BFL Thread

Where are all the Brad Murphy haters now? Seems to be doing everything right so far....well on the way to finals.

Please. They've beaten Sebas, Melton South and an undermanned EP team at home. They won't make finals.

Besides, the haters weren't in regards to his coaching - rather his constant whinging about night games.
Serious question here, who do you believe will finish in the six at season's end - and what order?

Please. They've beaten Sebas, Melton South and an undermanned EP team at home. They won't make finals.

Besides, the haters weren't in regards to his coaching - rather his constant whinging about night games.
Serious question here, who do you believe will finish in the six at season's end - and what order?
Lakers
Redan
North
Bacchus
Sunbury
East

Stop trying to defend him. He was checked so he would couldn't make a run at the ball and out of embarrassment decided to take a swing. I think you'd find most people agree it was pretty gutless. So are you saying if the Eastern sides left, the BFL wouldn't be a division 1 league? What with the might of the Bacchus (0 flags), Melton South (0 flags), Darley (1 flag) & Melton (2 flags)? Besides Sunbury, you'd have to agree all Eastern based clubs haven't had a great deal of success. And won't Darley regret picking up Mitch Banner! He's making your club look like a joke.
So Pauline who are you hanging your hat on? Sebas 0. East 0 marsh 0 lakers 1 ballarat 1 north 2 must be redan. And apart from not getting a kick what has banner done to upset you?

Drew Edwards has been reported only once before and that was for a bump that should not have got one week but we all know what happens at the tribunal in the BFL (as reported in the Courier, the lop sided weeks the Eastern sides get) If you were standing directly behind the incident you would have seen that the Lakers player bowled Edwards over first (as you stated "cowardly") and then Edwards got up and retaliated. But in saying that I have heard that the two coaches form the Lakers lied in the investigation, so now a few boys won't be playing inter-league as the Lakers coach is an assistant coach.
Lets all be honest and have a look at the BFL, if it wasn't for the Eastern side coming into the league you wouldn't have a league all be it a division 1 league. It seems to be that people from Ballarat just seem to cry foul all the time but I wouldn't be happy if I had to live in that shit hole. By 2018-2019 the Eastern clubs will be gone from the shitty BFL and you merge with the CHFL (because that what you weak people in Ballarat do just merge when it gets hard. Point and East and also Wendouree and YMCA).
Pauline, I do know one thing that Grant Wright and the majority of the Darley supporters would back Drew Edwards all the time and they would take a 100 of him over and before they would pick 1 weak prick from the Ballarat league.
I just hope the BFL don't get embarrassed by the WRFL this weekend and look as bad as the crowds are at all the games in the league (no one goes).

Don't personally know Drew Edwards and didnt see the incident so would not care to comment on it.

I do however know Gav Webb extremely well. He is a man of integrity and in the early stages of what will no doubt be a quality coaching career. He has been part of the interleague coaching set up for a few years now for good reason.

Harsh call attacking his character.

ps. Out of interest, where will the Eastern bloc sides return to in 2018/19? The Riddell league?

Don't personally know Drew Edwards and didnt see the incident so would not care to comment on it.

I do however know Gav Webb extremely well. He is a man of integrity and in the early stages of what will no doubt be a quality coaching career. He has been part of the interleague coaching set up for a few years now for good reason.

ps. Out of interest, where will the Eastern bloc sides return to in 2018/19? The Riddell league?
A new restructured league with possible divisions containing parts of east sides and the Bendigo and RDFL

Has that been ratified by AFL Victoria?

By the way I am not taking sides on this matter slammer, I am simply curious. As a relative outsider, I enjoy watching BFL footy and that includes the so called eastern bloc sides.

Has that been ratified by AFL Victoria?

By the way I am not taking sides on this matter slammer, I am simply curious. As a relative outsider, I enjoy watching BFL footy and that includes the so called eastern bloc sides.
Been developing for a while, has gone past the discussion stage and is almost certain to happen. Probably not until 2020 is my estimated timeframe.

Might create some interest, crowds are poor, interest is low, need something to generate conversation
All it does is reinforce an already defeatist attitude imo,
fostering rivalries and getting behind our respective clubs is surely the way to go rather than constantly complaining about how hard done by we all are.

All it does is reinforce an already defeatist attitude imo,
fostering rivalries and getting behind our respective clubs is surely the way to go rather than constantly complaining about how hard done by we all are.
Yep fair point. I know a lot of people that have come into this league to the East clubs and they cannot get over how badly biased it is. But we will move on, sooking will get you nowhere.

