BFL Thread

Agree, but because he played in such a strong team last year and missed a lot with injury its saved him a point.

He's only a standard 3 point player, none of the criteria met to be a premium player because despite all his goals at Deer Park last year he didn't win the club goalkicking, or the Top 5 club B&F or Top 10 league B&F. And he gets the 1 extra point for moving clubs. So he's worth 4 points this year.

Last year he went to Deer Park as a 4 point premium player having won Yarrawonga's goalkicking in 2015, then got the extra point for the movement between more than three clubs in three years.

Your first paragraph gives me pause ...
Is there a rule about playing in strong teams and not playing many games?

But fair enough footyman, you obviously know about this situation.

Your first paragraph gives me pause ...
Is there a rule about playing in strong teams and not playing many games?

But fair enough footyman, you obviously know about this situation.

I think he just means that because he missed a few games in a star studded team it caused him to miss out on the goalkicking and b&f top 5, either of which would mean a 1 pt penalty.

I reckon his explanation is right. Good work Footyman

I think he just means that because he missed a few games in a star studded team it caused him to miss out on the goalkicking and b&f top 5, either of which would mean a 1 pt penalty.

I reckon his explanation is right. Good work Footyman

I hear you Merrigan. Wasn't being deliberately obtuse. I think footyman is all over the rule.

Agree, but because he played in such a strong team last year and missed a lot with injury its saved him a point.

He's only a standard 3 point player, none of the criteria met to be a premium player because despite all his goals at Deer Park last year he didn't win the club goalkicking, or the Top 5 club B&F or Top 10 league B&F. And he gets the 1 extra point for moving clubs. So he's worth 4 points this year.

Last year he went to Deer Park as a 4 point premium player having won Yarrawonga's goalkicking in 2015, then got the extra point for the movement between more than three clubs in three years.
You seem to know a bit about this.
How many points is a player that plays twos at 1 BFL club and moves to another in the BFL for more opportunities? Is it 3 or 4?

You seem to know a bit about this.
How many points is a player that plays twos at 1 BFL club and moves to another in the BFL for more opportunities? Is it 3 or 4?

If he played more 2s than 1s in the previous season he is classed as a development player and 2 points, plus 1 because he moving clubs within the same league. So 3

So a fringe player at Lakers that played more seniors than twos goes to Sebas as a 4 pointer? The same as Brendan Fevola.
Flawed system

Finally the real games start and we see the better teams in action for the first time. My tips;
East v Ballarat - East by 24
Redan v Lakers - Lakers by 18
Sunbury v Melton - Sunbury by 12
Darley v Bacchus Marsh - Marsh by 24
South v North - South by 12

Because he played in such a strong team? And missed a lot through injury? Are you taking the piss. He played 11 games you only have to play 5 to get a point reduction for the following year. 5 at Deer Park down to 4 at south, because he played more seniors than reserves,plus 1 for third team. 5 points. If Deer Park had of been his second club in 3years and he hadn't finished top5 club b&f previous 3 years, yes 3 points. But should be 5 at south.

Nah you are wrong mate. A player going between premier comps, which West and BFL are, only get 3 points. The B&F top 5 rule only applies to the previous year so he is 3 + 1 for more than 3 clubs in the past 3 years. I was thinking the same as you but after reading over the policy again, footyman is on the money. As Alabama pointed out there are still a lot of flaws in the system.

Went away over easter, but I managed to see South v Sunbury on good Friday. Terrible crowd for what they were expecting. I thought Panthers would be better 2nd time round, but were worse, Sunbury had their chance to win, but wasted chances, in the end the class of Fev was the difference again. Even though Lions have lost 8 starters from last year, right them off on your own peril, they still have a lot of class. Though, will miss Jack Landt & Medcraft (when/if he goes back to Cairns). Lynch for south was standout.... El-Houli OH MY GOD, THE CLANGER KING!!!! someone at south teach him to hit a target. His kicking is a liability, For the 2nd week in a row, was left by himself down back, due to the opposition double teaming Fev. Tayte Pears quiet before going off with injury, not sure where the are gonna play him on that little ground with no centre half forwards or backs. Notman pretty tame, but was probably is first real hit out for the year. been impressed with Searle since he has comeback, him and Sortino forming a handy ruck duo. Few of their kids are shining with experienced bigger bodies around them, Vasjuta, Watkins ect.

For sunbury, Allan O'Connor, in his first match since 2013 ? had his hands full with Fev. Magin showed some polish, Valles marks everything that comes too him. Also impressed by one of the Wood boys. The forward they picked up from Wangaratta Lenaz looks handy.

On another note, is there any bigger germs in the BFL than Angus Storey ? before the game, number 6 for Sunbury Lenaz goes to shake his hand, and storey puffs his chest into him. Seriously its local footy, id understand if it was a grand final or something, but turn it up

Local derby time.

