Big Bash Future

Dont think I watched one session of international cricket this summer. Test cricket is great......if it is an actual contest.

This summer, it felt like it took 3-4 days to get a result everyone knew. If the BBL wasn't around, I doubt I would have watched much cricket at all. The India test series should be fun at least.

The BBL is 12 years old and people are still talking about it like it will disappear. That it is a fad. That it is just a hit and giggle. A kid at the start of the comp will probably have their car license now. There are a lot of tactics and a lot of skills in the game now—different skills than test cricket but skills nonetheless. The wide yorker, and the ramp shot are the biggest "new" obvious skills. But it is just not that. It is where to ball to get a dot. Where to bowl to entice the batter to hit to the long boundary and get caught in the outfield. It is knowing what a bowler will bowl next., is it a fast one or another slower ball?

If you don't enjoy it, cool. But a lot of people do and it is very important for cricket around the world.

Fair enough if you have given it a go and can say its not your thing.

I personally have loved all the cricket this summer. Tests offer something unique, but so does the BBL. I just worry that some people (not saying you) won't allow themselves to get into the BBL because of this absurd notion of what it means to be a "proper cricket fan".
I do not think there are many of them around.
I cannot speak for other people that not into T20 cricket. Like I am ok if people into it, great, good for them and as someone else said, there is a time and place for it. If it was only three to four week tournament and still had international cricket to watch into recent weeks I think the niche for it would work for it's audience withour eating into the schedule for other cricket peope would want but at present if feels an absolute disaster for the overall good of the sport in this country. I fear for the sport overall for future as something some people will still watch but that absolute love of cricket that people like me loved is not going to be there for future generations so they will find other things to do.

This is what I meant by elitist generalisation. Writing off all T20 cricket as hit and giggle nonsense for the lowly educated.
All to common amongst the "cricket purists" these days.

Truth hurts?

No one can look at BBL12 and try and claim it was anything close to good quality cricket.

Fifty thousand people turned up to a game on the weekend, in Perth, and what a surprise... the old Vic and SA snobs proclaiming the death of the BBL on page 1 are now resurfacing to say "yeh but dey not proppa cwicket fanz".

I do not think there are many of them around.
I cannot speak for other people that not into T20 cricket. Like I am ok if people into it, great, good for them and as someone else said, there is a time and place for it. If it was only three to four week tournament and still had international cricket to watch into recent weeks I think the niche for it would work for it's audience withour eating into the schedule for other cricket peope would want but at present if feels an absolute disaster for the overall good of the sport in this country. I fear for the sport overall for future as something some people will still watch but that absolute love of cricket that people like me loved is not going to be there for future generations so they will find other things to do.
A million people have just turned up to watch domestic cricket, and there's been hundreds of thousands watching every night for six weeks.

And we're about to play in the World Test Championship final, having only missed the other one because of slow over rates, so it's clearly not hurting the test team, either.

In what bizarre parallel universe is that "an absolute disaster" for cricket in Australia?

Personally I have no interest in the BBL and haven't watched a match in years. I do watch a lot of Shield and 3rd/4th grade cricket when I can.

I reckon it screws up young cricketers and summer cricket. Should be restricted to over 25 yo not up to Shield Cricket and cricket superannuants.

Compress it to a three week season.

It is loses people that want something more than BBL to actually attend live.
I would have gone to two or three internationals a year in the late 80's and 90's and early 2000's but now if I not attend Boxing Day I attend no cricket in person. The international cricket season has been over for weeks. , I found myself watching a Boxing fight on the weekend as there no international cricket on here anymore. It a ****** disaster if you love cricket and now feel like what you want is no longer there so find other things to do.
Honestly, there's a LOT of people who obviously disagree with you.

Short form internationals are absolutely pointless. They're friendlies with nothing to play for, and you can see the growing lack of interest.

There's nothing wrong with cheering for a TEAM. I'm in Brisbane, but I support the Crows and the Strikers. I'm absolutely capable of having teams I support in the summer, and it doesn't just have to be a state or country.

International cricket started in September.

Or are you one of those "true cricket fans" who only switches on for six weeks a year?
Mate, stop bullshitting around. If you read my posts you know my take is the disaster is the traditional cricket season is now a disaster of essentially over after the New Year's Test when it used to run until about now. That's like 4 weeks of cricket of what I have posted I would have attended two or three times, and watched heaps more on tv that no longer there to attend or watch. That's a bloody disaster as a cricket lover that wants to lap up international cricket in this summer period.
September is football season for me so matches in Townsville etc. does not help me one bit. I'm glad there matches up there for people but that still does not address the great disaster and void of international cricket no longer here to attend in the peak period of summer for me.