Grant Wright and other committee members spoke with Gav Webb and other Lake Wendouree officals on this incident straight after the game and stated that Drew Edwards was not happy with being flattened 30 metres off the ball and this is why he retaliated, they said to the Lakers that if they were going to investigate then they will and it was agreed not to take it to the league. With the Eastern sides if something like this happens (a very minor incident) they sort it out between then and this is the difference between the sides nearer the city compared to the side past the freezing point.
As for the new league, I have it on great word that it will happen very soon as they want to get into the growing area of Rockbank and Werribee with also the growing area of Diggers Rest (long term for these areas). Possible sides will be Darley, Marsh, Melton, Melton South, Sunbury, Sunbury Kangaroos, Rockbank, Diggers Rest, Gisbourne, 2 sides from Werribee area.

Grant Wright and other committee members spoke with Gav Webb and other Lake Wendouree officals on this incident straight after the game and stated that Drew Edwards was not happy with being flattened 30 metres off the ball and this is why he retaliated, they said to the Lakers that if they were going to investigate then they will and it was agreed not to take it to the league. With the Eastern sides if something like this happens (a very minor incident) they sort it out between then and this is the difference between the sides nearer the city compared to the side past the freezing point.
As for the new league, I have it on great word that it will happen very soon as they want to get into the growing area of Rockbank and Werribee with also the growing area of Diggers Rest (long term for these areas). Possible sides will be Darley, Marsh, Melton, Melton South, Sunbury, Sunbury Kangaroos, Rockbank, Diggers Rest, Gisbourne, 2 sides from Werribee area.
Been talking about it for over ten years & if it does come to fruition, it will probably be another 10 years before it eventuates.

Where are all the Brad Murphy haters now? Seems to be doing everything right so far....well on the way to finals.
Melton have beaten sepas South and East point wait untill you come up against lakers redan etc
Murphy has done a very good job I must say its good for the league having Sunbury marsh Melton going well!

Must say Ballarat teams and there supporter bases seem to be getting worst! Such poor crowds

I with you mate he's a alright coach he just winges too much

Been talking about it for over ten years & if it does come to fruition, it will probably be another 10 years before it eventuates.
cant see rockbank entering what would a even stronger Comp !
Imagine the score lines if they played Sunbury lions bloods marsh etc hahaha
They might have a chance against South

cant see rockbank entering what would a even stronger Comp !
Imagine the score lines if they played Sunbury lions bloods marsh etc hahaha
They might have a chance against South
If Rockbank played them tomorrow that would happen, but in 5 to 10 years maybe even sooner the population of Rockbank will grow massively. They will have a lot of dollars in the future. The development in that area is an important part of this proposal.

Hope so mate !

Drew Edwards has been reported only once before and that was for a bump that should not have got one week but we all know what happens at the tribunal in the BFL (as reported in the Courier, the lop sided weeks the Eastern sides get) If you were standing directly behind the incident you would have seen that the Lakers player bowled Edwards over first (as you stated "cowardly") and then Edwards got up and retaliated. But in saying that I have heard that the two coaches form the Lakers lied in the investigation, so now a few boys won't be playing inter-league as the Lakers coach is an assistant coach.
Lets all be honest and have a look at the BFL, if it wasn't for the Eastern side coming into the league you wouldn't have a league all be it a division 1 league. It seems to be that people from Ballarat just seem to cry foul all the time but I wouldn't be happy if I had to live in that shit hole. By 2018-2019 the Eastern clubs will be gone from the shitty BFL and you merge with the CHFL (because that what you weak people in Ballarat do just merge when it gets hard. Point and East and also Wendouree and YMCA).
Pauline, I do know one thing that Grant Wright and the majority of the Darley supporters would back Drew Edwards all the time and they would take a 100 of him over and before they would pick 1 weak prick from the Ballarat league.
I just hope the BFL don't get embarrassed by the WRFL this weekend and look as bad as the crowds are at all the games in the league (no one goes).

Didn't Darley seek a merger with Bacchus Marsh a few years ago?

Never heard that one. Must have been a while ago.

Yes as deviland says it was just prior to them entering the bfl, the club, not everybody as deviland claims, didn't believe they would be competetive in the BFL and instigated talks with Bacchus Marsh regarding merging. The Darley committee at the time voted in favour of the merger, Bacchus Marsh committee and members voted in favour before it was voted down by Darley members. Stupid comment to make by deviland about East and Golden Point when his own club also sought a merger. Although it would've been like Collingwood merging with Carlton and as history shows, Darley fears about their chances in the BFL were quickly shown to be wrong.

You couldn't be more wrong if you tried Merrigan, I've been at Darley for over 40 years, have been on the committee, played and am a Life Member of the club and not once did the committe ever vote to merge. At the time of the vote my father was on the committee and not one committee voted to merge. Like I said Ballarat people are weak and take the easy option and merge instead of working hard and build a strong club.