christoff91

Apr 23, 2012
Arsenal FC
Just wondering which is the better way to go about watching AFL.

It's between normal Foxtel where I get the box and am able to record games and watch in HD

The other option is Foxtel Play where Foxtel is streamed though my internet connection. I am unsure if HD and the ability to record or rewatch games is available through this option. It would be great if someone who has used or is using Foxtel play could shed some light on this.

I'm not focusing on cost at this stage. Just what each option provides.

I had a massive row with foxtel recently and had to resort to play for a month or so. It wasn't even standard definition. It was ****ing shit quality and dropped out every 5 minutes and I had to restart the app. Foxtel box with HD addon (seriously still charging 10 bucks for HD should be illegal) is the only way to go.

Got Foxtel Play on PlayStation. Not HD, no ability to record, only opportunity to rewatch is when the game is replayed.

I am using foxtel play but will getting the IQ with HD back on soon.
Foxtel play is okay for now though, i just play it through my Xbox and/or tablet.

Foxtel Play is not HD, get the box.

Foxtel Play is in HD on Telstra tv only at this stage and it looks great. V rarely drops out but change channels and it comes back. Only down side is you cannot record, so i need to either wait for a replay or watch it on the AFL app on my iPad. $44 a month for sport, FX and Showcase and HD is included.

To get those shows on the Foxtel Box in HD is $85/month, so I'm happy to save that for the inconvenience. As each Foxtel Play account has access to two devices, I'm looking to talk one of my mates into us both having it for $22/month each.

Testify!

I can't do this during footy season for fear they'll call my bluff.
Have you been a long time customer? If so you can pretty much guarantee it will work. Don't talk to any flog salesperson (don't specifically actually ask for a better deal because this will give away the bluff) but go straight to the disconnection department and say you want it cut of at the end of the week/month for whatever reason. When they think you are serious they will offer something better to keep you. What's the worst that could happen anyway? The last day of the month or before you send the box back just nah switch it back on.

They might put a note against my name saying 'Guy is full of shit. Don't offer him anything.' I still might try it but I'll wait until footy is over. I'll come across as much more convincing then because I won't be bluffing.

Foxtel Play is in HD on Telstra tv only at this stage and it looks great. V rarely drops out but change channels and it comes back. Only down side is you cannot record, so i need to either wait for a replay or watch it on the AFL app on my iPad. $44 a month for sport, FX and Showcase and HD is included.

To get those shows on the Foxtel Box in HD is $85/month, so I'm happy to save that for the inconvenience. As each Foxtel Play account has access to two devices, I'm looking to talk one of my mates into us both having it for $22/month each.

I was using regular Foxtel (iq3) up until this year.
Made the switch to Foxtel Play via Telstra TV also. Couldn't be happier, much cheaper, quality is great (Maybe slightly worst than the IQ3, but still HD).

The main selling point for me (other than the price) was being able to move it to whatever TV I wanted really easily. Seems to be unmetered on Bigpond which is pretty handy also.

Not being able to record is certainly annoying though, but for me the benefits outweigh. Still think it's really strange that you need a Telstra TV at the moment to watch in HD, fortunately mine came free when I transferred my ADSL from Foxtel to Telstra.

I've got Foxtel and I've got an old t-box but I don't have Telstra broadband anymore. I only have the NBN where I live and Telstra's plans are ridiculously over priced. Is there any way to make the tbox think I'm accessing it through big pond? Or is this a question that shouldn't be asked on here...

Not sure if it's HD on the Tbox, or just the newer Telstra TV.
As for using it with a non Telstra connection, only have experience with the Telstra TV - Activated one for my brother on my Bigpond account (using his TPG ADSL) - Never had an issue.

yeh foxtel with HD is the way to go.
plus you get 5 devices you can stream to also with your package
This. Very handy when you are a live game and pissing yourself nervous in the 4th quarter with a close game and you can check you phone to see how long there is to go in the game. And can also sign a couple of your mates devices up and essentially give them free Foxtel and and make them pay for it in favours at your discretion

Make sure you get the IQ, then you can pause the live action to synch up your commentary of choice so you never get stuck listening to those commentators that drive you insane.

I use play via the PS4, its cheap and no contract but very average quality. Still i only use it for sport so it does for now, will say I had it on the PS3 and cancelled pretty quick because of buffering/stuttering but there's a huge improvement via the PS4.

Testify!

I can't do this during footy season for fear they'll call my bluff.

FWIW, I rang up to do this and they just said, "yep, no worries" and processed my cancellation. Ultimately, I wasn't too upset to lose Foxtel, so if youre going to try this you need to act indecisive so that they think they can keep you with a promotion and you need to be prepared to lose it because it all depends on whether theyre in a recruitment drive or their subscription numbers for that quarter are strong or soft.

Exactly what I do, Masters this morning was looking a treat too

Best way to watch AFL through Foxtel?

Write your reply...