ever been to a Port game at AAMI. Don't think so. The noise that admittedly less supporters puts the Adelaide crowd to shame. Don't believe me, listen to mad crows supporters KG & Cornes.

Originally posted by Scottroo
Well between my family weve been to-

Footy Park-Metal seats, cold in winter, then hot on hot days! expensive food, **** parking, 3/10

Again have just read this thread.

Metal seats gone but please could the expensive and little choice of food be fixed next. Parking will actually be worse now that SA has hit 21C with shopping hours. Still if your a Power supporter or an Adelaide supporter (only when the Crows are in front) the atmosphere can be electric.

Originally posted by zakus

Footy Park-Metal seats, cold in winter, then hot on hot days! expensive food, **** parking, 3/10

Again have just read this thread.

Metal seats gone but .................

Metal seats have gone? *shock* Welcome to the 1980s Town of Adelaide!! Have Rubiks cubes and Marbles made it to Adelaide as well yet or are they still coming? I'm just waiting for them to paint the point posts completely red and bring back the siren that sounded like a flute..... then the transformation of Adelaide will be complete.

Originally posted by la47
I've heard good things about the Gabba and I'll find out this season what it's like...lets hope its louder than it seems on TV though

I'm convinced it's a no-neck's plot to make the atmosphere at the Gabba on the TV appear non-existant.

In real life, the crowd is fully into it and the atmosphere electric.

On the box, it often sounds as though there are two spectators kicking an empty tin can to each other.

Beats me how for years, the tellie broadcasts have failed abysmally to pick up any skerick of the true naure of the crowd involvement at the Gabba:(

I love the Telstra Dome, it has all the moderrn comforts, and the atmosphere is just fantastic with the right crowd.
I've been to other events there, and its the same thing - comfortable enough so your energy is high, and yet still enough of a footy ground so you can make your noise.
The G will always be the home of footy, it is as iconic for Melburnians as the Eiffel Tower is for Parisians or the Colleseum is for the citizens of Rome.
I will not return to Kardinia Park if it will remain in pretty much its present state, having a glassed in and roofed room stand empty while small children stand in freezing wind and rain is enough to put me off going there.
iamwithstupid.gif

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Next you will be telling us Adelaide Oval is the worst cricket ground in the world...:rolleyes:
I know they don't play AFL games at Adelaide Oval (& BTW a great cricket ground), but it is a fantastic football ground. Could never understand the reluctance to play games there (other than the SANFL wanting the income from Footy Park).

Of all the cricket grounds in Australia, Adelaide Oval is probably the best shape for Aussie Rules. I think it still even has the SA attendance record (I'm sure someone will correct me). Being long and narrow, teams have to play long and direct, and unlike the SCG, takes more than one possession out of the centre to score a goal.

I remember watching on a West Torrens/Glenelg game there on Anzac day in the early eighties or late seventies, and the gates were closed before the start of the game. The atmosphere and the game were fantastic. As good as any VFL game I've been to.

Wouldn't hurt to schedule a few once off or pre-season games there. It is also by far the easiest ground in Adelaide to get to, being walking distance from the main train station & city.

Originally posted by Dogs 13
Sorry, they were all extradited back to Adelaide. And by your own admission, you appear to be living proof of that.
Sorry to disappoint you sunshine but I still have family living there and I get regular accounts of the activities .. chroming near the river, syringes in the streets etc etc...I suppose they're all expatriates?? I advise you to see Tony van Aalst, a prominent optometrist in your town, at his practice in Watton St. he might be able to fix your myopia.

Originally posted by Danny_Green
Metal seats have gone? *shock* Welcome to the 1980s Town of Adelaide!! Have Rubiks cubes and Marbles made it to Adelaide as well yet or are they still coming? I'm just waiting for them to paint the point posts completely red and bring back the siren that sounded like a flute..... then the transformation of Adelaide will be complete.
Has Melbourne got rid of it's 1920s trams yet???

@#$% parking?? Maybe, but easily the best transport services from all suburbs to teh ground of any of the AFL cities. Direct express buses, regular buses to West Lakes mall, train to Grange and short walk...who cares about parking?? Sheesh...

MCG-great stadium, went to an anzac day clash was truly great, facilities are good 9/10

The "G' is a great ground but you have the audacity to call AAMI cold. Have you ever been there? Oh and what about when its 10C in Melbourne on a Saturday arvo (this rarely if ever occurs in Adelaide) - the wind blows right thru you.

Expensive food - it may well be in Adelaide but for gods sake the "G" ain't no "Cheap as Chips". Blinkers are definitely on!!!!

Each of the following have their points for and against

MCG, Telstra Dome and AAMI.

Me thinks its just another Vic who hasn't crossed the border.

Like most people on this thread I can only comment on the grounds in my state. Although I'd love to get to all the major grounds at some stage over the few years, I still love the two NSW grounds currently in use:

The SCG - a very special ground to go to when there's a good crowd. Its accoustics are fantastic, and as Steve Waugh has commented, even a small crowd sounds huge. Big games bring out the very best atmosphere - the 1996 PF (especially the last 3min), the after-the-siren goal by Cressa two years ago, and the massive come-from-behind win against Melbourne last Anzac Day were truly amazing games.

