Biased/incompetent media coverage

Don't know why this upsets you so much. It's not the end of the world. Precautions were put in place just in case. Don't think Gaff would have been involved with this decision.

The media are taking any angle whatsoever to have a go at the club. Now we’ve got to repay the tax dollars for organising a police escort.

Only we didn’t, the airport requested it so Gaff’s media frenzy didn’t interrupt normal operations.

Journalist report the news. I don’t have time for journalists who try to create the news.

Gaff made a monumental error two days ago and today the club is responsible for shooting Bambi’s mother.

In seriousness 8 weeks is ok, I expected 10-12.
Good luck to young Brayshaw for a speedy and full recovery, and kudos to his dad for being a gentleman.

Kelly Underwood reckons that we are the worst crowd going around and that we have a cultural problem. ****en Spell love.
At least we don't have fans openly assaulting women at the ground.
I think she supports the cats. You know, the fans that had an all in brawl a few weeks ago when the hosted Melbourne.

Let's be realistic, there are thugs at every game but the majority of supporters at every ground are decent people just out for some entertainment.

If you want to cheer yourself up, read the replies to this. Don’t think I’ve ever seen such consensus on social media.

"Media would have got their shots, moved on..."

Sure they would dickhead. Sure they would.

And Chris Marsden is the greatest contested player the AFL has ever seen.

Media turned it into a circus then complain about the circus.

This is the most infuriating part for me.

A similar approach is making an on air statement, then asking a player about it because “it’s been said that...”. Yeah mate, it’s been said by you.

They’re the stars of the show when it’s fun to be, and the innocent by-standing third party just doing their job when it’s convenient. As disingenuous as it comes.

I see Gerard Whateley on AFL360 still sinking the boots in...bloke has turned into a fair dinkum muppet since leaving Aunty and joining Fat Hutchy’s mob
Totally agree Mulldog. I’ve totally lost all respect for Whateley & most of the SEN crew. Sam McClure is an absolute flog!!
I see Gerard Whateley on AFL360 still sinking the boots in...bloke has turned into a fair dinkum muppet since leaving Aunty and joining Fat Hutchy’s mob

This is the most infuriating part for me.

A similar approach is making an on air statement, then asking a player about it because “it’s been said that...”. Yeah mate, it’s been said by you.

They’re the stars of the show when it’s fun to be, and the innocent by-standing third party just doing their job when it’s convenient. As disingenuous as it comes.
2ffk0q.jpg

Anyone taken the time to go and read the Australian Press Council statement of principles?
So where was the fairness and balance?

View attachment 539843

I’m more interested in points five and six.

c3d86749f0cfaeffef4e3268b0dbea5b.png

Nobody outside of media circles cares about the airport footage. Confirming that an athlete got off his plane is not in the public interest. It’s simply a race to be first and exclusive, it’s become standard practice that is done for the sake of doing it. Spare me the “you’ve got to have vision” argument, the story is the same if you run a replay of the incident or any existing footage. The news outlets do it because that’s how it’s been done, and the first station to stop doing it thinks they’ve fallen behind.

Everyone races to pat themselves on the back and appear supportive whenever an athlete comes out to discuss mental health problems, but they’re straight back in with door stops and vulturing airport pics when they think it might rate.

I believe Andrew Gaff flew to Melbourne, I don’t need the vision to confirm it.

Kelly Underwood reckons that we are the worst crowd going around and that we have a cultural problem. ****en Spell love.
At least we don't have fans openly assaulting women at the ground.
There was a 4 week period where there was fights every week at an AFL game. 3 times in Melbourne and 1 in Adelaide. This isn't including the geelong vs Melbourne fight. And we're the worst crowd? STFU you husky voiced moron

Whoa, look at point 5. So obviously Gaff's reasonable expectation to privacy doesn't include getting through the airport without getting accosted by the media! How dare he!

EDIT: The badge beat me to it.

"sufficiently in the public interest" would be argued hard by media outlets, though they're the ones who have pushed hard for it to be in the public interest.
Yes, and that's the problem. It's a bit like Telstra's SLAs (that's if you can find them, of course :)) they are so suitably vague that you have a hard time proving them or make the governing body follow up on them. It's a perfect Yes Minister scenario where you just revolve around in a circle until someone get's dizzy and falls down.