Roast Beyondblue

Now, this isn't a roast about Beyondblue's work. I'm a big fan.

But this...

200513-Dee-Pressed.jpg

That's just disgraceful.

It's a strange one. Melbourne bashing aside it looks like bb are making light of everything they are meant to be exponents of.

Shameful for so many reasons the least being anything to do with MFC.

Is that for real? is it a charity we have something to do with or are they just having a dig?

It was in the paper on the weekend. I don't know how much the club has to do with BB (if anything).

They are doing it for multiple clubs, I have definately seen a St Kilda and a Hawks one too

That's hilarious. Though take away points for not going with 'Deepressed'

What's so disrespectful about it?? I found it hilarious :)
The average footy fan might get a chuckle but for those members of society with genuine depression this is tacky at best and making a mockery of what is a serious issue at worst. I've never seen an organisation devalue itself like in this instance before.

Fair call. If it was a spoof ad on Before the Game or something it'd be worth a good laugh. Considering how serious an issue depression is though it's pretty average.

It's an organisation established to provide counselling for people with depression, whose primary spokesman for said cause is the guy who closed over 350 schools, sacked 80,000 people, including 8000 teachers, handed off $33 billion in public assets to private contractors, many of whom were mates of the Liberal Party, and massively boosted the strength and political influence of the gambling industry, amongst other things.

One suspects "Beyond Blue" were suffering from a massive credbility deficit long before now.

It's an organisation established to provide counselling for people with depression, whose primary spokesman for said cause is the guy who closed over 350 schools, sacked 80,000 people, including 8000 teachers, handed off $33 billion in public assets to private contractors, many of whom were mates of the Liberal Party, and massively boosted the strength and political influence of the gambling industry, amongst other things.

One suspects "Beyond Blue" were suffering from a massive credbility deficit long before now.
Believe it or not Wonna, not everybody has the same political views as you do. I have no opinion either way because he was a bit before my time, but there's a reason why people listen to Jeff Kennett.

Beyondblue have never had a credibility deficit, this is just a poor line of advertisement.

That isn't a matter of opinion, those are facts on the public record. And that's before I mention the deaths caused by his outsourcing of emergency services call handling to Intergraph, or his whiteanting of the Auditor-General. Or his recently-proclaimed support for the reintroduction of the death penalty.

Sincerely, I'd say it would take Beyond Blue many a year through their own activities to alleviate as much depression as might have been achieved by Kennett's early removal from public office. They don't at all seem to make good choices as far as their PR is concerned.

Take it from someone in the Berra. Kate Carnell is a joke of a human.

Well said mate. The Carnell connection explains a lot about beyondblue I reckon :thumbsu:

Seriously Beyondblue do a lot of good work and to bad mouth the organistion just because you don't like Jeff is absolutely poor form

Hehe. If you want no more politics here mods, move the thread to hell or srp.

By the by, wonna is spot on, was talking facts not opinions.

This is an awesome call.

What a pathetic ad. They are an organisation which are supposedly trying to raise awareness about depression and dispelling misperceptions that the community has. this is in direct contradiction and only enforces such perceptions and attitudes towards people with depression. I can only imagine how someone struggling with it but to ashamed to talk about it with their friends and family would react to an ad like this. It doesn't just devalue Beyond Blue; it devalues everyone with depression.

Wether a sufferer, or a donor, how is anyone supposed to take this organisation seriously when they clearly don't get the cause?

They are doing it for multiple clubs, I have definately seen a St Kilda and a Hawks one too
They spoke about it on SEN a few weeks ago in relation to the MFC coloured one funnily enough.

The idea was that many men hide or refuse to talk about it or look for help so they are trying to get them to read the ad by drawing them in with their teams colours.

They spoke about it on SEN a few weeks ago in relation to the MFC coloured one funnily enough.

The idea was that many men hide or refuse to talk about it or look for help so they are trying to get them to read the ad by drawing them in with their teams colours.

That's the way I took it, timing is everything I guess.

I'm imagining that the interview on SEN went something like this.

"Hey, I know you're not ready to talk about your depression, but here's an ad in your team colours! ... Ready now?"

By the by, wonna is spot on, was talking facts not opinions.

Exactly right mate. Just empirical evidence.

to bad mouth the organistion just because you don't like Jeff

A pretty major misrepresentation. What I was doing was pointing out their bad public relations and advertising efforts, and having Kennett as spokesman is the most highly problematic example. The ad referred to in the OP is another example.

If beyondblue want to effectively further their own stated aims, and be an organisation of good standing as far as caring for people with depression, their PR and general promotional activities don't exactly reflect that. They're just undermining and discrediting themselves.

* For some reason my reply here was removed before :confused:

Exactly right mate. Just empirical evidence.

A pretty major misrepresentation. What I was doing was pointing out their bad public relations and advertising efforts, and having Kennett as spokesman is the most highly problematic example. The ad referred to in the OP is another example.

If beyondblue want to effectively further their own stated aims, and be an organisation of good standing as far as caring for people with depression, their PR and general promotional activities don't exactly reflect that. They're just undermining and discrediting themselves.

* For some reason my reply here was removed before :confused:

I think the mods moved most of the replies about the politics of Kennett etc away because they weren't relevant and were at least derailing the thread