There's barely been any genuine international cricket this summer. And there probably won't be next summer either.
Sadly, you half right. Least we had 5 Tests but once they over there nothing left to watch of the international cricket season here. Even in the past when a summer of Tests were not real close you still have a whole series of one dayers to look forward to of three teams for most of January and early Feb to attend or watch on tv. Now there nothing. For a cricket lover like me, that is a disaster. The admin are a rabble with the schedule they have now.

From a players point of view it must have been disappointing to not have the prospect of international cricket on offer as a reward for a good Big Bash.

Well, discussion over then, I guess. We have our definitive answer.
Your guess would be wrong. We can still have T20 cricket for the theatre goers like him and still have international summer run until first week of February as it traditionally did if the admin running our cricket now had a clue how to both have new customers that not traditional cricket lovers and still have the intenational cricket schedule we should have here in the peak period of summer.

From a players point of view it must have been disappointing to not have the prospect of international cricket on offer as a reward for a good Big Bash.
For the cricket players it more about money at this point. Their schedule still has plenty of cricket for rest of the year but in future it likely to change the conditions in this nation of how and if people fall in love with cricket both to play and watch so I fear it will weaken the sport here over time because the type of people that may have fell in love with the sport may not in future and slowly that means it reduced to niche sport here like plenty of other sports are. Meanwhile people like me that would have spent time attending and watching on tv will find other things to do in January as each year goes by.

Mate, stop bullshitting around. If you read my posts you know my take is the disaster is the traditional cricket season is now a disaster of essentially over after the New Year's Test when it used to run until about now. That's like 4 weeks of cricket of what I have posted I would have attended two or three times, and watched heaps more on tv that no longer there to attend or watch. That's a bloody disaster as a cricket lover that wants to lap up international cricket in this summer period.
September is football season for me so matches in Townsville etc. does not help me one bit. I'm glad there matches up there for people but that still does not address the great disaster and void of international cricket no longer here to attend in the peak period of summer for me.
If you will watch cricket in January but not September or October I'm not sure you're that much of a cricket lover.

There was an entire World Cup of international matches played after the football season had finished that you could have attended. Some really outstanding high quality cricket played in that World Cup.

If you will watch cricket in January but not September or October I'm not sure you're that much of a cricket lover.
I'd agree, That is why I can still watch a bit of the cricket on Kayo in September if still have any spare time left after following the footy.
Clearly I am a cricket lover and the January period should be the peak watching and attending time for me of cricket with no clash with footy season but now it no longer there. That as a cricket lover that wants to watch matches live is a disaster.

There was an entire World Cup of international matches played after the football season had finished that you could have attended. Some really outstanding high quality cricket played in that World Cup.
It is quite clear from my posts, I'm not into T20 cricket so even the international level of it barely holds my interest for more than five or ten minutes at a time. I think I watched most of the first match v Kiwis and not much else as it just disposable cricket to me. I actually want meaningful cricket to watch and T20 just is not that for me. It disposable cricket where can watch some highlights but the matches themselves do not mean anything to me. When the footy season is over I'm looking forward to seeing the Tests or some odi's in early November and following how players are going in the Shield cricket in October to see whom may contest for spot in Test team. I'm certainly not hanging out for any T20 cricket of any variety. I'd be quite content if they had their Big Bash for three weeks and a bit weeks from mid December and it over soon after Sydney Test over and the rest of January is free for some more international odi's of a tri-series with New Zealand and one other international team each January to first week of Feb. If not, at least give me a 6th Test for the summer in later January to look forward to. But bugger all this summer since the Sydney Test over. That's a disaster for a period I traditional love to watch a lot of cricket and attend a few matches live too.

Congrats to Perth the kings of the BBL.

Like to see 2 or even up to 4 new teams in the BBL.

Need another one in WA and QLD.

Like also see a team from New Zealand say Auckland.

I feel it needs a few more teams in it then it is now.

Needs to play more double headers like 2 at 1 venue on the same day as well.

Like say Melbourne renegades play say Perth at Marvel in the morning game then in the afternoon its say Melbourne stars play say Sydney thunder at Marvel.

And like when they play next its the reverse. Say Perth v Melbourne at perth and sydney play melb in syd.

Bit like the footy have a match at the mcg another ones at marvel.

Like to see added venues in the next bbl.

Say at Townsville,Lawnceston,Canberra,Another in Perth could use the good old WACA again,junction oval in melbourne, north sydney oval just to name a few.

It can get through the game quicker this way.

Like to see NZ have a team finally. They play at Eden park auckland. We could call them the Auckland islanders or something indigenous to NZ.

Also play mid week games like on a tuesday and wednesday.

This can be applied to the womens bbl as well.

Big Bash Future