Analysis Beveridge - where to from here?

Charlie Bucket

Nov 16, 2015
I don't believe there is a direct link between footskills in general play and goal kicking accuracy, given that our player with the best footskills in general play (Bontempelli) is also our worst for accuracy when kicking at goal.

Even though he’s been terrible in front of goal this year, Bont probably isn’t the greatest example. He has a terrific set shot routine and kicking style when going for goals. He’s is just a terrible case of yips.

There may not be a link, but i reckon in our case where we aren’t the most skilful by foot there’s a big chance there is.

Hobdog

May 20, 2007
Canberra
Not sure if you’re aware but goal kicking was a big focus in the off season. Bev said as much prior to the season started. Also, I was at training a number of times pre season and saw the group practice goal kicking for quiet awhile each time. Whether or not a goal kicking coach is/was involved, the one thing they teach and get players to focus on is routine. Apart from a few pointers, there isn’t a lot a goal kicking coach can teach that players and coaches don’t already know.
As far as Bevo being responsible for our yips, there’s not a lot of decision making from his stand point that will change the yips we’ve had at times this year.
Hopefully we practice again this off season and after training each week which most clubs in the country do.

As far as fade outs go, I’m tipping it’s more frustrating for the players, coaches and club than it is for us supporters.
It’s been discussed in here quiet a few times this season and it’s important to remember, we have a very young 22 most weeks and some of things that can suffer with young sides are 4 qtr efforts and execution of what’s required for long enough periods during games to win them week in week out.
We’re seeing it now with the Hawks.
Not a terrible list, but one that’s being re jigged with a few youngsters and new recruits ( not as young as us ), they have the best coach in history, and the club have arguably the greatest culture in the comp. But, they’re having a terribly inconsistent season. Haven’t won back to back games and have had a few really bad losses. Again, this is with the best coach in the comp and a side that’s in the age bracket where they should be almost contending.
Do we just ignore the obvious things that can explain our inconsistencies and mid game fade outs ? I and others certainly don’t but by all means you and others can if you choose to.

As for the backline issue, we’d known about it since before Rd 1 when Bevo had said we’re lacking in that area so he was going to try and play a way so we’d be able to go smaller back there.
Wasn’t an issue Rds 1 and 2 when the rest of the team done their bit but it slowly became to much and we were exposed at times later on against teams. Particularly Carlton.
Since then we’ve gone smaller again, back to taller and then somewhere in the middle in today’s game.
The reality is we have major issues with defensive depth and lack of developed talent. We also lost players in Hamlimg ( went home) Adams ( wanted out ) Morris ( injuries have killed his last 18mths ) and to top it off he’s sent his best defender up to the fwd line because it turns out he’s also our best key fwd. I’m not adding Roughy to that group as he just didn’t graft well the numerous times we played him down there and was traded out as a terribly out of form ruck/fwd. As for the aerial contests, that’s been a big part of our backline structures since Bevo came on board.
We play zoned defence with our non key backs and a strong part of our game was our players getting third man up when needed. I think it’s been good besides some games this year.
I also actually give Bev credit for being able to have some really strong wins with the small backline. Wouldn’t be many coaches in the comp that would’ve pulled it off.
Unfortunately it’s become obvious it’s not sustainable so until the trade period arrives and we have the chance to change things up and our young players have another off season to develop, we just have to leave it up to Bevo to find the best solutions each week and hope the playing group can follow through with them on the field which we know doesn’t always happen with a young group.

I’m not making excuses for the issues you’ve brought up, this is just the way I look at it as there’s so many factors involved with how clubs go about their football.
But like I said, if you want to continue blaming the coach, go ahead.

Amen, CB

Mattdougie

10k Posts
Jun 29, 2013
Bolton would be one of the worst hirings we could make. We need someone to come in that can help with structure and Carlton possibly have less than us.

With the low picks they have had they should be miles more advanced than they are.

Mattdougie

10k Posts
Jun 29, 2013
:moustache:
Not being in the inner sanctum not sure whether he is doing a good or bad job.

He is highly rated in the industry and is one of a limited number of coaches invited to do his level 4 and is clear and concise when delivering to coaches at lower levels.