Sydney Olympic Park (or Tel$stra Stadium) - Is surprising in how it doesn't seem terribly empty with a 30,000+ crowd (if they sit in the lower levels) but with 70,000+ the noise is incredible. Apart from the two huge games last year (and the PF was the bigger of the two despite a slightly lower crowd) I have seen the first Bledisloe played there (112,500) and a packed house for the Rugby WC Final. This ground _may_ eventually outdo all but the MCG as the premier ground for big games, if the games played there continue to pack it out.

The SCG will continue to hold a special spot for NSWmen for some time yet however.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Geez,you've still got that bug up your butt. :rolleyes:
Where was this glassed in and empty roofed room ?
Was it the Ford Stand,behind the goals at the city end ?

I believe so, why? Is this specially kept for Ford bigwigs or something - commoners not allowed to be dry and take the load off thier feet, are they?
My personal experience of this place is negative, I don't hold tickets on myself or anything, but I do believe a $10 entry should entitle me to a seat and some protection from the elements. I'm sorry if you find that unreasonable. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by JeffDunne
Docklands is crap. The access to and from the ground is ****-poor. Better than when first opened, but still not up to scratch. No grass to kick footy's which ****es off the kids. I think you expect this when going to the footy in Melb. Like most of the new stadiums, the viewing is good if not propped on a light tower.

I never understand why the access to the Dome is a problem. I have been to 35-odd games there over 3 years, and it has never taken me more than 10 minutes to get in. My membership could help that, I have also always bought tickets at Ticketmastewr before the games I knew would be packed, or just arrive a bit earlier. You can't arrive at a ground with no ticket 20 mins. before a game starts and expect immediate entry, it just dosen't happen, even at the MCG.
Also, I've seen kicks kicking footys on the concrete, not ideal but there is plenty of space. There are several ovals a short stroll from the ground, as well.
And, according to official sources, the seats are designed to be no more than (I think) 40 metres from the action. I can always see wonderfully at the Dome, it is a far cry for the need of binoculars at Waverly (or a telescope, on occasion! :D )
Not to pick, but I thought you may appreciate a different vieew on the place, and I am there, as I said, preobably as much as 14 times a year.

I never understand why the access to the Dome is a problem. I have been to 35-odd games there over 3 years, and it has never taken me more than 10 minutes to get in. My membership could help that, I have also always bought tickets at Ticketmastewr before the games I knew would be packed, or just arrive a bit earlier. You can't arrive at a ground with no ticket 20 mins. before a game starts and expect immediate entry, it just dosen't happen, even at the MCG.
Also, I've seen kicks kicking footys on the concrete, not ideal but there is plenty of space. There are several ovals a short stroll from the ground, as well.
And, according to official sources, the seats are designed to be no more than (I think) 40 metres from the action. I can always see wonderfully at the Dome, it is a far cry for the need of binoculars at Waverly (or a telescope, on occasion! :D )
Not to pick, but I thought you may appreciate a different vieew on the place, and I am there, as I said, preobably as much as 14 times a year.
As an ex-AFL member (saints club support), I was more than peeved at their so-called teething problems. Consequently I dumped the AFL membership and now just buy reserved seats to home games. And yes this does work, most of the time. However if a friend decides to come at the last minute, or conversely am attending a non-saints game, it is still a shambles if more than 20K turn up. I can handle problems if the ground is 80% full, but more often than not the problems are worse with a smallish crowd.. Have never had the problems with the MCG that continually happen @ Docklands (even with much bigger crowds).

Once seated and your not in the rafters, I admit the viewing is good. But most modern grounds have learnt to build the stands up, not back. And the orientation of the ground is atrocious for a winter sport in Melbourne (the designers must have come from Adelaide, believing the sun never comes out in winter). If you happen to be seated at the southern end on a sunny day, very difficult to see. Sure they can close the roof, but why build a retractable roof it needs to be always closed? The whole thing I think was misconceived from the start and they are now making the best of it.

The surrounds of the ground are fine for an entrainment centre, not a football ground IMO.

The ground wasn't designed with AFL in mind, and has some glaring omissions that would have made it far more attractive to footy families in particular. But since they can't even get the grass on the playing surface right, didn't include coaching boxes, what chance they even thought about these?

Originally posted by kirky
The "G' is a great ground but you have the audacity to call AAMI cold. Have you ever been there? Oh and what about when its 10C in Melbourne on a Saturday arvo (this rarely if ever occurs in Adelaide) - the wind blows right thru you.

Expensive food - it may well be in Adelaide but for gods sake the "G" ain't no "Cheap as Chips". Blinkers are definitely on!!!!

Each of the following have their points for and against

MCG, Telstra Dome and AAMI.

Me thinks its just another Vic who hasn't crossed the border.
And here's hoping that's the way it stays.

The only port home game i've been to..qualifying final this year....woah were port loud...swans supporters were outnumbered 100/1 and were making more noise...

Best Stadium?