Darley
B: L. Delahey, M. Hanson, J. Pearson
HB: H. Scotland, D. Leonard, S. Page
C: L. Spiteri, B. Inglis, L. Baker
HF: M. Inglis, K. Docherty, R. Hawkins
F: J. Carrick, R. Ellis, C. Graham
R: A. Cameron, D. Roy, B. Graham
Int: H. Inglis, J. Ancrum, C. Cullen, Z Dix

Bacchus Marsh
B: T. Angwin, L. Blundell, J. Bolton
HB: A. Del Papa, Q. Butt, H. Coulton
C: J. Maksymow, D. Heta, M. Denham
HF: R. Mc Nay, L. Mullen, L. Noonan
F: R. Stuhldreier, T. Shea, D. Phyland
R: D. Burton, M. Sutherland, J. Trowsdale
Int: K. White, J. Wheelahan, D. Velden, S. Sherlock

Both teams pretty close to full strength. good to see Scotland named & a few back from long term injuries. Looking forward to seeing Brian Graham play, by all reports has dominated pre season praccys . Just note sure who gets the job on Jarrah ?

Nah you are wrong mate. A player going between premier comps, which West and BFL are, only get 3 points. The B&F top 5 rule only applies to the previous year so he is 3 + 1 for more than 3 clubs in the past 3 years. I was thinking the same as you but after reading over the policy again, footyman is on the money. As Alabama pointed out there are still a lot of flaws in the system.
understand that ,but he was already rated a five.so unless the league have given him an exception he should be a 5

Went away over easter, but I managed to see South v Sunbury on good Friday. Terrible crowd for what they were expecting. I thought Panthers would be better 2nd time round, but were worse, Sunbury had their chance to win, but wasted chances, in the end the class of Fev was the difference again. Even though Lions have lost 8 starters from last year, right them off on your own peril, they still have a lot of class. Though, will miss Jack Landt & Medcraft (when/if he goes back to Cairns). Lynch for south was standout.... El-Houli OH MY GOD, THE CLANGER KING!!!! someone at south teach him to hit a target. His kicking is a liability, For the 2nd week in a row, was left by himself down back, due to the opposition double teaming Fev. Tayte Pears quiet before going off with injury, not sure where the are gonna play him on that little ground with no centre half forwards or backs. Notman pretty tame, but was probably is first real hit out for the year. been impressed with Searle since he has comeback, him and Sortino forming a handy ruck duo. Few of their kids are shining with experienced bigger bodies around them, Vasjuta, Watkins ect.

For sunbury, Allan O'Connor, in his first match since 2013 ? had his hands full with Fev. Magin showed some polish, Valles marks everything that comes too him. Also impressed by one of the Wood boys. The forward they picked up from Wangaratta Lenaz looks handy.

On another note, is there any bigger germs in the BFL than Angus Storey ? before the game, number 6 for Sunbury Lenaz goes to shake his hand, and storey puffs his chest into him. Seriously its local footy, id understand if it was a grand final or something, but turn it up
Had heard from a few that have seen South that they will just be making up numbers towards the end on the year. 2 from 2 is a good start, might sneak in the 6.

Darley look vastly different from their flag side 2 years ago, lots of retirements etc, not sure where they are at.

Had heard from a few that have seen South that they will just be making up numbers towards the end on the year. 2 from 2 is a good start, might sneak in the 6.

Darley look vastly different from their flag side 2 years ago, lots of retirements etc, not sure where they are at.
So what have you been worried about all summer. Just a club trying to better themselves. That's all

Alabama Slammer, ab Rodriguez, and all the other Melton South haters, hot off the press.
Big Tom Derickx will be a panther as of tonight. Can play between 5-9 games to help the boys in there quest. Bloke just looking to have a kick with a couple of mates and help the young panther big men with his experience. Ripping bloke and can't wait to get into country footy.
So looking forward to all your responses. Get out your keyboards and type away. #hatersgonnahate #justtryingtomakeourclubbetter

Alabama Slammer, ab Rodriguez, and all the other Melton South haters, hot off the press.
Big Tom Derickx will be a panther as of tonight. Can play between 5-9 games to help the boys in there quest. Bloke just looking to have a kick with a couple of mates and help the young panther big men with his experience. Ripping bloke and can't wait to get into country footy.
So looking forward to all your responses. Get out your keyboards and type away. #hatersgonnahate #justtryingtomakeourclubbetter

Hurstbridge announced on their Facebook page he signed for them today with Rhyce Shaw.

Couldnt care less who you sign, you are not good enough to win the flag and that's all that counts.
You are just a sideshow to the real teams in this league. You're like Staunchie playing in the EJ Whitten game, some comic relief until people get tired of you and you go back to being irrelevant

If he goes to south or not can someone tell me his background. Was he at Sydney?

Who misses out tiger time? They have 2 points to spare and he is a 6. Pears obviously hasn't recovered?

You already have Sortino & Searle forming a good partnership, why would you waste points recruiting someone whos a 200cm beanpole. Can understand all the other recruits, not this one. Team will be even more unsettled than it already is.