Our forward line is the worst in the league. Other than a small forward who was not good enough to get a game in from of 8 forwards last year at Richmond, who was the last specialist forward we actually recruited, who was then allowed to develop there enabling a forwards coach to teach not only good structure but leading pattens and other movements in the forward line?

Mate we have gone backwards for 3 years I think it’s fairly safe to say not many are doing a great job.

From the 16 forward line we are missing Boyd who Naughts has replacex, Jake and Dahl who most on here said didn’t nothing anyway and Divko who’s goals are missed. So personal isn’t drastically better or worse.

WallyStringhaus

Aug 27, 2015
Would LOVE for us to bring in Bolton as an assistant if he would be willing. Has a great football mind and would do well at a team that hasn't been ruined before he got there. Pretty hard to salvage a botched rebuild once that losing culture has been well established. If given more time I have no doubt he would have turned things around. It was always going to be a futile mission to get that team back on track within three years or whatever they gave him. Highly doubt the next bloke will do any better.
Coaching Hall of Famers, Pagan and Malthouse couldn't change the culture of that tragic club. Bolton never stood a chance.

Yojimbo

10k Posts
Nov 14, 2012
The "Elephant" in the room.
My wise brother once said, don't just take a shot at goal at training sprint from the goal square
at the other end and then take your shot to simulate fatigue. Any idiot can hole a four foot
putt until someone grabs you by the goolies and says this will cost you 500k.

Mattdougie

10k Posts
Jun 29, 2013
Staggering comment - He is paid for his opinion.
He has a career to worry about and not giving his opinion puts that at risk.

So long as he just doesnt take pot shots from the cheap seats and so long as he explains the reasons behind those statements then there is no big issue.

King and Lloyd recently gone to town on their own sides but gave the details behind their opinions. They weren't baseless.

Yep I agree and it’s part of the problem with not only footy but society today.

Truth isn’t popular and if it comes from someone who shouldn’t dare have a negative opinion it’s near blasphemy.

Every word Johno said was right and we need more of it so the club wakes up

Pretty shitty when a club stalwart like Brad Johnson is publicly doubting Beveridge's game style.
We are still playing a quick play on game and the teams at the top of the ladder play slower and also retain the ball better, as turnovers are the main mechanism for generating scores.

Johnno isn't needlessly potting the club, he's absolutely a bulldog fan too but unfortunately he's 100% right.

Slackware

May 5, 2019
I tried googling Fubar Prison Inmate but unfortunately nothing came up. I’ll have to take your word about your unfortunate looks, ThirdLeg.

Interesting to hear you’re fairly experienced at the highest level of professional sport, you should share some of that wisdom on here, would do some good for those that don’t have much of a grasp on “ how to do football “.

Personally I’m not actually the serious type in regards to BF footy banter, but one thing I get sucked in by is muppet posters who enable other muppet posters to also be muppets and with so many of them having bait in the water lately, I just can’t help but bite.
I’d usually just say something snidey, which isn’t nice I’d admit, so lately I’ve thought i should be a little more productive, for those that do take it seriously and don’t have their head up the wrong hole, by sharing what I know and what I think about our situation.
Why should anyone show you an ounce of respect and time? You're just as bad and egotistical as mattdougie. Grow up.

You're not nearly as knowledgeable about football as you believe.

:moustache:

Mate we have gone backwards for 3 years I think it’s fairly safe to say not many are doing a great job.

From the 16 forward line we are missing Boyd who Naughts has replacex, Jake and Dahl who most on here said didn’t nothing anyway and Divko who’s goals are missed. So personal isn’t drastically better or worse.

MD there are clearly some issues with development but our recruiting has not been anywhere near the level that our prior recruiter is credited for.

I would disagree though in regards to personnel. The major goal kickers in the 2016 finals series were Dickson whose body was done by the end of the season, Smith who hardly got back on the ground and Picken. These 3 alone scored 26 of our 56 goals in the finals series or over 46%. None of these have been replaced which reflects a significant change in personnel.

Dahl was mainly a mid and his goals scored reflects that, and Jake had one half reasonable final and was barely sighted in the others. I would have preferred to keep him but he was and still is way overrated. His exceptional form at Essendon has seen 30 goals in 20 games (23 Behinds and 25 out on the full) and 11 goals 11 with 12 out on the full in 6 games this year. I know you like Stringer but he has hardly set the world on fire and didn't for the last 2 years with us either however, in saying that when you bring his 5 goals in the finals series into the equation the personnel change is dramatic.

I am not saying Hansen is great but he does have little to work with and the last time he had his own team they did win the premiership, our VFL flag in 2016, he is one of the few invited to complete his level 4 accreditation and in my dealings with him he does come across as quite knowledgeable with a good handle on the game.

We do need a review of our football department. It should be external and warts and all to ensure Bev is getting the best opportunity to develop this team.

We will be 3 years out of the finals by years end. By next year, the end of the current contract it would be 4 which equals how many years were were out of the finals that saw the end of McCartney and Rhode. I would look at extending Bev's contract but early next year if we are showing signs of improvement. However, I would not want to see him replaced now prior to a review.

Blaming individuals without being involved or having in depth knowledge is dangerous, hence a review. But the entire football department does need to be looked at from all angles.

VogonProsthetnic

Apr 26, 2010
Beaufort
Coaching Hall of Famers, Pagan and Malthouse couldn't change the culture of that tragic club. Bolton never stood a chance.

Malthouse would be a good person to bring in imo.

He loves the dogs and his footy knowledge is second to none. He is also someone who could stand up to Beveridge when he goes over the top like picking a sub 192 cm defence or playing 22 mids all at once.

Charlie Bucket

Nov 16, 2015
Why should anyone show you an ounce of respect and time? You're just as bad and egotistical as mattdougie. Grow up.

You're not nearly as knowledgeable about football as you believe.

Lol, no one has to show me s**t, Slack
That goes for for you too champ.

Yep, I’ll admit I’m a little egotistical but who isn’t ? Some just more than others.

As for my footballing knowledge, I know exactly where I sit, Slack. Somewhere between Luke Beveridge and Carol the canteen lady.

What about you, Slack. Where do you sit on the footballing IQ spectrum?

Optimistic Dog

Oct 11, 2014
I am still a Luke fan I cannot forget 2016 but I do not like his latest comment of we are on journey I am pretty sure this is one of the lines Bolton continually used. I would loved to know what he really thinks about our list.

Mattdougie

10k Posts
Jun 29, 2013
I am still a Luke fan I cannot forget 2016 but I do not like his latest comment of we are on journey I am pretty sure this is one of the lines Bolton continually used. I would loved to know what he really thinks about our list.

But can he see green shoots?

Ive written it before, I'll write it again. Its not just Beveridge, especially when you look to how things have gone pear shaped since Hansen was made an assistant and the roles moved around. How many assistant coaches left since then? Perhaps there more to it

My wise brother once said, don't just take a shot at goal at training sprint from the goal square
at the other end and then take your shot to simulate fatigue. Any idiot can hole a four foot
putt until someone grabs you by the goolies and says this will cost you 500k.

You clearly haven't golfed with me Yo...I can't make 4 ft putts either....heck I struggle with two footers

Watching Bev's Dog's Insider messages to members, it is clear from his face and his tone that he is becoming exasperated and IMO not really knowing what the next step is (as per the title of this thread). As the losses mount up he relies on the familiar theme of working on certain areas of improvement (we all know what they are) but I'm not sure he has confidence that these things can be improved at least in this season and that's a worry. We can't do much more than adopt a 'true believers' attitude to go with him.

dergert

Jun 17, 2014
Well I'm against turfing Beveridge now. We are no chance of getting the best possible candidate with carltank, norf and the saints looking for a coach.

Any one of them would snap up Bevo in a minute. Then we’d be sorry.

castro

Jul 5, 2007
brisbane
Beveridge is not adapting and has moved away from controlling the football to manic handball play on at every possession resulting in shallow entries into the forward 50 and turnovers. If there are no leads on, they should be kicking it deep in the fwd pocket like most teams are doing now. Play half the ground and switch to the other side to get some open play and deeper entries.
We are getting smashed at turnover transition football. This should have been evident and rectified when we lost to Carlton.